Mendocino cottage rental - Guest Barn from the south
Guest Barn from the south
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mendocino Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-2)

This designer loft is on the top floor of an antique redwood carriage barn at historic Spring Ranch with views of the ocean and the coastal grass lands. This space was recently renovated and featured in several publications for excellence in design. It is located one mile south of the village of Mendocino.

THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX!

The space includes a large living room with a field stone gas fireplace, leather sofa and chair, and views to the ocean; kitchen with microwave, coffee pot, sink and granite counter tops; a large bath with double sinks, slate floors, and a 6' antique shower/tub; a large bedroom with a Cal king redwood poster bed and a desk with a computer. The loft is decorated with antiques from all over the world: lighting, furniture, carpets, etc.

The building is ideally located next to the Spring Ranch preserve which is 350 acres of open space on the ocean. You can walk down a trail to secluded bluffs and watch the whales, seals, and the crashing waves.

Keywords: Guest House, cottage, retreat, ocean view, weddings, wedding location, historic home

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of two professionals and a daughter that live in Sausalito, CA. I grew up on the East Coast where it is typical to have an old large family vacation home on the ocean. We wanted to find a home like this near San Francisco where we could invite all of our friends and family for weekends and holidays. This is the perfect place to enjoy each other's company in a traditional setting.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2000

When we go to Mendocino for a weekend or one night we feel like we truly got away. The drive to Mendocino through Anderson Valley is one of the most beautiful drives in all of the USA. The location of the house is ideally situated with open space in every direction and views of the ocean. If you want a cup of great coffee or newspaper it is only one mile to the village of Mendocino.

This building was an original carriage barn built in 1869. The location is ideal, just 1 mile from the village of Mendocino, yet in the middle of Spring Ranch Preserve. Walk down to the ocean through the Spring Ranch open space preserve and enjoy one of the most pristine coast lines of Northern California.

17 Reviews of Property 273284 in Mendocino, California

Romantic Loft/Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I booked the Loft for a weekend getaway from San Francisco for two. We wanted someplace that would be so wonderful we wouldn't feel the need to even leave the house. Spring Ranch's loft cottage is that place.
It is beautifully appointed, down to every detail. The unique combination of design elements come together to create an elegant cohesion of rustic warmth. The bathroom features a very large tub (good for tall folks) and there is a fun history of where each piece originates (like the tub, from the old Palace hotel in San Francisco). The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen is fully equipped, the spacious living area allowed for room to spread out. Oh, and if you do feel like leaving, it's just a quick drive down to town, and there are extensive hiking trails right across the road.
This is the first VRBO I've ever stayed at where the real thing was even more impressive than the photos. Not much else to say, except that if you're looking for a place in Mendocino - this is it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Lovely, Just Lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I find it difficult to add anything of substance to all these glowing reviews of the Barn Loft, but I'll happily be a joiner. We were taken in by them (and the beautiful pictures) and were not disappointed! It was a dreamy place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary and Thanksgiving. This loft is a real treasure and the wonder is that someone would so carefully and lovingly create such a fabulous space and then offer it up for lucky us! Where to begin… As others have commented, we were delighted to find such an interesting collection of architectural salvage and antiques assembled in a welcoming and functional living space. The loft is not only aesthetically enchanting, but very comfortable and well-appointed. We had all we needed for the week. The pictures (and text) give a good overview of the space and amenities. The little Viking stove was put to good use cooking many lovely meals and we also enjoyed the fireplace, the big comfy 3-poster bed, and the hot tub. The owners have compiled a very interesting book which includes a story on the history of Spring Ranch. This adds so much to one's appreciation - what an honor to stay at a place so closely linked to early settlement in the area. The location is fabulous. Just cross the highway and walk through a coastal prairie (the Spring Ranch Coastal Preserve, now part of Van Damme State Park) about fifteen minutes to the coastal trail and access to the coves. Mendocino is a quick two mile bike ride away (you do have to go along Highway 1 a bit, but it's not too bad - and I am not a roadie!). Mendocino has much to rave about, too, but you can look that up elsewhere. We found plenty of (moderate) walking, running, biking to do in the area (from our door) during the week and enjoyed having a wonderfully cozy loft to come back to. There were people renting the big house next door for part of our stay, but we felt the Barn Loft was quite private. It was a little hard to find on arrival in the dark - but if you know it's on the east side of Highway 1 that helps a lot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your thoughtful and positive review. We hope you will return as our guests in the future.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Lodi, CA
5

Birthday celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I stayed in your cottage for 3 nights, in celebration of my birthday. We were overwhelmed by how clean the suite was and by all the work that has been done to convert the barn into a rental suite. My husband is a do-it-yourselfer and took particular notice of all the extras. We had fun trying to imagine you getting all those big pieces of furniture up the stairway! We were, also, fascinated by origin of the furnishings. We easily forgot that we were in a barn!
We had dinner on my birthday at the Albion River Inn...What a treat! That is a wonderful place for a special occasion meal. We visited the Botanical Gardens in Mendocino, that was breathtaking. We had great weather so we took in the two lighthouses in the area. Both Harvest Markets were outstanding. Loved the whole atmosphere in Mendocino, no fast food restaurants, locals are always so much better!
We will definitely be staying here again, and recommending it to our friends. Thank you for a fabulous experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Northern California
5

Exceptional!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Your loft was so exceptionally beautiful! We appreciated the location, the unique furnishings and all the attention to detail that is so evident in this property. It is always such a nice surprise to arrive at a rental and find it is even nicer than expected! We hope to return in the future. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Oakland,ca
5

Gorgeous and Romantic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I just returned from a beautiful weekend with my husband at Spring Ranch. The owners did a fabulous and meticulous renovation incorporating architectural components from all over the world. The atmosphere in the loft is gorgeous and romantic and very cozy. We enjoyed reading about the history of the ranch while staying there, it really deepened our experience of the Northern California coast. There is a stunning hike across the property to the coast, we saw a seal, tide pools, and many breath taking views of the pacific. Highly recommended!!!
Note: I was pleased to discover that the loft is the only vacation rental in the structure, the lower floor has a separate entrance and is only storage. We had total privacy at the loft...more like renting a cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Yucaipa, Ca.
5

Betty Lou

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I have enjoyed an annual week-long stay in the Mendocino area for several years. We enjoy biking and kayaking, so the beautiful parks and rivers are perfect for us. Over the years we have stayed in many places in Mendocino and in Little River. But now that we have discovered The Loft, we will never choose any where else! We recently returned from our second stay and found The Loft as lovely as it was on our first stay. The grounds are beautiful and the several rustic buildings on the property and across the road make for wonderful photographs. But the furnishings In The Loft are my favorite! The entire Loft is designed around and furnished with amazing antiques that the owner has personally collected from his travels throughout the world, very unique. The open space of the design is homey and comfortable. The bed with its top quality bedding provide a very restful sleep. We absolutely love staying in The Loft and look forward to staying here for many years to come!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Cincinnati, OH
5

A place only found in my dreams!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I can't even put into words how perfectly enchanting this property was during our three day stay. We didn't want to face leaving! My husband and I spent 10 days exploring Northern California, and the days spent in this house and exploring the natural beauty of Mendocino were by far our favorite.

The home is the perfect mix of eclectic, minimal, historic, and pure luxury. As a photographer and artistic, I had to rope in my heart seeing all the gorgeous architectural details put into the home, and exploring the grounds of the property.

As hard as it was to wake up on vacation and do a sunrise walk across that glorious field to the bluffs looking out over the Pacific, I am SO glad my husband made me do it. I will never forget that magnificence the rest of my days! I HIGHLY recommend anyone staying here to explore around this home during sunrise/sunset. Watch as the fog magically comes pouring in, the flowers glisten in morning dew, and the deer romp around right in front of you. Pure coastal magic.

We only dream to return someday....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind and favorable review! We are so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return as our guests in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
san francisco ca
5

Spotless, Rustic Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I have to agree with my fellow reviewers that this place is absolutely gorgeous. It is situated on a beautiful stretch of land--and right across the street is a stunning series of trails - you need never get in your car to see some of the most beautiful spots on the Northern California coast. The town of Mendocino is a 2 minute drive as is the state park with even more hiking but you may not want to spend all your time outside of this lovely, comfortable, romantic loft.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
San Francisco, California
5

Beautiful and Luxurious Cottage on the Mendocino Coast

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The Barn Loft Cottage is simply amazing. The stunning craftmanship and inspiring creativity behind this space is reflected in the beautiful antiques, exposed beams and amenities throughout the cottage. The owners did a fabulous job in making a romantic and comfortable little haven (the velvet drapes, the antique glass chandelier, the antique stained glass panels, the antique Parisian sconces, the high thread count bed linens, the Keurig coffee brewer, and the cobblestone gas fireplace).

We had a wonderful long birthday weekend at the Cottage: we hiked down to the beach, walked around a eucalyptus grove located on the property, took photographs, shopped in Mendocino, and relaxed in our charming cottage. We are looking forward to staying here again in the Fall!

....Also, any concerns of having another dwelling located on the same property were quickly expelled - the barn cottage is actually situated in a way that you don't feel you have compromised your privacy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank you so much for taking the time to jot down your thoughts about your recent stay in our Mendocino cottage. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the Fall.
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Loft/Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p273284vbi
Mendocino North Coast California
Ojai, California USA
5

Cool in Mendocino

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Wonderful, cozy upstairs loft with forest and meadow views. Walking across the meadow (for us about 20 min.) to the edge of the bluff was breathtaking. Saw many deer peaking up over the grass. The cliffs are amazing. Loved the town of Mendocino, the farmers market in Fort Bragg as well as the smoked meat shop there. I love to cook and got some great things there for our many meals made in house, we stayed 10 days. Goldeneye Winery in Anderson Valley is not to be missed as are Handley Redwood Forrest. Beautiful house and they have a large Victorian and a huge barn if you want a large event. All restored to perfection.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
During this stay the property was under previous owner or management.
Helpful votes: 2/2