Cruz Bay condo rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Cruz Bay Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 8

Come enjoy some of the Caribbean's most beautiful beaches and best dining while staying at Grande Bay Resort, St John's newest Luxury Resort. The condo is located beachfront, just steps away from the charming and picturesque town of Cruz Bay. Listen to the waves gently hitting shore as you sleep with the windows open, surrounded by the gentle caribbean breeze! Have breakfast in the morning on the balcony on the water. You will not need a car to enjoy this fabulous condo located on the beach.

T

he condo offers an array of amenities including central air conditioning, fully equipped gourmet kitchen in the main unit with a kitchenette in the ''lock out'' studio, granite countertops, tile flooring and numerous other conveniences. Entrance to the building is street level, so no steep hills to climb. Wheelchair accessible. Common amenities include a pool, fitness center, hottub elevators, parking, and a ''view to die for'' surrounded by lush tropical landscaping.

Spend your days poolside, at the beach or rent a jeep and tour the Island. With 2/3 of the St John protected as a National Park, beauty is plentiful. Spend the evenings at the your favorite restaurant or at the Beach Bar watching the sunset while sipping on your favorite beverage just steps from the condo.St John is home to some of the Caribbean's most pristine beaches. With over 30 beaches without a man made structure in sight, it is hard to beat the beauty and privacy that these beaches have to offer.

Let us share our condo with you and come see for yourself the beauty of the Island and the beauty of the People that inhabit this Rock in the middle of the Caribbean.

Read our reviews, our location cannot be beat!!

More Details
Hide Details

The owners of this condo have been visiting this island for 10 years and wish to share their condo with the world. The beauty of the Caribbean Sea, the beauty of the Island and the hospitality shown by the people that live on this Island are the reasons that we purchased this condo.

Christine Obbagy purchased this condo in 2003

We fell in love with the Island of St John the first time we visited in 1999. The location of this condo is perfect as it is a short 3 minute walk from the Ferry Dock, shopping and most restaurants. The Island itself is over 2/3 National Park with approximately 30 pristine beaches without a hotel to be seen.

17 Reviews of Property 272870 in Cruz Bay, Virgin Islands

This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
5

Wonderful stay at this beautiful Grande Bay unit!...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My husband and I just returned from staying at this unit in Grande Bay and I wanted to write a review expressing how happy we were with the service, and the accommodations overall. The owner, Christine, was such a pleasure to work with; upon arrival, we were greeted by her Grande Bay greeter who escorted us to our unit and told us all about the condo and Cruz Bay area. We stayed our 1st night in the 1-BR unit then had to switch to the studio unit for the rest of our stay. Both units were exceptional as far as location, views, cleanliness, and amenities. We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay; LOVED that we could walk into town so easily at our leisure and not worry about having to drive to restaurants, etc. We did rent a Jeep for 2 days to tour the island on our own and it worked out perfectly. Otherwise, we hopped cabs from town to the beaches when needed.
Christine was so nice to offer us plenty of info ahead of time of our arrival, regarding activities to pursue in St. John, places to eat etc. There were no glitches at all with the booking process and the rates really were very competitive vs. other condo-type facilities in the area. We HIGHLY recommend a stay at this beautiful place!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice review! I am happy you enjoyed our little piece of paradise.
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Wilmette, IL
5

Perfect location for St. John exploring!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We could not have been happier with this condo! Our group of four had the large one-bedroom & the adjoining studio - & the set-up was perfect. The accommodations were very comfortable & the furnishings are all up-to-date & well-maintained. Both the King bed in the one-bedroom & the Queen in the studio were super-comfortable & the location is absolutely ideal. We didn't bother renting a car & did not miss one. Every day we visited a different beach & either walked/hiked or simply hopped in a taxi. You're so close to all the bars & restaurants in Cruz Bay but we heard no noise from the street - even on New Years Eve! We had coffee on the balcony every morning, overlooking Cruz Bay & enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail there every evening.
We ate out almost every night but did cook one night & having the grill was great. Two grocery stores are within walking distance & the kitchen is well-stocked (there were even condiments in the fridge!). We tapped into Rachelle at the Villa management company's expertise around excursions & logistics & she could not have been more helpful. The owner was wonderful to work with, as well. All in all - a perfect vacation! We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed the condo, and look forward to your return!
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Seattle WA
5

Best place to stay in St John for fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We traveled to St John for a wedding and had never been there before. I picked this condo unit because it is across from the beach. We're in the 55+ age group and traveling with 20 year olds. The condo is an easy walk into town and I knew the 20 years old would appreciate coming and going to town without a car. They stayed in the studio unit and I found I really appreciated how you could shut the door to the studio and it didn't wake me up when they came home late at night. Plus I was able to get up early and lounge around without disturbing them. The condo was set up for a vacation rental. The place was really clean, beds are comfortable, good quality linens, washer/dryer in each unit with laundry detergent, barbecue on the balcony, short walk to the pool, lovely views at the pool, kitchen had ample cooking supplies, appliances all worked great, plenty of kitchen cabinet space for food. I thought I would be cooking more then I did, we usually had breakfast, then out for the day, came back and had drinks then out for the night. We rented a small car in St Thomas, the parking place was located right next to the elevator. You don't need a car if you plan on staying in Cruz Bay, we had to be here and there because of the wedding. We found having the car made our trip a lot easier and there were places we visited where I didn't see any taxis waiting. I was a little anxious about getting to the condo once we arrived but the greeter was texting me as soon as our plane landed. We didn't have an exact time for arriving on St. John because we got lost on st Thomas looking for cost-u-less. The greeter was very patient, she texted me through out the day, once we did arrive on St. John she was there with a sign stating our name, we followed her to the condo, she opened the condo for us and showed us around, very pleasant and helpful woman. I'm not in the best physical shape and I found the walk into town was never a problem for me. We really enjoyed having drinks and food at the beach restaurants and the condo was so close if you needed anything. The owner of the condo was easy to work with and I felt if there was an issue she would've been right on it. She did have pride of ownership and it showed in the unit. The condo complex is clean clean clean and very quiet, no one ever disturbed us. We enjoyed the beaches at Trunk Bay, Hawksnest, and Salt Pond Bay ( a little hike required ). Shopping at Mongoose junction. I will stay at this condo again :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Fath for the review! I want people to feel they are at a home away from home. I will look forward to your return visit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
5

Very nice villa, perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I'm not sure what I could add to the other glowing reviews, but we had an awesome time in St. John. Our two daughters met us here after their fall semesters ended and it was great having both the one bedroom and adjoining studio. It gave us plenty of space to spread out. The villa was very clean and well equipped. The view of Cruz Bay was spectacular and you are within walking distance of all the restaurants and shopping in Cruz Bay, as well as the ferry to St Thomas. No need to rent a car, but if you want to explore the rest of the Island, St John Car Rental is right up the street. We rented a small boat and were able to explore all the north shore beaches ourselves, and also did the day trip to the British Virgin Islands on the Bad Kitty which was a great day. As this was our first time in St John, Christine was very helpful in giving us the lay of the land. We can't wait to go back and would definitely stay here again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to you returning to our little piece of paradise!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Chicago, IL
5

Great location, walk to everything in the town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Going with a group to St. John provided us the luxury of visiting our friends' villa rentals and comparing them to the condo we stayed in. Some of the villas were extremely nice, and perched on top of the tall hills giving breathtaking views, but you have to have a car to do anything like shopping or going out to the bars and enjoying the nightlife. At Grande Bay resort our friends and I thought we had the perfect location that also afforded us some breathtaking views from our balcony. You are a 50 step walk from the wharf where there are a number of bars/restaurants to hang out in, and only a few blocks away from Mongoose Junction where there are more shops and restaurants including The Tap Room where locally brewed beer is served. The 2 units (1br+studio) we rented were setup precisely like the pictures show. They gave us everything we needed as far as a nice pool and hot tub to relax in and a bed to sleep in. We came away with a lot of bug bites from no-see-ums, and I think we brought some back to our home, but a little insect repellent keeps them away and their lifespan isn't very long. Most of our time was spent hiking to Honeymoon/Salomon beaches and snorkeling at each beautiful beach spot we found. We also used our friend's jeep to cruise around the island to visit Waterlemon Cay, Trunk Beach, Maho beach, and a few of the other gorgeous beaches St. John has to offer. My girlfriend and I cannot wait to visit again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed our place... I agree the "no-see-ums" are a nuisance but usually you can avoid them if you stay off the beaches at dusk...thank you for your response, and we hope to have you back again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
5

St. Johns incrediable visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The stay was amazeing. We had a wonderful time. The condo was beautiful and the view was remarkable. The pictures did not do it justice. The walk to the pier, town, groceries, restaurants was only steps away and there so many beaches to enjoy. The condo was very very clean and the i would definately recommend this to anyone visting the island. We booked a rented a car which was personal perference, we did not need one and the food was incredible. We went snorkleing every day, booked a trip with a boat that took 12 ppl. to the baths in virgin gorda, indian rocks and to coopers bay for lunch. It did not go to soggy dollar bar but stayed longer at the indian rocks which are incrediable and the reefs there and beautiful. The food at cooper bay was wonderful. The boat captain told a lot of stories about the islands which were wonderful. We booked the cruise in the shops across water in the shopping area that also books bad kitty. We chose a smaller boat and to go to the indian rocks longer. We did take dry food with us which saved a little money but we mainly eat out which was fun. The island food is wonderful. The fridge had condiments which was nice as well and there was also rum on the counter, how nice. The condo was absolutely beautiful. We took my son and his girlfriend with us and they had the effeciency side and we had the kitchen side. They had their privacy to close the door between or leave it open either way was nice. We had seperate tvs and also one in the bedroom. The showers were huge and they elevator was nice as well not haveing to walk after a long day at the beach. We drove all over the island and saw all the beautiful landscapeing and felt extremely safe. We went to St. Thomas one evening and there were police with lights almost everywhere. St. Johns never had that once. Very safe. Thank you for the wonderful experience and we will definately be back. Thank you for all the beautiful things you shared with us Christine we loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed our piece of paradise. I can't wait to get back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Dallas
5

Dallas couple

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our third time to stay at Grande Bay. We love the availability to town and being on the ocean front. The resort is very nice and the staff are helpful. Our only frustration is the parking garage is a pain to manuever, but that is a price worth paying for paradise!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Florida
5

Paradise away from home.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Beautiful condo with an amazing view right on Cruz Bay. All the amenities you could ever need, and walking distance to the ferry, cab stand and 20 or more bars & restaurants. The property manager picked us up at the ferry from St. Thomas & shuttled us & our bags. She recommended great local dining & was amazingly helpful. We hiked, lazed on the beautiful beaches & took day trips to the BVI. This condo was a great deal with an amazing location and gracious staff & owner. We will book again as we visit the VI often.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed our condo. We are happy to share our little piece of paradise.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
5

Everything you need. Right here.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My girlfriend and I planned a last minute vacation just two weeks before we arrived on the magnificent island of St. John. Christine was incredibly helpful and accommodating. We are two middle-aged females who were traveling without our husbands. I was very concerned with safety. We both felt quite secure and the many people who live on the island are extremely polite and always willing to be helpful.
A significant point concerning this condo, other than the fact that the views are exceptional and the decor is clean, comfortable and charming, you have everything within walking distance. There's five or six bars and restaurants just a half a block away, a grocery store and several nice boutiques and shops. The food was exceptional in every one of them. (I recommend the jerk chicken caesar wrap at the Beach Bar for lunch.)
There's nothing I can say except you'd be a fool not to book this condo. We took several taxis throughout the week. For the most part, they cost $5 per person. We spent a half a day at the Westin using their beach facilities (If you go for lunch, you can stay as long as you want. The gardens are magnificent.) We also walked our gear up the hill to Frank's Bay. Coolers and chairs are in the closet. Frank's Bay is rocky but it's great for snorkeling....island secret. Don't miss a trip to Trunk Bay. I would suggest you avoid the cruiseship folks by doing a half day and going after 3 p.m. There's no cost to enter the park and you have at least three hours and the beach to yourself.
If you get tired of beach hopping, there's always a day at the pool and the hot tub. I would also recommend a trip on a Catamaran called the "Bad Kitty". It takes you to four islands, Virgin Gorda where the Baths have boulders the size of houses, Coopers Island for lunch, Norman for snorkeling in caves, and Jost Van Dyke at the end of the day at the Soggy Dollar Bar. This was well worth the money and the resort offers a $25 discount.
All I can say is I'm ready to go back and jealous you're renting a little piece of heaven!!!! Thanks, Christine, for sharing.

Upon arrival you are met at the ferry by a Grande Bay Resort representative. They are helpful and kind and are always available to provide you with anything you may need. We ran out of laundry soap and Michelle had it at our door in less than five minutes.
Owner's Response: Toni,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise! I look forward to having you back. Thanks for the tips too.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
This is where you want to stay! Location location location! On the beach.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272870
+1 7083060658
Cruz Bay St John
Austin
5

We loved this condo and the location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We had a fabulous time in St. John! This condo was superb! It was newer and had all the nice upgrades (granite counters, beautiful furniture etc). It was very well equipped and Christine was very accomodating in the process. We had not been to St John before so we had no idea that the location would be SO incredible of this condo. We could walk to tons of different restaurants, shops and dive shop (and boats) was right next door! We took the taxis to the beach and it was so easy. We rented a car one day and used it for 2 hours to see the other side of town and then realized we did not need to rent it. This side of the island (cruz bay) is so much better than the other in my opinion. We had a blast in St. John and plan to go back this year and would like to stay in this condo again! We had stayed a week in Virgin Gorda before we went to St John, we wished we had just stayed in St. John for the whole 2 weeks and done a day trip to Virgin Gorda. Just fyi, we have 2 toddlers that were with us and they had a blast!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3