Niagara-on-the-Lake house rental - THE TOWN COTTAGE
THE TOWN COTTAGE
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Niagara-on-the-Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Location, location. This charming, renovated bungalow offers one of the best locations in Niagara on the Lake. 1 block from Queens Royal Park on Lake Ontario and 1 block from the many stores and restaurants on Queen Street.

This bright, spacious bungalow offers two newly renovated bedrooms and one full bathroom. The cottage has a modern, fully equipped open concept kitchen with adjoining dining room. The living room, with its large comfy couch and wood-burning fireplace make it an ideal place to relax. The bathroom has been newly remodeled. A wide porch on the front is an ideal place to watch the horse carriages passing on the street while enjoying a glass of wine from one of the many nearby wineries. It is pet friendly (dogs only please) with an enclosed yard.

A private, stone patio with table, offers an outdoor entertaining/eating area equipped with a BBQ. The newly renovated home is just a short walk to all 3 Shaw theaters, golf course, marina and historic Fort George. Niagara Falls is just short 20 min drive or bike ride along the Niagara Parkway bike path. The Town Cottage is regularily inspected and has a 'permit to operate' and is a member of the Niagara on the Lake Chamber of Commerce.

The National Geographic Traveler Magazine just rated Niagara-on-the-Lake as one of the top “Historic Destinations” in Canada and number 52 in the world !

The survey was put together by a panel of 280 well traveled experts.

Their report states in part: “Niagara-on-the –Lake may be the most beautiful small city in Canada. Quite touristy, but it has done a great job of preserving its charm….”

The Town Cottage is a perfect location to enjoy historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, any time of year.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We live in Niagara on the Lake and enjoy the whole of the magnificent Niagara penninsula. The combination of history, beautiful homes, world class restaurants and wineries make Niagara on the Lake a very unique Canadian village. Living nearby in the town allows us to meet and personally greet our cottage guests to answer any questions and be on hand to provide any help during your stay.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

A wonderful town for visitors to see and enjoy the best of Canada! We live nearby and love to provide personal sevice for our guests. Many rentals in town are owned by absentee owners who can't provide this personalized service.

The Town Cottage was recently redecorated and up-graded. It's warmth and coziness combined with the fantastic historic location, make it a very special home. Most visitors come for the world class live theatre at the Shaw Festival. Others to tour the interesting variety of wieries and excellent restaurants. Still others to stroll and take in the sights in this beautiful historic village. The spectacular restored Georgian houses on either side of the Town Cottage date from 1815 - some of the oldest in Canada.

17 Reviews of Property 211098 in Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario

Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 17 reviews
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful time at the cottage! It is beautiful, comfortable and clean. The home is on a beautiful street...you just can't go wrong. It's a short walk to town with restaurants and shopping. We just had a great time. Beautifully furnished and if you're interested the tv works great with many channels. I would recommend this home to anyone who wants to stay at a beautiful home at Niagara-on-the lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Wales UK
5

Home from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The Cottage was a real home from home with a great number of little extras to make our stay very comfortable. It was ideally situated in the town close to all amenities and not far from the lake. We had high expectations but the property exceeded everything we could have hoped for. The owners were very helpful and there was a range of leaflets and maps in the property to help our search for the best places to eat, drink and shop. There were 3 large bedrooms and with four of us this was perfect. We would highly recommend the Irish Harp Bar for food, drink and lots of stories about the town. Also the ghost walk is a must for more stories of olden times in the village. the Christmas Shop, the Chocolate shop and the Hot Sauce Shop would be recommended....what out for the ghost sauce...so hot! We would highly recommend using the cottage and would not hesitate to stay there again....as we said it was home from home and we had a relaxing and wonderful stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
5

Great quiet cottage with perfect location right in NOTL

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
An ideal spot for a small family wanting quietude but a great location for walking to-and-from dinner in the evening. Very well maintained and lots of care by owners. Owners were quite helpful when asked. Best of all, a more economical solution than two hotel rooms for a family. One more reason we like VRBO a lot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Brantford ON Canada
4

Ice Wine Festival Accomodation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The Town Cottage is in the perfect location to stroll over to the ice wine festival. It's also a short walk to the lake.

We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and the cottage has all the amenities you will need.

The yard is totally enclosed and we could let our dog wander around without having to be leashed.

While everything was very good, there were a few reasons for a good rating rather than excellent. The TV control was not working well even though there were detailed instuctions for operating the two remote set up. It did not work for us as written.

Another problem was the odour of the fireplace logs filling the living room. The flue was open but the smell of wax and chemicals was strong and we had to open the door and window to air it out.

Overall, it was a very nice weekend and the problems encountered did not ruin our fun as they were far outweighed by all the pros of this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and we're glad you enjoyed the cottage and its fantastic downtown location. We are always trying to improve our guests' experience and we have already changed the brand of firelogs that we provide free for our guests. This easily solved the odour problem. We also streamlined the TV instructions to be sure this minor difficulty was addressed. Our unique proximity to the cottage allows us to react quickly to answer questions or problems even during the guests stay.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Texas
5

Wonderful house and wonderful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was perfect for the 4 of us; my husband, two grandchildren, and myself. It was comfortable, attractive and clean. The owners had little extras that made it especially nice such as ground coffee for the coffee pot. We were within short walking distance of the river, a park, and shopping. The only problem we had was with the use of the phone and internet. (It was an internet phone.) The owner was very nice and I'm sure they would have fixed this if we had asked them to or it could have been user error. We loved visiting Fort George, visiting the wineries, riding the jetboats and renting bicycles. The bike paths are wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Chicago
5

We fell in love with Niagara on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our stay for a week in July was the best experience ever. The Town Cottage served as an awesome retreat after a long day of touring the Falls, Toronto and the surrounding area. My husband and I, three nieces and a 5 yr old Aussie...were perfectly happy at pretending to be locals especially when we had such a beautiful, roomy house to return to after a long day. Niagara on the Lake and the Town Cottage will definitely be in our future vacation plans!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, it was great to have you as a guest in The Town Cottage. Thanks for your positive review.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Los Angeles, CA
5

Couldn't have been better!

Couldn't have been better!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
So happy about the location and appearance of the cottage. Tony was very helpful and provided us with good info about the area. As I travel to this area often, I will definitely be back to the Town Cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Canada
5

Great spot in Niagara on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I'd like to recommend the town Cottage for anyone visiting Niagara-on-the-Lake. Its location downtown is perfect and we hardly ever needed to use the car. The home is fully equipped and homey confortable. The wood fireplace is a rel bonus. We loved cycling from the front door, the private parking and the proximity to the lake. Everything you'd need for a short or long stay and the freedom of your own home.
The owner was exceedingly helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Toronto
5

A wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed at the Town Cottage for 4 days in April. The cottage is very well located to see all the sites in town, close to the stores, the Shaw festival theaters, the lake and the cycling trails. It was very well maintained, clean, comfortable and well equipped for everything we needed. The open style and fully equipped kitchen makes it easy to cook. We also liked the stone patio which warmed up every afternoon: a great place to sit, relax and eat outside. The cottage is also a short walk to a number of good restaurants we enjoyed. We hardly needed to drive anywhere, so much was so close.

I'd recommend the cottage for anyone who like to relax and have everything close.

FC, Toronto
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Town Cottage - Newly Renovated Exquisite Bungalow in Old Town
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p211098vb
(416) 605-2366 (Ontario, Canada)
Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario
Carmel
5

Great location & lovely cottage

Great location & lovely cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My husband and I were coming off a long time of working straight and needed a getaway for some much needed rest and relaxation. We found this cottage on Vrbo and were right away drawn to how close it was to town but still with a private patio and ambiance.

We checked in with our beloved pug (yes they really are dog friendly!). It exceeded our exceptions. The cottage was beautifully decorated and the owners popped over with a bottle of wine to welcome us.

The area is amazing, The shaw festival has some top notch plays, the wineries (especially Pellar Estates) has some very memorable wine & meals, LOVED Stratus winery for a day trip, very cool place. Throughly enjoyed the bike trail for long walks with the dog. The best part? Being able to wake up every morning and walk into town, grab a cup of coffee and walk down to the waterfront park. Renewal at it's best!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2