Half Moon Bay villa rental - Inner Courtyard
Inner Courtyard
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Half Moon Bay Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 6

A Secluded Country Retreat on the Pacific Ocean to Nourish and Embrace Your Spirit.

Experience:

Privacy Vistas Sky Hills Trees Sun Fresh Air Sea Air Mountain Air

Beauty Art Serenity Waves Surf Clouds Mist Fog Color Movement

Space Texture Light Dark Sounds Wild Flowers Hawks Gulls Sparrows

Doves Ravens Whales Sea Lions Warm Cold Wet Windy Calm Sanctuary

Storms Thunder Sunsets Peace

View a video of our property on You Tube; search for 'Villa Montara-Half Moon Bay, CA'

Featured in the Faith Evan's video 'Never Gonna Let You Go-1999' also available on You Tube

William Giffen, an architecturally trained designer, has resided in Montara for the past 25 years and has enjoyed this property as a design laboratory and retreat. 'It's such a spectacular place that I feel it's time to share it with friends and family of the world.'

William and Christine purchased this villa in 1985

32 Reviews of Property 272833 in Half Moon Bay, California

Villa Montara Seaside Estate
average rating of 4.9375 based on 32 reviews
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Elk Grove, CA
5

Villa Montara - Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I can't describe our time at Villa Montara except to say "absolutely perfect". Every where you look, you can't help but say "WOW".. We will definitely be back..
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Lincoln, California
5

Beautiful Ocean View Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Everything was perfect – Completely exceeded our expectations. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the inside is gorgeous. Beds with comforters are perfect-no problem sleeping here listening to the waves crashing, spectacular views from every room. Super clean in every room, bedrooms, kitchens all stocked with what you might need. Hosts Christine and William love the area and it shows, enjoyed spending time with them and talking about Montara. They couldn’t be more accommodating and I would highly recommend staying here. Thank you for a comfortable, relaxing 3 days, we hated to go home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
A beautiful property and beautiful hosts in William and Christine!
This property is amazing. Very quiet and relaxing with the most incredible sea views. The internal design touches, decor and artistic eye shown by William and Christine are wonderful – don’t know where they get their ideas from....but I’m glad they do. The pictures on the web are great, but in real life, it’s another level.
Every member of our party (2 adults, 4 kids) found the property very special in their own way, and everyone loved it in spite of the weather not being great during our stay (it’s a sure sign of a great place if you love it when the weather is not at its best)
You’ll not come across many properties like this, and you certainly won’t find any nicer hosts than William and Christine
If we could give it 6 stars we would! And even though we are from the UK, we can’t wait until the day we return...hopefully very soon
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
World
5

Piece of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Well .. What can I say ?! There is no word can describe this place , its a piece of heaven , let me tell you one thing we made a new reseravation on our check out day for our next year vacation , my family and I realy enjoyed our magical moments there , I wish I can give it more than 5 stars .
The owners were very helpful and kind to make sure that we are satisfied , the views are breathtaken ... Ahhhh! As I said there is no word can describe this place .
Thanks william & Christine see you next summer
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Burlingame
5

Seaside Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Villa Montara is a very unique and beautiful property. Secluded, peaceful, and artistically appointed, with absolutely spectacular views of the ocean and coastline from every room. Extremely private and quiet, with a nicely appointed kitchen and a hot tub over the water. William and Christine are welcoming and gracious hosts, and we are looking forward to our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
St. Paul, Mn, USA
5

January Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Villa Montara is exactly as advertised, beautiful views, secluded property, perfect for almost any event or a just a simple ocean-side getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
4

Christmas Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
It seems impossible that any mere mortal (sorry William!) can own this incredible piece of the Northern California Coast! We decided to "run away" for Christmas, but didn't want to drive too far. From our home in Sonoma, Montera Beach was a perfect location. Plus, the home is "dog friendly", and that was important to "Marco" who came with us! The setting is everything and more than shown in the pictures on the website. The waves were crashing just feet from us with huge white caps, and the view up the coast to Montera Beach and Devil's Slide was spectacular from both inside and outside!

It's a very short drive to restaurants and shops in Half Moon Bay, and even though the property is located near Hwy 1, it is very private. The interior of the home is clearly decorated by an artist who appreciates the beauty of Nature. The only things that keep this from being a 5 star rating for us are practical. The upstairs bed is not very accessible for anyone who has knee problems. It would be wonderful if the mattress could be raised off the floor. Also, while there are several heat sources, if you're going in winter, bring warm clothing and sleepwear.

Having said that, if what you're looking for is drop-dead gorgeous views, privacy, spetacular sunsets and a great location for a getaway, this is the place!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
San Francisco, CA
5

most beautiful property I've ever seen!

most beautiful property I've ever seen!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This 3 day stay has been amazing in every way! Location, style, atmosphere, look, feeling! I surprised my husband for his birthday and I can tell he was beyond happy to get to this fantastic looking place.
The house is amazing! It is a real piece of art. The outside area and view are breathtaking.
We had a blast and the owners are really welcoming and friendly.

I recommend this place to everyone!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
San Francisco, CA
5

Perfect Secluded Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The Villa Montara is one of the most beautiful places we’ve ever stayed at. We selected this location for a very small intimate wedding and the event turned out beyond perfect. The scenery is magnificent, landscaping is amazing, and the house is just beautiful. We stayed at the villa overnight and it was one the most relaxing and tranquil nights we’ve ever had. No matter where you are in the house it seems like you have a breath-taking view of the Pacific Ocean. William and Christine are amazing people that are very pleasant to work with and have down a spectacular job creating this secluded getaway. If you’re planning on hosting an event on the property, it’s important to always have open communication with them as they are very helpful in making recommendations that will truly impress everyone in attendance. If you’re searching for a weekend getaway, definitely book this location because the experience will not disappoint. We’ll definitely be back and want to make this an annual getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Montara Seaside Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272833
+1 4155185677
Half Moon Bay The Bay Area
Pleasanton CA
4

Excellent Vacation retreat not great for disabled

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I attended a wedding here. It was a stunning location. This would be a heavenly getaway for a couple or small group. However I must mention that the gravel and slope of the land seems somewhat dangerous for people who have injuries, are disabled or otherwise unsteady on their feet. If you add liquor in the equation it's a lawsuit waiting to happen. I say this as much for the owner as for people who might attend an event here. This is NOT the place for your grandma with a hip replacement.

The caterers had a difficult time rolling their equipment over the gravel and there is a spot at the end of the driveway and where the tables are set up that seems very dangerous if you have a misstep. I saw one guest fall but fortunately did not hurt himself.

I also wished there had been more spots to sit in the shade so bring a hat.

Also crossing Highway 1 is very difficult. I am a fit person and I was wearing low sandal but almost got run over. It's a very dangerous crossing with no pedestrian crosswalks so please BE CAREFUL.

Other than these things, this is an unusually beautiful location and unique California style property. I can highly recommend it as a vacation getaway for fit, younger (or at least not elderly) adults with no disabilities or injuries.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3