Roatan house rental - Toucan Blue and included sea kayaks
Toucan Blue and included sea kayaks
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Toucan Blue is a beautiful beach house located 20 kilometers east of the Roatan International airport, mid-island on the scenic north shore in Milton Bight. The water of the Caribbean is just steps from the front door and the second largest barrier reef in the world is approximately 300 meters before you. Enjoy the serenity as you look out upon the sea and the never tiring view.

Roatan, one of the Bay Islands of Honduras, is included in the book 1,000 Places to See Before You Die by Patricia Shultz. For years, Roatan was known mainly to divers for the exquisite diving adventure around the barrier reef. The improved infrastructure on the island now brings growing tourism and cruise ship passengers. English is the language of the island, with Spanish widely spoken, and US currency is accepted.

Toucan Blue is perfect for divers, snorkelers, family, or friends. It is a single family home with main living areas and four private bedrooms with flexible rates depending on the number of guests. The bedrooms not required will simply not be made up or accessible, they will not be rented to others. Escape the tourist crowds for the solitude, peace, and tranquility of Toucan Blue.

There are only four other homes on the white sand peninsula that share the dock with Toucan Blue, with security on site. At the end of the dock there is a thatched palapa with benches—a great place for morning coffee at sunrise or beverages at sunset. From the palapa setting, both sunrise and sunset can be events.

The house is decorated in lively Caribbean colors and each room has ceiling fans and air conditioning, if needed. The bright, open main floor on the upper level includes the living area, kitchen, dining, half bath, and huge deck. The large sapphire blue bedroom with bathroom/shower is also on the upper level with patio doors opening to the deck. It may not be well suited to small children.

There are indoor/outdoor speakers for music while upstairs in the house or on the deck. There is Direct TV (basic plan) and DVD player for those times that you want to be indoors, and you can keep in touch other others using the wireless internet connection. There are many books, games, puzzles, music and movie choices at the house for your enjoyment.

The large, covered, ceramic tiled outdoor deck is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the tranquil setting and endless view. It is likely the place that you will spend most of your time while at the house. It is also a great place to laze in the hammocks, listen to the waves breaking over the reef, watch the hummingbirds at the feeder, or sit by the railing and gaze at the star filled sky at night. Shade sails have been added to help keep the deck cool by blocking some of the afternoon sun.

The patio table seats six with another table and chairs for additional deck seating/dining available. The BBQ grill is handy adjacent to the kitchen, in a separate deck area. A local cook is available for a nominal fee if you are interested in having island meals prepared at the house.

The lower level includes the large emerald green bedroom with bathroom/shower, and the two other bedrooms that share a full bathroom with tub/shower. There is a laundry room with full size washer and dryer. An outdoor shower is available to wash off the sand before entering the home.

Enjoy the stunning views of the Caribbean Sea from this vacation home, paddle the sea inside the barrier reef in the two provided sea kayaks, stroll the white sand beach, view sea life from the dock, or gently swing in one of the hammocks on the deck.

For divers, a Subway dive shop is located at nearby Turquoise Bay Resort. You may be able to make arrangements to be picked up at the community dock located immediately in front of Toucan Blue.

Toucan Blue was recognized in July 2011 by FlipKey and Travel Advisor for their 'Rated Excellent' digital badge. 'This exclusive award recognizes outstanding vacation rentals based on reviews from past guests.'

The modern international airport welcomes direct flights from the US, with many more flights that connect through cities such as La Ceiba and San Pedro Sula on the mainland.

Our property managers will meet you upon arrival and escort you to the house, stopping at the supermarket on the way if you wish. They will familiarize you with Toucan Blue and surroundings, and will be available for any questions you may have while you are a guest. There is a cell phone at the house for use during your stay.

Island attractions include zipline/canopy tours, botanical gardens, golfing at the new Black Pearl golf course designed by Pete Dye, and water sports of all kinds. Roatan is a diver’s paradise, but you can also snorkel, swim with dolphins, kayak…or just relax. Enjoy the views of the crystal clear water in various shades of blue and the lush green hills from overlook vistas.

To further enjoy the sights of Roatan, we have a 4-wheel drive, automatic transmission Isuzu Trooper SUV for rental to interested guests for economical rental rate of $350/week. It comfortably seats 5 passengers. You will need a vehicle to get around and explore the island.

Make Toucan Blue your home while experiencing the beautiful island of Roatan!

Keywords: Beach House, villa

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 116204 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 29 reviews
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Everything we had expected it would be

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This trip was our deferred honeymoon. And we could not have picked better. We were originally looking at Belize and then chose Roatan for availability and lower airfare. Everything that was stated in the review just before this one was absolutely true for us as well.

We were looking for a low key, uncrowded beach location and Toucan Blue fit that bill to a T. The pictures on VRBO are "what you see is what you get" Everything was as described. The views from the deck are stunning and yet it still allows for some privacy. The main bedroom upstairs was perfect. It was nice to have some soft music on the deck as we lounged. We used the kitchen mostly for breakfast and otherwise ate out at recommended restaurants.
Great movie selection. Decent CD music selection.
The kayaks were some of the best I've used.
Definitely need to apply DEET twice a day. Didn't one afternoon and 50 bites appeared on my back!
The Isuzu Trooper at the house that we also rented was perfect for getting around the island and didn't give us a bit of trouble.
Can't say enough good things about Liz. She was invaluable and just fun to talk to. Everything she recommended was good if not great. And she was always open to hearing about our other finds that went well.
Spoke with the owners via phone and email and they made the process for renting as easy as could be.

We always like to try new and different things but we both said we could easily see ourselves coming back to Toucan Blue a second time.

If you are looking for laying out on the beach vacation spot, this may not be for you. If you are looking for beautiful views, snorkeling and scuba adventures, friendly, safe adventures around the island, this is the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Toucan Blue. The setting is lovely and we want to share it with others for memorable vacations. Please consider a future visit--the hummingbirds will be waiting!
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Everything we had expected it would be

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This trip was our deferred honeymoon. And we could not have picked better. We were originally looking at Belize and then chose Roatan for availability and lower airfare. Everything that was stated in the review just before this one was absolutely true for us as well.

We were looking for a low key, uncrowded beach location and Toucan Blue fit that bill to a T. The pictures on VRBO are "what you see is what you get" Everything was as described. The views from the deck are stunning and yet it still allows for some privacy. The main bedroom upstairs was perfect. It was nice to have some soft music on the deck as we lounged. We used the kitchen mostly for breakfast and otherwise ate out at recommended restaurants.
Great movie selection. Decent CD music selection.
The kayaks were some of the best I've used.
Definitely need to apply DEET twice a day. Didn't one afternoon and 50 bites appeared on my back!
The Isuzu Trooper at the house that we also rented was perfect for getting around the island and didn't give us a bit of trouble.
Can't say enough good things about Liz. She was invaluable and just fun to talk to. Everything she recommended was good if not great. And she was always open to hearing about our other finds that went well.
Spoke with the owners via phone and email and they made the process for renting as easy as could be.

We always like to try new and different things but we both said we could easily see ourselves coming back to Toucan Blue a second time.

If you are looking for laying out on the beach vacation spot, this may not be for you. If you are looking for beautiful views, snorkeling and scuba adventures, friendly, safe adventures around the island, this is the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
British Columbia, Canada
5

Secluded Roatan Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our family of five (2 adults, kids ages 11, 11, and 13) stayed a Toucan Blue for two weeks in March. We were looking for a beachfront location away from the crowds that allowed us to experience the true life and culture of Roatan. Toucan Blue met our needs and much much more. It is definitely secluded - Milton Bight is a small village off the main road about half way up island. Toucan Blue is one of a handful of beachfront houses in a small development. There are no crowds...trust me. The house was clean, well appointed, and boasts a stunning view of the reef. The covered deck is huge and seems to be the center of most of the action in the house. The kitchen is reasonably roomy and very well set up. The sitting room has a flat screen and a great selection of movies. The master bedroom is amazing and the other three bedrooms (lower floor) are very big...all with access to bathrooms. The BBQ worked great - especially for the lobster, conch, and fresh fish! Outside of the house, the kayaks were a great way to get out to the reef for some snorkeling. We found the best snorkeling to be out near the cut (to the west) but its not for beginners or those timid in deep water. Yet, just out in front of the house, the snorkeling is quite good and there are lots of shallow spots with tonnes of coral and fish. Watch for sand flies on the beach - DEET worked well as did Cactus Juice...just make sure you apply often. This was not unique to Toucan Blue though - seemed to be the general consensus around the island. The pool came in handy for those days when we wanted to avoid the salt water and just cool off.

The people of Milton Bight were very friendly - we met a number of the local residents and enjoyed hearing about their life on the island. The security guys at the house are very attentive, friendly, and definitely gave us that 'extra' peace of mind. Liz (property manager) was awesome. She is very well connected on the island and had LOTS of excellent suggestions for tour operators, restaurants, etc...she was very accommodating and answered all of our questions quickly. Having access to Liz's expertise and knowledge is a definite bonus when renting Toucan Blue. As well, all of our dealings with the owners were excellent. Lynda was very responsive and professional. The entire transaction went very smooth.

Generally, our experience on Roatan was unforgettable. I would highly recommend this destination and Toucan Blue for a family vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Brooklyn,NY
5

Amazing escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had an amazing time at Toucan Blue! It was a perfect escape from the hassle that is life in New York city. The description online is spot on. Nothing was missing , the house was well kept. Nearby attractions we visited:
-Marble Hill Farms (for scuba diving and food)
-Eldons Supermarket in French Harbor
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad that your family enjoyed the time at Toucan Blue! Please consider a return visit.
Lynda and Dave, and our great property manager Liz
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

EXCELLENT OPTION

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The perfect place to enjoy Roatan; We rented the house with trhe car, and we were able to move to all the beatiful places around. We toke a trip in a boat to go snorckleling and spended the day on an island (Pegeant Key); we went to have the most perfect Lobster in the Island, at La Sirena in Camp Bay, also is a perfect place to do snorckleling and cayaks.
You´ll find everythink you need in the house and is prety confortable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
USA
5

Great house, quiet location, natural beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My friend and I booked Toucan Blue for our December trip to Roatan. Having never been to the island, we didn't think we'd be interested in the touristy and cruise ship areas of West Bay and West End. Instead, we found this house that appeared to be far enough away from the crowds to give us space, yet not too far away from any amenities we might need. I'm glad we picked this place. Since a reader may not have traveled to this area of the globe before, first perhaps a few warnings or hints:
--if you're used to all-inclusives and being walled off from the locals, this place may not be for you. This house is part of a small development of just a few homes with a shared pier. To get to it, you turn off the main paved highway down a dirt road through a small village that had no name as far as I could tell. You come to a wooden boardwalk across a swamp that leads to this house and a few others.

--Because you're away from town, you have to deal with sand flies or no-see-ums. The owner and management provided us with a welcome kit that included strong DEET bug spray, so the nuisance was minimal.

--Because the surrounding area on the main highway is not well lit, and because the sun goes down early in the tropics, you may want to plan accordingly. If you're not comfortable driving in the third world during the dark, this may mean eating at home at night. For us, this just meant trying to at least leave for dinner before it was dark, and eating dinners at restaurants that were within a few miles' distance.

The house is simple but well appointed. It consists of three bedrooms on the ground floor and a laundry room, then on the second floor is an additional bedroom, a small indoor kitchen and living area, and then the larger covered outdoor living area. Other than sleeping, I spent most of my time in this outdoor living area looking out over the blue sea and the nearby reef.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the house is secure because the development has a groundskeeper/guard. We essentially had the beach and pier to ourselves. Nearby was a resort catering to divers, which planned us a great snorkeling trip out to Pigeon Cay.

I'd recommend Toucan Blue to travelers looking for solitude away from the tourist masses, and when I come to Roatan I will rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Eagan Mn.
5

Gordy & Patty

Gordy & Patty
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Toucan Blue is everything we expected and more. The pictures and narrative do not do it justice. If you just want to relax on the deck and do nothing or fill your day with fishing, diving, zip lines, etc. you can do it here. Eat in or enjoy some great food throughout the island, it's your choice. Do as much or as little as you desire.
Patty and I caught up on books and movies during a couple of windy days and walked what seemed to be private beach all the other days. We snorkeled, kayaked, and toured the entire island. I've already recommended Toucan Blue to a couple of friends and sent them the link to the website.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Minnesota
4

Toucan Blue

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Toucan Blue is a nice vrbo home in a small grouping of 4 homes that share a community swimming pool. It is just as represented in the listing. Unlike many lodging options it has glass windows, screens, locks on the doors, full time security, all the little needs like airconditioning, cable, tv, wifi, books, towels, utencils and spices for cooking. We used the gas grill which is very nice and the owners are caring and detailed enough to even warn that the grill tends to run Hot, which probably saved us from ruining our grilled fish. Toucan Blue is 5 minutes from Cal's (super food and reasonable price), and only 15 minutes from French Harbor where you can get groceries. We snorkeled off a bouy on the reef in front of the house and also a bouy a half mile West in front of Tourcoise Bay Resort (a projection of the shoreline hides the resort from view at Toucan Blue so we never even saw anyone over there until we kayaked around the point). One day the wind was strong at our reef so we drove 15 minutes to Parrot Tree Resort (before French Harbor), all paved road, and they have a parking lot where you can park and walk across their swim area bridge to the channel/shore. There is a wood ladder to access the reef there which is comparable to others-- pretty good structure and full of life.
Having kayaks at Toucan Blue is great. The place is nice because it is away from the crowds. If you want to do a day trip or two like we did, it is less than an hour to get to West End or West Bay by paved road. Be warned, they all drive like crazy people and you may find yourself pulling over frequently to let them pass you. PS- we didn't have a 4x4 but you might want one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
5

Perfect Vacation Home & Island For Us

Perfect Vacation Home & Island For Us
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our group had a great time on Roatan and found tremendous value in the Toucan Blue House rental

Milton Bight, the closest landmark that most islanders know of, is the small village just South of the lovely near-white sand beach. Walking the beach’s approx. 1km was excellent. We rarely saw anyone beyond other ‘community’ (the House is in a cluster of 3-beach homes, 1, near-beach home and a community pool, under repairs during our stay) residents and local fishermen. If seclusion is what you’re after, this is the place for you

The house itself was perfect for our needs. We loved the covered patio and were very comfortable in our bedrooms. The house is exquisitely cleaned and extremely well-maintained. The house, in particular the kitchen, was well-stocked with anything we could need or want, including a coffee grinder, and any staple that wasn't there on arrival is available at Eldon’s Supermarket in French Harbour, about 20-minutes West by car. Stop at Eldon’s and ‘the fish store’ on your way to the House, but only buy what you need for that night. Having rented via VRBO before, we found this House the best-stocked in terms of cookware and kitchen basics

Jami, who responded to our many email inquiries, looked after us while we were down there. She gave us excellent advice and was a superb host to us. If available, the “Toucan Blue House Information Book” was outstanding, and might have been helpful if we’d perused it before arriving on Roatan

The ‘no-see-ums’ (sand fleas) were in full-effect during our stay, but locals told us it’s seasonal. Our bites were mainly the result of our own poor choices in bug repellent application. They were on almost every beach we visited, and we visited a lot of them. This is nothing new if you travel the Caribbean. Half of us took Malarone, none of us got sick

The snorkelling was sublime, an excellent inner reef breaks waves a few hundred yards from shore. There’s a lot of turtle grass around and past the beautiful dock, so wear water shoes. We made great use of the kayaks, especially as our transportation to the inner reef. Some of us preferred to swim out instead

We highly recommend the neighbouring Subway Watersports Diving outfit. Good prices, great equipment, excellent instruction

Rent a car if you can, you're quite isolated and Roatan has lots to see

The island offered something for everyone in our group; 4 in our early 30s looking for a party, 4 in our late 50s looking for the opposite

We'll definitely return
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Toucan Blue Beach House with Spectacular View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116204vb
(651) 481-0379 (Minnesota, USA)
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Hays, Kansas, USA
5

Toucan Blue is beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is a beautiful property. The pictures of the property were very accurate. The home was clean and well-maintained and it appears to have had some recent upgrades. We spent most of our time at the house on the covered deck, which overlooks the ocean within a few feet. The view was wonderful. The managers were very accommodating and the security staff was friendly and comforting. We appreciated that air conditioning was included in the price, as many of the properties do not offer that. I found two things about the accommodation to be less than expected. The pool appears to be very old and is not in the best shape. We did not find it inviting and did not use it. Also, I would not recommend renting the owner's vehicle. It is not in good repair and we had a constant concern that it might not get us where we wanted to go. Although a rental car would likely be more expensive, knowing what we know now, it would have been more comforting to have had something more reliable even at a higher cost. There are many beautiful places on this island. We enjoyed exploring and learning about the people and their culture. The snorkling was extraordinary. It was slow season so we were able to take advantage of the quiet restaurants and attractions and even got to take a catameran trip with just our group of 5. We would wholeheartedly recommend www.sailinginroatan.com. Dave and his crew were great. It was disappointing to spend so much of our valued time-off dealing with bugs. No amount of spraying seemed to keep them away completely. Some of our group were more affected by the bites than others, but all of us found them to be more than annoying. First tropical vacation that I have ever taken with such intruders. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative...The overall experience of Toucan Blue exceeded our expectations. Thanks Ed and Jamie for a great stay!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 3/3