Beaufort house rental - Sunset from the backyard
Sunset from the backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Beaufort House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to the Low Country and slightly off the beaten path antebellum Beaufort, South Carolina. You've seen it in movies like Prince of Tides, Forrest Gump, or the Big Chill. This area is steeped in history with Charleston 70 minutes to the North and Savannah, Georgia 45 minutes to the South. A gradual and continuing 'discovery', which started here in the 1970's, has given Beaufort some fine restaurants and night life, but the pace is more relaxed than on famous Hilton Head Island, 35 minutes away.

Parris Island, with its Marine recruit depot, is 10 minutes away. Our house is very popular with families in town for Parris Island graduations. We offer a refund if, for any reason, the recruit cannot graduate as planned.

Our house sits on a high bluff which allows a furnished basement with a 9 foot slate pool table. Its view through the sliding glass door is of the fully fenced backyard sloping down to the live oak guarded marsh. The upstairs single story house is light and cheerful due to an open floor plan, lots of glass, skylights and celestial windows. The Master bedroom (with huge Master Bath) and the Great Room (with a Buck wood burning stove) face the marsh and river with an expansive westerly sunset view.

The kitchen and eating area have the same view through the dining room with its walls of glass that make you feel you can reach out and touch the river. An 8 foot wide porch (with 3 ceiling fans) that runs the length of the house faces a landscaped front yard.

The dock (with water, lights and electricity) comes off one corner of the backyard and offers easy access to the river and pristine marsh. The backyard has hosted numerous oyster roasts and crab boils. Shrimp, fish, and crabs can be caught off the dock (permit free).

The large floating dock has 6 feet of water at dead low tide (and 12 or more at high tide). A boat towed to the area can be launched at a close-by landing and following a 10 minute trip, tied up at the dock. Open ocean is about 30 minutes away with numerous fishing reefs easily accessible, or travel by boat to Hilton Head or Savannah relatively quickly.

This house is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Ride bikes that are provided, or jog or walk around the tree shaded mile-long oval that runs the perimeter of this older subdivision. Sitting on the front porch or the dock is always a treat.

Great value golf is available to the public at several courses in the area. Bluffton and Hilton Head offer world class golf at higher prices. Downtown Beaufort is about 10 minutes away and the public ocean beach at Hunting Island State Park with lighthouse, fishing pier, camping and nature walks is 30 minutes beyond. We provide a State Park Pass for free of charge access.

Beds: 2 queen pillowtops, 2 double beds

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

86 Reviews of Property 69054 in Beaufort, South Carolina

Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
average rating of 5.0 based on 86 reviews
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Perfect spring week in Beaufort!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Accommodations were just what we had hoped/expected based upon the description.
Views were magnificent - having my morning coffee on the dock, watching the birds, was heavenly! Perfect location for touring around - visited Savannah, Charleston, Hilton Head Island, and Beaufort and never felt like we were driving a great distance. Nice quiet neighborhood for running and walking - friendly neighbors!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Perfect Get a Way spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Absolutely loved this place! Stayed here for a Marine graduation. Felt just like home! Located in a great neighborhood, close proximity to everything! Beautiful view from the dock, and backyard. Felt just like home!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
"We fell in love with this place several years ago. We decided to take our honeymoon in this beautiful hidden paradise! We loved coming into your home and enjoying the beginning of our lives together. I can see your home as a place where we will want to bring our children and make many more memories."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
"This was a great experience. Thank you so much for your help and guidance. You have a wonderful home. We thoroughly enjoyed our son's graduation and it was even more enjoyable knowing after long days that we had a peaceful, comfortable home to wind down in. I would recommend for anyone coming to the area to consider renting your home."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Thank you so much. We were instantly comfortable here. Plenty of space, beautiful dock to relax on and enjoy, and close to everything. It was important to me that our son be comfortable and enjoy his time with his family and friends. For that I thank you, mission complete! I most certainly will recommend your home to everyone who is looking for a place in the area. And I definitely intend to return again myself. Thanks again!"
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us! it was so great to rent a home rather than a motel room. The kids really enjoyed catching and releasing crabs and fish. It was also nice to be locally placed near Hunting Island beach and Parris Island so we didn't have to drive so far to watch our Marine graduate. We definitely would recommend your rental to anyone who needs to stay in SC."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"Just a word of thanks for sharing your home with our family. I feel so blessed to have found this listing. It is such a wonderful place, tucked away. The view of the water made us feel like we were in our own little world! We were able to celebrate our new Marine's graduation with our family and friends. It was perfect for all ages. Great memories were made here this week that will last forever!"
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home. We had an amazing vacation here. We were looking forward to spending time in some favorite spots in Beaufort. But the area attractions were completely eclipsed by your beautiful "backyard" :). We were greeted by dolphins, entertained by fiddler crabs, dazzled by sunsets and stars, and lulled to sleep by the sounds of the marsh. We watched a mama raccoon march her fat babies across the yard and through the fence. Everything about this week was relaxing and absolutely perfect. We can't wait to come back!"
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
"We had a great time here! The house is beautiful and very homey. The views were awesome and we couldn't have asked for better weather. On the dock we enjoyed sunsets and watching the wildlife. We even saw a stingray. Thank you for sharing your house. We hope to come again."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Thank you for opening your home to us. We enjoyed our stay. It was very cozy and peaceful, a perfect setting to welcome back our son as a new Marine. Despite the rainy weather, the view is beautiful! There was still plenty to do with the pool table and hot tub. We will have many fond memories of our time here.