Hancock house rental - The Red House with a view of the 20x40 patio with built in fireplace.
The Red House with a view of the 20x40 patio with built in fireplace.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hancock House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Enjoy yourself in this beautifully renovated 2 bedroom home. Home boasts hardwood floors, bluestone countertops, beautiful stone bathroom with jacuzzi jet tub. We have lovingly decorated it with persian rugs, antiques and artwork that we have collected in our travels. The Red House is a cozy, ultra comfortable country getaway at its best!

Relax on private 2 acres with trout stream in your own back yard. Mountain views to die for. You are 1 mile from the west branch of the Delaware River and 2 miles from the main stem. The river is gorgeous, ideal for fishing, swimming, tubing, everything!

You are minutes away from horse stables, golf, summer camps, state game lands and miles of groomed O&W snowmobiling trails. We are 15 minutes from Elk Mountain, a top notch ski resort.

Fishing the best waters in the world: The Red House is a mile down the road from the Ball's Eddy public access point on the PA side of the West Branch of the Delaware River. Hancock, NY is 5 minutes away and fishing is available at several public access points, one of which is the PA/NY bridge.

We also have brook trout in our trout stream at The Red House.

When people ask what we love about The Red House, I always say it is a magical place to be. It is so peaceful and relaxing. We literally have to drag ourselves off the porch to go into town to do errands or get something to eat.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I and our 4 Cavalier King Charles Spaniels are from the Syracuse, New York area. We love to travel with our dogs and they are our 'furr-kids'. My husband is an avid fly fisherman and that kind of directs all of our travels, including Belize. We are also history people and love to sightsee wherever we go. We have been going to Belize for the last 13 years.

Tina Winkler purchased this house in 2008

When people ask what we love about The Red House, I always say it is a magical place to be. It is so peaceful and relaxing. We literally have to drag ourselves off the porch to go into town to do errands or get something to eat.

Plus, the Ball's Eddy access point on the West Branch of the Delaware River is a mile down the road!!

As mentioned above, the proximity to the West Branch of the Delaware River is a unique benefit to the property. We also have a trout stream that runs through the back of our property. It does have trout in it.

I also loved the history of the house, it was built in 1860. If only the walls could talk!

7 Reviews of Property 272370 in Hancock, New York

The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
average rating of 4.8 based on 7 reviews
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
5

Complete Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I just returned from our stay at The Red House. If what you are looking for is a quiet place to get away from everything and relax in a beautiful mountain setting, then this is the place for you. The house was immaculate but still welcoming. The scenic views were amazing. We hadn't even made it home yet, and we were already planning our return! Tina, the owner, was so easy to work with, as well. I can't say enough about how great our stay was. We will definitely be back!!
Owner's Response: Erin,

Thank you so much for the lovely review and kind words! I am so thrilled you had a great time at our little Red House. I am really looking forward to having you come back again soon!

Best,

Tina
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
5

peaceful gateway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fantastic stay at The Red House. The house is cozy and lovely decorated with peaceful and quiet surroundings. Whether it was sitting by the fire, or on the porch this is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend getaway. We look forward to coming back. Thank you
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
5

peaceful and lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a fantastic stay at The Red House. The house is cozy and lovely decorated with peaceful and quiet surroundings. Whether it was sitting by the fire, or on the porch this is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend getaway. We look forward to coming back. Thank you
Owner's Response: Violet,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad you had a wonderful stay at the Red House. It's a magical place, isn't it? We look forward to having you back again soon!

Thanks again!!

Tina
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
United States
5

Perfect Place to Get Away in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The red house is just perfect, we had zero complaints about our stay. It's super clean, comfortable and cozy, wonderfully equipped, and tastefully decorated. The view and surroundings are beautiful, and while you can get into town for groceries or supplies in about 20 minutes, you really are away from civilization, and it's a wonderful thing. It's so peaceful to sit out on the back porch, light the fire pit, and relax.
Tina, the owner, is wonderful too. We had a little misunderstanding about our stay and she was 100% accommodating and friendly.
Owner's Response: Amy, we loved having you stay with us!! I knew you'd love the Red House as much as we do! I can't wait to have you back again next year. You will get lots of mileage out of that story too! I thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is folks like you that make it so worth it to share our home!
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
NYC
4

Quality Stay In Western Catskills Area

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Inside: Plenty of room in the house for 4 people that looks and feels taken care of. You can tell that work has been done on this small two bedroom...new tin roof, widened stairway, double-hung windows, bluestone countertops and modern appliances (electric stovetop/oven not my favorite). The style is kind of a modern bungalow - lots of wainscoting and exposed wood. House did not feel damp or dank while we were there but being so close to the river I bet it can be during the summer months. I saw a dehumidifier in one of the rooms so that's nice if you happen to be there during the thick-air months. Some classic fishing art hidden all around and tons of really nice rugs, all 4 of us thought the place was charming.

Outside: large backyard with great views of the mountains and a little creek (very shallow), lots of seating, stone fire pit and propane grill. With the creek brings frogs so prepare to be lulled to sleep. The owners have mounted a nice little bird house so the local swallow's come in and out right by the back door - lots of wildlife to see all around.

Proximity: Great location for a fisherman or casual antiquer with a car but for someone looking to walk into town this is not the spot.

FYI - Owners were quick to respond to emails and they accommodated a change of date, which was very nice of them. They also accepted bank transferred funds, so much easier than writing checks. Bring your own firewood. Couldn't get the gas grill to light with the internal infrared igniter (I've never even seen one of those before).

We all agreed that we'd do it again. 4 people was ok...6 would be pretty tight but workable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Karl,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love for you come back!

Best,

Tina
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A Property for All Seasons

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
Our family of 5 (and occasional friends) have been blessed with the Winkler's love of fishing! We have frequented both of the cabins they own in the Hancock area between 2009-2011 and have only the fondest memories. We miss our visits and hope to return some day.

Both the Red House in Hancock and the Red House River Cabin in Deposit are well-kept, well-decorated, and welcoming. Our family has felt comfortable as if at home at both of these locations and the owners couldn't be more accommodating.

We have stayed at the Red House in Hancock during all seasons and have been quite comfortable. Along with the cabin itself, the remote surroundings are also peaceful and relaxing. There were a few occasions where our visit to Hancock fell on dates already booked at the Red House and we sorely missed our home away from home when this happened!

When the Winkler's purchased the Red House River Cabin in Deposit, we did not hesitate to rent their new cabin. It's larger, allowing for more friends to join us. We even had a graduation party at this location in June 2011 and the barbeque, porch and manicured lawns were delightful amenities for our celebration!

During our stays, and since, the Winkler's continue to make updates and improvements on the properties (not that they were needed). I would recommend staying at either property at any time whenever in the area!
business
The Red House: Beautiful Home with Trout Stream
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272370
+1 315 635-8201
Hancock Delaware River Valley
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great Fishing Getaway

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Perfect location for the visiting fly fisherman with great water right in front of the house. House is well appointed, large kitchen with new appliances, kitchen island workspace/buffet area and dining room. Plenty of room for 7 anglers. Comfortable living room and beds after a long day of fishing. Highly recommended, we already booked our week for next year.