North Captiva Island house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

North Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Nestled in the shade of a giant sea grape tree, Calliope Cottage is the perfect spot to rest after a day of island adventure.

Come in your own boat or take the water taxi across beautiful Charlotte Harbor to North Captiva Island where you will be greeted island style and shown to the cottage by golf cart!

Golf carts only here and one is included in your rental along with beach chairs and umbrella. Kayaks, jet skis and boats are available for rent at Boats & Fun on the island. Fishing guides and touring can easily be arranged to get you where you want to go. Three restaurants and a small store are also on island for you convenience.

Hike the Cayo Costa State Park that runs the entire length of the southern 1/2 of the island and check a few more birds off you birding journal, or fish Captiva pass for the biggest kick of the week. Located just one pass away from World Famous Boca Grand Pass - book for Tarpon Season and get ready to hook the BIG ONE!.

The Cottage sleeps 4 and is fully equipped with all the comforts of home! You will fall in love the North Captiva Island Life.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details
Hide Details

Bill and I are outdoor & wildlife lovers! We fish, hike and travel when we can. Growing up in Venice, Florida I have watched the state change from 'Old Florida' to 'New Florida'. North Captiva is a wonderful reflection of my childhood and the free spirit of 'Old Florida'. No worries, no snow (whats that?) and no shoes! I just love my cottage and all the island offers.

Joe purchased this house in 2004

If you love nature then this is for you! North Captiva is home to many native species of animals. The gopher tortoise is fun to watch grazing and strolling down the shell roads. Ospreys monitor the island from their giant nests where the babies call for their meals of fresh trout. Woodpeckers, herons and ibis meander everywhere. Even Indigo Buntings have stopped on our lawn during their migrations. Dolphins and manatees are just off the beach and the fishing is some of the best you will find. Hiking, shelling, swimming will keep you entertained and water sport equipment is available at Boats and Fun. Exploring the island by golf cart is fabulous fun!

9 Reviews of Property 272208 in North Captiva Island, Florida

Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
NC
5

North Captiva

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We really enjoyed out stay at the cottage. It was very clean and had everything you could possibly need and more. We loved exploring the island in the very reliable golfcart and saw a lot of wildlife. The beach is just a quick ride away and is beautiful! Thanks Joe for a very relaxing and stress-free experience!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ft. Lauderdale
5

Adorable Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Beautiful island cottage with tasteful furnishings and all amenities available in pristine conditions.
Lovely and peaceful surroundings with a variety of activities nearby.
We definitely had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. I am glad that you had a good time at our beach cottage. I hope to see you all revisit soon!
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Perfect Quiet Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place was perfect for a quiet getaway on very peaceful island. The house is very clean and like new. My wife and I came here for 4 days for our wedding anniversary and right away we started planning a trip next year with our 4 kids (all under 9). The house is set up in the tree tops with lots of nature to observe. The house is well equipped with kitchen items with plenty of room. We appreciated the fully furnished house with all appliances, including use of dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer. This allows one to pack very lightly for the trip and will come in handy with kids. There are multiple beds and built in bunk beds for kids. Usage of the clubhouse pool was very nice as well. There was a small glitch in gaining access to it, but a quick text message to the owner was all it took for immediate response and resolution within an hour. The golf cart worked great and the trip to and from the island (did this twice) was seamless with Island Girl Charter. We stayed over the weekend and were looking for a church to attend Mass and this was easily accomplished by getting back to Pine Island with an early pick up on Sunday morning from Island Girl Charter and then a short drive to Our Lady of Miraculous Medal just down the road. The beaches are all but to yourself and have the perfect white fine sand with plenty of opportunity for shell hunting. The beach access was just a very short drive in the golf cart. There are many places for beach access throughout the island. The house had 2 beach chairs and an umbrella to bring with on the beach, which was essential in the hot sun. I would ask the owner to have more chairs available in the future or bring extra on your trip if you plan on sitting at the beach for many hours. There were plenty of beach towels available at the house. The people on the island were very friendly and helpful. This island and this house is the place to go if you are looking for a quiet getaway with opportunities to observe nature, spend quiet time reading a good book, sit by the beach, shell hunt, explore the island by golf cart, swim, eat good ice cream, watch the sunsets, appreciate the warm weather, and just plain Relax. And don't be afraid to bring your kids along, they will love it too and this house is set up very nicely to accommodate.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip and stay at our beach cottage. I will be making sure to add some additional beach chairs for the home right away. We look forward to seeing you back in the fall. I agree with you that the island is perfect for kids. Our kids have grown up going to the island often, and the safe natural environment lets kids be kids without the typical distractions of more developed islands. A little more effort to get to the island but well worth it!
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
montville, nj
5

Wonderful, relaxing vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This was our first trip to North Captiva & we fell in love. We vacationed over our spring break with our 3 kids (3, 6 & 8) and really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the island. The house met our needs perfectly - kitchen was well stocked with all of the utensils & dishes you could need, the house isn't huge, but the high ceilings made it feel especially spacious (& really, how much room do you need?), and the beaches (all of them) & club/pool are all really quick rides in the golf cart (easily seated 2 adults & 3 little ones). The golf cart could probably use a tune-up as it was a little difficult to steer, but never had a problem with the battery or otherwise. The island is gorgeous - beautiful weather each day, saw so much wildlife, and we went a full week without a single honk or siren - ahhhh. Our trip unfortunately ended with a trip to the emergency room after our son came down with a bad case of croup, but even so, the island emergency staff was quick to arrive, very professional & quickly transported he & my husband by boat to the mainland where they were met by an ambulance -the emergency was not exactly what we'd planned, but nice to know the service was there! We'll definitely plan to come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry it had to end with an emergency trip to the hospital. One of the greatest things about North Captiva vs some of the other barrier islands is the airstrip, and 24/7 on site fire/emt. This makes emergencies much easier to handle. As to the golf cart issues, we have now included a golf cart from North Captiva Island Club, so that should be an issue in the future.
Hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
St. Petersburg, Florida
3

Questionable

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Photos of the house are just as it is, very clean and comfortable. If you've ever stayed on the island then you know how important a reliable golf cart is and if you have your own boat then you know how important docking is. The listing says that a boat slip is included...it's not, that's an extra $40 per night ($2 per foot) at a dock that has no water to hose down you boat and no bumpers on the pilings, which means your boat gets scratched as the tide goes in and out. If not for the caretaker "loaning" us a beater cart we would not have had a way to get back and forth to the boat dock, as the one that comes with the house is inoperable. I emailed these facts to the owner and got no reply. Oh well. Overall, the resort seems to be going down hill. The pool was dirty with tiles missing. We've been going to North Captiva for over 10 years and from now on will rent through one of the island real estate groups.
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments, and are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. To clarify, a boat dock is not included with the rental. The golf cart had been damaged by a prior tenant, and we were unaware of the issue prior to your booking. We are now providing a 4 person cart through North Captiva Island Club that is reliable, with all bookings.
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Michigan
5

Wonderful family adventure on North Captiva!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Wonderful house for our family of five. Very comfortable furnishings and charming, clean cottage. We loved the birds and tortoises that visited while we were here. Easy trip to the beach for fun swimming and beautiful sunsets! Thank you for sharing your cottage with us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
North Carolina mountains
5

MORE THAN A GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
For anyone living the typically hectic modern life, and especially for those running their own businesses,getting away from it all becomes harder and harder each year.
We have finally found the answer; Bill & Marilyn Slocum's Calliope Cottage. More than a getaway; this is an affordable retreat from noise and traffic and all the sights and sounds of city life. Come here for a true sanctuary, where the backdrops are the birdcalls and wavebreaks and breezes through the trees. Details like the excellent book selection and complete privacy will be greatly appreciated by all harried souls. Thanks and Well Done!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Smokey Mountains, North Carolina
5

Great Accomidations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Bill and Carolyn have a well planned layout with many indoor ammenities available. The isolated island is enchanting. Having a place to dock my sailboat out of the weather was important and included. The included golf cart got us around the parts of the island we wanted to see. We are planning to comeback when the weather is warmer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Calliope Cottage is made for happy people, whether relaxing, fishing or exploring! Once you experience it you will want to come again and again. We'd love to have you, come on down!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming Beach Cottage on North Captiva-Club Membership+Cart included
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272208vbi
941-780-3260
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Toronto, Ontario
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Very clean, comfortable and well organized. We felt very much "at home" and can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 4/6