Vieques Island house rental - Beach Frontage
Beach Frontage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom 2 bath sleeps 6-8,Llarge wrap around screened in porch.

Just completed February 4,2010. This Beachfront house lies on the North Shore of Vieques PR. at Bastimento Beach. This 3 bedroom 2 bath home is only steps to one of the most beautiful beaches on this Caribbean Island. Watch the wild horses dance in the surf, enjoy the warm tropical trade winds and prepare yourself for one of the most relaxing vacations of a life time.

Enjoy snorkeling,sunning and swimming on the wonderful sandy secluded beach!

Don't miss out on this opportunity! Get out of the cold! High Season dates are filling up quickly. Reserve your vacation dates today. Call and ask for Jon. PLEASE see link below for owner's personal website.

Please let our 10 year experience in Vieques assist you in planning your vacation to Vieques. Upon your booking we can provide you with reputable services we have personally used in the past 10 years. Transportation from S.J.U. to Fahardo,Car Rental Agencies,Local Restaurants providing Vieques Cuisine,Gourmet boutique Restaurants,Bio-Bay Tour Operators,Day Sailing and even Massages on the Beach. Let us help you maximize your vacation to Vieques. Thanks, Jon Schmidt

My wife and I fell in Love with Vieques in the Spring of 2001 and purchased this vacant 1/2 Acre Beach Front Lot. We purchase the adjoining lot 8 months later and built a small Bungalow. This 3br./2ba. Beach House was in our plans for 7.5 year until we finally built it in the spring of 2010. We spent Christmas in Vieques in 2010 and had a wonderful family experience. We hope our Beach Home can bring you and your families the same kind of wonderful experiences. Time spent with loved ones on the beach with your feet in the water,children snorkeling or making sand castles is truly priceless. Let me help you plan your vacation. Thanks, Jon Schmidt

Jon Schmidt purchased this house in 2001

The Beach is only 50 steps from the house; The North end of our lot is actually the Beach. The children learned to snorkel at 2 and 3 years of age, because of the calm waters in the rock pool area.

13 Reviews of Property 272161 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 13 reviews
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Wonderful location, very comfy, great views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed here last week and had a great experience! The office is equipped with everything you need at home and to take to the beach! The beds are comfortable, the house very clean and overall a very pleasant space to spend time in. Being so close to the water is amazing for a beach cocktail and we enjoyed sitting on the porch with our AM coffee. Jon, the owner, was very efficient with booking/paperwork,etc. Ron, the house manager, is a dream! He is so helpful and friendly while giving guests plenty of privacy. I highly recommend this to anyone considering traveling to Vieques! It has plenty of space for a few couples or a family!

Thank you Jon and Ron! We'll be back!

Kathleen :)
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
New York, New York
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
JUST got back a few days ago from a week's stay at this incredible property. We were 2 adults and 2 children (ages 10 and 5). The house could not have been more perfect. The location is great - very close to town but far enough away that you get that sense of being away from it all. The view from the porch is incredible. The beach in front of the house is great for kids - oftentimes there is a little tidal pool that is calm and filled with things for the kids to explore. Don't want that? A few steps away is a more open spot. The beach is something off a postcard - palm trees, sunsets, etc.... and you usually have it all to yourself! The house is much bigger than we expected. Each bedroom is a decent size as are both bathrooms. We cooked every day and all you will need is right there for you. For the first time we finally did what we always said we would - only packed 1 bathing suit, 2 pairs of shorts and 3 t-shirts... why bring more with the washer/dryer? Vieques is a beautiful island. SO many beaches to explore. Getting a Jeep is a must if you want to see them all. The drive to the Caribbean side of the island only takes a few minutes. Great restaurants are just a short drive away. The couple that help manage the property (Ron and Cheryl) could not have been nicer, and helped us get to the car rental place, answered any question we had while we were there, but gave us our own space/privacy during the week. We rarely want to return to places as there's just so much of the world to see... but I truly believe we will be back to Vieques - and to this property in particular!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Rest & Relax in romantic beach front setting

Rest & Relax in romantic beach front setting
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My wife & I returned to Vieques in early December, 2013 for a week in paradise before the end of another year. Living in the metro Kansas City area we missed a week of snow & artic air while relaxing on the secluded white sand beaches of this gorgeous island. Seven years ago we spent our honeymoon on Vieques and stayed in a smaller beach house next door to the one we stayed this trip. Our first trip we missed the Bio Bay excursion so we decided to spend an evening observing the bioluminescent organisms light show. We found the local islanders to be as friendly and welcoming as they were 7 years ago. Although the public beach 30 yards from our large screened in porch was fantastic we visited several beaches on the south side of the island for change of scenery. Although we did see a few other people at the beaches, for the most part, we usually had the whole beach to ourselves. Although the various beaches are fairly close geographically each one is unique. With the jeep we rented we were able to get to the other beaches in less than 30 minutes from leaving the beach house after circumventing the notorious pot holes along the access roads.
We highly recommend a visit to Vieques and in particular the beach house. We only had two but I can see how the beach house could accommodate a family with 3-4 kids or 2-3 couples nicely. Although dining & shopping is limited the food and shops are great.
The property manager was available and very helpful answering questions and recommending restaurants and shops. It did not take long to become familiar with the island. The beach house comes with beach chairs, snorkeling equipment, games, DVDs and books which was nice. The week went by too fast so we will have to return in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Perfect location for a perfect vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We have just returned from a wonderful week on Vieques Island, staying at Jon’s beautiful house. Ron, the house manager, picked us up from the ferry and drove us to get our rental car. He waited with us until the car was ready, and then took us to the house. The house was perfect for six people, with three bedrooms and two full bathrooms. The house was clean and well stocked, including a grill and a smoker, when we arrived. Ron was exceedingly kind, checking on us multiple times during our stay. He even helped us take care of a stray dog which found its way near our house. (We loved the friendly dogs, but if you are afraid of dogs, Vieques is probably not the vacation destination for you). The screened in deck was a great place to eat breakfast, watching the waves in the distance. A beautiful, private beach (shared only with wild horses) was only a few steps away, perfect for swimming, snorkeling,
watching sunsets and admiring rainbows.

We cannot think of a better place to stay to explore the island. The house is only minutes away from the main town with delicious restaurants. It is easy to get around the island with a car.


We hope to return in the future and will certainly stay again in Jon’s house.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Milwaukee
5

Best.Vacation.Ever.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My wife and I have been wanting to go to Vieques for over 10 years and the stars were aligned this January. We arent big on the all-inclusive resort scene or any crowds so familiar with many other Caribbean locations and Vieques is the antithesis of all the trappings you want to avoid in the usual locations like Cancun or Jamaica. Most of the island is very undeveloped (only one "chain" resort on the island) and while the island is small enough to get anywhere in 15 to 30 minutes, everywhere is an adventure. Just decide which beach you want to visit and make a day out of it.. That's if you ever need to leave the beach house and Playa Bastimento. To begin, going on a trip like this with two young children (ages 2 and 6) is no small feat. Jon the owner worked with me from the very beginning to make sure I knew what I needed to do, where to go and how to get there. Once we arrived on the island, David and his wife Barb who manage the house onsite were extremely helpful and accessible in a couple of jams. The house had pretty much everything a family of 4 would need and the very secluded beach with a shallow lagoon right out the back door was as good if not better than any of the other beaches we visited on the island, and that is a very high bar. If it weren't for the itch to go out and explore we could have stayed there for most of our trip. At the end of our stay we sat on that beach watching the sun set, our hearts heavy knowing that tomorrow was the end, then frantically scrambling for a few hours to try to change our flights and stay for 2 more days (didn't work out..). Yeah, we didn't want to leave primarily because we didn't spend enough time, right there in that spot at the house and on that beach. So one more night enjoying the trade winds blowing lightly through the house and one more morning waking to the sound of the gentle surf (and a friendly pack of wild horses that snuck in the fence that morning). We didn't want to wash the sand off before heading back to Wisconsin. Forever grateful for the experience, we plan on making it a tradition and all things permitting, will be staying in the same place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Just perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
We had a wonderful time at this beach house! 3 bedrooms were perfect for 3 couples, and the 2 bathrooms really helped. The screened in porch was where we spent most of our time (if we weren’t at the beach!) and it’s a terrific space. A little more counter space in the kitchen would have helped when preparing meals. The house was clean and well maintained, and having the beach chairs and water toys available was really appreciated - the guys got into spear fishing (and one actually caught a fish!) The beach is pretty private and gets visits from the friendly dogs and horses that roam the island. While we enjoyed the animals, the roosters beginning about 5:00 every morning was something we all could have done without! The wind coming from the water was nice - it blew away any bugs. (When we visited the beaches on the other side of the island, sand had mixed with the wind and stung a bit.) It’s about a mile and a half from town so definitely rent a car. There are a number of restaurants and bars, small grocery stores and farmers markets a few days a week so you won’t go hungry (or thirsty!) Definitely check out Bio Bay - either by kayak or electric pontoon boat tour. The boat tour was a little long, but definitely something you don’t want to miss - and the stars are amazing! 80 degrees every day in January was especially nice. The owner was easy to work with, and the property manager was very helpful. I would definitely recommend this property, and might even go back next year (roosters and all!)
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Baldwin City, KS
5

A Beautiful House a Beautiful Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
The beachhouse getaway in Vieques is the perfect place to take your family for a relaxing vacation. The house is spacious, wonderfully maintained, comfortable and gives you a bit of an island feel. The wrap around screened in porch is a great place to sit and enjoy morning coffee or evening drinks. Having a kitchen at your disposal is great for breakfasts and packing lunches for visiting other beaches. Your beach is just a few steps away and lovely to walk along in the mornings. (or evenings or go swimming) I would suggest a rental car as there are attractions that interest all ages on the island. The Bio Bay and snorkeling are two that I would highly recommend. If you are a history buff, the Spanish Fort in Isabella is very interesting. Red Beach, located on the island is absolutely stunning with white sand beaches. I think it is probably the most beautiful beach that I have ever been on. There is even a small black sand beach if you are adventurous and willing to hike a little. Most of the restaurants are small, but the food was very good. Casual is the prevailing atmosphere. Fresh fruit and delicious bakery pastries can be bought for breakfast from stands and shops if you don't want to be hurried in the morning.
Jon, the owner was very nice and worked with us on planning our stay. (This is a second stay for me as I went last year with friends and loved it so much, I had to take my family back!!) If you are looking for a place to get away and relax, I think this is the perfect house on the perfect beach on
the perfect island. I would and have recommended this house as a vacation option to many of my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Iowa
4

Vieques is a unique experience!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We just returned from Vieques. My husband planned and booked the trip for his Birthday. He is more of an adventurer than I, he likes scuba diving, water sports and local eateries. I prefer hotels, room service and shopping. He enjoyed the house and the adventure aspect of Vieques alot. I did like the open floor plan of the house and the big screened in porch and the beautiful beach in front of the house,but I did not like the Island so much. I would have to say Vieques is clearly an eco-destination; It has many nice beaches,a handful of great places to eat and that is about it. All and all we had a nice,relaxing,quiet vacation and I did catch up on my reading.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Addison, TX
5

No Brainer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband, our 3 year old and myself spent six fabulous days playing in the ocean, relaxing and bonding! This house was perfect for us! It was right on the beach and this particular section of the beach is very child friendly. I would highly recomend this home. It is spacious and clean, a home away from home. The owner and the manager both were very informative and accomidating.
We will be back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Beachfront! Beautiful 3br. - 2ba. home, sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272161
+1 (913)219-9692
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Kansas
5

Paradise in Vieques

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Just spent 8 days with the family at this lovely property in Vieques. The house is spacious and very comfortable, the beach is close and secluded, and there really are horses right in your yard! Jon was very helpful and worked with us to arrange our stay and Dawn was a great on-island resource. Hope to make it back very soon!
Helpful votes: 10/10