Las Terrenas villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Las Terrenas Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom villa + bungalow - 2 bath can accomodate from 2 to 7 guests or more

MONTE PLACIDO holds the Highest Number of HOMEAWAY 5* REVIEWS in the Dominican Republic or in its quality/price category. Trust passed guests, let them share their experiences.

Our guests appreciate the quality of our services and our flexible rates that are based on occupancy for 2, 3, 4 , 5 , 6 and 7 guests or more as Villa FALCONA

Our guest fall in love with breathtaking panoramic view of the beautiful blue ocean strategically located to reach 1/2 dozen pristine beaches. From our mountain admire lush coconut groves. and rolling hills. Monte Placido is quiet and tranquil, gated and safe. Our gardens have a beautiful variety of tropical plants and flowers. In the center of the garden is our lovely infinity pool. It is the perfect place to relax on a lounge chair, prepare a barbeque, or go for a nice cool swim. For more information please visit http://monteplacido.com

Imagine a Falcon perched atop a palm tree surveying the flat lands and ocean below. This describes the view from the second floor apartment, Falcona. The living and dining area are spacious with sliding doors that open to the terrace and magnificent ocean and garden panorama. It has two bedrooms and one bathroom. The master has a king bed, the second bedroom a queen bed. It is comfortable sleeping for two couples. A cot can be placed in the second bedroom and a child can also sleep on the sofa bringing its maximum capacity to six or more. Because, adjacent to FALCONA we offer an additional Room/bungalow with bath. The additional guests appreciate the convenience of being close by but also the privacy.

MONTE PLACIDO is a gated Residence comprised of 6 properties all positioned and design to offer maximum privacy Exceptionally and occasionally, we welcome special events such as small weddings and seminars, yoga retreats bird watching, hiking and kite surfing groups. we can comfortably welcome up to 23 guests. We offering catering on request, organize airport transfer, organized tours/excursions...

More Details
Hide Details

We live here and we are around to assist you! When you rent a home from us, we do more than simply had over keys. We provide optional services on site such as welcome meals, massage, and vehicle rental. We are happy to give our advice on where to go and how to get there. It is our goal to help your vacation be everything you dreamed of.

Don or Diana Case purchased this villa in 2003

Our environment is unique in Las Terrenas because we offer the best of both worlds. Monte Placido captures the peaceful and calming tropical spirit. Travel down our little mountain and in minutes you are at a dozen marvelous beaches. Reach the heart of Las Terrenas in only fifteen minutes where you can enjoy the many fine restaurants and Caribbean nightlife.

The most amazing feature of Monte Placido is our Yoga Cave. The yoga studio has ocean view, a wooden workout deck, and an Iyengar rope wall. It is fully stocked with mats, blankets and blocks. Up the inside stairs is a natural cave, perfect for small discussion groups or meditation. As guests of Monte Placido you are welcome to use the Yoga Cave for your own private workout.

51 Reviews of Property 272152 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
average rating of 4.882353 based on 51 reviews
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

INCREDIBLE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Just as my choice for a title suggests, Monte Placido was incredible in every possible way. We have no complaints and will definitely make staying here a tradition. It was THAT good.
Owner's Response: "Incredible" short concise and to the point! Thank you.
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Medetaranian Style Villas in Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Minutes after we passed several beautiful sandy beaches, we approached the hilltop retreat nestled in a pristine, quiet town just outside Las Terranas. The first thing we noticed, and how can you not!, was the breathtaking views of the lush tropics and the ocean. At the top, the warm caretaker, Jean Cluade, greeted us and carried our bags as we were welcomed by the retreat's very hospitable owners Don and Dianne. 1st impressions being everything, we were thrilled, as were our young children. We immediately walked through the impressively landscaped grounds to the infinity pool overlooking that million dollar view. My wife disappeared to the (again) spectacular and tranquil grotto and terrace perched on the hillside for meditation and yoga. We were in love. Our children were in love. And it only got better. The owners were not only gracious, but also knew everybody in the area and were happy to set up anything, from horseback rides to grand waterfalls, to a thorough rundown of the half dozen different beaches nearby, to having a local fisherman bring an impressive array of fish and lobster caught that day, right to our doorstep. Don and Dianne also happen to be very tuned into the community and have the inside scoop on anything you can imagine. We stayed for 3 weeks. The Villas have an old world Mediterranean feel, and ours had space to spare for our 5 member family. We stayed at a handful of other little places in our 5 week stay, but none compared to here. We can't say enough about it... other than we are going to book it for a month this coming Winter! And I guess that says it all...
Owner's Response: Thank you! After such a raving review, you better plan booking ASAP we will no longer be the best kept secret and potential new guests won't be able to resist will be lining up for next Winter. See you then.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Beautiful, calm, peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Placido is perfectly situated atop a hill overlooking the jungle, farmer's fields and magnificent sweeping ocean vistas. Beautiful gardens well looked after added to the beauty of the grounds and pool area. The meditation cave is a must see. Even when full the grounds were never crowded, a pleasant change from the all inclusive experience. Don and Diana are absolutely great hosts looking after all our needs. Only a short drive into town but also located close to all the various attractions on the peninsula, We couldn't have asked for a better spot. Janis and I spent a full month there relaxing and decompressing and would return in a moment. We met some great people there who we have kept in contact since. I highly recommend Placido as the perfect place, whether for few days or a longer stay, whether as a couple or a family. It was wonderful. Thank you Don and Diana and say hello to Jean Claude.
Owner's Response: Thank you Both. You are right to point out that MONTE PLACIDO is just short drive to town and in a pastoral setting and strategically located to the pristine beaches and all the things to do.
We called it "Monte Placido" because we always wanted to make sure that ourselves and our guests felt at peace here and yes even when all our 6 properties are rented it still remains very cozy and private.
Please come back
D & D
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
New York City
5

The place to be in DR's Samana!

The place to be in DR's Samana!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
In all ways, Monte Placido is a wonderful vacation spot. Pictures on the website help capture some of the visual impact of its stunning location, beautiful grounds and lovely accommodations. In no way do the pictures say it all. The experience goes far beyond words. The complex is perched on a hill - giving picture postcard views of the surrounding lush hills and valleys with great ocean views. You'll have plenty of privacy on your porch r in your villa but you'll often find congenial company in the social area around the pool. Monte Placido is also a yoga retreat. We were blown away by the facilities of this hidden away retreat. Be sure to visit the cave - even if you aren't into mediation or yoga. You'll find the most picturesque beaches imaginable just a short distance away. The nearby colorful town of Las Terrenas, full of motorbikes, ood shopping and excellent restaurants, is hectic but can be enjoyable for a few hours. But after leavingthe bustle, it is so good to return to the tranquility and beauty of Monte Placido. I can't end this short review without mentioning the great hosts, Don and Diana as well as the excellent staff at Monte Placido.
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much J.... for your review. Just one note for future visitors to Las Terrenas As J.... mentioned being in or close to town may be more convenient but not restful for those seeking peace. As for pristine breaches we have dozen of them. You may need transportation but well worth the drive touring Samana Peninsula.
Thank you again and please come back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Super Ferienhaus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Ein wunderschönes Ferienhaus in einem sehr schön angelegten Garten. Pool mit traumhaften Ausblick. Super Grill. Nette Gastgeber. Nah zu schönen Stränden und nach Las Terrenas. Absolut empfehlenswert!
Owner's Response: google translated
"A beautiful house in a beautiful garden. Pool with stunning views. Super Grill. Lovely hosts. Close to beautiful beaches and Las Terrenas. Highly Recommended!"
As they stay in German "wunderbar"
And "Danke"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Private, well-kept & stunningly beautiful.

Private, well-kept & stunningly beautiful.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Monte Placido was what we anticipated and more! On the top of a mountain, this villa overlooks the ocean, the forest and more mountains. Jean-Claude and his helper keep the grounds immaculate, rotating from one garden to another...the gardens are gorgeous. Our hosts, Don and Diana, were always helpful and ever available to answer our plethora of questions or find us a taxi to the night club, or a fresh-caught fish for dinner. We stayed in Lilka, a one bedroom unit with spacious rooms, lots of storage, & an incredible view from the large deck. The infinity pool is so pleasant and refreshing with an area to dine if you so desire...you can even bbq your meal there.

Las Terrenas has many restaurants...for every budget & taste. We quite enjoyed our meal at Tam Tam. And for good coffee, grab a seat outside at the Boulangerie and sip on a cafe con leche while watching the activity on the street.
Access to beaches is extremely easy.
Whale Samana is highly recommended as an activity.
Talk to Jennifer at Nativ' Art on Calle Duarte for some local art pieces. She speaks English & is very friendly and helpful.

We were booked for 1 month, & took way too many clothes as it is easy to hand wash & hang to dry. We rented a vehicle from our hosts which made access to everything much easier. The Samana peninsula is as yet undeveloped and a great change from the all-inclusive scene in the D.R. This villa is gated, with watchmen and an attentive watch dog, Bingo. We never felt threatened at any time during our stay...at the villa or in the villages.

Now, of course, no place is perfect. Because we had a unit below us, we had neighbours. Crying babies to start, then a family who allowed their two young boys to scream for long periods of time throughout the day. Not sure how our hosts can deal with this kind of issue, but it was unsettling when we wanted to spend a day around the villa. We noted that our beach visits would have been longer had we had folding chairs provided to take with us. Snorkeling and swimming is awesome, but when you want to hang out or read on the beach, a towel on the sand just doesn't cut it. Maybe something for Don and Diana to include in each unit, or upon request.

Overall, I quite enjoyed my stay, and would recommend (and have) to others to consider Monte Placido as a base for a visit to the Samana peninsula. Try to fly into Samana El Catey though, as it is a mere 45 minutes from Monte Placido.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed review that will help future guests.
We did follow your advice and added to our guest book a testimonial chapter so that over time future guests can see read pasts experiences.
Actually, we do have folding beach chairs available on site for our guests. Our fault because we forgot to add this amenity to out guest information book. (FYI to all we do provide automatically beach towels.) As for snorkeling gear, actually we also have some available. Again our fault we failed to add this amenity to to our guest book information. Both chairs and snorkeling will be added to the guest book.
More information on our local airport called Samana (code AZS) served by Jetblue from JFK on Wed. and saturdays and by Air Canada, Westjet and Canjet from Toronto and Montreal.
Our guests that took these flights are enthused (8am depart 2pm by the pool.....
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
4

Isolated private site , pleasant villas great view

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Don and Diana are very helpful and accommodating. The villas are clean, lovely, well furnished - everything you need to feel at home. The setting is unique with wonderful distant views and spectacular landscaping. One must, however, have reliable transportation, like a car, since one is constantly traveling to Las Terrenas(5 KM distant) for food, restaurants, entertainment and beaches. The pool is great. We would definitely recommend Monte Placido to others. One sore point: wi-fi internet was unreliable to non-existant even though advertised as available.
Owner's Response: You are right WIFI gave us trouble last month but it was completely out of our control. Believe it or not but we actually offer much more Mbps than others. We have a special contract with our provider however, this is the Dom Rep and all visitors to the country should be made aware that they cannot expect the same fast and dependable service as back home. In this case in point, we later found out that one selfish person had been "hogging" the system with 24/7 HD movie downloads to the detriment of all others and slowing us all down. FYI, others don't even come close in being able to offer even basic streaming and much less the downloading of HD movies. We have taken action and as of next week, we are installing a special modem that will allow us to manage and unfortunately have to "POLICE" the download capacity of each and all but in any case enough to surf the web, facebook and even stream. GOOD NEWS fiber optic cables were just laid down. Things are moving ahead but this is the Dom Rep and one has to be patient. When we moved here 12 years ago we did not have neither phone line nor cell signal, no Sat TV...This week we have a family that decided to leave cells, devices and computers back home and enjoy our little piece of Paradise all together as a family unit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Asheville, NC
5

Unique, quiet, charming, and beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My friend and I had a wonderful time in Las Terrenas, largely because were lucky enough to land at Monte Placido! Don and Dianna were excellent hosts and had great recommendations of things to do and helped us book them! We felt right at home, starting with a delicious home cooked meal our first night! Dianna teaches a yoga class that is free to guests on Mondays, which was a wonderful way to start our week and to get to know others who live nearby. Our accomodations (which was a 2 bedroom villa, Jasmine, I think) was clean, bright, open, natural and comfortable. The view from the terrace was a beautiful treat to feast upon over breakfast each morning. I would highly recommend staying here! Especially if you like to be comfortably removed from the hub-ub of tourist traffic and noise, yet close to town and things to do (five mins to beach, 15 mins to Las Terrenas via ocean view drive). Thanks for making my first trip to the DR so memorable. I hope to return soon!!
Owner's Response: Thank you Rana,
JASMINE where you staid is just 1 of the 6 properties that we offer on MONTE PLACIDO. The others range form a studio ideal for a single or a couple travelling on a budget to a self standing villa that can accommodate up to 7 guests.
True, why not take advantage of our wide ocean panorama from up here than be confined to a small area. The trade winds always keep us nice a and cool up here also.
True, about the "hub-ub" of Las Terrenas that offers a fine selection of bars and restaurants but our guests enjoy the peace and quiet of MONTE PLACIDO after town and a day at the beach.
Please come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Boise, Idaho
5

Beautiful villa with spectacular view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Beautiful villa with spectacular views. The property was beautifully landscaped. Nice friendly people to work with. They had a security guard but I never once felt unsafe while traveling in the DR. I enjoyed being so high up and a little bit away yet was able to get to town and beaches within 10 minutes or so. Nice having the local fisherman bring up his catch of the day to purchase. We worked with Flora Tours and Terrys and both were good experiences. Would love to go back and stay for a month.
Owner's Response: Hello Mona, Thank you for your review, it is always helpful for future guests. I would like to reinforce your comment on security. Probably many travelers feel wary of travelling alone in a foreign country. We do our up most to make as easy as possible to help them with airport transfer, vehicle rentals, tours etc...
You are more than welcome to come back for a whole month. If doing so in the Winter be sure to reserve ASAP. We grant special discount for 1 month lease.
See you soon
Don
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Boise, Idaho
5

Extraordinary!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My friend and I recently returned from Monte Placido and are going through withdrawals. This is a very special place, made special by the couple who created it, and their willingness to share their hunk of paradise with you! The location is unbelievable, high above the ocean with views that take your breath away. A simple cup of coffee on Falcona's balcony becomes an unforgettable memory, let alone all the things to see and do in this area. Don and Diana make everything so easy, they book, assist with and arrange everything. You just get to enjoy the beauty and energy of this place. Don't do the ordinary when you can have this hunk of heaven at such a reasonable price!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1