Culebra house rental - Relax and recharge in paradise
Relax and recharge in paradise
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Culebra House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms plus separate master bedroom casita. 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Our classic beach cottage and master suite casita provide a rustic, peaceful, private, romantic, and truly off the grid getaway. On 5 private acres which ends on our mountaintop--Its charms are simple and unpretentious. We hope you find peace and tranquility as well as perfect beach days every moment of your visit. Private dead end road, gated entrance, double sized deck, endless water and mountain views. One of a kind. Relax and recharge in paradise.

We are a New York City family who is passionate about the beach. Having traveled the world we have found a true peace and a slice of paradise here on Culebra.

Hilary Vartanian purchased this house in 2004

This house is one of a kind on a peaceful, protected part of the island. The house has always drawn great people and our repeat renters are a testament to the comfort and beauty of the island and our home.

a large property with neighbors few and far between, a friendly helpful caretaker and a home that has every amenity needed for a relaxing beach getaway.

18 Reviews of Property 272072 in Culebra, Puerto Rico

Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
NYC
5

Perfect Relaxing Vacation Spot- NO CROWDS!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
If you want to enjoy a variety of beaches without crowds, then Culebra and this house are for you. This cottage-style house is bright and airy, charming and uncluttered, and has a great deck on which we grilled and ate most nights. Best of all, the owners provide detailed instructions and recommendations before arrival, so you are prepared. They don't prepare you for the secluded beauty of the house, and unspoiled natural beauty of this small paradise, though. This is definitely the BEST of the Virgin Islands if you want to relax and enjoy the beach. All 6 of us LOVED it.
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

well loved and cared for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
had a lovely time with my boyfriend here on this sleepy island while attending a wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed mornings and evenings on the porch watching the sun and moon rise, listening to the sounds of nature around us. The owner was very organized and made sure we found everything we needed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

No Worries, Relaxation, Safe, Secure, and Private!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family/group of six had, what we believe, to be the most relaxing vacation ever staying at this wonderful property!
Nadeen was a wonderful meet and greet host who made us feel so relaxed and comfortable adjusting to the property for the first time after a long travel day for our group and gave us great tips for enjoying our stay in Culebra even more!
The home was spacious, clean, had wonderful views of a bay on the hilltop deck, and we felt so safe which is hard to say these days.
The variety of books, music, and movies in the home was an added bonus for all of us.
Hillary, the owner, made the reservation process a joy and we thank her for the privilege of staying in the home.
A great bonus was the recently built separate casita for my wife and I which was fantastic for privacy.
Thanks again, a five star experience!
Todd and Ashley D.
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Superb Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family fell in love with Andy and Hilary's beautiful cottage located just a few minutes from town but up a secluded hill with a beautiful harbor view. The cottage was so clean and like the other reviwers have written, well-appointed in tasteful art and comfortable furniture, kitchen supplies/utensils, a wide array of literature, DVDs and music CDs to choose from, a lovely deck plus a fun outdoor shower. The outdoor shower was an extra perk to clean off sand so as not to track it inside. We enjoyed visiting the beaches, all so different from each other, snorkeling and beachcombing and then coming back to our own quiet, restful haven to relax. Hilary e-mails you very detailed information regarding Culebra life, restaurants, stores, beaches, library, etc. so when you arrive (as newcomers) you feel like you have been to Culebra before. She is very thorough and her descriptions are right on regarding beaches, stores, etc. There were fans in every room to provide sufficient cooling but the daily island breezes coming in through the screened windows and doors were wonderful and calming for sleep. The little booknook bedroom was enjoyed immensely by our 12 year old son while our daughter and International student from China shared a room and my husband and I had a lovely room with dressers and closet space provided for everyone. The galley kitchen is neat and well stocked with pots and pans, spices and plenty of cookbooks to peruse. The landscaping is very nice and respects island flora. This was our first time staying in a home while vacationing and our experience was definitely 5 stars, thanks to Hilary and Andy! We hope to return! The Comeau Family and Fan Feng
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Relaxation Supreme

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first Carribbean experience and we hit the jackpot. This cottage is warm and inviting, well appointed and ready to welcome you. The deck was our prize location and having coffee early in the morning ranks with the best of our experiences. There is a wonderful library and supply of games and DVDs for activities. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen or grill ready for all culinary adventures and the outdoor shower a treat after a sandy beach day.

The beaches are beautiful and varied. We would snorkel in the morning, retreat to the house for lunch to,get out of the hottest sun and pick a different beach for afternoon body surfing or reading until sunset.

We found good food at reasonable prices at The Dinghy Dock, el Eden, Zaco's Tacos and Heathers. Small markets offered most of what one needs for food and supplies.

If you are looking for tennis and golf and a wild night life, Cu
Ebra is NOT for you. If you want to relax, enjoy your friends, visit outstanding beaches, put this place on speed dial.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

this house has a lot of soul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We felt right at home the moment we walked in the door. First, the house is well-stocked with kitchen utensils and pans (making cooking a breeze) plus extra supplies like sunscreen and bugspray left by former guests. But more importantly, you'll find a treasure chest of special collections: books, movies, shells and other beach finds, homemade island crafts, both amateur and professional. The house's island creations even inspired one in our group to decorate a glass jar that she filled with her Culebra beach treasures.

The owner and caretaker provide plenty of advice on the island. While we did a lot of cooking in, we loved our nights out too. Don't miss out on the Dinghy Dock happy hour post a day at the beach: it's got an amazing view of the cleanest harbor we ever seen plus amazing people watching. Zacos Tacos is also worth a meal or two! Heather's hawaiian pizza is one of the best we've ever had!

Flamenco beach is amazing--a great beach to begin and end the trip with. But Brava is definitely worth the hike--you might be the only ones there! We snorkeled at three beaches and each had something special and different to see.

At the end of each day, we were extra content to return to our secluded hideaway and just unwind on the deck.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
5

Look No Further Culebra Travelers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This is our 9th trip back to Culebra, starting in 1994 when my (then) boyfriend and I stumbled upon a pre-discovered, magical place. Since then, we have invited many friends to experience the beaches with us, and many have accepted or come on their own influenced by rave recommendations. Each time we return, the people, circumstances, and stories change; yet the allure of Culebra remains. The first five visits, we camped on Flamenco Beach-this time, we returned with our three children who couldn't sleep for a week prior, in anticipation of battling the waves, strawberry frappes, eating fresh lobster, and catching sight of sea turtles while snorkeling.

This is the first time we have had the absolute luxury and pleasure of staying at Hilary and Andy's Caribbean hideaway. As repeat visitors to the island, we can assure you that you can stop looking for the "right" place-this is it. You can come with very little, because the home is supplied with all the essentials for the beach, as well as cookery to dine-in. We loved traveling down the hill to El Eden, Susie's, & Zaco's Taco's-but there is something about sitting in a hammock after a day of sun and beach, with rum drink in hand, warm breezes and the spectacular evening view of the bay. And although we spent many hours exploring and beaching, some of our favorite moments were spent reading quietly, listening to music, and simply sharing space and peaceful appreciation for life, slowed way, way down.

What you can expect from Culebra: seduction of simplicity, pristine beauty, and the absolute gift of having your biggest decision of the day be, "Which beach should we go to?"

What you can expect from Casa Estrella: privacy, spaciousness, amenities covered, cleanliness, a home with personality. From the art to the management, you can tell the owners love and restore in this space. It is a gift to others that they are willing to share it, and in more selfish moments, I would keep it on the down-low. But in the spirit of "pay it forward", if you can, experience Culebra-stay at Casa Estrella. It is the ultimate setting for you to create your own magic.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
4

The Perfect Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Having traveled to Culebra from the West Coast for the first time, I was thrilled to have stayed at this lovely cottage in the Caribbean. This home was not only well appointed with beautiful, local accents but also extremely comfortable with island style furniture, a spectacular view of the harbor and every accessory needed to make my visit so relaxing, including an outdoor shower!

The peaceful setting of this home is also inviting as it's nestled within five acres of private property providing secret hikes to Culebra's most beautiful peaks or alternatively one of the island's best coral beaches. The drive to Culebra's most well known and award winning beaches, as well as town are both a breeze, making this cottage a perfect destination for a much needed get away for a family, a honeymoon or an individual escape.

Hopefully, you'll love this beautiful cottage as much as I did and share the news of this perfect spot with those you love. After all, it is as close to magic as you can get!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
4

Private Caribbean getaway, secret Virgin Island

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was lovely, much larger than expected.
Everything beautifully maintained, wonderful library, books, CDs, films , not that we needed diversions.
The beaches of Culebra very unspoilt, and diversive.
A tranquil spot, worth the effort to get away from it all.
business
Peaceful Romantic Caribbean getaway on the 'secret' Virgin Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272072
Culebra Puerto Rico
Kalamazoo, Michigan
5

Return trip just as amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our second time staying at Casa Estrella (first was our honeymoon).

Not only is this one of the best places on the island, the owner and care taker have top notch service.

View of the Caribbean, soft breezes, and the most beautiful beaches and snorkeling on the planet; what more can one ask for?

Thank you Hil for sharing such a beautiful place with us!

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, filled with beauty and privacy, stop searching, you have found it.


-Joshua and Kyle Shockley
Helpful votes: 1/1