It looked so good on paper...
We wanted renew our vows, and thought this place looked perfect. On paper, it was great, but our experience after we got there went rapidly down hill.
The A/C blew out on the 2nd day, the hot tub was unuseable due to the smell and murky water, the bees have hives in the ground out back and 12 people were stung, the pool was extremely dirty and the slide was so sharp that it tore the seats out of many bathing suits. Ouch!!
Since we mentioned these issues, I'm hoping they have been fixed. But I have to say dealing with the property manager was by far our worst experience! Our vendors did not pick up their items (tables, chairs, etc) when we arranged for them to pick them up, and due to the lateness of the pick ups, which I would have loved to take care of, but I can’t force people to come pick heir stuff up; we lost all of our security deposit. When we contacted her regarding this, her response was extremely rude. In later emails to address this issue, she accused us of lying and trespassing.
All together, a very unpleasant person. The house may be great when all the repairs are done, but having to deal with all of that makes it totally unsuitable for rental unless you enjoy being ranted at via email. Despite that, we did enjoy our party and we will celebrate again, just somewhere else. Anywhere else.
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that none of these complaints were ever received by the property owners, the property manager, or the maintenance manager. Every guest is supplied all of our direct phone numbers on their check in information and we pride ourselves on always being available to our guests should a problem arise. We never received a call about the A/C units in the home and have had numerous renters since this guest. The pool and hot tub are serviced weekly and again, never a complaint from any other guests either before or after this guest. The same is for the bees, the estate is located on over 20 acres in the mountains of Malibu and unfortunately, we cannot control every insect that should happen upon the estate.
These guests did several walk-thrus of the property prior to their stay and were shown the grounds again upon check-in without complaint of conflict. The conflict is clearly over the fact they breached their contract and their deposit was withheld.
Our rental contract is clearly written and in it, it does state that all rental equipment must be picked up prior to the guest check out. We were more than accommodating to these guests as the portable toilet they had brought in was left sitting on the property for four days after they checked out, it smelled terrible sitting in the Malibu sun! The tables and chairs were left for three days, and the two huge containers were left at the property for almost four weeks, they were so large we had to store them in the garage. We called numerous times to request the property be removed and were given excuse after excuse. It is written in our rental contract that we will charge an excess fee if rented equipment is left, and we did charge a fee as the rented equipment was left for almost a month. We took pictures of all the equipment left scattered all over the property, the portable toilet that was left, and we logged every phone call and email we sent in order to get this situation rectified.
It is disappointing that in our society when you break the rules of a contract you signed and agreed to, were given numerous opportunities to correct the problem and still choose not to abide by them that it is acceptable to smear the person/property that was actually damaged in the end. The true inconvenience of this situation was to our guests that had to deal with the leftover rented equipment during their stays.
Helpful votes: 5/5
Did you find this review helpful?