Louisville apartment rental - The Hepburn House
The Hepburn House
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Louisville Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

RENTED FOR DERBY 2014

Whether visiting Louisville for business or pleasure the Hepburn House offers a unique and restful atmosphere in a beautiful historic setting. You will have the access to your own two bedroom, 1600 sq ft apartment with a full kitchen and private bathroom. And you are steps away from the famous Lynn's Paradise Cafe, shops, pubs and some of the finest dining in Louisville.

If you are looking for centrally located accommodations in Louisville, this is the place for you.

Keywords: Apartment

Proprietors John Webb and Sarah Anderson offer you the finest accommodations for a short-term, furnished rental. We invite you to enjoy the hospitality and convenience of your own private two bedroom apartment. The Hepburn House is a lovely century old Victorian located in the Original Highlands, one of Louisville's oldest neighborhoods.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2003

We bought our house so we could be located in one of Louisville's finest and most vibrant neighborhoods. We are professional adults who enjoy urban living. We decided to open our lovely home to others to be able to experience and share in the 'local flavor' of Louisville's most independent, locally owned business and restaurant corridors in the state of Kentucky.

You will be within walking distance to some of the finest restaurants and shops in the Louisville. We are conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Louisville and the world's most famous horse racing track Churchill Downs. We are also centrally located to the University of Louisville and medical facilities downtown.

13 Reviews of Property 271471 in Louisville, Kentucky

Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 13 reviews
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We stayed here for 4 nights early this March. The home is wonderful with lots of character and VERY spacious. All the utensils and amenities are there from clean towels, guide books to every practical item you need to make a great meal. It is located in a good area with everything a good driving distance of 5-10 minutes away. Parking in the front makes life easy. The owners are friendly and knowledgeable and have a couple of cats and a dog which my daughter loved to visit with in the backyard. This property has both a backyard and front porch which is nice for sitting outside day and night. It was a highlight of our trip with the space, the nice owners AND beignet's a 3 minute walk behind the house at a local restaurant.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
1

accommodations were fine, owners misrepresented their expectations

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are a Louisville family that stayed at the Hepburn House while the floors of our home were refinished. The accommodations were fine, although we stayed during a cold snap with single-digit temps and the house was very cold and drafty. Thankfully, they provided us with lots of extra comforters for all of the beds. The kitchen was a little dumpy and not much fun to cook in-- the coffeemaker didn't work properly, and many of the utensils and wares were really old and needed replacing. We would have also like access to the WIFI. Our biggest issue (and the reason we are awarding one star) was with what happened AFTER our stay. The owner emailed me a week after we had left and stated that she found cat litter in the garbage and wondered if there was a cat in the apartment while we were there. I told her that, yes, we did bring one of our cats for three of the four nights we stayed due to the extreme cold outside. The contract that we signed simply stated "pets allowed" so I was not immediately sure why she was asking this. She then called me and said, "I don't allow pets. I used to, and when I did, I charged a $35 pet fee." When I told her that the contract we signed said that pets WERE allowed, did NOT indicate a pet deposit, and did NOT specify that we were to notify the owner that we were bringing a pet, she said "Well, we're not a real business, so it's not like a real contract that you signed. You bringing a cat was a conversation we needed to have." Again, I told her that the contract did not specify that we were to inform them that we were bringing a pet, nor did it say that there was a pet fee. I was completely appalled that she did not honor her own contract. She then told me, "well, everything in the apartment was fine, but I have a policy of honesty, and since I used to allow pets and charged $35, but don't allow pets now, I think fair is fair, and that's why I will be keeping $35 out of your damage deposit." I was absolutely floored by this response. I would assume that by listing your home for rental, a contract would be up-to-date and honored by both the owner and the renter. I was disappointed that their expectations were misrepresented on their contract, and for that, we were penalized for her mistake. I would not recommend renting this apartment for this reason. It is unprofessional to hold the renter to something that is not stated in the contract. We have also filed a complaint with VRBO.
Owner's Response: We strive to make every guest comfortable. Thank you for describing the accommodations favorably.

The Hepburn House is a more than 100 years old and in the record setting cold, despite our best efforts
can be chilly. As you noted we anticipated your need by supplying lots of extra comforters and blankets.
We live immediately above the rental space and always attempt to greet each guest personally. We
made multiple attempts to make this connection with your party. On several occasions it was apparent
that you were in but chose not to answer the door. We respect every guest’s right to privacy. If any
aspect of the apartment was not satisfactory we were not informed.

As far as the cat is concerned, the VRBO site that was used to book the rental clearly states that no
pets are allowed. If you have an older version of a deposit agreement then we do apologize for this
confusion. However you only signed and returned the signature page, not the detail. The cat’s presence
was only evident when the garbage bag (that we ask guests to remove) burst with the litter stuffed
inside.

Had you simply asked us about the Internet, coffee maker or even the cat we would have
accommodated you.

Sarah Anderson
Owner
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Asheville, NC
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
2nd time to the Hepburn House
Already reserved the next visit.
We just love the spacious home away from home.
Full kitchen makes cooking easy and if we don't feel like cooking
we simply walk a few blocks to great restaurants.
Morning coffee on the large front porch, and grilling on the back porch.

We just really enjoy the place : )
and the owners couldn't be more friendly and accommodating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Hillsdale, Michigan
5

A Great Weekend Getaway in Louisville

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We truly enjoyed our stay here. The house was beautiful! It was very clean, very inviting, and was so close to everything we wanted to do and see in the Louisville area. We certainly look forward to staying there again, and would very highly recommend it to anyone who is considering staying in the Louisville area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
London
5

Better than I ever could have imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I cannot recommend this apartment highly enough! I would quite happily live in it for the rest of my days :)

It's incredibly comfortable and very spacious with wonderful porches both back and front. It couldn't be better positioned in the wonderful Highlands neighbourhood but is also very convenient for reaching downtown, the airport and getting onto the highway for travelling further afield. Sarah and John were incredibly welcoming and friendly without ever being intrusive. The apartment is very well equipped with all sorts of handy items and plenty of reading material and it stays very cool even on the hottest days.

The photos don't do the place justice and don't give away quite how large it is! It would be perfect for a family or a pair of couples - there was certainly more than enough room for the two of us.

Louisville and Hepburn Avenue stole my heart - I'll be back next year :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
5

Had a wonderful week staying in this apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great accommodation for my family last week in Louisville. The apartment was amazingly spacious and well equipped. Above all it was well air-conditioned considering the temps were over 100F for 3 or 4 days. Location was ideal - easy access to downtown and to the suburbs. Will definitely stay there again when we return to Louisville.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Manchester, England
5

There is a light that never goes out...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
and it comes in the shape of a ladybird on the wooden table in the spacious dining room of the house. When I asked owner Sarah where she got this elegant and creative light from she replied with a warm deep chuckle, "John brought it to our marriage." The light - who's body glows red and metal wings extend in and out - is indicative of the taste, love and care this couple bring to sharing their home with renters. I could go on and on about the great style, generous cool quiet space, the quintessential slow rocking rhythm of the front porch swing and their legendary southern hospitality but I think the light says it all. Needless to say we had a great time, same time next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
FL
5

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I recently stayed here for just under a week. I enjoyed the stay very much. The house reminded me of visiting relatives up north. It was 5 minutes from many restaurants, and 10 minuts from downtown. I enjoyed being close but far enough away. The house was clean and had all the amenities. The owners were more than helpful. The master bed was comfortable, the showers were hot, the internet worked, and the a/c was cold. In the end I would stay at the house again in a heartbeat, and would recommend it to my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Houston, TX
1

Very Disappointed!!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We were very disappointed with the accommodations. Before arrival we had confirmed with owner that wifi was available as needed access for work. However, never could hook up to wifi and owner had no interest in remedying the situation. As a result could not conduct business.
Listing photos do not accurately reflect the homes appearance and amenities. Home had a thick layer of dust throughout and was not close to being clean. Rug in living room was heavily stained and very dirty. Kitchen oven was filthy!!! Looked as though it had not been cleaned in 2 years. Have photos to prove it. We were not about to clean the oven or cook in it! Exterior of kitchen trash can was filthy and didn't want to touch it! Rear kitchen door to communal hallway had a 2 inch hole where a door handle should have been. There was a constant musty smell that was quite overpowering.
Could go on and on complaining but boils down to the fact that the property was simply not at all clean or well maintained for a vacation facility! Felt that these accommodations were so inferior to the listing description that we left a.s.a.p. and unfortunately had to cut our vacation short.
Cannot recommend this property in its' present state to anyone and definitely wouldn't recommend to a friend or relative. Have logged a complaint with VRBO
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Beautiful Victorian in Louisville - Original Highlands
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271471vbi
(502) 773-0202 (Kentucky, USA)
Louisville Kentucky
Kansas City
5

Close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
A very charming, older home with lots of character. Rooms are a nice size, our family of four never felt cramped. Lots of nearby cafe's, bars and attractions. Just blocks from downtown without feeling like you are.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2