Dominical villa rental - Patio view of the Pacific over the jungle canopy
Patio view of the Pacific over the jungle canopy
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Dominical Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 master bedrooms 2.5 bathrooms, sleeps 5, private plunge pool

Villa Solo Bueno means 'All is Well' and you will see why when you visit our little slice of heaven. Located on the side of a jungle-covered mountain almost every room in our villa has a fabulous view of the Pacific. Immediately adjacent to a green belt on the top tier of the Canto del Mar (Song of the Sea) gated community, it is safe, secure, and rich with wildlife.

Overwhelm your senses. Turn off the a.c. and open the windows and doors. Hear the call of the toucans and howler monkeys. Fall asleep to the sounds of the dink frogs and the waves lapping the shore below. Smell the fragrant aroma of the Ylang Ylang tree, inspiration for Chanel No. 5 perfume. Take a cool dip in your private plunge pool. Have some fun trying to spot our resident three-toed tree sloth, white-faced monkeys or toucans in the trees above – all commonly seen from the patio of our villa.

Area Activities: You will be amazed at the variety of adventure so close at hand. Horse back riding to secluded water falls with breakfast and lunch included; hiking, nature photography; pristine white water rafting on class III and IV rapids where you won't see anyone else all day, includes breakfast and lunch; zip lining through the jungle; ocean kayaking; exploring sea caves; snorkeling; scuba diving; and of course salt water fishing.

If you are a surfer, or wish to try it, we can connect you with surf instructors. The surf at Playa Dominical (4 km north) can get over 10' depending on swell conditions. The surf at Playa Dominicalito, a 10 minute walk down from our villa, is ideal for learning with waves to 5+ ft. depending on swell conditions. Playa Hermosa, located about 10 km south, is also very popular. Boogie boarding is widely enjoyed at these beaches, although the rip tides at Playa Dominical make it unsafe for inexperienced swimmers during low tide.

Area Birding: Costa Rica is only about the size of West Virginia, yet has more than 830 species of birds. If you are a serious birder, Costa Rica is the pinnacle adventure. The owners are life-long birders and can help you with resident guides so that you will spot many of the 350 species in our immediate area. If you are driving to Dominical from San Jose, we can also tell you where you will have a good chance of seeing the Resplendent Quetzal along the way.

One note of caution about Villa Solo Bueno - the Chestnut Billed Toucans might interrupt the occasional siesta as they communicate with each other in the trees above.

Area restaurants : There are dining options in the area to suit every pallet and budget; From funky surfer shacks that serve a great breakfast on the Dominical beach to more upscale French/Canadian, Italian and fresh seafood restaurants serving fabulous fresh food al fresco style. A list of our favorites is kept in the villa for your reference and our on-site concierge can make the reservations, if needed.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 271447 in Dominical, Costa Rica

Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
5

A wonderful getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This is a great home for a getaway that can be as relaxing or as adventuresome as you want! The home is definitely as-advertised; well-furnished, comfortable, with great views of the jungle and ocean - the pool is great for relaxing and cooling-off! We started our mornings on the veranda with great coffee and ended most days in the same spot with cocktails - listening to the sounds of the jungle, which change throughout the day. In between, there was fishing, snorkeling, beach-combing, boogie boarding and whatever else sounded like fun! The owner is extremely accommodating and helpful - available to answer every question you may have before you get to Dominical; and once you're there, you have a concierge available to give great suggestions based upon whatever activities you are interested in! A great vacation spot - a great home - a great owner! You won't be disappointed (but definitely rent a 4WD)!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Perfect Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our time spent in Dominical was wonderful. We ended up staying in 4 different locations around Costa Rica and Dominical was our favorite. We wish we would have stayed longer. The villa was beautiful and we didn't want for anything while we were there. I would recommend it to anyone. The owners were so helpful and provided us with all of the information we would need to make our traveling hassel free.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
Wehrheim, Germany
5

What a view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family spent six nights at Villa Solo Bueno and the Villa exceeded all our expectations.
The house was equiped with everything that we needed and the view from the patio was spectacular.
Catherine, the property manager, was always there to assist us.
We really enjoyed the natural beauty and the wildlife of the Dominical area and can recomend the Villa to anyone.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Beautiful condo, excellent location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Villa Solo Bueno was a wonderful place to both spend quality time with the kids and as a couple. The condo is a good size for a smaller group; we had 2 adults and 3 teenagers and the condo was just right for us...cozy yet spacious enough to accomodate different interests. We appreciated not having a TV (except for watching DVDs) and other electronic distractions, plus the variety of board games and DVDs that are provided. The views of the Pacific are beautiful and the condo was well appointed.

The location just outside of Dominical was perfect for our second week in Costa Rica...we wanted a low-key, quiet, authentic, Costa Rican experience away from the major tourist destinations. Dominical is a chaming, friendly, eclectic beach town with excellent food, beaches, and atmosphere. This is not the place to stay if you are looking for a busy resort experience, although you can easily drive to the Manuel Antonio area, which is indeed a worthwhile day trip.

Prior to our trip, Catherine was helpful in providing her insight and advice about the area. She also provides an extensive guide book at the condo with suggestions for activities, restaurants, and the right people to contact. The onsite manager, Laurence, was also very friendly and helpful. We did not require very much assistance, but Laurance was always available to answer questions.

A few of our favorite activities: surfing or sunning at Dominical beach, hiking to the Tree of Life, lunch at Cafe Milagro, cooking at 'home' with local ingredients and products, and especially quiet mornings (with Costa Rican coffee) and evenings (with wine) on the upper balcony watching the Pacific tides and listening to/watching the world around us. There are many activities in the area including zip lining, white water rafting, surfing, fishing excursions, etc. so there is plenty of action, but we chose to lead a fairly quiet existence after spending the week prior travelling through northern Costa Rica.

I highly recommend Dominical and Villa Solo Bueno!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
marshall, minnesota usa
5

A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Two pictures are responsible for our fantastic Costa Rican vacation. The first was a photo in 'Fodor's' of the rain forest tumbling down the mountains to the ocean at Dominical. The caption, to paraphrase, was "see it while it's still unspoiled". The second was a photo in a 'Home Away' advertising for Villa Solo Bueno. A woman was standing at the rail of a patio overlooking a beautiful beach. I told my wife we had found our destination.

The beach in the photo turned out to be the Playa Domincalito. This is a beautiful beach and we spent most our time here. Dominical is a cool little town, very laid back. The tourist masses haven't migrated this far south, yet. Its atmosphere is so relaxing and "real", we really enjoyed the experience.

Uvita is maybe ten minutes away and has a couple of larger grocery stores and more restaurants. A guy has opened a pizza place on the north end of town and makes the best vegetarian pizza we've ever had. Our group consisted of four young adults and two not so young adults (mid 50's). We all had a great time and really enjoyed the area.

The villa is very nice. The bedrooms each have a private bathroom and balcony. Both bedrooms are in the lower level and the living area is upstairs. This is a very nice feature when you have early risers (me) and 'sleep-inners'.

The view from the patios is just fantastic. This area of Costa Rica is so beautiful.

The pool is nice for rinsing off salt water and a nice cool down in the afternoon.

The owner has contracted with a professional property management company. They are located on-site and are very good. My wife especially appreciated the daily housekeeping service.

There is a utility service road that runs from behind this development all the way to Dominical. The first mile or so is nice secondary forest. Get up at sunrise and see the monkeys, toucans and aracaris.

We all had a great time and would definitely go back.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Our family enjoyed an incredible vacation staying at Villa Solo Bueno. We have stayed at many beautiful properties and found this one far superior to any others we have rented. The pictures do not come close to capturing the magnificent views from this villa. We have a college and high school student and found the perfect mix of activities and relaxation in Costa Rica. I highly recommend zip lining with Osa Canopy Tours, horseback riding to Nauyaca Waterfalls, and a guided hike in the Hacienda Baru Nature Reserve. Also don't miss the farmers market in San Isidro. Catherine was extremely helpful in providing us assistance in planning our vacation. Also, in Costa Rica, Laurence was available to answer any questions or make reservations. We will definitely be back soon!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
Dallas, Texas
5

The Perfect Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We visted Costa Rica in June of 2011. Villa Solo Bueno exceeded all of our wildest expectations. The pictures don't even do it justice. You really have to be there to fully appreciate the awesome view from the balcony. We spent hours just relaxing, reading, and soaking in the natural beauty and wildlife that surrounds the villa. When we did stray away from the villa, there were so many outstanding activities such as horseback riding, zip lining, surfing, hiking, etc. All of the local people at the villa complex as well as in the nearby town of Dominical are unbelievably nice and helpful. This is the place to go if you want the perfect Costa Rican vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
5

A Relaxing Paradise with Adventure Close at Hand

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Spent a week at this property and left completely rejuvenated. The view from the villa was breathtaking day or night. I vacationed with a close friend from college and this was the perfect get away spot. We spent many hours with our feet up, looking out over the ocean and catching up. The deck is delightful any time of the day. It was rainy season and sitting in the living room watching thunderstorms come from the ocean was so enchanting. Who would have thought that rain storms could be so relaxing and enjoyable? Thankfully, the rains come in the afternoon so there was plenty of time in the day for zipline adventures and swimming in waterfalls.

The villa's location allows great privacy while watching incredible wildlife. Watching tucans fly while drinking tea on the deck is quite a treat as is watching a troup of monkeys jump in the trees by the driveway. And we saw a dart frog on the sidewalk one morning after an evening rain.

The villa had everything we needed for a great getaway. It has beautifully decorated bedrooms and luxurious baths with brand new thick white towels, a flat screen TV in a common area for watching movies, and boogie boards for trying the surf. The fully equipped kitchen combined with the spectacular view from a table on the deck made "eating in" a real competition to the amazing restaurants we found in the towns nearby (I recommend Citrus in Uvita).

There are great beaches here. I found the zipline experience a short drive from here heart stopping and wildly wonderful. Be sure to do the tarzan swing. Soon they will have the longest superman swing in the Americas. The horseback ride to the waterfall is not to be missed! The whale sanctuary is close by.

This villa is a beautiful base for many adventures. You will want to return time and time again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
Texas
5

Ahhh, Villa Solo Bueno, Magnifico!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My trip to Villa Solo Bueno was wonderful. The accommodations were superb; very clean, quiet and comfortable with two balconies overlooking beautifully manicured grounds. Even the outside pool was lovely and inviting. The location of the villa worked great during our trip as it seemed centrally located for our many excursions. Our host had supplied everything we could have needed, including a wonderful and informative "What to Do, Where to Eat, Where to Go" type book. My college girlfriends and I had the best time, I can't wait to take my family there in the near future. Thanks again for the great memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa Solo Bueno - Jungle Covered Mountain overlooking Pacific Ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p271447
+1 214-750-1262
Dominical Puntarenas
United States
5

Fun and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I stayed in this villa on a 4-day trip with two girlfriends. The layout of the house was ideal, with plenty of room to gather together, but not so small we couldn't have a little alone time. Two of us shared a bedroom which had a large adjoining bath that was full of fluffy towels. Everything was immaculate.

The kitchen was well-equipped except at the time it did not have a coffee maker. You might want to ask if this is important to you. From the balcony we spotted sloths and toucans.

While walking up the road we saw another sloth, monkeys and a coati. The plant life is lush and beautiful, with flowers we normally only see at the florist, growing wild by the side of the road.

We did a little grocery shopping nearby and also found some roadside stands where local fruit was available. A short drive brought us to an internet cafe, some casual eating places and some interesting small shops. The locals were very friendly and were indulgent with our poor Spanish, but would also answer if we chose to speak English.

One of the highlights of our trip was an afternoon at Hacienda Baru, a former plantation that has been converted into a nature preserve. A guided tour took us through the trees on a number of smaller zip lines. I would say it's about a 20 minute drive to Hacienda Baru.

I would recommend this listing without hesitation to all my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4