nobody answers calls when things happen
My family stayed at this property March 11, 2011-March 19, 2011. The company handling the property rental was like nothing I had ever experienced in my 6 years of loving and enjoying all rental companies we have ever dealt with along the beaches of 30A.
After returning to the unit on the first day at the beach, we tried to shower for dinner. Only one person had enough hot water to complete a shower. This is a large and nice unit with three full baths and a large jetted tub. Our call was returned this first time and they said a repairman would come the next day while we were at the beach. Not sure if he came or not, but figured that he had. This was the one and only time that my calls and texts were acknowledged.
The problem persisted and we learned to stagger showers and several of us always went to dinner many times dirty from the beach. After a few days of this, I called again and left a message saying that there was still little hot water. I also mentioned other issues: broken icemaker, dvd's in only 2 rooms (living room dvd barely worked). It was a very respectful and considerate message.
My message was never returned.
The last two days of the trip, my two children became very sick with headaches and throwing up. It was not until the last night when all the doors were closed that i realized that the living smelled strongly of gas and we left very scared in the middle of the night because of it. I called once again to report this scary situation. Again nobody bothered to even call us back.
I have never had a company not even respond to business calls. If we had not had the large french doors across the back of the unit open during the trip, I hate to think what could of happened to my children who enjoyed sleeping in the living room.
I called and called for days about our unhappy stay and felt strongly that we should be refunded for some part of our stay. I was finally contacted about our security deposit, but they refused to discuss all other issues. No one said they were sorry that our children became sick and were unable to enjoy two days of their vacation. Nothing. I am a very reasonable person and was stunned that someone could ignore calls, maintenance problems, and dangerous safety involving children.
I wondered if the problems were connected (water and gas leak), but there was NEVER anyone available to discuss this with. This is a nice property, just nobody there willing to help you or even answer the phone when things go wrong.
Owner's Response: This condo is a beautifully appointed 3 bedroom penthouse that is well maintained and in excellent condition. Every guest that has stayed prior to and since this guest has been extremely comfortable and satisfied. Some have even booked this same location for their next visit to the Beaches of South Walton.
At the initial booking, this guest was given a strong discount due to a supposed quote from another similar unit that was in fact already booked. Upon arrival, regular phone calls and emails were received for various reasons. Each complaint was accompanied by a request for further discounts.
One complaint was that the pool was not heated. This pool has not been heated for a while and it is not advertised as heated in the VRBO amenities list. Maintenance personnel did call and leave a message requesting a return call to schedule a time to inspect the hot water heater. The guest did not call back.
The final complaint regarding a gas leak was received late on a Sunday morning, after their departure. Their claim was that their children had been sick for two days and they were forced to leave 6 hours early. Again, there was a request for another discount.
The property was immediately inspected by maintenance and it was determined that there was no leak. The hot water heater was also inspected and found to be working fine.
The next guest to check in that same day was notified about the report of a gas leak. After staying for a full week, they never reported any problem with a gas odor. The new guest enjoyed the condo so much that they even extended their stay.
When the next guest first arrived early, prior to the condo being cleaned, they saw the condition that this first guest left the condo in and tipped the cleaning staff for doing such a good job cleaning. The guest that has filed this complaint and left this condo in such a poor state was not charged extra for the additional labor required to prepare the condo for the next guest. I have statements from all parties involved supporting these facts.
All complaints from this guest included a request for a discount. It was also stated that if a discount were not given, a bad review would be posted.
Helpful votes: 7/8
Did you find this review helpful?