Gulf Shores cottage rental - Photo taken from parking area
Photo taken from parking area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Gulf Shores Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House w/3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, sleeps 6, 4 satelliteTVs, DVD/VCR, Screened Porch

Forget the elevators and extended hallways. Parking in front of the cottage provides easy, convenient access to your front door. Near Fort Morgan, this small community of single/duplex cottages is nestled at the edge of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Preserve and across the street from the beach (0.4 miles). Just 15 minutes from Hwy. 59 in Gulf Shores, The Rookery captures the perfect blend of nature. The Rookery hosts plenty of community activity as well with a large, zero-entry pool, covered gazebo, hot tub, tennis court, and community grilling area with picnic tables. The unit is professionally cleaned and has 2 bedrooms with queen-size beds, 3rd bedroom has twin beds, full sleeper/sofa in living room (new in Jan 2012), 4 satellite TV’s (living rm, and all bedrooms), 2 VCRs & DVDs, wireless Internet & all major appliances incl. washer, dryer, dishwasher, microwave, & ice maker, & small appliances (coffee maker, blender, toaster, crock pot, iron & board, blow dryer),

ACTIVITIES: Close By Activities include: Lots of golf courses to choose from, Wave Runner Rentals, Water Parks, Gulf Coast Zoo, Putt Putt Golf, Dinner Cruises, Shopping at the Outlet Malls and The Wharf, Various Festivals (seasonal) & Night Life. Tour historic Fort Morgan just a few miles away or take the ferry over to Dauphin Island for a visit to the Dauphin Island Estuary. Several restaurants, a marina and boat dock are nearby. Fish from the pier or launch your boat and enjoy deep sea fishing. Nearby along Fort Morgan Road is the scenic Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge.. a haven for nature lovers.

COTTAGE: The full-size kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and garbage disposal. Dishes and linens are provided, (also toaster, blender, crock pot, deep fryer, large lobster pot, & blow dryer) and full size washer and dryer. All on one level, there is easy access to the cottage with convenient parking. The beach is a state park area located across the street, 0.4 miles from The Rookery. Walk to the beach or take your car and park right at the beach for easy access.

THE ROOKERY COMMUNITY: The Rookery was designed to be a natural and quiet resort and is located adjacent to the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge. This is a wonderful place for kids to play and swim as the large pool has an extended shallow end where little ones can wade and walk right into the shallow end with no steps to climb. This pool has a hot tub, as well as a covered gazebo area and a large poolside bathroom. There is a community grilling area with picnic tables and a tennis court. The public beach is a short walk down Cortez Street.

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 270426 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
average rating of 4.928571 based on 28 reviews
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Cozy and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Loved our stay at this beautiful rental. Looks even better than pics. Carol was more than helpful and answered my questions quickly. Very nice pool and hot tub. Close to an uncrowded beach. Hope to stay again but for longer next time, we didnt want to leave.
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Beautiful Property, Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This rental was absolutely beautiful. It was beautifully decorated. It had every convenience you could possibly ask for; a well stocked kitchen, washer and dryer, soft towels, extra blankets and more. The location was great. We were close enough to Gulf Shores to enjoy all of the amenities, but just far enough away to have a relaxing stay. The pool was wonderful, and featured an outdoor shower and restrooms. Carol had sent us recommendations for places to see and things to do. We did quite a few things on the list incuding the Naval Air Flight Museum, miniature golf, and Dauphin Island. We had a great time and plan on coming back. I would highly recommend this property for families, couples, and friends.

Diana Betts
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Relaxing get away.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I'll make this as short as possible. It was clean, cozy, roomy and away from all the busy traffic.
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

The Rookery Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cottage was wonderful! The surroundings were absolutely breath taking! We didn't get to spend a lot of time on the beach. Mother Nature wasn't being kind to Gulf Shores. We spent most of our time at the beautiful hot tub and pool. Carol was very helpful with the planing of the trip. I could call her and she had all the answers. Our family and friends had a wonderful time and we can't wait to come back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Great Memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first family vacation & we had a GREAT time. Loved the location & amenities. We are looking forward to booking a return visit next year.
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Owner and House excellent!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I have stayed in the Orange Beach/Gulf Shores area more times than I can count, but this one place is one I can honestly say felt like home.
This did not have the tacky condo feel, it was cozy and clean and comfortable. The owner is very accomodating and easy to work with.
This home provided a great place for me and my family to vacation together without the distractions that come with being in a busy touristy area. We had enough room and ammenities that we were not on top of each other and we all had access to everything needed.
We will definately be contacting this owner for our next visit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Gulf Shores Rookery Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Great vacation rental. Owner communicated nicely, descriptions were very accurate. The kids loved the sand in the yard and the proximity to the pool area. Property was very clean and neat, we loved coming in to relax after a long day exploring. It is a little out of the way, but discovered the close public beaches were not crowded and we now prefer this area. Will never stay in a hotel/condo again on the coast after being spoiled with the cottatge. Having the full kitchen was great for cooking breakfast together, and the washer and dryer with 2 small kids is a must! Already looking into coming back
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This was one of the most wonderful family vacations we have ever taken. The house was very cozy and had enough room for the six of us. The children really enjoyed the pool that was near by too. We had originally booked it for four days but enjoyed it so much we asked the owner if we could stay another day.
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

A Vacation to Remember

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Thank you Carol for providing an "at home" like atmosphere for me and my teenage daughters for Spring Break 2012. Not only was everything as described but more than we ever expected. We didn't have to spend vacation funds on everyday items because the kitchen and house were fully stocked. We were relaxed enough to have real fun in the area. My daughters and I will never forget it and look forward to another visit to the cost at The Cottage because there was so much to do we must come again to experience some of the things we didn't have time for.
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our first family vacation for my husband and I. We had our 2 young children, 2 and 4 and our 17 year old nephew. It was perfect for the 5 of us. Each had a bedroom and the kids room was perfect! It had 2 very comfortable twin beds, a TV, DVD player, DVDs and even some games! My mother and Aunt came down a few days later and we all shifted rooms. My husband and I slept on the twin beds with the boys and found them very comfy. And my nephew took the pullout couch. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and utensils. The cottage was across the main road from the beach which was very nice. The only bad thing was the spot we went to had biting flys! Had to outrun them, but just found another spot downt he way and we had a blast. The pool and hottub at the Rookery were wonderful. We were there every night and it was never very busy. The best part was at night there were little crabs crawling around the pool which all the boys loved. The city is about 20 miles away which actually didnt bother me at all. If you really need something there is a small convience store up the road- but its very pricey! We had a fantastic trip and definitely plan to stay here again year after year! Thanks Carol!
Helpful votes: 2/3