Playa San Miguel house rental - Playa San Miguel From Above
Playa San Miguel From Above
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
 

Playa San Miguel House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths (Sleeps 10)

Still untouched by development, Playa San Miguel is a secluded beach where only a ten minute walk down the beach will take you to the nearest restaurant.

Sitting alone on 2 acres, this Beachfront house is a place where you can hide away, laze in the hammocks, soak up the sun, ride the waves and listen to the music. At night, enjoy dinner by candle light on the terrace. Afterwards, take a stroll on the beach and feel the full embrace of the abundantly star sprinkled sky.

If you’re in the mood to sight see, you can go horseback riding on the beach, tour the butterfly farm, go hiking, fishing, dine at one of the local restaurants and more.

Please visit our website for additional information!

19 Reviews of Property 270373 in Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica

4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
average rating of 4.894737 based on 19 reviews
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

Inviting and comfortable, exactly as described.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was my second trip to San Dollar Cove and as with the previous stay I found every thing that I could want in a vacation. Excellent beach, great location, extremely helpful property manager and a happy caretaker.
Remember that the drive "Over The Mountain" is awesome although the road is not for the faint of heart at night. Walk the beach and collect sand dollars or just relax, either way this is the place to get away from everything.
Excellent internet connection so you can keep up with the world if needed although not recommended as the world will still be there when you get home.
This time I had fresh fish, caught that morning that I purchased in Bejuco and prepared by Doris. I like fish and this was the best I have had.

I can not recommend SDC enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

Can't Wait to Return

Can't Wait to Return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We love this place! We've stayed at a few places in Costa Rica now and this is our favorite. The house is clean and we felt very comfortable here from the minute we arrived. Being so close to the beach was great. Each morning we would go for walks on the beach and find perfect sand dollars. A quick breakfast and back to the beach for boogie boarding which was so much fun. It's a short walk up the beach to find dinner at a restaurant or a perfect setting to make dinner, sit on the patio and watch the sun set. I would definitely recommend to anyone that wants a quiet spot right on the beach.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
SC
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This place is amazing in every detail! The house is completely up to date with every essential and was sparkiling clean upon arrival. The style of the house is very mordern which I liked a lot. the property is huge and the beach in front of the house is very nice with awesome views in the morning and at sunset. While we were there for 8 days we only saw maybe 10 people on the beach. The terrace is a great place to have meals and watch the monkeys! The property caretaker is very nice and he can help you with anything you may need. The Property manager is also very nice and knowledgeable of the surrounding area. Together, they made our trip so much better! The surrounding area is very secluded but is very pretty and everyone is friendly. There are 2 grocery stores nearby with pretty much everything you will need as well as some local restaurants with GREAT Food! I highly reccommend visiting sand dollar cove and we will be returning when possible. Thank you to the Owner, property manager, and caretaker for making our vacation so incredible!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

SAND DOLLAR COVE PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
I cannot imagine a place more scenic, intimate and inviting than Sand Dollar Cove, and for that reason, my husband and I will always return to this spot for our Costa Rican vacations. This home was modern in all its amenities, had large bathrooms, air-conditioned bedrooms, a cozy living room and offered picturesque views of the Pacific Ocean from every room with amazing sunset views and starry nights that were unlike anything we have ever witnessed. The owners have recently built the home and have incredible taste and see to it that the home is kept immaculate. They were so helpful in seeing that we had excellent directions and gave us many tips on things to do and avoid. The property manager was there to greet us on arrival and guided us as much and as little as we wanted and was so helpful in planning our daytime excursions. However, it was difficult for us to leave our perfect Paradise so we limited our activities on this trip to some restaurant outings that were fresh and delicious, shopping, horseback riding, and a jungle butterfly tour that was surprisingly wonderful. The beach walks were our favorite. There is a reason the home is named Sand Dollar Cove and all you have to do is step off the back porch onto the beach and make a right....you will be amazed!! We highly recommend Sand Dollar Cove, but hope that it is not booked when we are ready to return! We feel so fortunate to have discovered this piece of Paradise.
Kirstin & John Pennington
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We came here with my wife and two teenage boys , mother in law, and sister in law and husband, the house is exactly what you see. the trip is a bit long but well worth it. we were there at its busiest time do to easter vacation but there wasn't any feeling of crowding as you could still walk the beach with out having to avoid people. we traveled around the area some and found the people to be very friendly and helpful. the time spent here is very relaxing and quite even the monkeys weren't a problem. some tips for your trip are to get the GPS when you rent the car, if your first search for a location dosen't work try something closer and then search again when you get to that point. get the bigger 4x4 it is worth the money, we got one small 4x4 and one large one , the small car was very ruff and did not handle the roads very well. and don't forget to slow down. hope to be back soon.
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

Rest and Relaxation defined

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Do you want to get away from it all yet have all the comforts of home? This place is for you.
My husband and I spent a month here (friends joined us for two weeks) and we loved it.
Getting there is an experience and we strongly suggest you rent a four wheel drive and stock up on groceries before your arrival. The home and the experience is worth the drive. The house is very well laid out and fully equiped. Rice cooker to ice maker - what more could you ask for?
Pat (manager) and Cheo (caretaker ) were always available and willing to help whenever we asked for anything. We had an unfortunate occurance related to lifting tiles during our visit. Within a day, we had visits from "experts", the owner flew down to Costa Rica and repairs were done immediately. Everything was done to make sure that we were well looked after and comfortable while the work was being carried out.
Our lives have been very busy since our visit to Playa San Miquel but we will hold the memories in our hearts forever.
We miss Cheo, his fresh eggs, mangos,bananas and fish; reading in the hammocks; walking for hours on the beach; collecting sanddollars; boogie boarding; the almost daily visit of the howler monkeys ,,,I wish I could go back tomorrow.
Thank you Jim for sharing your wonderful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
5

Best beach ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
After searching for a house right on the beach in Costa Rica, we found Sand Dollar Cove and we were not disappointed. House is very comfortable and the support from the Property Manager and on-site Caretaker was terrific. But the star of this show is the beach - miles and miles of - nothing! I think we might have seen 15 people in a week. Just beautiful walking sand, warm water and great sunsets. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a remote beach getaway. Getting there was half the fun - definitely need a 4-wheel drive and ability to follow driving instructions!

Cell reception and internet is sketchy if that matters to you. Wrangled an iguana out of the house. Both added to the charm but might not be for everyone!

Many thanks for a memorable week.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
5

Exactly as pictured .. an absolute diamond !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We booked for a week and should of stayed for two. This property is exactly as pictured. Exceptionally clean and well organized, everything that you need is supplied. The owner was prompt with his replies to any questions that we had and went out of his way to ensure that we had a great time. The on-site manager was there to help you with any questions and went out of her way to help with purchasing fresh poultry and fish. Take her advise as to which local restaurants you should go to although I would strongly recommend Rancho Loma Clara in St. Francisco de Coyote. Have Raphael's crepe dessert, best I have ever had.
Pay attention to the directions given by the owner as to how to get to SDC. If they say drive to the stop sign beside the soccer field, do that, they are correct although the drive from San Jose to Carmona is easy the remainder is not for the faint of heart. If you want traffic lights and four lane paved roads stay home .. if you want an adventure that you will spend the next year if not the next two talking about then take the mountain road and live a little.
Spend some time talking with the ex-pats living in the area, each has a story that will amaze you as to why they came to Costa Rica.
Ask the on-site manager to arrange for Dora to cook dinner for you, it is worth the money just to meet her husband and little boy. Make sure you pay her more than what she asks for, she is worth it and see that you have some chocolate for Jefferson, her son. Remember that they live on between $1 - $2 per day.
Pura Vida
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
Fort Collins, CO, USA
5

Secluded Paradise Sand Dollar Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
An absolutely amazing spot to literally get away from it all. Six of us whove seen nearly all of Costa Rica over the last 20 years of travel were blown away by a long weekend at Sand Dollar cove! Boogie boarding, stand-up-paddle boarding, surf casting, fishing in the estuary, bbq on the terrace and all just for us.

Walk right off the patio onto the sand. The House at Sand Dollar Cove the most idyllic beachfront getaway we’ve found in a couple of decades exploring around Costa Rica.

If you’re looking to get away from it all, spend days playing in the surf at your own “private” beach, and then fire up the grill on the patio as the sun sinks into the Pacific waves at your back you’re not going to find a better place to do it.

Tucked into the private cove on the north side of Estero Miguel at the foot of Cerro San Miguel the modern home has four air conditioned bedrooms and three bathrooms with a fully equipped modern kitchen and large outdoor bbq, dining and living area.

The two upstairs master bedrooms have private baths (one with a Jacuzzi) and a shared balcony with rockers overlooking the beach (the photo below was taken from here) and the two downstairs bedrooms share a large bath. Completely private – the only sounds you’re likely to hear are howler monkeys on Punta Bejuco and the waves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
4 Bedroom Beachfront Vacation Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270373
+1 843 270-0075
Playa San Miguel Guanacaste
Chicago
5

Honeymoon Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My wife and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon this September and had an excellent time. We were there during "rainy season", which, if you dont mind a day or two of rain, means a majority of sunshine, absolutely empty beaches, very verdant forests, cheaper prices, and a chance to really unwind and relax.

The property manager, Pat was so nice and very accommodating. Whatever we needed she made sure we had it. In fact, everyone we met there was an absolute delight and are already discussing which of our friends we are gonna bring back down there with us!
Helpful votes: 3/3