Thurmont house rental - Rear of home- lower bedroom area, sunroom above, patio, deck. All well done!!
Rear of home- lower bedroom area, sunroom above, patio, deck. All well done!!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Thurmont House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 2 Full Baths, sleeps 9

In the foothills of Catoctin National Park (home of the Presidential Retreat, Camp David). Swimming, boating, hiking, waterfalls, Fall beauty. Skiing, golf, antiquing, all local and well done. Home moved and rebuilt in 2005 with all new kitchen, baths. On owner's farm, 1500 feet from main house. Built as luxury upscale guesthouse with the finest materials and craftsmanship. Bright and sunny, open and inviting. There is nothing 'rough' about this home!!!!! Very relaxing, great views and/or privacy. Minutes from food markets and restaurants. This is a property for the discriminating traveler who desires the highest quality. Please read our reviews- we are very proud!!!

The Best!!!: Sometimes you just have to brag- Chris and I ( and most guests) believe that this house far exceeds expectations. Our reviews speak for themselves. We really do attempt to make your stay just what you want it to be. You will always find this home in top condition and working order. We have attempted to set rates that are justified by this property ( again, most guests relate how fair it is, once they arrive, or as they depart. This is not a cabin in the woods- it is a home that took two years of great carpentry and masonry work to build, with no expense spared until it was completed. Please visit with us and give us your thoughts- we know they will be happy ones. Thanks Bill

Chris and Bill built this home in 2004 to move into while they renovated their existing farmhouse they have lived in for 35 years. The farmhouse is a 1794 Moravian brick/stone home, featured in many magazine articles. This log structure was to be burned, and rescued by Bill. It features 'Perma Chink'- a finish between the logs that is flexible and insulated. The home is airtight and fresh. It features old materials used whenever possible.

35 Reviews of Property 270318 in Thurmont, Maryland

Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
average rating of 4.9117646 based on 35 reviews
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
5

Great Weekend Get-Away Spot, Close to DC & Baltimo

Great Weekend Get-Away Spot, Close to DC & Baltimo
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Terrific house for group get-away. 4 bedrooms (although only 2 bathrooms). Lovely, open kitchen that makes cooking with a group easy and fun. Two great family rooms - good for games, reading, etc. And good location, near Catocin Mountain hiking. Really nice property. Only downside is that the bathrooms are located in the bedrooms so 2 rooms have them and 2 don't have easy access.
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Ebensburg, PA
5

Perfect Place to Ring in the New Year!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I hate to shop so I plan events for the family over the holidays. This was the perfect place for the WHOLE family, we had from age 6 to 66 during our stay! The house is just gorgeous and the kitchen is well appointed so needless to say we ate well over our holiday break! There's something for everyone's interest close to this home...we hiked, visited Gettysburg and Fredricksburg and for those who do like to shop there are a lot of creative small shops and outlets nearby. I've got to tell ya though, the house is so cozy and appealing it's hard to leave! Wish we could have stayed a little longer, there was so much to do and we just ran out of time, but it's a good excuse to plan to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Soooooooooooooooooooooooo glad we went.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The cabin was just fabulous. We all LOVED it very, very much. I'd LOVE to come back. We didn't even fill out the guest book because, in our haste to leave, we overlooked getting it done. Duhhhhhhhh. The photos online don't really do it justice. And, getting away for the weekend was simply perfect. What a lovely hideaway. My best friend said it was serenity personified. Exactly what I needed.
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Columbus, Ohio
5

Great Getaway for Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We booked this property for our family and friends for a graduation weekend. Our son attended MICA in Baltimore and the hour drive was just far enough away to give us a quiet retreat, but easily allow us to commute for the festivities . Though the property is a ways from the freeway, there was no trouble finding it. This log home has quite the history and the amenities are top of the line. In fact, the property is better than what is shown in the photos! The home is spotless and filled with beautiful antiques. We loved the country setting and comfortable, homey feel. The bathroom situation could be a bit awkward for those not overly familiar with one another as both bathrooms are off bedrooms and there is none on the first floor. The kitchen is well stocked and the owners are most helpful in answering questions or making suggestions for things to do in the area. Their home is nearby and we had the chance to visit a few times.We ranged in age from 22- 83 and all of us had no trouble finding something to do. Gettysburg is just down the street and so is the quaint town of Frederick.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Chevy Chase, MD
5

Great place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a lovely 2 days at this lovely cabin.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
5

Fabulous Home!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Group of ladies went for the weekend and had a wonderful time. House is just as described above. It had EVERYTHING you could want or need for your stay. We went to the Detour Vineyard for wine tasting and had a great time. None of the ladies wanted to leave and we decided we will definitely rent the house in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
5

Fabulous House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Group of ladies went for the weekend and had a wonderful time. House is just as described above. It had EVERYTHING you could want or need for your stay. We went to the Detour Vineyard for wine tasting and had a great time. None of the ladies wanted to leave and we decided we will definitely rent the house in the future.
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Southern Maryland
4

Great Girls Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We booked the cabin at Breeches Pocket for a girls getaway a year in advance and it was well worth it. The cabin is beautiful and comfortable with picturesque surroundings. Offers easy access to Thurmont, as well as the Catoctin Park and various other places. Not too far from Hagerstown and Boonesboro either. We enjoyed gathering around the table each night playing games after dinner and watching movies. We are already planning to come back next year!
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
McConnellsburg, PA
4

Great family vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We really enjoyed our stay in Thurmont at Breeches Pocket. We are used to having to bring a lot of supplies when renting a house...we could have left most of it at home for this trip! They had nearly everything you could need, even toys, highchair, and pack n play for our kids. The bathroom situation is a little odd, you have to go through one bedroom to get to the bathroom. But we were all family and we made it work. The house has a lot of character and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely consider going back if we wanted to vacation in the same area.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury log home- DC, Baltimore, Gettysburg,Family Friendly,highest quality!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270318
+1 301 271 4912
Thurmont Maryland - Washington DC
Ellicott City, MD USA
5

Perfectly charming!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was a perfect spot for our family! We used it as our overnight accommodations instead of the hotel rooms we had reserved earlier in the year. Our daughter got married a couple of miles up the road in an event barn. This house felt like our home away from home! Plenty of room to gather to eat together, plenty of towels for showering, comfortable beds, plenty of room to spread out, and very clean! You do have to go through bedrooms to get to both bathrooms; however, we were all family/close friends so we were okay with it. (There is really only one bedroom with privacy.) The house is so cozy and welcoming, as is the front porch and back deck. Loved every minute of our busy wedding weekend stay! Planning to go back & relax this time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2