Acadia National Park cabin rental - View from the deck
View from the deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Acadia National Park Cabin Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom, one bath, sleeps two

Cozy and comfortable cabin for full week rentals with separate bedroom area, open kitchen/living area, full bath, and South facing deck. Large windows provide lots of light and views. Located across the road from the ocean with a great view of Swan's island in the distance.

Enjoy your own little getaway removed from the crowds, the traffic and the tourist traps. The harbor village of Southwest Harbor is about 5 miles from the cabin, where there are local shops, restaurants, boat tours and other things to do. Staying on the 'quiet side' of the island provides an authentic Maine experience. The national park trail at 'Wonderland'------a fairly level, easy, 1.4 mile round trip trail to a beautiful ocean side spot is 5 miles from the cabin. The Bass Harbor lighthouse is also about 5 miles from the cabin, as are many other scenic hiking or paddling spots here on the 'quiet side' of the island. When you are ready for a break, you can come back to the peaceful comfort of your own little spot.

The cabin is cozy but modern cabin with tiled floor throughout, a gas fireplace, and combo washer/dryer unit for your convenience. It has a nice view of the ocean, but there is no waterfront access. There is a south facing deck on the front of the cabin where you can relax and enjoy the ocean breeze and great view. Enjoy your morning coffee while listening to the lobster boats chugging around in the bay!

There is a small lawn area and mowed path in front of the cabin, but most of the property is left in it's natural state, in an effort to provide habitat for birds, bees, butterflies and wildlife.

Please contact me with any questions.

More Details
Hide Details

We are semi-retired, or maybe just tired, after spending 5 years building our modest dream home here overlooking Duck Cove. In the winter we spend some time in North Carolina where both our kids and our grandchildren live.

Anne Haynes purchased this cabin in 2006

This property had everything we wanted! A big barn for Bill to use, the cute little cabin, and a southern exposure with a great view! We lived in the cabin for about 5 years while we built our house in our spare time.

As we are in a rural setting, it feels pretty private, yet it is within easy driving distance of the National Park, fishing villages and the quaint charm of New England small towns. The sky on a clear night is filled with stars!

18 Reviews of Property 270139 in Acadia National Park, Maine

Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Bellefonte, PA
5

A quiet vacation in Maine: PERFECT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
"This vacation is PERFECT." These were the words my husband used upon our arrival at Duck Cove Cabin. We repeated them often throughout our week of vacation. The little cabin was such a perfect size for us, that we talked of building our future home to reflect its floor-plan. Small, cozy, adequately arranged, tastefully decorated and with an ocean view that thrills the soul!
We spent our days hiking and biking through Acadia. The cabin is located on the "quietside" of the island, and we wouldn't have wanted to be anywhere else. There's still a few tourists in the nearby town of Southwest Harbor, but NOTHING like the crowds blanketing Bar Harbor. We returned to the Quietside Cafe in Southwest Harbor several times for their lobster chowder, fish & chips and amazing blueberry pie a la mode! Thanks to the recommendation of the cabin owners, we had a delicious "special" dinner in honor of our anniversary at the Red Sky (in Southwest Harbor). For more lobster, we went to Thurston's (in Bass Harbor). For delicious bagels & lox, we went to Milagro (in Southwest). For just a cup of good coffee, we stopped by Sips (in Southwest Harbor). Because the cabin had a great kitchen and adequate dishes, we preferred to breakfast (and sometimes lunch) at home, also enjoying the beautiful view of sailboats moving across the cove from the private deck. The owners live nearby (just behind the little cabin), but are most respectful of the privacy of their tenants. Knowing that they were just a phone call or email away gave us peace of mind, while still retaining that sense of cherished independence that we love in our vacations.
Could there be any improvements? Perhaps. We would have appreciated a little couch or loveseat in the living room, for a cozy date night "in." As it was, the recliners already in the living room were very, very comfortable, and we used them for both reading and dozing when our books were not interesting enough! We happened to visit on a very HOT week of August, so that cabin retained that warmth into the evening and it proved slightly difficult to sleep until we figured out how to open the windows at night and close them in the morning. We would love to visit again in the fall when we could appreciate the cabin's great insulation and gas fireplace more fully!
I would absolutely recommend this little cabin to anyone looking for a quiet place to enjoy Maine. In fact, I've already recommended it to my parents!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Orange Park, FL
5

Beautiful and FULLY equipped. Plenty of room.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Duck Cove Cabin was fantastic. Beautifully equipped and well maintained. Anne and Bill are very gracious. Acadia National Park is amazing. A "must" is lunch or dinner at Thurston's Lobster Pound! We will definitely be back. A perfect place for a couple to spend time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pepperell, MA
5

Another great week @ our favorite retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was our second trip to Duck Cove Cabin and we had a wonderful week even though the weather wasn't the best. The view of the cove was as beautiful as ever and the lupine almost @ peak. The cabin was cozy, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed all types of Seafood locally.
We hope to return again next year and recommend it highly.
Dennis & Phyllis Lang
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Quiet and Relaxing Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved the cabin, great for two people. The description, pictures and reviews are completely accurate. Even better in person! Everything was very clean and well stocked. We would definitely recommend this to our friends and family; we were talking about coming back ourselves! The cabin is on the quiet side of the island which we enjoyed - truly away from it all. Southwest Harbor is close by with shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the trails at Wonder Land and nearby Thurston's Lobster Pound as well.
Owner's Response: We love to see people having a good time!! Thanks so much for the great review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I don't even know where to begin! We were so happy we chose to stay at Duck Cove. As other renters have stated, the pictures and amenities list don't do the cabin justice. We had everything would could have needed for a great week. Everything was clean and they had the little things you wouldn't think about bringing but might need (small cooler, Tupperware, etc). Having a washer and dryer was a huge plus since we did a lot of hiking, and if you bring some detergent you can pack a few less outfits! The view is just great and it was so peaceful to just back and relax inside by the fire or outside in the sun. Perfect for a couple looking to get away. Nice little studio cabin but plenty of room, very open layout.

The owners were great with communication from start to finish and gave us some excellent recommendations. There are pamphlets and recommendations at the cabin - Anne didn't steer us wrong, I strongly advise checking out their recommendations when you are deciding what to do on your visit! I highly recommend doing an island tour through Bass Harbor Cruises, Anne recommended this before we came and we loved it, so much history and nature, beautiful views! So much packed into two hours and Eli and the tour guide was great.

If you are looking for a nice quiet place to stay that is still close to a lot, you cannot beat this cabin. It took about 25-30 to get to Bar Harbor and less time to get anywhere else. You are close by everything but just far enough out the "tourist areas".

If we ever get a chance to go back to Mount Desert Island, we want to stay here again! I would recommend the cabin to anyone without hesitation.

Note for Dog Owners: If you bring your dog and plan to walk them (aside from hikes and trails), there is no shoulder on the road so I went looking for a good road to walk on... if you go right at the end of the driveway and just carefully walk a few houses down and make a left on Clark Point Road, it's a nice even road, low traffic and beautiful views (especially in the morning). I walked this everyday with my dogs and it was very nice.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

Great place!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was a great place to stay. The views were great out to the water and it was nice to watch the boats from afar.

The full kitchen was a nice surprise and it had many extras (lobster pot, Tupperware, etc) that were helpful throughout the week.

Bar Harbor is a quick 25 minute drive, Acadia National Park is beautiful. This is a nice quiet place with lovely landscaping. Much better than the photos give it credit for! A very pleasant stay.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Best Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is the best rental Bernie & I have had on MDI. The view from the deck is outstanding. If anything the amenities in the description are an understatement - everything provided was great quality, couldn't have been cleaner, and the owners were available if needed and most considerate. We would recommend this rental to any couple wanting to stay on the "Quiet Side" of MDI.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Duck Cove Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We really enjoyed our stay at the Duck Cove cabin. The weather wasn't the best and the cabin was a haven in the fog and rain. We had internet. We could cook. Satellite TV. Music. A washer and dryer! (We had considered a B&B before we rented the cabin. We now understand it would have been a jail cell on the days we were trapped inside.) The cabin is perfect for a couple. Come here. Just don't come when we want it!

Location: Being on the western side of the island turned out to be a plus for us. There are beautiful hikes and kayaking opportunities here - away from the insane crowds in Acadia in August. (We would come back in the Fall next time.) Eat at Mainly Delights - 10 minutes away - really. It's BYOB and lobsters to die for.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Duck Cove Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
These accommodations were fantastic. Simple, tasteful, bay views (as well from the jacuzzi), very private, tho not secluded. The west side of the island is the most quiet side and there was very little traffic on the road you see in the photos. I could live here forever. Just fantastic.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cute Cabin for Two with Ocean View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270139
+1 207 460-7306
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

A Beautiful Place in Duck Cove

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Duck Cove is a wonderful place to stay on the quiet side of the island. It’s quiet and serene, yet only minutes from Southwest Harbor. You can easily reach Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, and other services while having the luxury of solitude and a beautiful view of Duck Cove. The cottage is equipped with just the right amount amenities which include everything you need to cook, shower, relax, and wash clothes. The cottage is small and works best for a couple. I would highly recommend it to anyone for its views, tranquility, and the owner’s (Anne & Bill) hospitality.