Merida house rental - Main Living area and Front Entry
Main Living area and Front Entry
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Merida House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Casa La Barenda is located in the heart of Merida’s centro historico, walking distance to restaurants, hotels, museums, shops, theaters and all the exciting activities that go on in the Plaza Grande (the central square). And it’s only fifteen minutes from Merida’s international airport!

Travelers to Merida will discover a vibrant and cosmopolitan city that retains much of its French and Spanish colonial charm… and Casa La Barenda is right in the middle of one of the most charming historic districts, Santiago.

Casa La Barenda has two bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, a plunge pool, kitchen, and large dining and living areas… making it the perfect vacation home for families or couples.

Casa La Barenda makes a terrific base to explore Mayan ruins, Cenotes, Caves, Haciendas, Bird sanctuaries, Fishing villages, Churches, Antiquities and Beaches of the Yucatan.

Keywords: Vacation Rental Home

I am a fourth generation Californian, traveler based in the San Francisco, Bay Area. I’m fascinated by ancient advanced culture where from Sumerian tablets to Atlantian myths and Mayan ruins—Yucatan plays a central role. While visiting Merida for the first time in 2003, I was hooked and came back to discover even more...

Tim Ghirardelli purchased this house in 2005

Casa La Barenda is an easy day-trip from 'home', yet it's a world away! Being able to walk to everything in the centro historico and only fifteen minutes from Merida’s international airport makes it a snap to go.

I enjoy the French-Spanish colonial architecture and exploring the many fascinating Archeological and natural wonders nearby. Not least of which includes the food, art, music, history, people, culture--there is much here to enjoy.

Casa La Barenda is a simple, rustic property with all the essentials and various architectural touches to reflect the character of local living. Guests love the plunge pool and garden with the Mayan water feature overhead; the exposed rock and waterfall in the living area; the combined use of local materials--including wood, tile, concrete and iron. The casa feels good and travelers and friends enjoy their stay. Hopefully Casa La Barenda will bring a smile and pleasure to your stay too.

16 Reviews of Property 269986 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
average rating of 4.357143 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
4

Good Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Nice 2 bedroom, 2 bath house on a busy corner close to the main square. Small neighborhood store across the street, good size grocery store about 2 blocks away, in front of the Santiago Church and Park.
Has a nice plunge pool which we did not use, second bedroom a bit noisy as it is right on the street. The master bedroom is OK when you close the door and put on the a/c. Kitchen is fine with a 4 burner stove which we did not use, a microwave, which we did and bottled water. Living room is noisy and must put up the sound on the TV to hear it. Fans throughout the house are great and we kept them on to keep the house cool. There is an a/c in the living room but only used it once when we got back from some ruins and were hot. House stays relatively cool during the day. There is a wall fountain in the living room to mask noise level but we only used it once as we noticed that it got the living room floor quite wet. Unfortunately we did not think about this but there is about 3-4 inches of water in the fountain and because we did not use it, the standing water produced a lot of mosquitoes which we did not notice till we were their lunch. :) We then sprayed the fountain several times to kill the larvae. The lighting in the house was great for romance but not so great for reading. More lights in both the bedroom and living room would have been great. One of the great pluses of this rental is the fact that they pick you up at the airport (thank you, Neil) and pay for a cab back provided you stay long enough. Our only real surprise was on our last morning as we were having our coffee in the living room out crawls a scorpion from under the couch! That got us going!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Merida and at the casa! Returning guests appreciate the price-point value that gets better each year with ongoing improvements to the casa. The excellent location in the Historic Centro where you can walk to everything will also come with the normal city sounds. And to quote a friend…’the oldest continually-inhabited city on the continent, a city chockful of colonial buildings, Maya artifacts, turn-of-the-century mansions, tropical gardens, museums, restaurants, art galleries, theatres, nightclubs, shopping malls, and more’.
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
5

Awesome apartment! Great place to stay if you want to travel like a local.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This apartment is awesome. Very clean and spacious.
If you want to live in an apartment and experience Merida like a local, this is a great option. Keep in mind that it's right in the middle of the city, so there is some street noise. If you are expecting peace and quiet, this is not the place for you.
The owner and his local property manager gave good customer service. They were honest, fair and eager to help us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Casa La Barenda...a colonial home, is located in the Historic Centro walking distance to all the sights, best restaurants, theaters, parks and markets. Here you'll find all the activities of a vibrant 500 year-old cosmopolitan colonial city. And with it, the typical sounds of city living.
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Minneapolis
4

Casa La Barenda by Santiago Parque

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We really enjoy Casa La Barenda, especially since they fixed the bang/bump inthe street out front and the new steel door in the courtyard feels more secure. We like being in the Santiago Park neighborhood; close to the park, grocery store, restaurants, and the fruit and vegetable market. It's nice and close to the plaza, museums and my two favorite shops: 100% Mexico and the joyeria next to the MACAY. The house is perfectly appointed, a big thrill to have sharp knives, in short supply in the other houses we've rented in theYucatan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It’s terrific to welcome you two back to Casa La Barenda! I’ll be sure to have some new features for you to enjoy next time too. Thanks for your comments, and thanks for visiting again!
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Washington, DC
5

Casa Barenda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The home is well located and beautifully furnished. The design of the property is spacious and contemporary. An outstanding feature was the waterfall in the living room. Andrea was an excellent property manager. She assisted us in locating all 4 our rentals (even though 2 were not even hers). I would definitely recommend this home for your future stay in Mérida.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Paul! We continually update Casa La Barenda to keep it interesting and fresh for everyone, especially retuning guests. It's a pleasure to provide this built-in management team that can help facilitate your travel plans so you can focus on living and enjoying your travels!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Salt Lake City UT
5

Famtastic memorable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed in Casa La Barenda for 5 days, and enjoyed every minute of it. The house is beautiful. You can tell there was thought and consideration to the colonial history put into details and decor. Since my mom joined my husband and I for the vacation having 2nd bedroom separate from the main area really appealed to all of us:). Tim, the owner, was very responsive on emails. Andrea, the property manager, and her daughter were great, and addressed our questions very promptly. The house has great location, minutes of walking to the Central Plaza. There is a little convenience store right across, and a supermarket less than 10 minutes walk from the house. If we go back to Merida I would definitely try to stay in Casa La Barenda again. Thank you Tim and Andrea and Andy!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: You are most welcome and thank you for taking the time to describe your stay. I hope to see you back at Casa La Barenda sometime soon! Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts with others.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Colorado
5

Great place in Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We enjoyed our stay at this great home. The location was excellent within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The house was awesome!!! Very clean and comfortable. The pool was very nice and a great place to spend the afternoon for happy hour before going out for the evening.. Andrea, the property manager was very helpful and responsive. Her daughter Andy checked us in and showed us around the house and how to find everything. Roger the driver picked us up at the airport and was a great resource. He even gave us a quick tour of the Centro and pointed out good restaurants to check out. Tim the owner was great and gave us good info on restaurants and things to do in the area.

This home was perfect for our stay and we would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It’s really a pleasure to provide this built-in team of professionals that comes with the casa so you can focus on enjoying yourselves!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Vancouver BC
3

Location is Good, But...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Location to the main square we good. The inside was clean and well kept and it was good to be in relative walking distance to most things but there are a number of decision points that should be considered before renting this place. The top 5 are:
1.What are you looking for in a kitchen? This place is set up like most hotel kitchenettes that I have booked. Some individual items had issues and after speaking with the owner I believe they will be dealt with. Note there is only a cooktop and not an oven (other than toaster) Kitchen did not have running hot water (be design) but that might be addressed as well. Some discrepancies related to website description and that is also being addressed.
2.Sleeping arrangements. The bed is actually quite comfortable but do take note that the bedroom has two glass block skylights that let in sun early in the morning. Only an issue if morning light wakes you.
3.The only washroom on the main floor is through the bedroom, so if you have visitors they will need to go through there.
4.Noise is a factor. This house is on two very busy streets and traffic can be heard consistently even with windows closed. There is a speed bump outside the living room, which announces every vehicle going by. With the windows open it was hard to hear the ipod player except at high volume.
5.Outdoor sun space is almost non existant. There is a plunge pool that takes up most of the open yard. There might be room for a couple of simple metal chairs to sit in the sun but not comfortably.

There are two lounge chairs, which are nice to sit on but require that you face the pool from a covered area that is a converted parking space. So if it’s a nice day you do have shade but won’t be able to tan easily unless you sit in or beside the pool.
Overall, when reviewing the options, next time I would ask more direct questions of other places to confirm their setup but there are a number of hotels that do have kitchens and large pools and are less expensive to stay at and I will also consider that option. I also can’t see this as a place I would go to with more than two people. There is an ample dining room set up but the living room has only one large couch and out door space is minimal. We were ‘fortunate’ that it was mainly cloudy the time we were there and the outside space wasn’t as critical.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review John, I’ll address each point.

1. Yes, the kitchen has a 4-burner cook top, a toaster oven, microwave--and a Barbeque! Water from the solar heated roof-top storage tank usually provides naturally heated water to the sink. But it's less effective on cloudy days. However an on-demand supply of hot water is planned at the sink--for tea drinkers, more than anything. The web page is updated periodically and it really helps to hear feedback, though minor, personal preferences are rarely publicly helpful.

2. Yes, the main bedroom has wonderful morning light! If this is not your personal preference, it is a simple matter to block it with panels on the roof. Please just ask!

3. Yes, the house is designed to be open with double-doors in the main bedroom as part of the living space where your guests can use the bath.

4. Some notice street sounds more than others. Each year we work on adding sound deadening features to the home. Leaving windows and colonial doors open however defeats any sound dampening elements. The wall fountain in the living area is designed to be both decorative and functional to help cancel noise.

5. There is a spiral stair case to the roof. This is where we catch the sun. If the lounge chairs were not up there, please ask management to move them. A roof-top garden is planned here too.

Choosing to stay a Colonial home over a hotel can be an exciting, adventurous experience. Most guests report the benefits of value over a room in a hotel including privacy, deep relaxation, additional space and the opportunity to feel what it is to live like a local. But it is not for everyone. It does not include the services or attention that you would expect of a hotel…unless of course you ask! Of course depending on the length of your stay, we may not be able to compete with the room price of a hotel, but then when traveling with friends it's a no-brainer.

Living at Casa La Barenda is designed to be a simple, rustic experience with emphasis on living life. The casa is suited to providing comfortable and basic needs. You might however experience elements of the home and local living that could either add to the charm or distract depending on your disposition or cultural bias.

As owner of Casa La Barenda, I want you to have a good time. It is far more important for me to make a good match than it is for me to just fill vacancies. The best place to start is by asking me questions.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Thirroul, NSW, Austrlalia
5

Great home in a great city.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
If you need a place to stay in Merida at a very reasonable price you should consider Casa Barenda. For the price of a hotel room you get a whole house with two bedrooms, well equipped kitchen, large living area and a swimming pool. The house is tastefully furnished, has air conditioning and fans and is a great place to hang out and relax when not exploring wonderful Merida. All the people I had dealings with connected with the property were pleasant and helpful. If you want the fridge and kitchen stocked before you get to the house no problem the agent will arrange it. If your planning a trip to Merida you should look at Barenda as an option. You'll have to look hard to find a better deal.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Clay. I’m glad to hear you and your family had a terrific time in Merida and at Casa La Barenda. I strive to balance good accommodations with excellent value. I continue to make subtle improvements each year to enhance the Casa La Barenda living experience. Hopefully the rooftop garden and sundeck patio is coming soon…
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Philly
5

Understanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our vacation was to be in January of 2013, but events occurred that made that impossible, and we had to cancel. However, the ownert was so gracious and understanding, trying to work with us to find a way to make it work. In the end, he gave us a refund, and I came away from the whole thing knowing that we will definitely make Casa LaBarenda the place we will go to the next time we are able to go to Merida.
He answered my emails promptly, he was empathetic, he told me that Merida is a place to revive your passions and energy, a magical place. He is quite right. So sorry we could not go, but we will make it there again in the future and look forward to staying here. thank you so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Anne. Hope to see you in the future!
Best thoughts.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautifully Renovated 1800's Colonial-Walk to Everything in Historic Centro
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269986vbi
(925) 899-8090 (California, USA)
Merida Yucatan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Absolutely loved the whole experience!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I’m so glad there were no vacancies in the local hotels. We had everything we needed and then some! Very clean and worth every penny. We kept saying how happy we were to find it!
Helpful votes: 4/4