Mal Pais house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mal Pais House Rental Photos and Description
Main House-1 bed w/ 2 couch/beds in liv. area sleeps 4 & Casita- 1 bed studio

Casa Almendro de la Montana is an architectural masterpiece. Our beautiful 1 bedroom, 1 bath house is located just above the beach towns of Mal Pais and Santa Teresa.

We recently added a small 1 bedroom studio up above Almendro, so now the property is perfect for 2 couples or a couple with teenagers. The studio also has a swimming pool.

Nestled in the hillside jungle, the ocean and mountain views extend from every angle of the property. Perfect for couples or small families wanting comfort, safety and privacy while only minutes from pristine beaches, coves, restaurants and shops. Far enough from the hustle and bustle of town to enjoy the peace and quiet of nature, but close enough for all of your needs. By car it’s 5 minutes to the beach or 8 minutes to Cobano and Montezuma.

Casa Almendro de la Montana consists of 2 structures separated by a breezeway. One consists of the bedroom and bath with a built-in bench/couch that can also serve as a bed. The other has a large open living space/kitchen and terrace. This second structure has a long L-shaped couch that doubles as 2 additional large beds. The kitchen is fully equipped. Infinity Pool.

Malpaís:: Malpaís, originally a sleepy fishing village at the northern periphery of Costa Rica's first National Park, the Riserva Absoluta Cabo Blanco, today still retains much of its original tranquility and picturesque charm. Just as in days past, the fishermen arrive each afternoon with their daily catch, which they offer to the public. You won't find fresher fish than that. Santa Teresa, only a couple of miles up the road has all the hustle and bustle of a growing tourist attraction, with its hotels, restaurants, bars and shopping. But no matter how busy the main road, the beaches are always uncrowded, with a year round warm Pacific ocean in front and lush tropical vegetation behind. Malpaís is more residential. Only a handful of hotels and restaurants are found along the main road, but the hills are dotted with luxury homes and celebrity hideaways.

Entertainment: : Being one of the premier surf destinations in Costa Rica, the waves are one of the main attractions that lure visitors. But other recreational opportunities abound. Horseback riding along the beach or in the hills, gliding through the rain forest canopy on zip lines, hiking, exotic bird watching or just lying on a quiet but not entirely secluded beach and getting that healthy tan, it all adds up to bliss. For those looking for entertainment the area offers a wide variety of attractions. During the high season the now famous full moon party blasts off on the beach in front of Ranchos Itauna in Santa Teresa. An annual festival called Manifesto, that brings a week of daily parties with international DJ's and other entertainers takes place in various locations along the beaches.

Lifestyle: : Malpaís features a weekly organic market, Saturdays at 3pm at Playa Carmen, an abundance of outdoor yoga studios, massage therapists, chiropractor and other modalities. There are good restaurants along the beaches and there are excellent cafes and bakeries. To This whole area combines breathtaking nature with high quality living.

More Details
Hide Details

A life long surfer of over 30 years, I fell in love with the area instantly. The diversity of things to do and see make this a very special area. Surfing, Standup Paddleboarding, Fishing, Horse Back Riding, Zip Lining, Waterfalls, Hiking, Beaches ae just a few of the attractions.

Andrew Drake purchased this house in 2006

I fell in love with this property from the moment I stepped foot on it. The amazing views of jungle and ocean combined with the unique ecosystem of a 70 year old tree behind the house make for a one of a kind experience. Whether you're swimming in the pool, playing ping pong or simply reading in a hammock Casa Almendro is an oasis waiting for you.

10 Reviews of Property 269568 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
NC
5

A Special Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a wonderful oasis in Mal Pais. Convenient to the surf towns, secluded and private, a gorgeous view. The open environment is one of a kind. Had to pull ourselves away. You won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Amazing experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The whole experience of staying in this location was absolutely amazing, the people, environment, architecture, and vibe! We felt safe and secure but also had absolute privacy. It's the perfect place to feel at one with nature without having to sleep outdoors and sacrifice modern conveniences. We only left the house to get food and then couldn't wait to get back!!!! Thank you for the most relaxing vacation I have ever had!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Reset Button is here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We just arrived home from an amazing reset at the Hacienda Okhra!

We are absolutely thrilled with our stay in Mal Pais but it was this property which sealed the deal.

After a red eye flight we arrived later in the day and went off to sleep. When we woke in the morning to this unbelieveable view, complete with pool and lush foliage, we agreed it was more stunning than the photos let on.

This is our third time to Costa Rica but this property with it's stunning view is in a league of it's own.

We will be back next year - we miss this gem already!

Stephanie & Brad
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Gorgeous Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This home is located in the "jungle" yet was in a gated community so we felt safe. The area is undeveloped and we saw plenty of wildlife. It is remote and private and yet just minutes away from the beach. The house is absolutely beautiful and feels very Zen and relaxing. I love the open air shower and open air feel to the entire house. The caretakers are wonderful people, and the owner was wonderful and easy to work with.

You MUST go to Koji's sushi restaurant in Santa Teresa (get the drink called a Caprioska) and Habanero's beachside Mexican restaurant (get the seabass). There is a great beachside bar/restaurant in Playa Carmen that we went to every day (best mojitos I've ever tasted). There is a bakery in Playa Carmen that has wonderful breakfast foods and authentic Italian pizza for dinner. We also enjoyed Burger Ranchero. There are zipline tours and boat/island tours available in Montezuma and gorgeous beaches along the road between Montezum and Cabo Blanco. We can't wait to come back!
Owner's Response: I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed my house and its setting. It is a special place.
Thanks
Andrew
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
United States
5

Perfect Harmony

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This is a beautiful property. The design delivers a sublime harmony between architecture and nature. The placement on the hillside gives you incredible views, a refreshing breeze and a synergy with all the flora and fauna that make Costa Rica special.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Seattle, WA, USA
5

Great Mountain House in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This house, in the Hacienda Okra community, is a great place to stay if you want a bit of solitude away from the main surf/tourist beaches. It's only about 10 minutes away, but as it's situated both in the mountains as well as in a private, gated community, we found that it was definitely tranquil.

The house itself is a great piece of architecture, using the already present breeze to cool the house. Without an A/C present, it still provides 24/7 breeze that makes the rooms comfortable. The house is complete with all the amenities you need, including a full kitchen, dining area (the dining table can be rolled onto the patio for a better experience), living area, and full bedroom/bathroom. The pool, as is obvious from the pictures, is also something to write home about. The forest/vegetation goes right up to the house, and thus hanging over the edge of the pool, you can look right into the trees. We got both howler monkey and lemur company during our week stay. I'll also point out that the shower was also very noteworthy, as it faces west, and provides a great view of the sunset while taking a shower.

Leaving the community, multiple beaches abound; Playa Carmen for surfing, and Mal Pais below for canopy/fishing. Go right up the coast for beaches Theresa, Hermosa, and then the town of Manzanilla, for great sand beaches.

Andrew and Laurin were excellent at giving suggestions, and we went through at least half of the restaurants and shops suggested, all with great results. The owners of the Hacienda Community, George and Stephanie, were great at taking care of us, arranging the meet-up. Additionally, the staff onsite provided maid and maintenance service, and were extremely helpful.

All in all, the girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Costa Rica from what we have seen at the house, and given another opportunity, would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Winnipeg, Canada
5

Paradise at a great price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
“To start, the owner of the house, Andrew, was great to deal with. He gave us advice via email that turned out to be bang on. Once we arrived we were greeted by George and his wife Stephanie.

They gave us information and insight into Mal Pais and the surrounding area that was incredible. You would run into George daily on the drive between Hacienda Okhra and Mal Pais, he would quickly check in to see if everything was alright. He was there if needed but never crowding you, so you felt the house was your own.

The house was beautiful, the open design can only be described as Luxury camping, with all the amenities, gas range, fridge, freezer, orange juice maker and coffee maker. (Costa Rican coffee every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, it doesn’t get much better, expect the incredible sunsets from the porch)

The open shower with views of the ocean, jungle, sunset and animals was amazing.

The salt water infinity pool was only steps from the bedroom. (enough said)

The house is far enough away from the other residences to give you complete privacy but close enough to provide a sense of security.

Haceinda Okhra is gated and routinely patrolled by George’s staff. The staff were also great, Marta, came by every second day to clean, as did the grounds keepers and pool staff.

Daily we saw countless species of birds, whitetail deer, iguanas and each evening we sat and listen to the howler monkeys and coyotes. Incredible (lots of curious insects as well will come to visit!!!!)

The house is a five to seven minute drive into Mal Pais and St. Teresa. A rental vehicle, 4×4 is a must. Once there you have a choice of any and every kind of food and restaurants you can think of, Italian, sushi, seafood, hamburgers, crepes, fresh baked goods. You can shop in Mal Pais at several grocery stores that sell everything you would be accustomed to in North America.

The house is also within an adventurous drive to the towns of Cobano, Montezuma and hiking in Curu and Cabo Blanco parks.

Dont miss – Sushi night at Milarepa Hotel, a salad from Harlen at Chop It, sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar, lunch or dinner at Playa De los Artista in Montezuma, homemade lemonade, baked goods,broadband and air conditioning at “The Bakery” Dinner at Marys is also a must.

The southern tip of the Nicoya Pennisula has dozens of beautiful, raw and private beaches all within driving distance.

This is not Cozumel or Hawaii, it takes some work to get here but well worth it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
"When we married in the mountains of Colorado (*cold weather destination wedding,) I had my heart set on a Costa Rican honeymoon.. but it didn't make sense to leave one destination for another... so we waited for our first anniversary for this trip-- SO WORTH THE WAIT!! Andrew was wonderful to work the details out with on this amazing house. Knowing we'd need some help (driving directions, travel advice, and helpful tips abt the culture of Costa Rica, etc,) he provided us with a great packet of information. As the previous reviewer said, "its not easy to get to" but its certainly best because of that fact-- the town + people are totally 'tranquillo' and untouched by annoying tourists (*this is NOT a cruise ship destination.) The secluded nature of Santa Teresa + Mal Pais is what has kept this area a genuine hidden gem! Same applies to the location of the house-- Hacienda Okhra is a community staying as true with the natural environment as possible-- so you don't encounter noisy neighbors, or even see many other homes/people. You can rest assured you'll have your own hideaway in the hills on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The caretakers + staff at the house are wonderfully accommodating + so great at sneaking in + out you don't really even know they've been taking care of you. I can't say there were any cons at all abt our trip-- we learned the roads in Costa Rica really are as bad as they say (*definitely get the 4x4 vehicle)-- but it was all a part of the adventure. Yes there were bugs + frogs + lizards + critters -- but again, this is hopefully why you're visiting Costa Rica-- for the natural beauty. Just minutes from the beach or the nature preserve, it's the perfect mix of secluded hideaway + beach/jungle adventure... it's up to you! We had a truly AMAZING adventure in Costa Rica-- loved the house, loved the kitchen where we cooked our own gourmet meals nightly, loved the infinity pool, open-air shower, the breathtaking views of the ocean + lush green hills, the friendly people of Mal Pais + Santa Teresa, the ocean + natural beauty. We can't wait to go back! "
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Peoria, IL
5

Dream Second Honeymoon!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
When we married in the mountains of Colorado (*cold weather destination wedding,) I had my heart set on a Costa Rican honeymoon.. but it didn't make sense to leave one destination for another... so we waited for our first anniversary for this trip-- SO WORTH THE WAIT!!

Andrew was wonderful to work the details out with on this amazing house. Knowing we'd need some help (driving directions, travel advice, and helpful tips abt the culture of Costa Rica, etc,) he provided us with a great packet of information. As the previous reviewer said, "its not easy to get to" but its certainly best because of that fact-- the town + people are totally 'tranquillo' and untouched by annoying tourists (*this is NOT a cruise ship destination.) The secluded nature of Santa Teresa + Mal Pais is what has kept this area a genuine hidden gem! Same applies to the location of the house-- Hacienda Okhra is a community staying as true with the natural environment as possible-- so you don't encounter noisy neighbors, or even see many other homes/people. You can rest assured you'll have your own hideaway in the hills on the Pacific Coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. The caretakers + staff at the house are wonderfully accommodating + so great at sneaking in + out you don't really even know they've been taking care of you.

I can't say there were any cons at all abt our trip-- we learned the roads in Costa Rica really are as bad as they say (*definitely get the 4x4 vehicle)-- but it was all a part of the adventure. Yes there were bugs + frogs + lizards + critters -- but again, this is hopefully why you're visiting Costa Rica-- for the natural beauty. Just minutes from the beach or the nature preserve, it's the perfect mix of secluded hideaway + beach/jungle adventure... it's up to you!

We had a truly AMAZING adventure in Costa Rica-- loved the house, loved the kitchen where we cooked our own gourmet meals nightly, loved the infinity pool, open-air shower, the breathtaking views of the ocean + lush green hills, the friendly people of Mal Pais + Santa Teresa, the ocean + natural beauty. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Hacienda Okhra-Elegant Villa with Amazing Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269568
206 387-9054
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

Amazing !!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
To start, the owner of the house, Andrew, was great to deal with. He gave us advice via email that turned out to be bang on. Once we arrived we were greeted by George and his wife Stephanie. They gave us information and insight into Mal Pais and the surrounding area that was incredible. You would run into George daily on the drive between Hacienda Okhra and Mal Pais, he would quickly check in to see if everything was alright. He was there if needed but never crowding you, so you felt the house was your own.
The house was beautiful, the open design can only be described as Luxury camping, with all the amenities, gas range, fridge, freezer, orange juice maker and coffee maker. (Costa Rican coffee every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, it doesn’t get much better, expect the incredible sunsets from the porch)
The open shower with views of the ocean, jungle, sunset and animals was amazing.
The salt water infinity pool was only steps from the bedroom. (enough said)
The house is far enough away from the other residences to give you complete privacy but close enough to provide a sense of security.
Haceinda Okhra is gated and routinely patrolled by George's staff. The staff were also great, Marta, came by every second day to clean, as did the grounds keepers and pool staff.
Daily we saw countless species of birds, whitetail deer, iguanas and each evening we sat and listen to the howler monkeys and coyotes. Incredible (lots of curious insects as well will come to visit!!!!)
The house is a five to seven minute drive into Mal Pais and St. Teresa. A rental vehicle, 4x4 is a must. Once there you have a choice of any and every kind of food and restaurants you can think of, Italian, sushi, seafood, hamburgers, crepes, fresh baked goods. You can shop in Mal Pais at several grocery stores that sell everything you would be accustomed to in North America.
The house is also within an adventurous drive to the towns of Cobano, Montezuma and hiking in Curu and Cabo Blanco parks.
Dont miss - Sushi night at Milarepa Hotel, a salad from Harlen at Chop It, sunset dinner at Brisas del Mar, lunch or dinner at Playa De los Artista in Montezuma, homemade lemonade, baked goods,broadband and air conditioning at "The Bakery" Dinner at Marys is also a must.
The southern tip of the Nicoya Pennisula has dozens of beautiful, raw and private beaches all within driving distance.
This is not Cozumel or Hawaii, it takes some work to get here but well worth it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1