Markleeville cottage rental - Fireplace
Fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Markleeville Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, 2 Single Beds in Reading Nook, Sleeps 6

We both have lived in this unique and peaceful part of the Sierras near Lake Tahoe for over 35 years, and when we met 20 years ago and were searching for a piece of property on which to build our dream home, friends would ask us where our favorite location was. It was always Alpine County, and more specifically, a stretch of the West Fork of the Carson River which meanders through the famous old Ace Hereford Ranch. Miraculously, in 2001 a small 20-acre section of the ranch became available, complete with an old rambling Cliff May ranch house badly in need of repair.

After purchasing our dream-come-true, concurrently with the restoration process, we began building a cottage near the main house for our retired parents.

The property is resplendent with willow and wild rose thickets providing a protective home for quite literally hundreds of California Quail as well as the occasional Mt. Quail and elusive Chukkar. It wasn't long before the site became affectionally known as Quail Hollow.

The cozy cottage was built in the Arts and Crafts style by local friends and craftsman, utilizing green materials and local stone. The numerous windows in every room welcome the rising sun in the East and take full advantage of the awe-inspiring view of the Carson River and the stunning volcanic basalt cliffs beyond. The kitchen, living room, dining nook and reading nook are all part of a spacious yet comforting great room which invites conversation and comraderie. The sleeping areas are quiet and comforting, the patios soothing and restful. The local wildlife which may include bobcat, raccoon, beaver and muskrat often saunter past the dining nook window, and of course the ever-present quail and hummingbirds appreciate an occasional handout, the former showing off their adorable families of tiny 'quailets' throughout the summer months. Bald and Golden Eagle soar overhead, Jays nest in the nearby pines and Cliff Swallows build their mud colonies on the cliffs.

A peaceful presence can always be found here, whether the Fall colors have begun to dazzle, a dusting of fresh snow is on the ground or when the summer-blooming lavender is ahum with bees, as the sounds of the city and the pressures of everyday life are left far behind. Come rest your spirit here, explore the area, paint a landscape, work on the story you started to write, bring several favorite books to read, and return home rejuvenated

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 269419 in Markleeville, California

Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
4

Good Privacy for a Get-A-Way

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We visited this property for a family holiday. Best for 2 couples and a couple of kids, but it could sleep 3 couples in separate rooms, plus 3 singles if you utilize the sofas in the living room. It was comfortable, but expect more house-feel as opposed to a quaint cabin in the woods. Through no fault of the owners, some localized junk on nearby reservation land detracts somewhat from an otherwise pristine drive to the property. The small dining room table can only handle 4-5, with an additional 4 at the counter. The back patio/yard area is the greatest asset, having a nice view of the river just a few feet away. It is secluded enough to afford good privacy, but still within 5 min of a small store or 20 min to Minden, NV for major things. The owner is very nice and makes a point of checking in. Bring a DVD player, as it only has a VHS deck and a CD player. The non-holiday price seems fair, but we would suggest updating pots & pans, linens and some furniture, such as the main sofa, dining table and bedroom mattresses over the next couple of seasons as part of regular maintenance. Overall we thought it was good.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Walnut Creek, California
5

Serenity Pesonified

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had such a great experience in the Spring that we looked forward to our visit in the Fall. It did not disappoint. We love Quail Hollow. The fireplace and lay-out of the home is perfect. The sound of the stream and the glorious colors of the trees were heavenly. Susan & Roger are perfect hosts. Hopefully, we shall return when we need a quiet retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Ann Arbor
5

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We've been to dozens of VRBOs and other vacation rentals and this has been the best: The setting, the house, the location are perfect. Everything is top-of-the-line, clean and welcoming. I have trouble finding eco-friendly rentals that don't set off my allergies to chemicals and strong fragrances but Quail Hollow was perfect in this way also. Finally, Susan, the owner, was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Janet you are so sweet to write such a lovely review, I thank you and Jeff immensely for your kindness and consideration and look forward to having you return. susan
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Northern California and South West Ohio
5

Ladies Hiking week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was the most beautiful cottage and we were thrilled to be there both setting and quality of the lodging. Fantastic kitchen and rooms. We even had trouble getting going in the morning because we just wanted to stay on the deck with our coffee!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Sparks NV
5

Wonderful Location to Relax and Enjoy Nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The cottage is every bit as beautiful as shown on the website, and very comfortable. The best part is the patio, visible thru the dining area window, that is only a few yards from the Carson River. It's so relaxing to sit on the lounges on the patio, watching the river and listening to the sound of the water as it courses over the rocks. The trees are full of birds, including hummingbirds that constantly visit the feeder right next to the lounges.

In addition to the large couch, there are two comfortable reading nooks with an excellent view of the secluded back yard. The kitchen is very functional, and we prepared meals at the cottage all but one night. We drove a short distance to Genoa, NV for an excellent dinner at La Ferme, as suggested on the website.

We took advantage of some of the nearby hiking trails each day, and our son-in-law added a 50 mile bike ride and several long runs out of the many options available.

We are definitely planning to return to the cottage in the future, and I would absolutely recommend this to anyone - it was a wonderful family weekend that we certainly hope to repeat again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Fremont, CA
5

Spectacular scenery right at your doorstep

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This is a very special mountain getaway. The quality of the setting and construction of this gorgeous home is just amazing. Never seen the like before! So peaceful, with a stunning river view and local wildlife outside the backdoor. Nicely furnished with a full, well stocked kitchen, and beautiful landscaping. Close to South Lake Tahoe. I enjoyed perusing the great variety of books on hand. The radiant heating keep us cozy the whole time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Los Angeles, CA
5

Peach and Tranquility Abound

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Quail Hollow Cottage more than met my expectations. The home is more wonderful than even the photos can display. This property provided everything I was looking for - a beautiful (and very clean!) home, nature surrounding me, and plenty of hiking and sightseeing opportunities. Susan and Roger was THE BEST hosts and will be my friends from here on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Lake Tahoe
5

Off the grid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
WOW! The sounds you experience here are pure tranquility. Wind in the aspens, chirps of many birds, rushing river. The smells are just as transporting. Lavender, sage, roses! This romantic home is filled with warmth, memories, history & pure comfort. If you’re looking to truly check out then check into this beautifully crafted home full of arts and antiques form all over the world. The owners Susan & Roger are quit special as well. The details are completely evident and the area is a visual smorgasbord. Enjoy & thank you for a wonderful time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Coming from the big city, I felt like being in
paradise at Quail Hollow during my first visit last
August. I had never before experienced nature this
close; it starts right at the doorstep.

The house itself is just marvelous, a true piece of
art, and I had a real hard time deciding wether to
stay in and enjoy the home or venture out and
explore the Sierra.

It was a winter wonderland on my second visit in
January. I can hardly wait for my next visit to Quail
Hollow. I love that place.
business
Come Find Peace and Solitude in a High Sierra Summer Wonderland
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269419
+1 530 694-1155
Markleeville Gold Country / High Sierra
Auburn, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Quail Hollow is a special place. We stayed with friends and found the dual-master layout with BRs at opposite ends of the house was perfect for two couples. The common area was large enough to accommodate our visiting kids as well. The home is just lovely, with natural wood throughout; the window seats are just too inviting to ignore for that stolen afternoon nap. The burble of the Carson River makes the outside a soothing spot to sit and relax under the tall pines.