Hana cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hana Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Ala Aina Ocean Vista is a private, unique solar powered B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns.

Our B&B suite offers a fully-equipped efficiency kitchen on the large private deck. You can cook 'under the stars'! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. Classic board games, ipod docking speakers, DVD and Direct TV for those that want television.

We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o or also called 'Ohe'o Gulch'. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located.

We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as 'Venus pools', are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 2 minutes away.

The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been a Maui resident for 27 years coming from Michigan. I run our B&B with my daughter Mercury. Together we keep our 4-acre parcel beautiful and manicured.

Samadhi Butterfly purchased this cottage in 2001

We were blessed to have found this luscious remote spot on the Island of Maui. Ny daughter and I have lived here for 20 years now, originally from Michigan. When my husband passed, we needed a way to make a living. I took advantage of having a space to renovate to a Bed and Breakfast, as this allowed Mercury, my daughter, and myself to stay at home, run a business and have a connection with wonderful folks from all over the world. This has worked out better than we could even imagined.

We have the luxury of privacy, peace and quiet in our setting. Mercury and I enjoy staying on our blessed piece of paradise and working in nature to make things beautiful. We enjoy donating to the homeless with our abundant fruit from our trees. We get most of our social connections with the wonderful folks that visit our B&B. We are totally 'off-the-grid' and enjoy being totally 'green'. This property is eco-friendly tourism.

24 Reviews of Property 269265 in Hana, Hawaii

Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Canada
5

Wonderful stay outside of Hana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
What a beautiful spot! We had a wonderful 2 night stay. The studio apartment is very well equipped. Be prepared to bring what you need for your dinner, can be cooked in the fun outdoor kitchen on the 2 burner stove. Great advice from Sam and Mercury about how best to spend our time in the area. Really good suggestion to take the south route back towards Kahului. It was a beautiful drive. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife and I stayed at Sam and Mercury's B&B for three nights and loved it. Sam and Mercury were very good at welcoming us, did a thorough introduction to the property, and were very friendly and helpful during out stay. The room itself was great - HUGE bed that was very comfortable, large bathroom with a great shower, and an outdoor kitchen that we used every night to cook. The views of the ocean were stunning from the deck, and the star gazing at night was amazing! (Especially from the outdoor bathtub that you can sit in and gaze upwards to the starry night.)

Our stay was during peak mango season and there are several large mango trees on the property so we had our fill of fresh mango and other fruits from their trees. Beautiful property and very close to Ohe'o Gulch.

We stay at a lot of B&Bs and this one is a gem - we will be back!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Apple Valley, MN
5

Honeymoon Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay at Ala'aina Ocean Vista was fantastic. We were here on our honeymoon. We arrived late in the afternoon and Sam greeted us and walked us through all the spaces and equipment associated with the property. The locale itself was superb, giving you lush forest on one side with multiple mango trees, and a view of the ocean and the "Big Island" on the other. We were two miles from the entrance of the state park that has the hike to a bamboo forest and 400 foot waterfall, as well as the walking path to the "Seven Sacred Pools." Sam and Mercury made us feel completely at home while still giving us complete privacy. In the evening we cooked on the grill or in the overhead protected, outdoor kitchen. It was cool to smell the rain and vegetation while listening to the mangos drop to the ground. They have the place decorated and detailed perfectly for an island getaway. There is a really neat outdoor shower and bathtub if you truly want the total outdoor experience, but there is also a great indoor bath with as huge shower for two as well. Overall, we had a great, romantic experience here. Sam and Mercury were very gracious hosts. Mahalo.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Los Angeles
5

Dream Time in Ala Aina Ocean Vista

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We just came back from Ala Aina Ocean vista. We fell in love when we first drove to the land. It was raining the whole way when we were driving, but a spectacular sunset greeted us as soon as we walked into our room. We felt like we walked into a heavenly paradise. This is one of our most favorite B&B that we’ve ever stayed. Sam and her daughter Mercury have done a fantastic job to keep the B&B so beautiful, so serene, so unique, and so rejuvenating. It washes your soul and brings peace into your world. Mercury is an artist. We love every detail that she puts into for the decoration. We spent a lot of time in the lanai to enjoy the gorgeous sunrise and sunset and the view of the garden. It was amazing to take the outdoor bath and watching the sun going down. We are not huge fan of cooking when we are home, but it was joyful and fun to cook while taking photos of different views every day. The fruits are so fresh and delicious and make our mouths watering while writing this review. Sam and Mercury, thank you much for this unforgettable vacation. Absolutely there is no question that we will go back. This is a paradise and it’s beyond the words can express.

Ed and Wendy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Milton, Ontario, Canada
5

Relax in a perfect Hawaiian setting!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Amazing bed and breakfast run by wonderful owners. So many things to do in the Hana area so make sure you stay in Hana for 2 or even 3 nights. A lot of people do the Road to Hana and back in one day... I do not recommend this because you will be too rushed and not able to enjoy the lovely things to do around Hana. We stayed in Kihei for 5 nights and Hana for 2 nights. We definitely could have stayed for 3 in Hana though! Very relaxing. Beautiful property with lots of fresh fruit to eat.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Evergreen, CO
5

Magical, mystical, PERFECT, place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We LOVED our stay here. What a truly magical place. The views, garden, breezes, outdoor tub and shower (my favorite part next to the swing under the giant tree), and RAINBOWS made for a very special experience. My sweetie is the cook in our outfit and he was a little put off by the tiny nature of the outdoor kitchen, but then managed to create some of the best meals we had on our trip! Plucking a few fresh items for our salad from the garden and adding wonderful fresh fruit from the property and farm stand a mile away, made that aspect of the experience extra special. We spent a lot of time in blissful relaxation on the deck. A definate highlight was having the waterfall and little beach as our own private paradise for an entire day (nearby, just ask the wonderful hostesses). Namaste Sam and Mercury, job well done!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
5

Hana to Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We absolutely loved Ala'aina Ocean Vista. This property was beautiful in the photos we saw on line, but it was stunning when we saw it in person. We like to eat at restaurants, but after we saw the views from our deck, we cooked at our outdoor kitchen as much as possible. We thought it would be a little restricting having only a stovetop, but we made tacos and spaghetti, and we enjoyed salads with fresh avocado from the tree on the property. We also enjoyed trying varieties of fresh fruit that were waiting for us there in the basket. We found this the perfect retreat after enjoying days sight-seeing in Hana. The drive is about 2 1/2 - 3 hours from the airport, but we enjoyed every minute that the views on the drive afforded us. I read some reviews complaining about the lack of air conditioning, but - with windows wide open, the gentle breezes that drifted through the cottage all day and night provided the perfect climate control. Cool evenings and breezy days made the cottage more than comfortable. It rained one afternoon when we were there, and we enjoyed playing games and watching videos. Sam directed us to some quiet places where we could swim in waterfall pools and enjoy privacy. Mercury lives in the same house as the cottage, but we truly felt like it was a completely separate space. We only saw the owners when we sought them out, and we were given utter privacy 24/7. We were able to enjoy the outdoor shower and bath - a totally unique experience to this B&B, and it was quite possibly the best part of our trip. It is obvious that great care was taken to manicure the gardens and grounds, and that only made the place more of a blessed experience. Mercury is an artist, and you can tell everywhere you look that this place is not just her dwelling - her lovely heart and soul is reflected in it. Because of that, it's obvious that she takes the care of it very seriously and highly values the positive experience and high opinion of her guests. The fact that it is solar powered has been a source of some complaints, but we didn't find it confining in the least. It's paradise - we prefered the moonlight for strolls and romantic encounters, but there is plenty of solar-powered light if desired.

We spent 4 nights in Hana and 3 nights in Lahaina (on the more populace side of Maui), and we found ourselves almost wishing we had scheduled more in Hana. We loved that side of Maui so much. It was a rainforest, beach, and prairie - 3 gorgeous ecosystems all rolled into
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Seattle
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I wasn't sure what to expect before arriving, but our stay at Sam and Mercury's place added so much to our Hawaii experience! The room itself was great...a glass corner of the house looking toward the ocean from two angles, a large deck with an outdoor kitchenette and table, and a huge lucious garden complete with outdoor tub and shower, a huge mango tree with a tree swing, and nice lounge chairs in the garden. Sam and Mecury are super friendly and helpful, and they let us have our privacy during our stay. The location of the property was also an advantage...about 30 minutes away from Hana, and only 1 mile from the 7 Pools. This gave us the feel of being away from throngs of tourists and a sense of the true culture of Hawaii.
The photos shown are accurate, but don't give you the full feel of the views and property...they are amazing! Everything was extremely clean and well thought out. We would absolutely recommend this property...you will be pleased!!! Just remember to pick up groceries in Hana, as there are no stores on this end of the island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Seattle, WA
5

Beautiful Sanctuary

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What an amazing enchanting place. We didn't know what to expect as we drove along a narrow winding road from the tourist resorts. I was more than pleased with our stay. The hiking, beaches, and waterfalls were all within a stones throw. I recommend this place for anyone looking for a unique experience while in Maui.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Oakland, Ca.
5

Serenity and boundless beauty...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Saiadhi met us when we drove up to the beautiful, tranquil property from the country road that took us there. We stayed only two days and we wished we had booked more! Incredible peace and serenity on 4 acres of lovely manicured and decorated land. The ponds with the lotus blossoms were particularly pretty although there isn't anywhere to look be it in the distance or on the property that isn't just plain specatacular. We saw the volcanoes on the Big Island from our lanai.The quiet is just incredible. I slept 10 hours one night which just blows my mind. I haven't slept even 8 hours for decades so that was a highlight of my visit. We left the property wanting to stay more. Going back to 'the world' was a let down. Next time we will book this property for a week and leave the rest of the island to the tourists. Do yourself a big favor and book this property now.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway