Mal Pais villa rental - Villa Montemeru
Villa Montemeru
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Mal Pais Villa Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Villa Montemeru offers simple yet sophisticated and elegant accommodations. You enjoy magnificent views of the Pacific ocean from nearly every angle, with sunsets to die for. The house is custom furnished with beds, tables, chairs and closets in various tropical hardwoods. There are altogether four bedrooms, each with private entrance, private bathroom and balcony or terrace. All beds come with top of the line mattresses and 100% cotton linens. The windows and French doors are oversize and offer stunning ocean views. Three bedrooms have one king size bed each, while the fourth has two queen size beds. Two of the units feature wall-mounted flat panel TV monitors with iPod, PC & Mac connectivity, as well as Satellite TV. All bedrooms have ceiling fans that keep the interior cool at all times. The bathrooms are tiled in either ceramic, marble or natural stone, with eclectic accents that give each of them a unique look. Solar hot water systems automatically switch to electricity in the rare event that there isn't enough sun. The ground floor includes the sunken kitchen, a pavilion style dining and recreational area and the infinity pool. The kitchen comes with high quality cookware, appliances and an espresso machine.The crystal clear pool is maintained with a minimum of chemicals and the water has no discernible chlorine smell. The property has park like surroundings with a variety of tropical fruit trees and flowering ornamental plants, butterflies and iguanas. Frequent visits by exotic birds and monkeys are to be expected. The sun sets in the Pacific ocean right in front and regales the visitor with a daily changing spectacle. Our guests enjoy absolute privacy in an atmosphere of exquisite tranquility. There are two lovely beaches within five walking minutes and four restaurants also within walking distance.

Daily cleaning service, except Saturday & Sunday. Gratuity not included in rates.

Malpaís

Malpaís, originally a sleepy fishing village at the northern periphery of Costa Rica's first National Park, the Riserva Absoluta Cabo Blanco, today still retains much of its original tranquility and picturesque charm. Just as in days past, the fishermen arrive each afternoon with their daily catch, which they offer to the public. You won't find fresher fish than that.

Santa Teresa, only a couple of miles up the road has all the hustle and bustle of a growing tourist attraction, with its hotels, restaurants, bars and shopping. But no matter how busy the main road, the beaches are always uncrowded, with a year round warm Pacific ocean in front and lush tropical vegetation behind. Malpaís is more residential. Only a handful of hotels and restaurants are found along the main road, but the hills are dotted with luxury homes and celebrity hideaways.

Entertainment

Being one of the premier surf destinations in Costa Rica, the waves are the main attraction that lure visitors. But other recreational opportunities abound. Horseback riding along the beach or in the hills, gliding through the rain forest canopy on zip lines, hiking, exotic bird watching or just lying on a quiet but not entirely secluded beach and getting that healthy tan, it all adds up to bliss.

For those looking for entertainment the area offers a wide variety of attractions. There is a discotheque right at Playa Carmen, a live music venue called La Lora Amarilla, various bars, occasional beach full moon parties with international DJ's, billiard, Cafes and a weekly organic produce cum flea market.

Lifestyle

There's an abundance of outdoor yoga studios, massage therapists, chiropractor and other modalities.

There are good restaurants along the beaches and many cafes, as well as two European style bakeries and an Italian Gelato ice cream parlor. The southern Nicoya Peninsula combines breathtaking nature with high quality living. Come and enjoy it in the first class setting of Villa Montemeru and experience bliss.

Keywords: Villa

More Details
Hide Details

I have traveled widely in the past, but nowadays I spend most of the year in beautiful Costa Rica. When not there, I live in San Francisco, California, where I maintain a second residence. I was born and raised in Austria, but have lived most of my life in California.

Daniel Weiss purchased this villa in 2003

It sits atop of its own hill and enjoys the best panoramic views. None of the surrounding properties visually intrude and guests enjoy absolute privacy.

The Nicoya peninsula is one of a handful of designated Blue Zones in the world, with an above average population of centenarians. The high mineral content of the local water is credited with this benefit. While the hotels and houses a bit farther up north have to buy water from tanker trucks during high season, our location in close proximity of the Cabo Blanco National Park has the advantage of water being delivered to us from the Park. We have a high quality 2 stage water filter in the kitchen, which allows our guests to enjoy perfectly safe and fresh tasting water straight from the tap, instead of buying inferior bottled water.

8 Reviews of Property 361483 in Mal Pais, Costa Rica

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
New York, NY
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Five of us just returned from a week at Villa Montemeru. We couldn't have been happier with the house, which is even more beautiful than the pictures and description suggested. The layout and decor are thoughtful and stylish, the indoor/outdoor kitchen and living room are gorgeous, the beds are comfortable, and the views of the ocean, jungle, and sunsets to die for. Mariella was an excellent host, welcoming but discreet, and gave us excellent suggestions for local beaches, food shopping, and restaurants. Although we ate out a few times in Santa Teresa and Malpais, we really preferred long, relaxed evenings in the house, with Ray and Marlie, the two adorable ridgebacks.
The region is beautiful, though the roads are sometimes rough and dusty. The house is situated high above the road and is therefore secluded and quiet, except for the wonderful noises of the jungle. One word of caution - the jungle and its wildlife are all around and very present, and if that doesn't interest you, this might not be the best area to stay in.
All in all, the location, the house, and the welcome make Villa Montemeru paradise. I hope we'll be back soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Spokane, WA
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I took our four young-adult children and, for 3 of them, their significant other, to this villa at Mal Pais for a weeklong stay. From this property the view of the Pacific Ocean, sunsets, and jungle canopy is no less than extraordinary.The villa sits on a beautiful forested hillside away from the dust of the Mal Pais/Santa Teresa beach road, yet it's a moderate walk to the sea shore. We rented a vehicle so we could get out a bit to surrounding towns and sights. I'd recommend that you plan on doing so for part of your stay, unless you want to hang out mostly around the pool-- which certainly isn't out of the question-- or unless you're a dedicated walker. The facility was perfect for us-- nice infinity pool with nearby shower and bathroom; large open-air (but covered) poolside dining/gathering facility with comfortable tables and furniture, large bar/dining counter, and a a modern sunken kitchen with all necessary appliances; four spacious sleeping quarters each with its own beds, couches, bathroom, shower, closet, and separate deck. The pool and premises are well-lit at night. The owners were warm, always accessible, and obviously wanted our stay to be a great one, which it was.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and your family. Happy New Year, Daniel
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
5

Absolutley Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Everything about Montemeru worked for us: Ideal setting, beautiful view, priceless wildlife experiences, and comfort. Daniel is a great host. We felt well cared for, and we really appreciated the dedication of his staff to keeping the place clean and tidy.

Montemeru is a great location with beaches within walking distance, and the sound of the surf to lull the tensions we came to escape. What a great place to unwind from our daily lives! We loved not being in town, but close enough for as many trips to the restaurants, stores, bakery, shops, and nightlife as we wanted. Daniel is very knowledgeable about the area and a great resource for directing you to wherever your desires might take you. His interest in our satisfaction was refreshing and made our entire experience of Costa Rica one not to be forgotten.

The description on this site doesn't quite do justice to the experience to be had at Montemeru. We loved cooking in the outdoor kitchen, eating at the beautiful wooden dinner table, and relaxing with each other poolside, morning, afternoon, or evening. The sunsets from the property were truly amazing, and a highlight for sure.

I could go on, but more words won't do justice to the time we had there.

All of the six people in our group agree: Montemeru is the place to be if visiting Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. If we return, we will definitely seek another stay at this wonderful property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Kauai, Hawaii USA
5

Costa Rica bliss!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
My husband and I stayed for 1 week and fell in love with this incredible villa. The views are incredible, the outdoor (covered) living area and kitchen are so luxurious. Perhaps my favorite place is the infinity pool to cool off and take in the stunning view.

I love the open air design, and staying in such a deluxe villa with a home like feel.

We will definitely return to this special spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Wisconsin
5

Top of the Line Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My family of six (my wife, our four sons, ages 15, 18, 20 and 22, and I) had a very special week at Montemeru. The property is secluded and unique, high enough to capture unbelievable sunsets over the Pacific but close enough to hear the surf from your bedroom. We awoke to Howler Monkeys in the forest below us and parrots flying overhead. Each of the bedrooms is distinct and very private – plenty of room for our family of six. My favorite rooms at the property were the master bathroom, with a double shower open overhead to the sky, the stars (brilliant clear stars) and the canopy foliage, and the open living area with sunken fully updated kitchen. The pool is perfect and clear. We fell in love with Mal Pais in part due to this property. The only thing I would do differently, if we return to Montemeru, is to secure a rental of a four wheel drive vehicle. Our front wheel drive Toyota eight + passenger Hi Ace van made it up and down the driveway every time I asked it to, but I would have loved a sturdier vehicle to meet the road. Go to Mal Pais; stay at Montemeru. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Ned,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay at Villa Montemeru. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Costa Rica vacation and are planning to return to the Nicoya Peninsula in the future.

All the best to you and your family,
Daniel
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
San Francisco
5

A stunning getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We longed for a private getaway where we could simply unwind, reconnect with each other, and recharge. We found all of that, and more at Monte Meru, which I think means “sacred mountain”. By all standards, it truly lives up to its name. The property has an elegant pavilion feel in the main area with 4 unique units, maintained by friendly staff, all with spectacular views across tropical gardens to the Pacific. Tucked up and away in a naturally setting, hand-sculptured detail in stone and native hardwood is found throughout, adding to the comfortable and intimate surrounding. Winding paths of the lushly planted grounds, look out to the ocean. Everywhere there are amazing views, with blooming native plants found at every turn. By car, we were just minutes away from Santa Theresa with plenty of restaurants, nightlife/music, a French bakery, shopping and even a sports bar! Access to the beach is literally a short walk down the path to a secluded sandy hideaway. Although we don’t surf, the area is rated as one of the top surf locations in the world. I was also happy to discover morning yoga classes offered at the nearby hotel, which is also just down the path from where we stayed. Another great idea for those who enjoy cooking at home, is the discovery of the Saturday farmers market. Bring your grocery bag and be sure to arrive early for a beautiful selection of locally grown organic fruits, vegetables, baked goods, fresh yogurt and fresh coconut drinks made while you wait. We were able to buy everything to prepare meals in the well-equipped kitchen, al fresco dining to savor at sunset. In the mornings we would rise to the fresh ocean breeze and from the balcony with our espresso and binoculars, watch the vibrant display of the many native birds that come to rest in the treetops. As it can get warm, our afternoons usually included a refreshing dip in the pool and a siesta in the hammock, or under the fan. Another plus: the pool is maintained without harsh chemicals or high chlorination! We enjoyed our stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a secluded natural getaway, still with access to convenience and nightlife. Whether we chose to enjoy a night out, have a massage, relax at poolside, take long strolls along the beautiful beaches, catch up on reading, take lazy naps in the afternoon, or just enjoy each other’s company, we had the most luxurious, relaxing, rejuvenating and unforgettable experience at Monte Meru!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Paris
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We've had a wonderfull time in Daniel's villa. Located on the best spot of mal pais, decorated with taste and with an incredible view on the pacific ocean, this place is a must see .
You Will enjoy monkeys and birds everyday in the garden.
One of our best memory in Costa Rica !
business
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361483vb
+506 885 95875 (Costa Rica)
Mal Pais Puntarenas
Paris
5

Stunning !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We've Had a wonderfull Time in Daniel's villa.
Located on the best spot of Mal Pais, the villa
Is a must see.decorated with good taste, amazing view on the pacific ocean , you can see monkeys in the garden everyday.we'll be back !
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting you and your lovely family and friends.