Ashburnham farmhouse rental - 1830 Elijah Haven Homeplace from one of the fields during apple blossom time.
1830 Elijah Haven Homeplace from one of the fields during apple blossom time.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Ashburnham Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
Private, Peaceful & Special with 2 Bedrooms + Loft in The Heart of New England.

Between Boston and the Berkshires, 1830 Elijah Haven Homeplace is a charming, fully updated, totally-turnkey and very special gentleman's farm located on 78 private, bucolic acres. Immerse yourself in nature and spirit of peaceful lawns, gardens, fields, ancient stone walls, forests, walking trails, rolling hills and many lakes. Our many Adirondack Chairs on the lawns and in the fields help you breathe it all in, relax and decompress.

This very private yet convenient, completely-furnished and fully-appointed country home is situated on a hillock surrounded by many rolling acres – perfect for people who value privacy, scenic surroundings and making wonderful memories. (Haven Homeplace is our home – which we vacate whenever guests are in residence. When you're at Haven, it is yours alone.)

Elijah Haven Homeplace is located minutes from prestigious Cushing Academy in Ashburnham, MA with easy highway access from metro areas.

Inquiries for guest stays from a night, weekend, a week or longer are welcome.

In-person 'Meet & Greet Orientation' and Weekly Cleanings are included.

Wide pine floors, a center chimney in the living room and lots of windows & skylights make this a light, bright, cheerful and airy place to call your home.

A renovated barn, carriage house and artist studio are also on the property. There are over 6 acres of lawns...and gardens that begin blooming in mid-May and don't stop until Fall Foliage season.

Very welcoming. The instant each of our wide variety of guests from around the globe arrive, they exclaim that they feel like they're 'at home'.

More Details
Hide Details

We bought Haven Homeplace in December of 1990 from the descendants of the original family that created the farm back in 1830. Scott was a successful model, actor and WNNNBC radio personality in New York City, and discovered the place on a visit back home. He jumped at the chance to own this little slice of heaven.

At first, there was not much here except potential. But slowly, together with Irma Hayward the spunky lady who sold us the farm, we pushed back the forests to reveal the old fields and the requisite New England stone walls.

In those early years here, the Haven family provided us with early 1900s photos of the farm – and we set out restoring the place to its original look (with modern updates like central air conditioning).

17 years after we bought it, we began to travel and while we were away, hosted a family from Cushing Academy for a week. They were wonderful and Haven made them so happy. It's then that we got 'the bug' to host travelers from around the world.

When guests are in residence at the farm, we live at an adjacent property. Either we or our caretaker are always available to meet, orient, answer questions and assist in making your stay a memorable and comfortable one.

Guests say that we are very detail-oriented, clean...and have terrific taste! And we do enjoy meeting people who come our way. You may view 5-star guest comments on every page of our website at www.HavenHomeplace.com.

John Rahaim purchased this farmhouse in 1990

Ashburnham is our hometown. Haven Homeplace didn't start out as a guest rental. We made a dream come true for ourselves by renovating and 'TLC-ing' the farm and living there. The Haven family member that sold the farm to us actually participated in and applauded the restoration.

Although we have traveled the world from Boca to Bali, there is something special here that we now enjoy sharing with others.

It is just down the road from the world-famous college prep school, Cushing Academy. Luminaries such as the King of Bhutan, Nate Berkus, Bette Davis and others have graduated from its ivy clad tower.

We did not choose Haven Homeplace. It chose us.

Where else could you see turkey and deer grazing on a verdant green lawn close by in the morning...and be shopping on glamorous Newbury Street in Boston that same afternoon?!

We're located in what we call 'The Heart of New England' in North Central MA near the cities of Gardner, Fitchburg & Leominster. Our area is just WNW of Greater Boston in the beautiful rolling hills beyond the coastal plain. Hike to the local hilltops and see the Boston skyline!

Also nearby are The Winchendon School, Franklin Pierce University, Mt Wachusett Community College, the cities of Gardner, Fitchburg, Leominster, Devens, Westminster, Ashby, Princeton, Wachusett Mt., Mount Monadnock and arts mecca Peterborough.

Peace. Charm. Nature. Renewal. Comfort. Quiet.

Homeplace History & Guests: Elijah Haven Homeplace was built in 1830 – a gift from Elijah's parents, Jonas and Nancy Haven, who settled the 300 acres next door just after the Revolutionary War. One of their adopted daughters, Anna Dawn, was discovered on the doorstep early one morning in the late 1800s. They raised her as their own. In 1990, we purchased the farm from the descendants of the Havens (the first time it had been out of the their family in over 160 years). We completely and lovingly renovated and updated it. Some of our guests who find Haven Homeplace ideal are: – Cushing Academy Parents, Alumni and Prospective Students' Families – Relocating Doctors, Executives and other professionals – People with family in our area – Getaway Vacationers and Sightseers from around the world – Romantic Honeymoon/Engagement Cottage and Grounds We have hosted authors, actors, honeymoon couples, money fund managers, educators and many others – and we welcome you. Security, Phone, TV and Wi-Fi: The home is secured with ADT intrusion, smoke and fire protection. Comcast High Speed Wi-Fi is provided. Strong wireless phone signals for both Verizon and AT&T. Dish Network TV with local channels & DVR/Wi-Fi. Secluded Nature, Privacy and Comfort: Enjoy Mother Nature and the great outdoors. Play badminton or croquet on one of our lawns. Throw frisbees or scrimmage in the fields. Cross Country Skiing and Hiking through our fields, woods and miles of back roads is awesome for communing with nature, fresh air and exercise. Wachusett Mt. is just another few minutes away if Downhill Skiing or Snowboarding gives you a thrill. In Spring, Summer and Fall flocks of turkeys and their poults roam the grounds with the backdrop of a beautiful perennial wave garden, lilies and currants. Renew and recharge – or just retire after a hectic business day.

28 Reviews of Property 394406 in Ashburnham, Massachusetts

Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I stayed at Haven Homeplace for a week to celebrate her birthday. John and Scott were consummate hosts, friendly, informative, and accommodating, and we enjoyed making their beautiful house our home away from home for a week. The house is wonderfully decorated and cozy, and it really feels like a home, as opposed to just another rental property. It is by far the cleanest property we've ever rented. The beautiful surrounding acreage offers endless opportunities for day hikes, picnics, etc. We also found the location convenient for accessing Wachusett, Watatic, and the towering majesty of Monadnock. The house also well accommodated my wife's parents who joined us for a couple nights to help celebrate my wife's birthday. We highly recommend Sonoma, which is about 20-25 minutes away, for an elegant dining experience, Little Anthony's for fresh seafood, the Gardner Ale House for pub food and music, and the deli in town for killer sandwiches to pack for a day hike. Great for antiquing, hiking, relaxing, creative pursuits, special occasions, etc., etc., we hope to make a return visit in the not too distant future. Perfect. Thanks John & Scott!
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
5

funtastic stay i ashburnhAM

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
GREAT PLACE TO STAY WELL APPOINTED YET COZY RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
Unknown
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This fall, my wife and I were looking for a place to retreat, spend time with our new son, and enjoy a quiet Thanksgiving week together. We found an excellent place! Elijah Haven Homeplace is a great place to relax, recoup and spend time together. The house is an amazingly restored. It was cozy and comfortable with framed views of the surrounding grounds from every window. The rolling fields, trees, stream and rock walls made our walks memorable. We are very pleased to have enjoyed a week at the Elijah Haven Homeplace. It was a terrific experience!
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
San Antonio, Texas
5

Heavenly Haven in the heart of New England

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This historic,restored, 1830 farm house in the heart of New England embraced us and offered us all the comforts of home as we explored Massachusetts foliage at its peak.

The charming cottage is beautifully decorated with furnishings that speak to the era of another time yet it is equipped with chic modern touches like Crate and Barrel designer stoneware, Garnet towels and linens, large Rain Shower head, microwave, full size fridge, stocked pantry, and so many luxury touches that made us feel so special. John and Scott have decorated with rustic yet exquisitely elegant style.

The numerous windows in each room provide a breathtaking view of the manicured lawns, Carriage house, gardens,orchards, woods,stoned walls, birdhouses, and roses to name a few. We saw a flock of bluebirds dancing among the falling leaves. I curled up in the loft nook and read passages from Robert Frosts Collected Poems, Prose, and Plays--a book borrowed form the hosts' library.

John and Scott were personable, friendly, warm,informative, and accommodating. Having arrived late, John had taken the time to call a few of the restaurants to let us know which would be opened upon our arrival. As locals, they know the history of their farm and the the lovely town of Ashburnham and they obviously have great pride in both.

My husband and I enjoyed this Heavenly Haven so much it was difficult to depart from the cottage and our new Hosts friends.

Our week at Elijah Haven Homeplace was physically and spiritually renewing. The experience was magnificent and one we plan to repeat. Thank you John and Scott for opening your home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
Lewisville, NC
5

one of a kind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is a very unique place: a small, restored 1830's farmhouse which now looks like something out of a design magazine. All kinds of small, meticulous details and thoughtful features. Surrounded by some of the original pastures, stone walls, beautiful flower gardens, an apple orchard and a large blueberry patch. Also a barn under renovation and a new two-stall garage which looks like it's been there for 100 years and a large deck. Very well equipped, comfortable, quality materials and finishes, but also lots of vintage touches. Hosts couldn't have been nicer, accommodating in every way. There's not much going on in Ashburnham but there's a decent market, bakery/coffee shop, package store, ice cream, pizza, etc. An hour from Boston and Worcester, but you'd think you were miles from anywhere. We'll go back as soon and as often as possible. You won't regret it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
Washington State
5

Gorgeous New England Farmhouse with park like grounds

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and teens and I had such a great time at this lovely farmhouse. The little house is immaculately maintains, and lovingly restored. The kids loved going for walks looking at the wild turkeys and other wildlife. The owners have put so much energy into making this a special and peaceful place and the positive energy is palpable.

We enjoyed coffee outside, with some warm spring weather. There are multiple vistas on the property, with perfectly located Adrionack chairs welcoming one to sit. It must be truly spectacular with fall leaves.

We west coasters thought it an ideal New England experience. Original rock walls and loads of room to roam. We will definetly be back! Thank you J & S!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
5

Utterly Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Every detail of our Autumn stay was perfect, from the warm greeting and orientation by John when we arrived, to the beauty, charm, and comfort of the house itself. We enjoyed glorious walks right from the property, with planning help from John. All of our needs were met to perfection. We can't wait to come stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
Boston Area
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My wife and I had a wonderful getaway. Cottage was clean and beautiful and surrounding property gave great privacy. Wachusett is close by, so lots of great outdoor activities!
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
Berrien Springs, MI
5

Charming Time on the Farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay at this historic, international, classy, and homey New England farm was most memorable. This place is something one would not normally expect to find in this densely populated area--100 acres of private beauty all your own in most comfortable and tasteful surroundings! The gardens are superb, the rock walls are quintessential New England, the deck was a perfect place for my husband and myself, and our daughter and her family to eat most meals. The morning sunlight outdoors on the deck was sublime. The historic home was most comfortable, and decorated with interesting items from around the world, as well as the classic historic touches befitting this charming home. I give this place my highest rating and hope to return when I am next in New England again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Central Massachusetts Private, 1830 Country Farm Home on 78 Acres of Nature
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394406vb
9788273141
Ashburnham Central Massachusetts
-
5

Away from it All!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I came to Elijah's haven for our 20th anniversary from North Carolina. It was the perfect get-away!! I felt like we had escaped to Winnie the Pooh's 100 acre Wood! It feels like you have gone back in time to a quieter and peaceful time. The property is beautiful - a treat awaits out every window. The house is so comfortable and perfectly decorated. The loft over the kitchen with its day sofa and all the windows was my favorite spot to curl up and read and relax. Yet, it is the perfect spot for taking off and enjoying Mt Wachusett or other spots in the area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway