Dingle Peninsula house rental - Mount Brandon in the background.
Mount Brandon in the background.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dingle Peninsula House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

At the foot of Mount Brandon, Ireland’s second highest peak, this bright, modern residence is an ideal place to stay during your visit to the Dingle Peninsula.

It is fitted with all modern conveniences to ensure your comfort. Features include underfloor heating and instant hotwater 24/7. The house has satelite TV for your enjoyment, offering a choice of over fifty channels. Enjoy a movie/animation from our DVD collection. Choose a book from our library. Keep in touch with home using WIFI (2 Gigabytes free per booking).

Situated in the countryside you will enjoy the spectacular, rugged beauty of West Kerry, while the town of Dingle, with its countless attractions, is a mere 7 miles away.

Walkers love West Kerry with its designated trails and walks of varying length and difficulty. Many visitors will simply take a leisurely stroll along one of the many beaches while others relish the challenge of reaching Mount Brandon’s peak (3,000 feet) or trekking along ‘Cosán na Naomh’ (The Saints’ Path) which is fifteen miles from start to finish.

The owner has put together some information, directions and photographs of hill and cliff top walks that start and finish at the house. These packs are easy to follow and will be available to you during your stay.

It can be said that the Dingle Peninsula is the archaeological capital of Ireland. Googling ‘Dingle’ and ‘archaeology’ throws up over 46,000 hits! The area boasts Bronze Age standing stones, Iron Age promontory forts, early Christian monastic sites and medieval ring forts. All of these sites are within a short driving-distance of the residence, while the view from the sunroom will reveal a hilltop seventeenth century towerhouse. A thirty minute climb will get you to this towerhouse. It is well worth the effort with views of Mount Brandon to the northeast, the Blasket Islands to the south and, on the rare occasion, County Clare to the north.

Most of Corca Dhuibhne, to give the peninsula its Gaelic name, is a Gaeltacht where Gaeilge or Gaelic is still widely spoken. Cuirimid fáilte faoi leith i gcónaí roimh lucht labhartha na Gaeilge teacht inár measc.

Traditional Gaelic songs can regularly be heard in some of the local pubs not to mention the best of Traditional Irish music.

*****************************************************************************

We usually reply to inquiries within 24 hours. Your inquiries reach us via VRBO, as a result it happens from time to time that our replies get caught up in spam filters. Please check your spam filter if you haven't received a prompt reply from us! Thank you.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Kevin, I'm a primary school teacher. I love the outdoors and spend a lot of my leisure time either hill walking or sea-angling from the shore. The photo shows me at the top of Mount Brandon, Summer 2011.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

The property is situated in one of the last remaining Gaelic-speaking areas in Ireland. While staying here you can enjoy all that the Dingle peninsula has to offer.

18 Reviews of Property 268607 in Dingle Peninsula, Ireland

Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Hickory, NC
5

Incredible Views and a great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thank you, Kevin, for the wonderful stay we had at your home on the Dingle Peninsula. Your home was beautiful and clean. Every window in the house provided a gorgeous view of the landscape. We especially enjoyed the sunroom! Thank you, also, for all the information that you provided about the area. We particularly enjoyed hiking around the area -- particularly the Cliff Walk. The town of Dingle was a delight and we particularly enjoyed the music at the pubs in the evening. The only things I could say that was wrong with our stay is that it came to an end too quickly -- we will return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was lovely to meet you all. Glad you had a good time!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Wiltshire UK
5

Irish Welcome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We chose the Dingle peninsula to experience the heart of Ireland and we certainly did. The beautiful location and warm welcomemade us feel right at home. Kevin sent us clear directions a few days prior to our arrival and was happy to be contacted should we have any queries. The house was warm and clean with all necessary amenities including a good DVD collection, books and games for children. We loved the beautiful scenery on the Dingle Slea Head Drive together with opportunities to learn about local history. Your house is perfectly situated Kevin and we wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our house for your trip to the Dingle Peninsula. Lovely review too!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
South Berwick, Maine, USA
5

Perfect location for our week on the Dingle Peninsula!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Wow! What a lovely stay at your beautiful home, Kevin. It was so peaceful there. Loved having all the walks / hikes nearby, especially the hike to the tower. Awesome scenery of the three sisters from the top! Your mom was so helpful in telling us about the area and your family. She made sure we had everything we needed. In the 15 days we had in Ireland, traveling north and then along the west coast,spending time at your place on the Dingle Peninsula was the highlight of our trip. It is definitely the place, in Ireland, we would like to visit again, SOON! Thank you so much Kevin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Lake Stevens, WA
5

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at this house. It is beautiful. Kevin and his mother took such good care of us. It was such a blessing to find this place to stay. I've nothing but good to say. Thank you so much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much!
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Eugene, Oregon, USA
5

6 stars if I could

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of 4 had a great time in Kevin's house. The house was large, airy and very comfortable, with lots of windows to enjoy the fantastic views. The furnishings were spare (in a good way) making the house very manageable for small children; in addition, there were shelves of books and movies for kids of all ages. Kevin's instructions were clear and organized and everything worked as advertised. The location was lovely for those looking to be a bit away from town (15 minute drive), but there is a small beach and walking paths within reach by foot. Overall, a very comfortable place to stay in good weather or bad, especially if you are traveling with kids...The best we've seen so far!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: A lovely review. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
St Augustine, Florida, USA
5

Wanted to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I just returned from a fabulous vacation on the Dingle Peninsula. We consider ourselves fortunate to have found the beautiful home we vacationed in. It is only 3 or 4 years old and is well maintained, warm, clean and completely furnished. All details of the house and rates were detailed honestly by the owner. We had no " internet surprises". We awoke every morning with a beautiful view of a dairy herd out one window, sheep with lovely new lambs out another and mountains all around. Town was very convenient and only 10-15 minutes away if you didn't stop to take pictures. Kevin, the owner, has made up a list of close-by walks that I highly recommend. You don't have to be a hiker to enjoy but I would bring suitable shoes. We will be returning as soon as possible
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Donald & Marlene,
It was a pleasure to meet you! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting others know about your time in our house. Looking forward to meeting you both again...until then....slán!
Kevin
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Ontario, Canada
5

Awesome Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our vacation and only wish we had planned for a longer stay. The location is great for exploring the Dingle Peninsula, Kevin is great to deal with, the house is spotless and warm (love the cosy floors!) The price is excellent value.
We were able to reach the summit of Mount Brandon on a warm sunny day and the views were incredible! Dingle is an easy drive for dinner although the kitchen is well equipped if you are inclined to cook. Do not hesitate - book this house, you will not regret it - Hopefully we will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Laura. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay on the Dingle Peninsula. I was delighted to hear that you got to climb Brandon. You would be more than welcome back anytime!
Thanks again,
Kevin
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Phoenix, AZ
5

Absolutely beautiful location and house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented the Brandon House for 5 nights in August. Upon arriving Kevin's lovely mother was there to greet us and make us feel welcome. The house is located several kilometers outside of Dingle town close to the little village of Ballydavid. The house is located at the foot of Mt. Brandon with the most amazing views. The house is really quite beautiful, there are windows everywhere and it makes the house seem bright and cheery. The house is modern and comfortable with wonderful amenities. It's a short drive to town but far enough away to enjoy the quiet and peaceful countryside. Unfortunately we were involved in a car accident earlier in our trip which made us miss one night at the house and we were unable to hike Mt Brandon due to sore muscles but we were able to enjoy a short walk down to the dock which has the most unbelievable views! Our only minor complaint was that we were unable to locate additional toilet paper or paper towels when we needed them but perhaps we just didn't look in the right spot. Give yourself more than a couple of days at the house as once you get there you are just going to want to sit in the sun room and read. We hope to return someday to the house and the Dingle penninsula but this time we will definitely get it for longer!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for all your positive comments, Brynda. It's a pity that you didn't get to climb Mt. Brandon, the views have to be seen to be believed.
We usually have a good stock of toilet paper/kitchen towels in the house with extra rolls under the sink in the kitchen. Please accept my apologies if that was not the case for your stay.
I'm delighted to hear that you would like to return and I am looking forward to seeing you sometime in the future.
Thank you for the 5 stars!
Kevin
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Cork Ireland
5

Exactly what was needed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This holiday was just made perfect by Kevins help and guidance from the minute the House was booked. Location was exactly what we were looking for, within driving distance of all trourist attractions. A fantastic house, with every possible facility that you could require, spotless and so relaxing. Kevin and his family made our stay exactly what was needed and I can only recommend this to anybody who is in need of a kick back holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ber,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave comments regarding your stay at our house. It was great to meet you and your family. Thank you for choosing our house for your holiday and for taking great care of it.
Regards,
Kevin
business
Bright, Modern House on the Dingle Peninsula. Wifi Available.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268607vbi
+353 8616 09855 (Ireland)
Dingle Peninsula County Kerry
Durham, England
5

Perfect House and Location on the Dingle Peninsula!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I cannot imagine having a better base for exploring the Dingle Peninsula than this house. It is absolutely gorgeous and so clean you'd think no one else had ever stepped foot inside. It's situated at the very end of a residential road, and as you can see from the pictures, the views are stunning - a stream and Mt. Brandon in the back, a field of sheep out front, the tips of the 3 Sisters can be seen from the front, and mountains towering as you look right from the front as well. The house is very well-furnished with good quality appliances, furniture, kitchen supplies, etc., and none of the shabby things you sometimes find in vacation rentals. Even when the rain kept us from going out we were delighted to stay put in the house...it's that comfortable, the views are that beautiful. There are many hikes and things to explore close to the house [I recommend staying on this side of Mt. Brandon rather than the other side because it's closer to more great drives & hikes and it will save you the time of repeatedly driving over the Conor Pass]. We have small children, and a safety gate, high chair, and travel cot (pack & play) were all provided. You'll find extras everywhere - lots of books, DVD's, candles, and more. Kevin was extremely kind and helpful, and he provided information and suggestions as we requested them. If you are looking for a quiet, beautiful haven where you'll feel like a local and be enveloped in breathtaking scenery, then this is the house for you!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Miranda and Family,
I think that I will print-off this review and frame it so that I can read it a few times everyday. I deeply appreciate the fact that you took the time to write such a comprehensive review. You have a way with words!
You've made my day!
Thanks,
Kevin
Helpful votes: 1/1