Coral Bay house rental - grotto
grotto
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Coral Bay House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Sweet Wind is a West Indian style home that sits just above secluded Hurricane Hole, which is a pebble beach that you can walk down to and has good snorkeling and kayaking. The villa is very private, quiet and secluded, being in the Nat. Park, but it's just 1/2 mile from Coral Bay which sports live music most nights, shopping and fine or informal dining. The place is designed in the more traditional West Indian style of 3 individual buildings with large decks connecting them. The main house being the kitchen, living room,and dinning room. There is a bedroom and bathroom attached via a private deck on the West side of the main house. On the East side of the main house there is a 3rd building, housing 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with a large deck in between w/ dining table and lounge chairs. All the rooms have views, you feel like you are floating right over the ocean, and this layout makes them very private.

A lot of love and care whet into designing Sweet Wind, it's my own private art gallery, with hardwood floors, Purple Heart cabinets, fine dishes, antique furniture, local treasures and a bit of humor. There are two separate decks for complete privacy. One of the showers is outside, built with beautiful rock work. The bedrooms are in separate buildings,or pods which adds to the beauty and privacy. There is a lovely grotto behind the villa with an amazing stone retaining wall 9' tall and 100' long running all along the back side, that has the BBQ, orchids, flowers and herbs, and an outside shower. The villa has gates at both entrances that keep the wild donkeys out and children in.

You wake up to a amazing sunrise above Hurricane Hole. This is the most protected harbor in the Caribbean, and we look out over the Coral Reef National Monument, so there is no over night mooring allowed unless there is a storm warning. Sweet Wind is very quiet and private but we are just 1/2 a mile from town.

I think the photos say it all, Nina.

Keywords: villa

More Details
Hide Details

I live with my dog Lucy here in beautiful Hurricane Hole. I am a painter and a musician. I use oils, pastels and water colours, and enjoy playing the mandolin. I had a salmon troller for most of my life and fished out of Sitka Alaska.

Nina Hahler purchased this house in 2008

Sweet Wind is just above Hurricane Hole in the National Park and over looks Coral Reef National Monument. All you see is the ocean and the green hills, this is a very private location. Looking over the deck railings all you see is water with the National Park behind. Boats can not overnight moor in the Coral Reef Nat. Monument and there are alomst no other houses in view. It's very quiet and peaceful here, the view is amaizing, and still close to town

Located 1/2 of a mile from the town of Coral Bay, shopping, restaurants and all types of water sports await you. The house is a West Indian style with hip roofs, three pods with private decks between, with greenheart floors, cyprus wainscoting and antique Caribbean furniture. The full kitchen has beautiful antique caribbean style purple heart cabinets with stone countertops. Open the back kitchen door and there is a lovely grotto, with a gas barbeque and a potted garden full of herbs herbs and spices. The villa affords great views and privacy. The views from most every room feel like you are floating over the ocean, all you see is water and Nat. park land. It is breathtaking and amazingly private.

18 Reviews of Property 274628 in Coral Bay, Virgin Islands

Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 18 reviews
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
3

Perfect Place on a beautiful island

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We have stayed in Nina's beautiful house in the past two years but couldn't make it this year because of vacation times not working out. I thought I'd finally review her place so that someone else could enjoy it. First of all, it is exactly as shown in the photos - they are completely accurate. The view is fantastic, and the house is immaculate clean and comfortable, and Nina's creativity can be seen in all the details. Nina is a great host - she manages to be fun and funky and completely professional at the same time. She definitely knows the island! Wonderful place, best location, great owner! The driveway on the other hand? make sure you have four wheel drive.

Missing it this year!
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Opelika, Alabama
5

WOW

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This place was every thing the listing says and more. Very private. Low traffic maybe a car every 2 hours goes by on the road below. Even though private and secluded Restaurants are within 5 minutes though. The home is beautiful with everything you need. Nina was a great host, she lives next door but you never see her unless you need her. She is available to help you with anything if you need her. The view is spectacular the pictures do not do it justice. There is nothing to block your view of the bay and the bay not used by boats so it is unspoiled. It was our first visit to the Virgin Islands so we road by the other places we thought about renting and were very happy we chose sweet wind it was by far the best option of the many places that we had thought about renting. Just to give you an idea of the view the place next door is for sale for 14 million if your interested.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Elkton, MD
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a view! We has a wonderful, relaxing vacation here and would highly recommend it to others. The design of the house is unique and comfortable. Nina and Lucy were very hospitable. We had all the amenities we needed and more!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Massachusetts
5

Sweet Paradise at Sweet Wind Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our family of four just returned from an amazing seven day stay at Sweet Wind Villa. We were so happy we were on the Coral Bay side of the island where things were so laid back and tranquil yet convenient to the rest of the island by Jeep. We enjoyed great meals and drinks in Coral Bay including breakfast at Donkey Diner, and dinners at Skinny Legs, Aqua Bistro, and Shipwreck Landing. We were never disappointed! We also found amazing beaches to snorkel and explore to our hearts' content. (Highlights were Salt Pond and Waterlemon Bays and a six mile hike on the Reef Bay Trail to the petroglyphs, sugar cane factory ruins, and reef bay.)
The villa was perfect for our family with all three bedrooms having sliders facing Hurricane Hole, which provided a spectacular sunrise to wake up to every morning. The winds blew so nicely through as well keeping us comfortable. The set up allowed for plenty of privacy.
And of course our fabulous hostess Nina! She was so welcoming and helpful. Even though we came in late, she was there eager to help get us settled. She even gave us some coffee and milk for morning as we arrived too late to get provisions. We spent a fun evening visiting with Nina and getting to know her a little which we are so glad we did. She is a true artist with a great heart and soul. We hope to return to this little slice of paradise, maybe with another couple or two.
We miss it so much already and highly recommend it to others!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Iowa
5

Family Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a fabulous visit to St. Johns with our two children, ages 8 and 10, and grandparents. The six of us were very comfortable at Sweet Wind Villa, and Nina helped us get our bearings so that we could settle in and enjoy. Since this was our first time to St. Johns, Nina's advice was very helpful and needed.

We cooked our own meals to save money, and the fully furnished kitchen made this possible. The beds were comfortable and we all slept well. We especially enjoyed the decorations and artistic beauty of the villa. The view of the bay is also breath-taking, and we never got tired of looking at it from the decks. The furniture outside makes it possible to enjoy a breakfast outside or a happy hour. The elevation of the villa keeps the air moving and blows the bugs away. The temperatures got hot at the end of the stay, so this was important.

We miss Sweet Wind and will go back as soon as we can!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Carmel, Ind
5

Sweet Wind Villa was outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We just returned from a wonderful 9 days at Nina's" Sweet Wind" at St. Johns. We expecially like the "Pod" set up of Sweet Wind which had the Kitchen, dinning area and living area separate but adjacent to two bedrooms and baths in another pod and and single bedroom and bath in another pod. The outdoor shower was really neat. Nina was a great host and available if you needed her to answer any question, but never in your way. She was great to Fillet a piece of Mahi Mahi for us that I had bought in Cruz bay!!. We also enjoyed the East end of St. John's and found it to be quiet and peaceful.We will return. It was a wonderful vacation!! Great snorkling and beaches near by.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
5

Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My wife and I spent the first week of January 2012 at Sweet Wind and it was perfect. Nina is great and helped us with everything. The view is so beautiful there were some days we didn't leave the house. The kitchen is well stocked so we cooked at home every day and ate on the deck so we never went to a resturant. We went to the beach and toured the island but home was the best place to be.

Harvey
Columbia CT
Owner's Response: It really is great having such lovely guests that appreicate Sweet Wind here in the solitude of Hurricane Hole. I hope to see you folks again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Cape Coral FL
5

Awesoe Hostess

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Sweetwind is the most peaceful place I have ever been. Nina is a great friend and awesome hostess.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, it was nice getting to know Paula, I think we created a nice friendship and I look forward to see her soom, Nina
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
Boulder, CO
5

Most definitely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This place was simply amazing. It was perfect for my wife and I to stay at. The views were amazing, the areas was absurdly quiet, the location was so close to everything but felt very far away from people, and Nina was super helpful. I could not recommend this place higher. We are already working to get friends to join us next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tyler for your responce, glad you injoyed Sweet Wind villa. I hope you come visit again soon, I do offer a 10% discount for repeat guests, so we hope to see you again, Thanks, Nina
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stellar views and clean sweet winds over untouched Hurricane Hole.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274628vb
+1 340 779 6564
Coral Bay St John
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I stayed at Sweet Wind during our honeymoon. This place is beautiful! The view is amazing, just as in the pictures (only much better in person) and there is no one else around! This is where to stay if your looking for a tranquil and secluded rental. The shower is fun, the kitchen and grill are very convenient and a full moon over hurricane hole is something you'll always remember.
Nina is a wonderful hostess (and designer/builder); very accomodating with great knowledge of the Island. She obviously puts love and thoughtful care into everything she does. The first night it was like we were long lost friends! We can't wait to go back to St. John and I can tell you we won't be looking for anywhere else to stay!
Owner's Response: I hope you come again, thanks, Nina
Helpful votes: 1/1