Victoria cottage rental - Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay....
Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay....
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay nights
 

Victoria Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

If you are seeking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, let us invite you to this unique oceanfront cottage. For the past 23 years, we have been welcoming guests from around the world to the Boathouse B&B. At the suggestion of some of our guests, we now offer a self-catering option, which means no breakfast but coffee, tea, hot chocolate and milk are provided. However, if you would like a continental breakfast, we would be more than happy to oblige.

THE BOATHOUSE is a 450 sq.ft. cottage built in 1927 on cement pilings right over the calm waters of Brentwood Bay. The Boathouse, as well as the adjacent Bathhouse, have been completely and tastefully refurbished but still retain the charm and old-style craftsmanship of the original buildings. Both are warmed by electric heat. Daily service includes fresh towels and trash removal, plus twice-weekly light housekeeping.

THE "GREAT ROOM" features a queen-size bed with a Beauty Rest box spring and mattress. Together with cozy triple-brushed flannel sheets, down-filled pillows and the gentle lapping of waves, you are assured of a great night's sleep. The table is set for two and overlooks the water and a private island. The CD player and a selection of oldies, jazz and classics, along with fresh cut flowers and candles lets you set the mood for a wonderfully romantic evening.

THE GALLEY does not have cooking facilities per se (due to a local bylaw). It is, however, equipped with a toaster oven, automatic coffee maker, electric tea kettle, fridge and, of course, glasses, dishes, cutlery, etc. The Village of Brentwood Bay is but a 5 minute drive and has three delis, pub, liquor store, bookstore, drugstores, bakery, and a full-service grocery store so there are a lot of options for you. Also within a 10-20 minute stroll from the Boathouse, along the waterfront, are three excellent oceanfront restaurants and a world-class lodge and spa. The world-famous Butchart Gardens is a 10 minute row in our dinghy or a 20 minute walk from the Boathouse. It also offers a cafeteria, restaurant, and superb dining room, as well as picnic tables.

THE "LIBRARY" with an eclectic selection of books and games, comes complete with two swivel rocking chairs and ottoman, plus a view of sailboats and islands.

THE VERANDAH with its comfortable, wicker rocking chairs and teak side table is a great place to enjoy a morning coffee or an evening nightcap while you watch the marvelous sunsets.

THE PRIVATE DOCK is very spacious (12 ft. x 30 ft.) and can accommodate your boat or seaplane. It provides a platform to view jellyfish, starfish, otters, seals and water birds. It's also a great place to catch the sun. The dock also serves as a launching pad for the dinghy for your rowing trips to Butchart Gardens or down the tranquil waters of Tod Inlet for a picnic on a shale beach. You can also swim off the dock during the warm summer months.

THE BATHHOUSE is adjacent to the Boathouse and is lined with tongue and groove cedar with a Swedish oil finish. It features a corner brass and glass shower, pedestal sink, toilet, antique cabinet, as well as solid brass light fixtures. All this, plus a spectacular ocean view of Saanich Inlet!

THE BOATHOUSE is really a world unto itself and yet it is only 20 minutes from the airport, ferries, Town of Sidney and the City of Victoria. You owe yourselves the luxury of some quiet time...and we invite you spend that time at the Boathouse.

Make your reservation by calling us. TOLL FREE.

Your hosts,

Jean and Harvey Merritt

Keywords: Cottage,Waterfront,Oceanfront

More Details
Hide Details

Harvey and Jean moved to Vancouver Island in 1966. They retired in 2000, Harvey after working in advertising and real estate and Jean in administrative positions at the University of Victoria. Our love of travel has taken us to the U.S. and Mexico, Europe, the U.K., as well as New Zealand and Australia.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1979

The Village of Brentwood Bay is a 5 minute drive and has all of the amenities you will need to make your vacation complete. The City of Victoria and Town of Sidney are within a 20 minute drive.

The Boathouse is on the water's edge. We live in a bungalow at the top of the property so one of us is usually around to answer your questions.

19 Reviews of Property 225893 in Victoria, British Columbia

The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
average rating of 5.0 based on 19 reviews
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Camano Island, WA
5

Charming, lovely, quaint, restful, vintage, renovated waterfront cottage soothes the soul...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Absolutely as advertised! Having honeymooned in Victoria in 1973, we could not have made a better selection for a celebratory get-away for our 40th anniversary. The cottage, built in the 1927, has very much going for it. Private dock with rowing dinghy (we rowed to The Buchart Gardens). Picturesque setting. Right on the water of Brentwood Bay. Cute as a bugs ear. Clean as a whistle. The sound of water lapping as the tide rolls in and out is intoxicating. An ample porch with wicker rockers allows a great view of the parade of watercraft of all kinds. The library is a cozy retreat if the evening is cool. Be sure to watch for the heron, the eagles, the otters, the raccoon family, starfish, and jellyfish. Our hosts, Jean and Harvey, have thought of everything to make your stay memorable. Highly recommended. We can hardly wait to return to this glowing gem in the Great Northwest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Baltimore
5

UNIQUE, TO STAY ON THE BAY WITH AN EASY BOAT ROW TO BOUCHARD GARDENS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We've stayed here twice, all the way from Baltimore, on both our 10th and 25th wedding anniversaries. We've chosen it because of its view, its sweet and romantic quality, its solo nature, being on the water, and so out of the way, yet so near to the beautiful Bouchard Gardens, and just a short drive to Victoria.
The owners, Harvey and Jean, know that their clients seek this privacy and beauty, and have done everything to enhance that, with flowers and beautiful forest flora everywhere around the steps down from their home level. It does have quite a few steps, so is not for the walking impaired, but you surely don't have to be athletic either. They are warm and incredibly helpful people. A home baked breakfast is available, as we had the first time, but this time we were headed straight into Victoria, yet they were attentive about what kind of milk product we wanted for our coffee, and there were homemade fabulous cookies awaiting us. It is such a quiet retreat, looking out on an islet and the larger Brentwood Bay. (If you are next traveling to Nanaimo, you can take the Brentwood ferry, as a great shortcut from right down the road.) It is hard to describe the special charm, but the porch is quite wonderful, as is the little sitting room, sheltered, inside the boat house (which it actually was). The mattress and down comforter are especially nice. Great quality at every level. A tiny kitchenette that allows lots to happen, even without a stove per se. Spotless. No drawbacks except the steps and the separate (but close) bathroom and shower house, and these are not a big deal for most people. We rather liked the bath house set up, with a tiny garden and lounge chairs in between. This is unique and you will never forget how much you loved it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: For more information on the world-famous Butchart Gardens see our web site www.boathousebandb.com and click on the Butchart Gardens link.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Portland
5

How do you describe heaven?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Harvey and Jean have created a place we return to over and over again, with the wonderful certainty that all will be just as we remember it. From the cozy comfortable bed, to the sound of the water lapping at the pilings of the deck, to the abundant thoughtful touches that make this such a haven of warmth and welcome-- no-one with a sense of romance and a love of nature could fail to be enchanted by The Boathouse. We love rowing to Butchart Gardens to enjoy the flowers and great music. We look forward to delicious food at Blue's Bayou, also within rowing distance. We enjoy reading on the deck and playing music into the night. We will be back next year!
I
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Ohio
5

Treat yourselves to a marvelous stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
The Boat House excells! The host and hostess know how to make guests feel not only welcome, but pampered. Great little accomodation for two. The steps will keep you in shape, but worth the trek. The cottage is just what we were looking for in a quiet get-away. The Blues Cafe just across the small bay is excellent food. You can take the dingy, but it is not for the feint of heart...sort of wobbly. It is a short walk for those of us not into rowing.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Durango, colorado
5

Small untroubled world

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Review from Joe and Rita
5 stars
For us, there really are no words to capture our sense of love and appreciation for the Boathouse.
Our good fortune and fate led us there over 25 years ago! We have returned eight times, the last trip in the fall of 2009. We do not travel frequently, so we save and dream and anticipate our return to the Boathouse because there are few other places we choose to be.
It is a long journey from land locked Colorado back to our little sanctuary on the water. We are drawn back to the “spirit of place”. The subtle glow of light reflecting off of the water and stained glass, the sense of peace, the solace of water gently lapping all around, & the heavenly sunsets bring us back time after time. It is a place of romance and quiet reflection. A small untroubled place in a troubled world.
We have never really been B&B sort of people. We like quiet, solitude and privacy. For this Jean and Harvey are the best of hosts. They take care of the comforting details and are absolutely sensitive to their guests’ space and privacy.
We never tire of rowing the dingy the short distance to Butchart Gardens, or up Todd inlet for a private picnic or of the short walk into Brentwood Bay for lunch and a brew or glass of wine (or two). We feel honored when the seals and otters slide by the dock or the dingy and have a look at us. We love to walk and hike and there is just no better way to spend a quiet romantic day than to take a short drive out to Mt. Work and hike out to Mackenzie Bight to picnic, watch the seals and just reflect.
Sigh…. It all comes gently back into focus and we are saving for our return. We have found the Boathouse to be a sanctuary and a gift beyond words.
The Boathouse has become, and always will be a part of us. Some of the best days of our lives have been our days and nights at The Boathouse. Thank you Jean and Harvey for the gift of The Boathouse and for your friendship.
Life is short, so here’s to more time at the Boathouse!!!
Rita and Joe
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Lakeside, Montana
5

Peace, Tranquility, Quiet Joy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The Boathouse is everything and more of what you see on the website. Harvey and Jean provide and maintain a little slice of heaven for their "guests". My husband and I had a most memorable anniversary in this magical boathouse. All our needs and wants were met by the special touches provided. The minute you arrive you feel a sense of calm and closeness to nature with comforts unmatched. The queen bed with its bedding was like falling into a cloud and we slept better than anywhere we have ever stayed. It turly is a one of a kind special place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Thank you, Jean and Harvey, for your wonderful hospitality. This is truly a beautiful place and we have been privileged to have enjoyed it for the last four days.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We would echo everything your previous guests have said about the Boathouse. We particularly appreciated the complimentary "shuttle" to and from downtown, the congratulations banner, card, and champagne, and all your help with making our travel plans. We had a great time and would love to come back sometime in the future. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The Boathouse, the reason we came to Vancouver Island! Unique and so, so beautiful. A truly wonderful experience, which we hope to return to one day. Thank you, Jean and Harvey.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Boathouse... ~An~ Oceanfront Cottage Near Butchart Gardens
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225893vb
Toll Free 1-866-654-9370
Victoria Vancouver Island
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This was the perfect place to celebrate 25 years of marriage. We loved rowing to Butchart Gardens, watching the jellyfish, and listening to the seagulls. We danced to Nat King Cole, relaxed and read. Thank you for staying open the month of October. I bet there's not many places like this by the waterfront. I feel so blessed. Over the past 25 years you've given people a precious gift...the gift of wonderful memories. Thank you for your hospitality and all the extras that made us feel so special.
Helpful votes: 2/3