New Orleans condo rental - New Orleans' architectural charm of a 1880s home of a previous Senator
New Orleans' architectural charm of a 1880s home of a previous Senator
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

New Orleans Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Relax on the front balcony under stately oaks in Uptown New Orleans; just blocks to St. Charles and Magazine Streets. Live like a local New Orleanian, soaking in the tropical atmosphere of the Old South at this spacious and accommodating abode. This charming 1880s home, once owned by a Senator has been charmingly renovated in 2008 and 2009. Included are fabulous makeovers in the new kitchen with granite countertops, bedrooms, and baths...renovated to perfection!

From the elegant master bedroom, step through time; step through the floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook majestic Napoleon Avenue. Beautiful pine floors, original to the house have been redone and glisten. This stately home features original cast iron fencing and gate, an old St. Louis brick pathway to a courtyard, stained glass, high ceilings, ceiling fans, fireplaces, formal dining room, transoms, a balcony bistro set, ceiling medallions, crown molding throughout, and with all the fine amenities to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.

This comfortable atmosphere has the features of home with a furnished kitchen with all new appliances including a full-size microwave, dishwasher, stove, coffee maker, hot water dispenser, and disposal. A new washer and dryer are within the unit for your use. All these features comfortably accomodates up to 8 guests.

This stately home is surrounded by the ole New Orleans charm with streetcars just blocks away that will take you to many destinations throughout the city including the French Quarter, Superdome, Canal Street, Lower Garden District, Central Business District, City Park, Audubon Zoo, and historical cemeteries. The streetcar would be a great choice to take you to the historic universities Loyola, Tulane, and Xavier. Magazine Street is two blocks in the other direction which is well known for its eclectic shops, antiques, French pastries, and local restaurant favorites. Visit New Orleans, for pleasure or business, and you will find a relaxing and comforting environment that welcomes you back again.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Hide Details

As a native of New Orleans, I enjoy preserving the beautiful homes and architecture of the city and after Katrina, this Victorian enjoyed a facelift.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2006

The location and home is so charming that I think others would find the same passion for the home. Because of its location, you can try a broad range of ethnic and cultural restaurants which are either Zagat rated or have been around for generations. There's live music venues such as Tipitina's, a French bakery, four grocery stores (i.e. Rouse's and Whole Foods) in the area and fun things to do all within walking distance. Walking distance: Mona's, Baru: Petite Grocery, Lilette; Theo's pizza; Nirvana; Casamento's; Savvy Gourmet Restaurant; Superior Grill; Canon's; Magazine Perks; Le Bon Temps Roule; Ms. Mae's; world renown Tipitina's; eclectic shops on Magazine St. Very close (longer walk or short drive): Dick and Jenny's; La Crepe Nanou, Frankie's and Johnny's; Column's Hotel; Commander's Palace; Kyoto; Upperline Restaurant, Cafe Rani, August Moon; Mahoney's Po Boy Shop; Delachaise; Canon's Restaurants; Nacho Mama's; Reginelli's Pizzaria; Byblos; Prytania Theatre; cemetaries, Garden District walking tours, Whole Foods and Rouse's. Streetcar ride: French Quarter, Convention center, Superdome, New Orleans Arena, Downtown, Audabon Park and Zoo, The River Walk, New Orleans Center, Train station, countless restaurants and shops.

The majestic oaks that cool the front balcony overlooking Napoleon Avenue; great for morning coffee and evening glass of wine or to watch those colorful parades.

12 Reviews of Property 274834 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Great Place to Stay, Great Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were in town with a group of friends for a Saint's game. Perfect location, easy street card ride or cab to the quarter. Can also walk to two great bars - Ms. Mae's and Fat Harry's. House was great for a big group instead of staying in separate hotel rooms. Liz was awesome, would definitely stay there again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
Tacoma, WA
5

Great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed in this property for Mardi Gras 2013. It is a beautiful home in a great location! You are in walking distance of many great restaurants, shops, 2 grocery stores, the street car, etc. The owners were very welcoming and available to answer questions about the area. Most of the parades come right in front of the house which was awesome. If you don't want to be on the street for the parades, you can also view from the large balcony off of the master bedroom. This is the second time we've stayed in one of Liz and MJ's properties and have been pleased w/ both. Looking forward to another trip to NOLA and would definitely stay in one of their places again. Thanks again for a great time!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
5

A wonderful place to stay!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My girlfriends and I really enjoyed staying there. It was very private and all the comforts of home. I highly recommend this house to anyone that travels to New Orleans. I will definitely stay there again. ONly 1 block from the streetcars. One onr the best things about staying there is that the neighborhood felt absolutely safe.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
Terre Haute, Indiana/usa
5

New Orleans Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My Husband and I along with our eldest daughter spent a wonderful week at this beautiful home. Our experience could not have been better. The owners were gracious and accomodating, and we were impressed at the ease of booking this unit. The location is great, it takes you back to the Old South and this period home adds to the experience. I would highly recommend this property, we will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Lovely rental for friend groups or families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I stayed at this property in late July 2011 with a group of 5 female friends, including me. It is very nicely decorated and very clean. The master bedroom has a full bath. Bedroom 2 and 3 are incorporated as open-air lofts on top of the living room. One has a queen-sized bed and the other a full-sized trundle bed. The kitchen is well stocked, furniture is comfortable and technology is well maintained (flat screen TV/remote/DVD player and wireless internet access). The location was perfect. It is very much a walkable area with easy access to stores, bars and the Canal St. cable car (which goes to the French Quarter). The owners were very easy to communicate with and made the entry/exit procedure smooth. We highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
Hermosa Beach, CA USA
1

Not 3 Bedrooms, only 1 bedroom and a "semi" private loft.

Not 3 Bedrooms, only 1 bedroom and a "semi" private loft.
  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
There is only 1 private bedroom at this place and a loft above a living room. The loft has two double size beds in it. The loft itself has no door to it and is open although above, to the living room. We stayed there with 3 adult couples and obviously this place was inadequate for that. Perhaps would be good for a family with children or something. Extremely disappointed with the misleading description.. The description and pictures seem carefully crafted to misrepresent this place as 3 bedrooms. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Great location and all that.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: After receiving a vulgar and rude e-mail from this renter, we immediately wrote and called him to see if we could offer him another property to satisfy him. He never did respond and we immediately became worried that his anger might cause him to destroy our property and its contents. He seemed more interested in spouting off than really resolving any problems. We drove to the property to investigate and found out that he did not send away his friends with refunds like he mentioned in his e-mail, but that they were all very much using the property as we had imagined.

On our webpage, we describe the property as a 3 bedroom property which includes a two-bedroom, multi-level loft. Some people see it as a 3 bedroom, and are very happy with the arrangements. A picture shows the height difference between the two levels which is further separated by furniture to give added privacy. Pictures also show an opening onto the living room from the loft. The lower part of the loft has a full-size bed shown and the bed in the upper loft is a trundle that opens into a full. When people call and ask about our sleeping arrangements, we then have the chance to fully describe the whole property and answer other questions which is what we recommend to everyone for any property listed on www.homeaway.

Luckily he did leave the property in fair condition and upon receiving a second rude and threatening e-mail; we highly recommend that other property owners be aware of this renter. For future customers, we hope that you consider the source and look at all of our properties and their reviews; we are rated 5 out of 5 each time for every property. We hope that our other posts paint a more accurate picture of the quality that we offer for the reasonable price, in a great location and the amenities that are most often sought. Thank you in advance for your consideration.
Helpful votes: 13/14
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
Beaumont, Texas
5

Awesome location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This rental is in a wonderful and safe location in NOLA. The owners were extremely helpful. The rental itself is updated, well-kept, clean and spacious. Parking was easy and the streetcar line close-by. I would definitely recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
San Antonio, TX USA
5

Comfortable and attractive, in a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My family stayed in the Napoleon condo for Thanksgiving, and we all enjoyed it very much. It was tastefully furnished, immaculate, comfortable, quiet, and very spacious. It was great to have a balcony overlooking historic Napoleon Ave. It was an easy walk both to the St. Charles Ave streetcar line, and to the Magazine St. bus. This 3-bedroom condo is, however, not suitable for small children, because the 2nd bedroom is upstairs, and the 3rd bedroom is on a loft above it, with a large open space along the stairway, which could be dangerous to little children. But it is ideal for adults and older children. Our stay there was thoroughly enjoyable, and we look forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
Chicago, IL
5

Wonderful Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
The Napolean House was everything my girlfriends and I expected. It was very clean and decorated beautifully with New Orleans charm. The location was good, centrally located to all of the areas of the city we wanted to explore. I would stay here again, as well as recommend it to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Victorian Charm Means You're in New Orleans
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p274834vb
(985) 875-9768
New Orleans Louisiana
asheville nc
5

our stay at Napolean House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
the home was in an ideal location for our stay as we could access the garden district restaurants and take an enjoyable trolley ride to the french quarter. It was nice to be able to go the bustle of the Quarter and then get back to the home to relax away from all the activity. the home was very clean and comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1