Harpswell house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Harpswell House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms (1 Qn, 2 Full ), 2 1/2 baths, sleeps 6

Escape into a Private world of your own, surrounded by Nature, Ocean and Tranquility for the most unforgettable and relaxing vacation of your life.

Wake up to the sound of lobster boats right outside your bedroom window.

Watch seals, porpoises, Bald Eagles, Osprey and Blue Herons in their natural habitats while you enjoy your morning coffee on the deck overlooking the water (any closer and you'd have to be on a boat) just outside your bedroom or living room, or take a short stroll to another deck at waters edge.

6 Reviews of Property 267831 in Harpswell, Maine

Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Awesome!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This place is just beautiful and the pictures don't do it justice. The owner was so nice and helpful. The little touches was very thoughtful, like flowers in the rooms and the welcome basket. The area was nice and peaceful but not too far away from things.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed our stay very much.The house was everything is was advertised as. It was quiet and relaxing. We saw bald eagles, seals and dolphins.
You can stay on the deck and relax or go into town and shop if you like. It was in the perfect area for all of the above.
Thank you for sharing your home with us and we hope to go back.
Bob and Peggy, New Hampshire
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Everything about Sea Wood is perfect! We stayed here along with my sister's family earlier this month and had a fantastic time. The house, which is beautiful and has plenty of space for 6 adults, was clean, bright and airy. It is fully stocked with most everything you will need for a relaxing vacation. The master bedroom overlooks the water and has a door that leads out to the wrap around deck. From the deck you can watch the sailboats pass and the lobster boats haul in their catch. Sometimes a seal will pop it's head up or a pod of porpoises will swim by. Eagles, osprey, loons and ducks can also be seen. We even saw a wild turkey walking her chicks along the drive!
Just a short walk across the lawn and down a few steps finds you standing on Maine's beautiful rocky coastline. Even at high tide you can sit on the rocks and sunbathe or just listen to the waves gently roll in.
Our stay was made even more comfortable by little extras left for us. Fresh cut flowers in the bedrooms and baths, a welcome bottle of Maine wine, local chocolates and a binder full of area information set on a tray in the living room, and baskets in the baths containing travel items in the event something was forgotten.
We can definitely see ourselves making yearly visits to Sea Wood. We can't think of a better way to spend a vacation in Maine!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
5

Glimpse of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Dear hosts,
Chittering Eagles balancing on twiggy treetops; courting ducks; lithe
splashing seals; unfurling tender ferns; rose gold light at sunset with pink
and blue skies and lavender seas; waves glinting off the bedroom ceiling;
salty air and lapping water inviting sleep; the lore of Bailey Island; old
National Geographics; Maine delicacies; old homesteads - and all the special
touches and thoughtfulness of good hosts.

Thank you for sharing it all. We will forever refer to your home and our
experience here as 'The Glimpse of Heaven'.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
Lower Westchester, New York
4

It's beautiful here

It's beautiful here
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Four of us (two couples) spent a wonderful week here. The property was perfect for us. Having a (very comfortable) bed and (somewhat less pleasant) bathroom downstairs as well as a master bedroom and bathroom upstairs allowed for plenty of privacy. The living room and dining room are more spacious than they appear in the photos, and are quite comfortable. But we spent most of our time on the beautiful wraparound deck watching boats, cormorants and even an eagle pass before our eyes. [Dolphins and a seal were also spotted, briefly.] To get even closer to the water we moved to the chairs shown in the picture, which are just a few stairs above the rocks, mesmerized by the lapping water. We all loved the peaceful setting.

One of the great things about being on the water is that, even when it was hot and humid further inland, the temperature on the water was quite comfortable.

The property has been in the owners' family for generations (although the house itself is relatively new.) The owners have just started renting, so treat renters as houseguests. They like to meet the guests, and to show off the house. Their smaller house (shared within the family and unoccupied T -Th when we were there) is also on the property, but the two properties are separate enough to feel private even when they are in residence. They were very interested in any comments we had about ways to improve the rental experience (we mentioned better shower heads, but this is minor.)

The house is @ 10 miles from Brunswick/Rte 1 for those who want to travel to Freeport, Portland, Wiscasset, etc. We mostly stayed on the peninsula/islands and cooked in the well appointed kitchen. We did enjoy Dolphin's Landing restaurant - very fresh seafood really nicely prepared and overlooking the water - and had take out of the same from Gurnet's. There are other places for lobster, clams, etc. on the islands as well. Two of us played golf - once at Brunswick and then at the 9-hole course in Topsham (which was actually very challenging.)

We were sad to leave, and hope that we can return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We have addressed both bathrooms and have made them both more functional and appealing with new shower heads and cottage decore. We have also added a brand new dishwasher just a few weeks ago to help make the vacation stay less work for our guests.We continue to strive for the best possible experience for our guests.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Spectacular sunrises await you at Sea Wood.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267831
Harpswell Portland and Casco Bay Area
Bradford, Vermont, USA
5

SPECTACULAR COTTAGE ON THE SEA!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Sea Wood is a spectacular place for a vacation along the beautiful Maine Coast!! What a hidden gem! The cottage is stunning, very private, very clean and beautifully decorated with care to every detail. Just as spectacular are the ocean views from every window. We woke up to magnificent sun rises and the sounds of lobstermen outside our window. From the clearest skies to the fog rolling in, Sea Wood is the place to be. We relaxed on one of 2 decks looking out to the sea while taking pictures of a Bald Eagle, and Osprey as they soared through the sky. The cottage also has every amenity you could possibly need.

The central location of the cottage is wonderful too with easy drives to Brunswick, Freeport, Yarmouth, and Portland areas. Dining was wonderful and there are so many area activities to choose from. The Chandlers are very gracious hosts who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. I would highly recommend Sea Wood for your next trip to the Maine Coast. We are looking forward to two weeks next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4