Swannanoa cabin rental - Historic 1800's log cabin, completely restored, 15 min. To Asheville/ Biltmore
Historic 1800's log cabin, completely restored, 15 min. To Asheville/ Biltmore
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Swannanoa Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

For rental rate quotes on the cabin, simply click the yellow 'get an instant quote' box (to the right) and plug in your dates. All fees will be calculated automatically.

'Wright's Cabin' offers an escape from it all in a serene, private setting. The cabin was hand-built by Mr. Newton Wright & wife, Lissie in the late 1800's, using trees from the surrounding forest. Their efforts produced this Very charming home, (and property) which has been completely

Restored and preserved to perfection...

Husband, wife & 9 children worked their small farm from this 1 bedroom log home. Out-buildings & barns, (from the farm) remain intact & preserved . (Some buildings are not accessable but provide fantastic photos).

The property has been featured in local magazines, The Fairview Town Crier & The Asheville Citizen Times,

(chosen as Asheville's 'home of the week' July, 2012).

The Cabin features 1 bedroom (downstairs) with queen bed and a 2nd floor loft with 2 double beds.

*NOTE...Loft is up a rustic wood staircase, totally private, but not enclosed with a door. (Loft is the whole 2nd floor). (See photos of loft and living room for clarification).

Antique chandeliers, reclaimed hard wood floors & vintage furnishings provide authenticity... Top of the line double- pane, thermal windows, new kitchen, central a/c, and high speed internet make it comfortably-modern year around.

Absolutely perfect 'romantic retreat' for a couple, a family, or a small group of friends. This cabin sleeps 2-6. Very easy drive to all area attractions... 11 miles (15 minutes) to Asheville & Biltmore House, 15 miles (25 minutes) to Lake Lure & Chimney Rock,

17 miles (25 minutes) to Black Mountain.

Relax on the leather sofa in front of a wood stove fireplace as you enjoy the ambience of this hand- hewn, (solid white oak), log home. Wright's Cabin features a cozy country kitchen & modernized bathroom. The kitchen features granite counter tops & 1940's era crystal chandeliers. Dining nook was hand-made from 1850's Tennessee church pews.

Outside, (WATCH VIDEO), take a stroll along 800+ feet of Trantham Creek, ( The creek can be heard from the entire property). Walk in the adjoining 3 acre field to enjoy a mountain view, or hike the additional 3 acre slopes behind the cabin. At night, gaze at the stars from the field or toast marshmallows on the outdoor fireplace. There are a few antique out-buildings, including a wagon barn that has been converted into a creek-side entertainment pavilion. There is a historic double crib barn featuring full dove- tail cornering. Original feeding pens from 120 years ago remain intact. This bldg provides GREAT photo-ops, (please do not explore it's interior).

A very special, romantic setting. Close to everything...

Asheville, Chimney Rock, Black Mountain & Lake Lure

Wright's Cabin is located very close to the heart of Downtown Asheville, (15 minute drive). Asheville and the surrounding area offers something for everyone, be it dining, music, shopping, golfing, museums, or hiking. This cabin is located just 10 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Enjoy a hike or a refreshing drive to an overlook. Come enjoy this conveniently located historic cabin for a memorable vacation.

Keywords: Asheville, Log Cabin, romantic

More Details
Hide Details

We rented the cabin ourselves & bought it later that year. We get there as often as we can. We continue renting it out, to help preserve the cabin, & allow others an opportunity to take in it's History & charm.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2010

Asheville is an awesome city! The Cabin is very close to Asheville but, away from the city itself. The Cabin is in the woods/ mountains, with a lot of land. It's Located in a secluded area among very nice homes. Asheville itself is the perfect mix of beautiful nature, modern culture, & amazing restaurants !!

Historic, hand-carved cabin from 1895 with a creek a huge field & privacy. Less than 15 minutes to Asheville. A great place to REALLY get away.

19 Reviews of Property 267573 in Swannanoa, North Carolina

1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 19 reviews
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
5

Spring Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our spring break trip to Asheville and our stay in the cabin. Our son and his girlfriend joined us, and we all enjoyed the trip much more than if we had stayed in a hotel. The cabin, grounds and outbuildings are beautiful and well maintained. The manager was very helpful, and the owner provided lots of suggestions for restaurants and things to see and do in the area. In four days we only made a start, so we'd love to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
5

Great Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our family of six enjoyed a relaxing fall weekend at teh Wright cabin. Kids (16,14,13,11) loved the authentic log cabin and playing on the grounds. Hosts were helpful with tips. Enjoyed a day at Biltmore House and lunch in Asheville..all close by. Perfect fall break for the family.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
5

LOVELY CABIN AND PLACE FOR A GETAWAY AND YET NOT AWAY FROM LOVELY DOWNTOWN ASHVILLE3, BILLTMORE AND

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
LOVED IT.....THOUGHT WE WERE IN A FAIRYTAIL CABIN....SO PRETTY, CLEAN AND JUST A PERFECT SPOT FOR ENJOYING THE BLUE RIDGE MOUNTAINS AND ASHVILLE.

ROGER THE CAREGIVER WAS AMAZING AND SO HELPFUL (if we needed him....he was a phone call away). Eric and Joanne gave us many tips for enjoying the area pre vacation...thanks Eric and Joanne.

The water was great (did not have to buy bottled water), having a washer and dryer available was a great plus and the outdoor dining "barn" with chandelier was so, so romantic!!!!

Enjoy!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Steve & Arlene, I hope you can get back (and spend more time)
Next year. Thanks for the kind words...Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
Summerville, SC
5

Vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We enjoyed our 33rd wedding anniversary at the cabin. It was AWESOME! We totally enjoyed the atmosphere and everything about the cabin and property. We enjoyed reading about the history of the cabin and think it is wonderful to have a part of history preserved for others to enjoy. We walked in the creek, saw a bear, rocked on the porch, and explored. It was close enough to the places that we wanted to go. We went to Mount Mitchell and Chimney Rock. The owner, Eric, was very helpful as was the manager. We would love to come back!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Teresa...thanks for looking after the cabin &
I'm glad you went to Chimney Rock...
Great anniversary photo! Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
Kent
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful 6 nights in this cabin. Everything about it is perfect, from its location to its quirky dinning pavilion. . When I booked the cabin it was just going to be my husband and I and our 2 teenage children. At the last minute our eldest son joined us and this and although it only has 2 bedrooms it never ever felt small.
We loved it and hope to return.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Yvonne,
I know you traveled from Europe to visit the cabin...
We really wanted you to enjoy it and are happy YOU DID!
Thanks a bunch,
Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
5

pbshelbourne@knology.net

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Perfect! Quiet, adequately outfitted, charmingly restored.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
5

Quiet mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed five days in Wright's Cabin and would have liked to stay longer. The cabin was just as the pictures showed. Each day we commented on what a great place this was. Eric, the owner, was incredibly helpful on giving us a list of things to do around Asheville and eating establishments. The caretaker Roger was a great guy as well, he felt like the kind neighbor you have always had and known.

Both kids ages 12 and 9 had a great time, the laughter and giggles from the tree swing, the loft upstairs or chasing a rabbit up by the barn lasted all week. There is lots to do and see in the area. We went ro Biltmore, the Blue Ridge Parkway to Cherokee, and Chimney Rock. The best memories are of my son building the fire in the outdoor fire pit for smores, and sitting creek side holding my daughter's hand just listening to the water run by.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa & John,
taking great memories from the cabin is what it's all about!
It took us 4 trips to the cabin before we found our favorite things to do...
hope the list helped,
Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
Atlanta
5

Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your cabin. As you know, it really is picture perfect and we felt like we lucked out with a good mix of rain and sun. It was nice to wake up with the rain on the tin roof and look out the window at the lush green grounds. The location is ideal, just close enough to downtown but you still feel removed from everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ann Marie, and thanks for taking such great
Care of the cabin!!! Come back any time...
Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
Americus, GA
5

I Enjoyed My Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I spent two days at the log cabin and had a wonderful time. The owners were easy to deal with and the manager was pleasant and helpful. The cabin is truly a showplace, and the setting is beautiful. While I stayed by myself, the cabin could easily support several people. Everything was well-maintained and the modern elements were up-to-date. There was satellite TV and internet connectivity. It was, in essence, comfortably rustic. Without question, I would stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tom!!!
And I hope you can stay longer next time...
Let me know,
Eric
business
1890's Historic Log Cabin, bold Creek, 6 Acres, 15 min to downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267573vb
eric 954-599-8466
Swannanoa Asheville Area
Georgia
5

Nature's peace and quiet

Nature's peace and quiet
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a wonderful stay we had at this great log cabin. Tucked into the hillside, next to the stream, we enjoyed walking the property and sitting on the big tree swing. The house was very well outfitted...a well-stocked kitchen and everything was organized to make the cozy space everything we could want. You feel miles away from everything, but it's just minutes to the grocery store and a little farther to Downtown Asheville, Biltmore, shopping and nightlife. We loved it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1