Piedmont house rental - Elk Creek Lodge quietly nestled in the heart of the beautiful Black Hills
Elk Creek Lodge quietly nestled in the heart of the beautiful Black Hills
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

Piedmont House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 3 bathroom next to the Black Hills National Forest. Sleeps 16

This beautiful secluded property is conveniently located just off of exit 44 on I-90 and is surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest. Tour the many sites and attractions of the Black Hills and Badlands, then come home to a quiet evening in your vacation home. Or spend your day Hiking, ATV'ing, Snowmobiling or Horseback riding the many area trails right from your back yard. Located near many trails including the Centennial and Mickelson Trails.

Property Details: Spacious four bedroom, three bathroom home is surrounded by the Black Hlls National Forest to provide you with the seclusion and quiet for a relaxing vacation. Yet, it is conveniently located between Rapid City (gateway to the Black Hills) and Sturgis (Bike Rally Week!) It is less than four miles off of I-90's exit 44. Use this as a base to tour the sites and scenery of the Black Hills and Badlands or use the local trails to explore the Black Hills National Forest. (Conveniently located near the Centennial Trail.) During the winter months, you are just minutes from fun in the snow for skiing and snowmobiling in Lead and Deadwood.

Relax and Enjoy: The fully equipped kitchen allows you to provide a full course meal or a quick sandwich.

Dine on the deck while watching the beautiful sunset and observing the wildlife of the Black Hills. Local wildlife includes white tail deer, mule deer, turkeys, rabbits and birds, you may even catch a glimpse of an elk.

The spacious home on 11 acres allows plenty of room for everyone.

Many conveniences include new washer and dryer, dishwasher, microwave, all small kitchen appliances and more.

Rates: Our rates allow you to enjoy an entire home for the cost of a single hotel room. Rental may be done by the day, weekend or week.

Sturgis week: Rates during the Sturgis Rally are available by the week only.

Note: Children under age 18 free. Pets considered upon request. Additional adults are $25 per night. For stays less than 7 nights, an additional fee of $200 for cleaning services.

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 267474 in Piedmont, South Dakota

Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
5

Great location--great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house is clean, well stocked, and charming! Our party of 5 (3 adults, 2 kids) had a great time here--the boys loved the game room downstairs and climbing the hills out back, then there was the satellite TV for entertainment after they'd run themselves ragged. We adults enjoyed the decor, the bedrooms, stocked kitchen, and wildlife (mostly turkey, but an occasional deer).

The location was perfect as we were close to my mother in Sturgis and family in Summerset and Rapid City, and we had plenty of room to have them all over for dinner. There was plenty of room for my sister and her husband to join us as well for several nights.

It was wonderful to spend the day hitting the tourist sites and running around the Hills only to come back to this comfortable and homey retreat at the end of a long day, where we could prepare a good meal, have room to spread out and relax, and sleep in the next day. Sure beat being stuck in a couple of hotel rooms!

My only complaints are minor--the gas grill is on its last legs and needs to be replaced, and the lawn needed to be mowed. However we enjoyed everything else about this place so much we'd love to be back next year and in the years to come!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
5

Wonderful Accommodations for the whole family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
With eight children in tow, it is difficult to find a lot of welcoming places that offer good accommodations for our family, let alone ample sleeping areas. That alone made Elk Creek Lodge worthy of 5 stars! What a wonderful set-up for the family! There was plenty of room and plenty of beds, and it very quickly felt like home to us.

In a beautiful setting within the Black Hills, and an almost certainty of seeing deer, turkey, and other wildlife every morning, our stay was a joy. We were within an hour of most of the sights and activities one goes to SD to see, and everything else was within the next half hour. It was so wonderful to spend the day doing our outings, knowing that we had a nice and comfortable place to return to. A welcoming selection of books, games, and DVDs greeted us for end-of-the-day family time.

Our six boys (and even the girls and dad!) loved exploring the hillsides, though it made us realize we need to work out more...

Finally, return of our security deposit was very prompt - a welcome change from experiences we've had elsewhere.
Owner's Response: We are so happy that your family was able to create wonderful memories on your trip to So Dakota. Please plan to visit us again on your next trip to the Black Hills.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
5

September Stay at Elk Creek Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
After a frustrating day of flight delays and cancellations, we finally made it to Elk Creek Lodge about 1 am. Chris had the keys ready for us and the lights were on. We were able to go right in and right to bed. Elk Creek was everything we imagined and more. Very secluded, quiet, abundance of wildlife and close to all of our destinations. We were very impressed and would definitely stay at Elk Creek again. Thank you Chris and Ce for all of your help during our vacation preparations. We had a great time in South Dakota thanks to you and the Elk Creed Lodge.
Owner's Response: We are very sad your travel to our home was not a positive, but we are glad that our home could make up for travel delays. We hope you will come and visit us again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
colorado
5

review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Loved the house, the peace and quiet, everything about it
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are very glad you found your stay peaceful and loved it all. We hope you will stay with us again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
Seymour, Iowa
5

Our horseback riding vacation at Elk Creek Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
12 people and 10 horses arrived at Elk Creek Lodge the day of our scheduled arrival but several hours early. No problem-Chris came and let us in. The house is every bit as nice as described-we had plenty of room and everything it says will be furnished is there. We were nervous about the horses but after the first day they were completely at ease as well. It is the best of both worlds-in the wilderness but yet so close to all the amenities. We couldn't have found anything that would have suited our needs any better. And in the meantime we made some great new friends thanks to Ce, who introduced us to Rick and Colleen. And anytime we had a question, Ce was very helpful with ideas and answers. We definitely would stay there again, if we decide to visit the Black Hills again.
Owner's Response: So glad you had a nice vacation. Riding in the Black Hills is the best. Please come again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
green bay, wi
5

Jen + 3

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We really enjoyed staying here! Our kids ended every day in the basement playing ping pong or air hockey. It enabled us to eat together as a family and pack picnics for our sightseeing adventures which were all nice and close. I especially enjoyed being able to unpack our suitcases right into our dressers when we returned home as I was able to keep up with the laundry all week! The house was very comfortable and clean, was not lacking anything that we needed and actually provided a lot more than we expected. We would definitely recommend this location to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing stay. By the way, it is in a very hilly location but was remodeled to accommodate a wheelchair. It was very open and had an easy access shower in the master bedroom. Also, if you have horses, there was plenty of room for them including places to corral them.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
Nebraska
4

Our stay at Elk Creek Lodge

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed at Elk Creek Lodge the week of July 12. It was our first experience renting a vacation home and we are especially happy with how well it all turned out. We are a family of 10 and the house fit us just right. The location was perfect with plenty of space in the house and outside for kids to play, located off the road so no worries about traffic. The games and basement space for play were a big hit. We watched deer in the yard every morning and one evening. The outside grill was nice for cooking hamburgers and hot dogs after a long day of sightseeing. We enjoyed coffee on the deck in the morning. When we had questions before arrival they were always answered promptly and very well. Chris provided exceptional service on our arrival. Everything was clean and orderly, well maintained. We had plenty of towels and bed linens. The kitchen was well stocked with very nice utensils, dishes, cookware. Pancakes on the big griddle were a big hit. We would recommend Elk Creek Lodge and if we have opportunity to come back to the Black Hills we would definitely inquire about staying there again. Thank you for such a nice house for our wonderful week in South Dakota. We enjoyed our trip very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
Garden Prairie, Il
5

Awesome place to be.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The house is beatifully decorated. With all the amenities of home.
Great corrals for the horses and some nice riding. Very quiet and off the main rds.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet and secluded but close to all the area's attractions.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267474
+1 9206500056
Piedmont Black Hills
Colorado
5

July 4 2010 Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had a great time at Elk Creek Lodge. Every thing meet or exceeded our expectations!

The rooms have been updated with paint and art work since the pictures were taken. It gave a more "home" feeling.

The kitchen was well equipped, and the whole house was very clean. Although I would like metal BBQ utensils.

Our calls to the owner about directions and instruction were quickly answered.

It was nice to park our ATV's in the garage.

We would recommend this property , it is quite and secluded, just what we were looking for.

Alpine Inn in Hill City has a great restaurant.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3