Dripping Springs cabin rental - View of front porch.
View of front porch.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Dripping Springs Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Experience ranch living in a nicely appointed, very private stone cabin

Los Madrones, a private ranch in western Travis County, in Central Texas, offers visitors the opportunity to 'rent-a-ranch' for a while, for nature photography, birding, or just relaxing. The 400-acre property features limestone bluffs, Little Bee Creek, open pastures, and hilltop vistas stretching past the Colorado River. Ranch owners Julie and Mike Murphy converted the property to wildlife conservation in 2000, and have managed it since then to improve habitat for turkey, quail, and other species.

Four or five pairs of Golden-cheeked warblers nest on the property every spring; and with luck, ranch visitors may observe and photograph this endangered species.

13 Reviews of Property 267313 in Dripping Springs, Texas

Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 13 reviews
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
4

beautiful views

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The Casita was nicely decorated and very neat and clean. The kitchen was stocked with extras such as drinks, juice and frozen vegetables. The hot tub had a great view of the hills. Mike and his wife were very friendly and accommodating. Loved walking along the creek on the property! Will definitely be back
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
4

get away

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The property is gorgeous! There is so much to explore, we hike and jumped in the stream. The cabin is cozy and simple, perfect to get away from technology. The hot tub was a bonus and has an incredible view. I am not sure if it is in the description or not but the stove doesn't work or it is not connected, so if you bring groceries in and are planning to cook you might want to plan for using a grill! We had a great time and the location is perfect for going wine tasting or just exploring hill country!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
1

Beautiful views but overgrown....

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Inside of Casita was fairly clean, however, there were alot of spider webs especially in the bath room. the common areas were very overgrown as well. I understand it's a wildlife ranch but when you pay to stay, we would expect that it be a bit less neglected. I also called prior to booking and spoke with Mike specifically with two requests. Does it have a fireplace and a hot tub? I was told yes to both only to find upon arrival the hot tub had been broken down for quite some time. I must admit we felt somewhat deceived and were not even offered an apology, much less a discount. I felt an e-mail or phone call in advance would have been appropriate. Not much privacy either since the Casita is only approx. 100' from their home and not all the windows in the Casita had blinds on them. Kind of weird.
Be aware that if you plan on bringing your own food as we like to do there is no grill, only a large smoker and the oven/stove inside is not hooked up.
While it was still too warm at night for the fireplace, the local burn ban had just been lifted so we spent our evenings around the large fire pit and were able to enjoy the night sky with all the stars.
There are two state parks 15 mins west that we went to and they are both two thumbs up! Dripping Springs is 15 mins south and it was good times as well.
We did pretty much enjoy our stay although most likely will not return.
Owner's Response: I sent the following email to our guest Oct. 11, but have had no reply. I mailed a refund check for one day's stay on Oct. 16.

Mike

hey, Scott,

I'm sorry to hear that y'all had such a miserable time at the ranch, I wish you'd said something to me while you were still here.

I would like to respond, though, to the review, below.

Re: spider webs, I'll talk to the house cleaner about doing a better job removing those. We've been reluctant to get a pest control service, but I will now see if I can find one that uses organic methods. While insects play a significant role in our ecosystems, I agree it's not everyone's cup of tea to see one, or their evidence, inside their residence.

Re: overgrown common areas, thanks to this fall's timely rains, the native vegetation has rebounded from the summer's drought. When I attempted to fire the lawnmower for the first time prior to your arrival, it failed and is now in the repair shop.

Re: hot tub, the part I was waiting for arrived two days after y'all departed, it's been fixed and now is ready for future guests. I apologize that it was NOT ready in time for your stay.

Re: smoker, I've put a small Weber kettle grill next to the smoker, so guests can choose whichever they prefer. Guests can still utilize the microwave, the toaster oven, or the electric skillet to cook inside the Casita.

I realize that none of this will make up for your less than satisfactory experience, but I will offer to refund you one night's stay in hopes that will temper your dissatisfaction a bit. Please mull this over and let me know your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Mike
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
5

A little piece of paradise!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a fantastic place to really relax and unwind, and get back to nature! The ranch is huge so you can do plenty of exploring. There's a beautiful creek on the property and a fantastic waterfall where you can take a dip.. And the best thing is that it's on the ranch, so you have it completely to yourself! What a treat! There are lots of birds around the property and other wildlife to look out for. We spotted a deer! The casita is plenty big enough for a couple and even a couple with a child. There is also plenty of stuff nearby, including a large outdoor mall 10mins away with lots of shops and restaurants. If you want to go hiking, biking of swimming there is also Hamilton pool super closer, reimers ranch and other state parks like perdanales, which is where we went for a great bike ride and swim in the river. It was a perfect getaway from the city and Mike and Julie were superb hosts!! We have recommended it to all our friends and we hope to come back again next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

I enjoyed every minute.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Truly awesome experience, it's hard to imagine that Los Madrones is only 25 miles from Austin yet a world away in terms of peace and quiet. The Casita is beautiful and the ranch is ripe for exploration. Thanks for your hospitality! I enjoyed every minute.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We enjoyed our relaxing stay at the Casita. Wish it could have laster longer! Thank you for your great hospitality.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
The Woodlands, TX
3

Great Hill Country Location

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Great location with lots of things to do within 15 minutes. My 23 month old daughter loved watching the birds at the birdfeeder. Beautiful pool/waterfall along the creek inside the properly.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
5

Los Madrones makes Minnesotans happy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
A great way to experience the Hill Country! Nothing but relaxation, hospitality and beautiful landscape (and a hot tub under the stars!). It was like visiting family we didn't realize we had. I would highly recommend Mike and Julie's Casita to anyone looking for simple, pleasant satisfying weekend in Texas.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
Conroe
5

Heaven in the Hill Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Our family needed some peace and quite so we headed to the Hill Country to watch birds and swim in the river. We had a great day at Hamilton Falls Park just 5 miles down the road.Then it was into Bee Creek to eat Thai food and do some shopping, again just minutes away. We ended the day sitting and watching hummingbirds, doves, woodpeckers and many other breeds take turn eating out of the feeders. I can say that we came home more relaxed than we thought possible. There is something to be said for being surrounded by such an environment. The Murphy's couldn't have been more helpful to get you to where you need to be and show you the area.
The cabin had everything you need --even down to chairs to have breakfast outside with nature.
I would highly recommend this adventure. This is not just a room but an experience for all ages.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Experience nature in the TX Hill Country with proximity to shopping & dining
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267313
512 264-1741
Dripping Springs Texas Hill Country
5

Los Madrones, Dripping Springs, TX

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing weekend at Los Madrones. The ranch was very quiet, except for the myriad of bird calls and wind rustling throughout the land. The location is convenient (20mins) to shopping, spas, and dining. We look forward to returning soon, although next time we’re bringing lots of camera equipment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3