Manasota Key cottage rental - VIEW FROM YOUR PRIVATE DECK
VIEW FROM YOUR PRIVATE DECK
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Manasota Key Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

'ALMOST HEAVEN'...According to our guests, it REALLY is!!!!! This lovely triplex is absolutely GULF FRONT on a lay back stretch of beautiful Manasota Key, between Englewood Public Beach and famous Stump Pass. This 2 bedroom unit is on the second floor and offers a million dollar view!!!

French doors open from the living room onto a private deck with a panoramic, unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico. Whether its breakfast overlooking the beach or a romantic sunset dinner, your table offers the BEST view in the house! Lounge on the deck or on the private beach out front, collect seashells or fossilized sharks teeth on the 6 miles of beach that can be accessed from this property, or fish from the surf right outside your door. If you enjoy a beachside barbecue, this property comes equipped with a propane grill and picnic area downstairs.

The unit itself has a lovely 'BEACH COTTAGE' atmosphere. Recently renovated , it offers SPOTLESS, bright accommodation on 1 level, with open concept living area that features a fully equipped kitchen with dining area and spacious living room with comfortable seating for up to 6 persons. The master bedroom features a king size bed with seating area and ensuite bathroom. The guest bedroom has 2 twin beds together as a king, but that can be separated if needed for younger guests. The second bathroom with adjoining tub and shower is conveniently located right across from the guestroom . Laundry facilities and High Speed internet service are provided free of charge.

Keywords: Triplex

More Details
Hide Details

12 Reviews of Property 267243 in Manasota Key, Florida

'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

"Almost Heaven"--really it is!!!

"Almost Heaven"--really it is!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My sister asked me to come visit her for a week. I could set on the deck, walked the beach, and go shelling within feet of "Almost Heaven". The entire family could stay, they supplied excellent bedding so everyone was accommodated. The kitchen was just like home! Truly hope to return in 2015!!!! From Iowa and one hundred degrees with windchill figured in difference week I was at Englewood! Oh the warmth!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Tennessee
5

Old Florida Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Almost Heaven is just how it was described. This unit was very clean, had plenty of linens, kitchen utensils, VERY comfy beds, and plenty of beach items to use. The view was wonderful and our family enjoyed having lunch under the covered patio. This unit isn't near the public beach, so you are not bothered with many people. The neighboring houses were very quiet and the downstairs couple was super nice as well. Our two daughters enjoyed looking for shark's teeth and unique shells. Marg was always helpful and easy to deal with. Thank you Marg for a great vacation~ We look forward to another stay at Almost Heaven.

We do recommend eating at Luna's in Venice. It is just a short drive, but well worth it. Our family has been eating there for the past 13 years.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Very much enjoyed working with this family from Tennessee and looking forward to accommodating them again in the hopefully not too distant future. Our goal, along with everyone affiliated with "Almost Heaven" , is to provide our guests with a vacation experience that they will enjoy time and time again. We hope that Scott and Rachel will be part of our growing list of repeat guests !
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
michigan
5

Almost Heaven closer than you think.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Our stay at Almost Heaven was the Best vacation we have ever had. We had breakfast on the deck every morning, played in the ocean, found sharks teeth and shells, and took hundreds of pictures. We saw dolphins and manatees and a school of rays. There were boat trips and parks and parasailing. We visited local attractions, like Lemon Bay Tours and the Big M casino cruise. We made excursions to the Florida Aquarium, Venice Beach, Tarpon Springs (to the Sponge Factory), Nokomis for shelling, Boca Grande to sightsee. We had amazing seafood at local restaurants. We cooked on the grill (thanks Marg for making charcoal and lighter fluid available) we didn't even have to provide that. You thought of everything. It was all we could have hoped for. Everything was inviting, beautiful and comfortable. We hated having to leave. There just wasn't enough time. Same time next year?
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear that your vacation was everything you had hoped it would be. "Almost Heaven" has one of the highest rates of returning guests in our rental portfolia. I very much enjoyed working with you and look forward to welcoming you back next year!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
United States
5

FantasticVacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is the second year we rented the upper unit of this property and have not been disappointed either time. It is meticulously cleaned and always has plenty of furnishings. The view is unbelievable and the patio is excellent for outdoor eating and relaxing. We love being able to walk to the beach whenever we want during the day and not having to get in the car and pack up all our beach things. We have collected hundreds of shells as well as enjoyed dolphins and many beautiful birds. The outside and inside are taken care of continually and help can be reached with a phone call if you need it. The location is perfect. We have come to Florida for 12 years and this is our favorite! Thanks a bunch, Marge for all your little extras. Hope we can get this unit next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

BEST REUNION EVER!!!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Marg...Thank you for recommending this property for our annual family reunion. Our 3 families have been vacationing together for over 10 years, but this was by far the best get together we have ever had. Being able to have the entire place to ourselves, while still enjoying our individual units and quiet time was wonderful. The place is absolutely amazing. When we arrived , the sand was raked, the lounge chairs neatly arranged and our units were all in spotless condition. By the way, thank you for the welcome gifts. What a pleasant surprise!

The guys spent a lot of time on the beach fishing and us girls worked on our tans, collected sea shells and got some much needed R and R. The kids had a wonderful time..swimming, building sand castles and "helping Daddy fish". In the past, we usually stayed at larger homes across the street from the beach, so that we could all be together.. What a refreshing change! It was so nice not to have to lug around beach things as well as the kids. It was all right there at our doostep, so we were able to enjoy the beautiful beach and keep the children in sight the entire time. And best of all we were still all together ! Definately the way to go with young families.

Oh...during our stay, we actually witnessed 2 sea turtle nests hatch at the front of the property. How amazing...the children took pictures and used them for show and tell at school. Sara won best prize for her story. An experience that none of us will ever forget.

Please put us down for the same time period next year. I have no doubt that this will become the new Hansen family destination for years to come.

Thanks again from all of us. You were a pleasure to work with and we will be spreading the word back here in Michigan.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Owen Sound
5

Almost Heaven...IT SURE IS!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Hello Marg....just wanted to thank you once again for arranging this fabulous vacation! What an incredible spot this is. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect getaway. The view is nothing short of spectacular and the island atmosphere is so relaxing and tropical. Our unit was spotless and very well equiped and we really appreciated the in house laundry facilities as well. Made friends with the 2 couples below us and had tons of fun swimming, sunbathing and we had a fish fry with flounder and sea trout that we caught right outside our door. Both couples said they have been coming to Almost Heaven for years and raved about your service...now I know why!. We share their positive impression of the place and we will certainly be back

Ken and Terri
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hated to leave. Our family hopes to return soon. This was our 4th vacation on Manasota Key and "Almost Heaven" was BY FAR the nicest and most comfortable of our accommodations!!

We had a special treat on Sunday when a pod of 13 Manatee showed up and entertained us and our neighbours . One Amazing Experience!!! They were there from around 9:00 am to sunset.

Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Illinois
1

Do NOT stay here

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Manasota Key and the view from Almost Heaven was nice, but my advice is to avoid this rental. The kitchen was greasy and covered in ants. It wasn't bad enough that it would prevent us from going back, we just wouldn't plan on cooking or eating there, but given that this time that was a big part of our plans, would make it a last choice destination for us in the future. The real killer is they don't take credit cards so you have to send checks. One for the rental and one for a deposit to be held in case of damages. They said if there were no damages they would mail the check back. I could not get them to return the check. In fact, they ignored all my correspondence inquiring about it. I was finally forced to cancel the check, which is not cheap, because I had no idea what they were planning on doing with this check and did not want it floating around out there somewhere to be cashed at some point in the future. Due to there lack of response to my inquiries about the check should be enough of a concern to anyone to avoid staying at Almost Heaven. We will not be going back. There seemed to be plenty of available rentals that we will try in the future when we return to Manasota Key, which I'm sure we will. It is beautiful.
Owner's Response: VERY surprised by this review. As of today we have accommodated 1,192 guests at the 3 units at Almost Heaven and we have rave reviews from virtually all of our guests.

In an effort to insure continued excellent service all guests are provided with a questionnaire that we encourage them to complete and forward to us at the end of their stay. Tonia was no exception and her comment sheet indicated NO problems or inconveniences at her Vacation Rental, YES she would rent again and her summation was : All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks!!! Guests are also encouraged in their check-in instructions to immediately report any issues small or large during their stay. We strive to respond to all issues as quickly and efficiently as possible. Had Tonia reported a greasy stove, cleaning staff would have been dispatched IMMEDIATELY and done a complete reclean...cleanliness in all of our units is a top priority and we pay our staff among the highest wages in Southwest Florida..In return we require that guests find their units in spotless condition. Ants can sometimes be a problem in a tropical climate,usually when guests leave food , especially sugar, exposed. This property is on a regular pest control maintenance program and as such, if an issue does develop, someone is dispatched the same day. Again nothing reported by Tonia indicating that there was an issue. With respect to her security deposit, she was advised via email that in an effort to help her with economic concerns, I had NOT cashed her deposit, and had simply VOIDED her check, but that if she required that the voided check be returned, I would do so immediately. To date we have not had a response to our email. Our office has a toll free number with access to 24 hour voice mail. We have had no verbal communication from this guest to date. Incidentally, her voided check, has been returned to her.

Our rate of repeat bookings at Almost Heaven is now over 75% That is virtually unheard of in the rental industry. Obviously, the vast majority of guests are extremely pleased with the location, ammenities and excellent service provided by Sunshine Vacation Rentals and the proud owners of this unique Gulf front property.
Helpful votes: 10/12
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Nebraska
5

The pictures do not lie! Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We just returned from our stay on the lower level of Almost Heaven. We could not have imagined a more beautiful and quiet location. I spent weeks looking for the perfect location for our first trip to Florida and I'm so glad I chose this place. The unit itself was clean and well-equipped with most things we needed during our stay including beach chairs and umbrellas. We actually weren't in our unit much except to shower and sleep, we enjoyed the beach way too much! We made a few trips to other beaches within an hour's drive but we never spent much time on them because we liked "our" beach the best. The shelling is great, we saw dolphins every day and even had manatees swim near us...all right in front of our cottage. It was so hard to come home, but we know we will return...Thanks Marg!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We strive to provide our guests at "Almost Heaven" with a truly enjoyable stay....after all, vacations are an important time in everyone's lives , a time to unwind from the stress of today's world and an opportunity to build precious memories . Thank you for allowing us to help create those memories.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
'Almost Heaven' ...... it Really is!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p267243vbi
+1 519-307-6568
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Springfield, MO
5

Guest: Tom and Paula Clark

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
OK, I hesitate to say just how much we enjoyed the excellent accomodations for fear we will have trouble getting a reservation next year. But Marg, I am so glad you talked us into trying this property. We were afraid of the oil spill and of staying on the south end of the island. The oil spill, as you said, was no problem--there were all kinds of shorebirds and wildlife (we walked to the end of the island and watched the dolphins doing their graceful dives and saw a manatee several times) and I think we prefer the south end of the island! The unit was great--clean and roomy. We especially like that the second bedroom and bath are so separate from the master bedroom and bath...and the walk-in tiled shower is gorgeous! We loved being able to see and hear the ocean from our unit. We walked the few steps to the beach one night at midnight just to listen to the waves and admire how many stars we could see without the city lights. It was one of our best vacations. We will definitely be back next year and can hardly wait!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8