St. Augustine bungalow rental - Front screen porch for eating and relaxing.
Front screen porch for eating and relaxing.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

St. Augustine Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths,

A restored Craftsman Bungalow built mostly of reclaimed lumber from the Buena Esperanza Plantation. A 2 bedroom with King size beds, 2 baths, features a full kitchen, dining room, living room ,an inglenook with a twin daybed. There is a screen porch for enjoying the garden and passersby. Decorated with many unique boat models and sailing photographs. The Bungalow is situated In the heart of the Downtown,just blocks from the bay front, the many boat yards of St. Augustine and the beautiful Lake Maria Sanchez.  The latter is a beautiful place to walk and bicycle.  The Buena Esperanza neighborhood contains what has been described as one of the best collections of Victorian homes in St. Augustine.

27 Reviews of Property 266979 in St. Augustine, Florida

Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 27 reviews
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Ontario Canada
5

Surpassed our Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We enjoyed a wonderful winter getaway at this charming property. We have rented homes twice in the Bahamas and France, and found Seafarer's Bungalow to be outfitted the best of all. The descriptions are accurate, and everything was comfortable and clean. It is rare to find a kitchen so ready for guests to prepare meals.

We enjoyed the front porch, and looked forward to seeing the horses and carriages passing by, and the driver waving hello and tipping his hat. The back patio is comfortable and private.

The walk downtown is about 15 minutes and there are several routes to take. We purchased bicycles and enjoyed touring the neighbourhood and also going into town. The tourist centre is a great place to leave bicycles while lunching or strolling along George St.

Our favourite place to eat was Nona's Italian restaurant on Avila St. Also, Mojo's BBQ has a very pleasant less crowded patio at the rear of the restaurant and we enjoyed that as well. There are several galleries worth visiting as well.

Brigid is professional and easy to work with. We stayed at the bungalow for eight weeks, and she made us feel welcome to contact her ask for any information about the city and to check that we were happy with everything.

We will definitely recommend this home to friends and relatives.

Gwen and James
Ontario, Canada
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Charming Historic Jewel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I cannot say enough good things about this home. My husband and I felt the warmth and welcoming the moment we stepped in the door. All the creature comforts combined with nautical themed treasures, antiques, history, comfortable bedding, fine linens, exquisitely appointed kitchen for cooking, and wonderful nooks and crannies throughout the home to stretch out and find some space to read and relax, made this a very Cozy Christmas. Easy walk to downtown and numerous restaurants, our favorite, "Olde City House" where we enjoyed Christmas Eve dinner. The nearby lake, Maria Sanchez, is a treasure trove of aquatic wildlife,photo opportunities and has a nice walkway to appreciate the local architecture along the lake.
I spent ample time on the front porch and back patio and enjoying the outdoor gardens at this home, and am eager to return again, because a week simply wasn't long enough. I've rented beach homes in the past in Vilano and St. Augustine, and honestly, I'd trade the surf for the comfort and charm of the Seafarer's Bungalow. Beautifully decorated, and carefully crafted to convey the seafaring history of St. Augustine, this one is a Jewel, and reasonably priced.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Charming, Comfy, Clean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Seafarer's Bungalow is the most charming vacation rental we have ever stayed at. The house is full of unique character, but still maintains a warm, comfy vibe. It is very clean and well maintained from the towels and bedding to the cups in the cabinets. The bungalow is has modern, but classic feel... for example, there is a brand new shower (with amazing water pressure) in one bathroom and the original 1920s bathtub in the other. You will find unique model sailboats and maritime decorations throughout the house.

Fully stocked kitchen had all the utensils we needed to cook our freshly caught fish. We enjoyed meals on the front porch, dining room, and back patio.

Great location! The neighborhood is quiet, safe, full of trees, and a short walk to downtown and waterfront. We left the car at the house on several occasions and walked to nearby restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing. Getting around by car was easy when we went to the lighthouse and restaurants that were a little further away. The covered parking at the house was great!

The owners were very friendly, kind, and great to work with. We will definitely be back and recommend anyone considering this rental to book it!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Denver, Colorado
5

Favorite Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The Seafarer's Bungalow is a beautifully restored, furnished, decorated and maintained property sitting comfortably on a corner lot in the heart of a historic district in St. Augustine. Everything was perfect - from the ease of using the modern kitchen to the comfort of the beds to the safety of the neighborhood and friendliness of neighbors. The house has a small but lovely yard (front and back) and the corner lot makes the property even more spacious. I personally spent a fair amount of time on the screened front porch, reading, relaxing and watching the occasional passerby walk or bicycle past. The owners were only a phone call away to answer any questions I had and were very friendly and helpful. On top of enjoying being at the house, we found great things to do in St. Augustine or nearby including Marineland, the St. Augustine Wild Reserve and the Pirate Museum. We also greatly enjoyed not one, but two carriage rides in the evening with a horse named Scout (and his driver - who provided interesting facts about the city while showing us around. These rides start by the waterfront near the old fort. We fell in love with St. Augustine, with the area the Seafarer's Cottage is located in and with the Seafarer's Cottage itself. We hope to make it a bi-yearly (if not yearly) destination - and next time we will stay longer.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
United States
5

None Better In St. Augustine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and i rarely get away for even a short period of time so we really treasure the few moments when we can escape home responsibilities. The bungalow is even better than the pictures would indicate. Everything from the decorating to the cleanliness was superb. Our house should be so clean. I'm a pretty fair cook so its important to me that the kitchen be fully equipped. The bungalow kitchen was as good as cooking at home - maybe better! Music, TVs, books, or just strolling around St. Augustine; the bungalow has it all. I'm a fanatic about clean bathrooms and the bungalow exceeded even my standards.
Frankly, I'd sell our home and move in there tomorrow. Our hosts were so kind and thoughtful. Treated like members of their family.
Can't wait for our next visit!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Pictures don't do it justice!

Pictures don't do it justice!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Seafarer's Bungalow is ideal for a quick getaway or longer stay in the St. Augustine area. It is beautifully decorated with a nautical theme throughout, with high-quality furnishings. I cook a lot, and was pleased to find that the kitchen was well-stocked with pots, pans, utensils, dish- and silverware. The lush, tropical landscaping gives a great sense of privacy, and we spent a lot of time on the screened-in front porch or in the back yard. Brigid provided a guest book with detailed and interesting information about artifacts in the house. In fact, we walked around with the book, tracking down the items and reading aloud to one another. The house is so charming and so comfortable that we are already planning a return visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Panama City, Fl
5

The Best of St Augustine !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a wonderful surprise ! Seafarer's Bungalow was everything it claimed to be and then some. It was the perfect staging spot for a great girls get away. The beds were comfy, the kitchen well appointed and the front porch was our favorite spot to eat and just relax. The walk into town was easy and enjoyable with lots of sights to see along the way. It was great not having to deal with downtown parking.There was so much to do and so much good food that we stayed out most of the day, but by evening we were all happy to be back in our perfect Bungalow. Thanks Brigid for helping us have a memorable long weekend....we are already planning our return visit.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Panama City, FL
5

Seafarer's Bungalow - Linda

Seafarer's Bungalow - Linda
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful home! Everything far exceeded our expectations. Such wonderful decor and history in this home. The kitchen contained everything you could possibly need and then some. The bedding was first class and abundance of fine quality linens was really appreciated.

This is truely a property that one can walk in with groceries and enjoy. Everything else is provided.

We found this an easy walk to downtown.

L
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Wonderful stay for our family!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at this home for 4 nights over our family's spring break. It was a perfect home for us (2 adults, 3 children). We easily walked to the historic district and my two older sons (who run track in high school) ran around the lake nearby, into town, and over the Lions Bridge! We also enjoyed learning about the neighborhood - Lincolnville - which has quite a history. It is clearly evident that the owners take great pride in their property. Very well furnished with nice touches throughout. I highly recommend.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Seafarer's Bungalow Restored 1920's Sears Bungalow, lots of charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266979
386 546-3955
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

More than a Bungalow!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Truly this piece of property is more than a bungalow, it is a delight! Besides having all the necessities one could need, it is a home with so many interesting details both in architecture and in nautical pieces of art not to mention decor. Even after several days of our stay I noticed something new that was interesting. Don't get me wrong, the house and grounds are not cluttered but a well thought out design.
It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the historical section of St. Augustine which is great because parking can be a problem.
The restaurants were outstanding and affordable.
Location was safe. The bungalow is located in Lincolnville where there are many older residences some of which have been and are being renovated.
We had an opportunity to meet with the owners, Brigid and Barry. If we lived in St. Augustine we would definitely want to be included with those whom they call friends.
We loved St. Augustine and look forward to a return visit.
Helpful votes: 4/4