Kailua house rental - A bird's eye view of this mini estate, a 2 minute walk from the beach in Lanikai
A bird's eye view of this mini estate, a 2 minute walk from the beach in Lanikai
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
 

Kailua House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 bedrooms, 3 baths (Sleeps 6)

As you open the gate, you enter your own personal retreat, lush lawns, swaying palm trees, the soothing sound of water falls. Wade into the beach-entry swimming pool framed by real lava rocks, relax in the Bali-style pool cabana, or work on your tan resting in a lounge chair pool-side while enjoying a cool drink. A rare majestic Banyan tree frames this beautiful Lanikai beach side home and creates a welcoming, cool and unique setting even on hot summer days. The tree house tucked inside the roots of the banyan tree and the kid-friendly pool will provide endless hours of entertainment for the kids. You just might have trouble pulling yourself (and the kids) away to get over to world famous Lanikai Beach.

We are looking forward to sharing our little piece of paradise with you!

Lanikai beach with its' powdery soft sand and gentle protected water is known as one of the best swimming beaches in the world. The Mokulua Islands off shore from Lanikai have been included in numerous advertisements and movies. The turquoise waters of Lanikai are less than a half block, only a hop and a skip, approximately a 2 minute walk away. Take in the incredible scenery as you enter the beach, spend endless hours relaxing, swimming, snorkeling, or go for a stroll feeling the water at your feet, kayak out to the islands, see a turtle or two, and hike up the ridge line behind Lanikai for scenic vistas in all directions. Lanikai is also favored for its one-way loop circling through this beach side community, inviting joggers, mom's with their strollers, and people out for a walk.

The home is one of the last few Hawaiian style beach cottages offering its' guests an exceptional setting and truly Hawaiian vacation experience. It is tastefully decorated. There are two master bedroom suites and all of the bedrooms have air-conditioning and a TV. The kitchen has marble counters and modern appliances. Hardwood floors throughout are easy on your barefoot feet. The house has an open floor-plan which is ideal for island-style living and delights with a casual elegance. It even boasts a rare fireplace (for Hawaii!!) and an outdoor hot tub.

A caretaker is on-site for guest convenience. The fenced-off caretaker's cottage is located at the opposite end of this over 1/3 acre beach-side property. Guests needs are quickly tended to. Tall hedges ensure privacy for guests. A ready supply of beach equipment combined with its beach-side location, make enjoying frequent trips to the beach easy. This home is part of the upscale community of Lanikai, a sub division of the town of Kailua, Oahu, Hawaii, and stands out even in Lanikai for its' quaint features and unique setting.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 266779 in Kailua, Hawaii

Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
average rating of 4.75 based on 14 reviews
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Laguna Beach, CA
5

Excellent family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We are a family of four, including two small children. It was a perfect place for us. The outside areas are wonderful with a very nice pool, comfortable pool cabana, separate hot tub, gorgeous landscaping, lots of grass area for the kids to run around, gas grill and dining area under the huge banyan tree. The house itself consists of three bedrooms and three bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms have attached bathrooms. All three bathrooms are very nice, clean and well designed. All of the bedrooms have air-conditioning units. The house does not have central air-conditioning, but does have tons of ventilation via sliding doors and screens that open everything up.

The house is a half-block to the beach road and another half-block to the Lanikai beach access. Lanikai Beach is truly magnificent and is the reason for staying here. Be sure to get up early and watch the sunrise over the Mokulua Islands. Kailua is the nearby town and has plenty of places to eat and shop, while still retaining a relatively small town feel. The Thursday night farmer's market (which is mainly a place to get pre-made meals, not as much produce) is a blast.

One thing that people should consider is noise restrictions. This house is in the middle of a residential area. Almost all of the people in the neighborhood are residents (as opposed to vacation rentals) and the owners of this property have restrictions that fit with that. In particular, that means that you will be asked to be quiet early in the morning and late at night. We are not loud people or late night partiers, so this was a non-factor for us, but if we were travelling with a large group and/or had different priorities re partying, I'd probably look at other properties. That said, if I were going to rent out my own home to vacationers, there isn't a single rule I would disagree with.

Overall, this was a great place to stay. We are absolutely enjoyed our stay and will definitely plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
5

Great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house and its location are perfect. I highly recommend renting this home. It is very peaceful, relaxing, well maintained. My family and I had a fantastic time. Close to the beach. The pool was wonderful. I fear all other vacations will be compared to this and found lacking.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Pennsylvania
5

Sweet Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
When we opened the door to enter the property, an immediate wow overcame our whole family. We were a family of five: 2 adults and three older teenagers. The first thing our children did was climb the ever present Banyan tree to reach the treehouse. The birds were singing, the large tropical vegetation enraptured us with the island breeze and the small chameleons were darting to hide from our curious children. It was so easy to become one with the true Hawaiian experience. After spending a few days on the leeward side at a beautiful resort, this home offered us the experience we were looking for in Hawaii. It took us about 20 minutes to enter the house because we couldn't get past the magic of the pool and landscaping. After our initial entry to the home, we were greeted by the caretaker Ben. He took the time to show us around the house and answer any questions that we had. Honestly, before we arrived we were not too sure about having a caretaker, but at no time did we feel like our privacy was being invaded. It was actually a comfort to know that there was an active interest in the property.
This Lanakai beach house was perfect for our family. Our three teenagers are highly active, but also enjoy relaxing on their electronic devices after long days at the beach and touring the island. Internet access was solid when all 5 of us were gathered in the living room. The bungalow feel of the house had this calming effect over all of us. We loved the unique open air structure of the home. It never felt stuffy or muggy. Window air condition units were available for each bedroom. Several meals were prepared in the well stocked kitchen. Appliances, kitchen gadgets and supplies were provided to get us started for the week. It was easy to pick up items at the local Safeway or Whole Foods to replenish for the next renter and feed our family.

Kayaking and hiking were our favorite adventures while in Lanakai. A short 1 block walk to the beach made it easy to go for a quick dip after touring or to carry the kayaks that we rented in Kailua for a day. Kayaking to the Mokes was a nice work out, but easy for the novice. We were able to see various fish among the coral and several sea turtles floating on the surface. Swimming in the ocean was refreshing as you dip in the crystal clear waters and snorkel in the near by reefs. The entrance to the Lanakai Pillboxes is right up the street. The panoramic views of Lanakai and Kailua were breathtaking and wor
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Alberta / Canada
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Thanks for letting us stay at your house. It was perfect! The kids loved the pool and yard. My wife found everything she needed in the kitchen to make our meals. And the house was well set up for our family and in a great location - quick/easy walk to the beach and a short drive to restaurants and shops. Your on-sight caretaker was very personable and gave us a helpful tour of the house when we arrived.

We've been to Hawaii 3 of the last 4 years (always a hotel on Waikiki) and our kids never want to go back there - they want to be at "the hotel house" (what they called your place). I'm sure we'll be contacting you again at some point to arrange another visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Beyond our expectations

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We have rented eleven houses in the Kailua area and this property is definitely the best by far! Looking at pictures it is often difficult to imagine a place. Well, this time, the reality way surpassed our imagination. The yard and house are absolutely what anyone could want when renting a property in Hawaii. The property is just a few steps down the road from the beach entrance; very close yet tucked away. The house itself is the perfect vacation home. Things are well maintained and clean; everything one might need. The house even comes with a manager and caretaker, which was a nice change from having to figure things out ourselves. Gary and Karen were very friendly and helpful, gave us lots of good tips for restaurants and sightseeing. Outstanding service! In terms of affordability, beauty and comfort, this house and its yard are definitely our favorite of all the houses we have stayed at! We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

What a lovely place

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This estate compound is a work of art. What a great place to stay. It was very windy while we were there, and instead of braving the sandstorm on the beach, we could just lie in the yard, in the middle of the amazing (and private) garden. Very quiet and peaceful! I will miss breakfast under the Banyan tree, listening to the birds, going to Bacci's Bistro (the best food in the world, seriously). The house is clean and well equipped - it is definitely a home, not just a rental accommodation. The homeowner and property caretaker are both pleasures to deal with and very helpful. Gary, the caretaker, gave us lots of great tips for outings and restaurants. Thank you for everything - we'll be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
3

Did not feel welcome

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
House and property are nice enough but the moment we arrived after a long day of travel the owner,who stays right on property, came at us with a 2 page long list of rules before we could all enter the house. We were 4 adults and 2 teenagers. Our first morning, we were up early as there was a 3 hour time change. Us 4 adults had our coffee in the hot tub around 7:00 am, only to be so rudely told to get out of
the tub and be quiet until after 8:00 and she told up we woke her up..... We were just talking quietly.
She said that the sound carries here. After that we really did not enjoy our stay and always felt like we were being watched. The yard was nice but the pool was very cold and was never cleaned the whole week so we never used it. The location was the best thing about this house as it is close to a very nice beach and we spent most of our morning there. I found the house to be big enought but it was older and dark.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: This is the first review of this type we have received in over five years and close to 200 families.
We have discussed this review with the renting party and been told that this review is the opinion of one of the guests. Writes Cheryl who actually signed the rental contract: "Shannon’s review was a matter of opinion; that is how she felt and I can’t change that!! Speaking for myself I thoroughly enjoyed my experience in Hawaii and loved your property!!"

All renters receive a rental contract (issued at time of reservation), which also contains house rules. Check-in directions are received by guests 2 months before arrival, explaining that check-in is on day of arrival unless arrival time forbids it. This group arrived several hours late for check-in, spending time shopping.

Check-in consists of explaining house care tips like use of locks, location of lights, how to keep sand out of the house, etc. Only one house rule is emphasized at check-in: (similar to rules at hotels) hot tub and pool use hours are between 8 AM to 9 PM. This is stated clearly in the rental contract and is explained again at check in. Writes Cheryl: "I had my contract with me and I did read through it again... and you're right; it was all stated in the contract!" - Despite this, this party chose to use the hot tub noisily at 6:45 AM on the very first morning of their stay.

In addition, we received a stern complaint from a neighbor about excessive noise. This neighbor also commented on the guests rude and profane language. The renter who signed the rental contract acknowledged that they are "generally louder people".

The pool was cleaned the day of arrival and receives regular weekly pool service on Fridays of each week. It is solar heated (as stated in the contract) and around 79 to 80 F at the end of November, beginning of December.

Our website and our rental contract states that we have a caretaker in the cottage on the property. The main house is not visible from the cottage. The cottage is a separate structure, located a good distance (approx. 75') from the house, separated by a huge Banyan tree, a fence and bushy potted palms. These guests were advised well ahead of check in that the owners were filling in for the caretaker during their stay with an option of changing their reservation.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Calgary, AB, Canada
5

Beautiful House, Everything You Could Possibly Need!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our family had a wonderful vacation in Oahu and staying at your house made it all the better. House was very clean. All the bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable and appreciated the air conditioning when needed. Very well equipped, had absolutley everything we could need from the kitchen to beach toys,chairs and boogie boards for the very short walk to an amazing beach. The kids loved having the pool and the hot tub was used most every night. The location is great, easily travel into Honolulu to spend time and be back home for dinner. Its a short drive into town for groceries and restaurants. My daughter really misses her daily shaved ice from Island Snow she thinks we should open up one here in Canada. This was first trip to Hawaii and will be back for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
Kinnelon, NJ
5

A Week in Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This was our fourth trip to Hawaii and we stayed in all the main islands. By far, this was our most enjoyable stay. Banyan Hideaways is a private property located in Lanikai on the island of Oahu. The best adjective to describe the property is magnificent! The home is very well appointed and yet it still exudes a sense of comfort and warmth. Property is located within walking distance to the beach which is ideal for families. Lanikai Beach has beautiful blue water and gorgeous white sand. Yet, the beach is never overly crowded. The yard and landscaping has as its focal point a wonderful Banyan tree. The front deck is built around the Banyan tree and has a picnic table allowing one to eat their meals outdoors. I can still remember sitting in the front yard having morning coffee in this wonderful area. There is also a gazebo and a salt water pool. The gazebo is also well appointed with furniture and makes for a comfortable area to spend the evenings after dinner. The home is within minutes of shopping centers so everything that one may need is close by. Overall, the house and property will make for a wonderful and relaxing stay in Oahu. We look forward to returning and enjoying the property again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Resort-Like, Spa, Pool, Tropical yard, 2 Min. Walk to World-Famous Lanikai Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p266779
+1 808 218-5009
Kailua Oahu
USA, east coast
5

Definitely a piece of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The homeowner calls this property their "piece of paradise" and I can't think of a more accurate description. The yard itself is gorgeous, with a spectacular banyan tree, a roomy deck, and a cabana for relaxing. The saltwater pool is nothing short of impressive. It is wade-in, perfect for small children (the max depth is about 5'). The well-manicured landscape provides perfect shade such that the house always feels comfortable. It is immaculate and modern, and fully stocked. You'll have to tear yourself away from the house, yard and pool to go to the beach. Luckily the beach is a very short walk away, and the picture-perfect Hawaiian sand/sea combination. As another reviewer noted, the property not only meets, but exceeds one's expectations. The only complaint you could muster is that you can't stay there forever! Last, the homeowner and property manager are both pleasures to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1