Nice house, extremely difficult owner
Submitted: March 29, 2011
Stayed: January 2011
The house was pretty close to the mountain and nice, although the hot tub and stove were broken and the garage was filled with garbage from the previous renters. Unfortunately, the experience was a hassle from start to finish. We arrived to a driveway filled with two feet of snow (and you can't park on the street) so we spent the first hour and a half there shoveling. The owner gave a long list of instructions for how to open and close the house, which was reasonable, however he neglected to list some of the thermostats in the house and charged us for not turning off those whose existence he did not mention. Interactions with the owner were unpleasant, especially when it came time to return the security deposit. Although we settled the matter a week after our stay, every time I checked on the progress of returning the deposit the owner came up with new problems that the maid had "discovered" on subsequent visits to the house. Ultimately, it took multiple abrasive phone calls with the owner and over a month to get our deposit back. While the house was nice enough to want to stay there again, the customer service was so poor that we would never even consider it.
Owner's Response: I must respond to these erronous claims because I dispute them in their entirety. The facts of what actually happened just happen to be almost the exact opposite. The renter was given a discounted rate because I felt they were nice, professional and responsible young adults. However, I was very wrong and I literally paid the price. The maid had just cleaned and inspected the house prior to their arrival. Everything was in working order. When the maid came to do the same after their departure, that was not the case. She immediately called me and documented the damages which included, loads of bottles stuck in a pantry, hot tub filters removed and thrown in the snow, burnt kitchen towels, stove burner left on, heat left on and leaving a bedroom window wide open in January, in Vermont. This is a family home, not "just a rental" so this was especially disturbing. I was stunned and irate that someone would be so disrepectful of someone else's property. It was truly disgraceful. So yes, I was thoroughly disgusted and angry when I spoke to the renter. And yes, I did have to speak to the renter several times regarding the damages. She was given very detailed house instructions/information and arrival and departure information is posted at the house. Although the damages were much more costly, I only ended up witholding $100.00 from the security deposit, which I feel was more than fair. The security deposit was returned within the 30 days. She was most difficult to deal with and I would not rent to her again.
Helpful votes: 7/11
Did you find this review helpful?