Austin studio rental - The couch back folds down for a second sleeping space if needed.
The couch back folds down for a second sleeping space if needed.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Austin Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

(License #114332) This large, contemporary studio apartment just south of the river is urban living at its best. This newly-constructed home away maintains an exterior old world flagstone charm, but with modern amenities. The property is canopied by 100-year-old Live Oak trees, native stone walkways and is surrounded by mature gardens. The vaulted ceiling and natural light lend a feeling of spaciousness to the studio. South-facing french doors lead down to a large private patio curtained by bamboo. The apartment is located on the NE corner of the charming Travis Heights neighborhood.

The kitchen with new appliances is stocked with utensils, cookware and coffee ware that would make any aficionado zippy. The apartment is well furnished with a rich mix of contemporary furniture and Chinese and Tibetan antiques. A beautiful 9x14 antique Persian rug makes every step feel warm. Only high-end natural fibers are provided for bedding and bath needs. The full bath and custom-shelved walk-in closet make this the perfect spot for any individual or couple who wants to wind down after a day of play or work in the city.

A 37' HDTV with plenty of HD cable channels and high-speed wireless Internet access are included to keep you connected.

This vacation rental is located behind the owner's home; it sits atop the detached garage at the back of the property. You will walk through a shared patio and garden to reach the rental. You may see us, but maintain your privacy. The entire property is gated and the apartment has its own alarm system if you choose to use it.

From the studio you can take a leisurely stroll through one of Austin's oldest neighborhoods to the shops, restaurants and people watching along South Congress, aka SoCo. Or you can easily hit the hike and bike trail, go downtown to the 2nd, 4th and 6th Street districts, the Austin Convention Center and other hot spots around town. All of these are about a mile from the apartment.

If you're coming to Austin for a short stay on your own or as a couple, this place is ideal for you. It's not big like many vrbos. It's affordable, beautiful, clean, cozy, convenient and comfortable. A $5 cab or $1.50 bus ride gets you downtown quickly. You're also less than a $20 cab ride and 15 minutes from Austin-Bergstrom International Airport if you don't feel like renting a car.

A guest of ours says, 'The Riverside Gem was a perfect retreat!' on his blog Good Beer Trips (goodbeertrips-com). Look for his summary under Austin Part 1 and read his tips on another reason why Austin is such a great city to visit.

Still not convinced it's the place for you? Call for more information. We're happy to help you figure out Austin.

Keywords: Studio Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Hi! We're Amy and Todd. We know there are people that have been doing the vacation rental thing much longer than us. We've been hosts for a few years, but our first time as guests was in 1996 in San Francisco. Fast-forward a decade and Zam! we're building our own. Meeting all the Austin-destined travelers is one of the best aspects of doing this. Whether you stay with us or not, Austin is a great part of Texas and we're happy to help you make the most of it.

The Owner purchased this studio in 2000

Our house and the rental apartment could only be closer to downtown Austin if it were a condo. Our house in Travis Heights is one of the originals. It was built in the '30s. The original garage apartment was built in 1940. A few years ago we tore it down other than the stone wall foundation and started building this rental apartment. It's now complete and pretty darn cool.

Convenience to all of Austin's attractions makes this vacation or corporate rental worth looking into. There's a great private patio in the back. The apartment is ideal for one or two people. The couch does fold down if needed. Unlike many listings, our place was built and designed with short-term rentals in mind. A coffee maker and French press are available, as well as a choice of teas.

41 Reviews of Property 234711 in Austin, Texas

Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
average rating of 4.97561 based on 41 reviews
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
5

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Amy and Todd were absolutely wonderful and their apartment was perfect! The location is great (easy access to I-35 and about a 30 minute walk to the South Congress area).

Amy and Todd were easy to work with throughout the reservation process, and they were extremely accommodating throughout the stay. The apartment was better than the pictures showed and the little touches were fantastic.

This is the only place that I would want to stay in Austin and I look forward to another stay in the future. Great job Amy and Todd!
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
United States
5

True to description-Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This property has easy access to 35 without the interstate noise. It is tucked away and feels like home. Owners are very easy to work with and accommodating. We will re-book when in Austin.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Cherry Hill, NJ
5

Gorgeous place in a great neighboorhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed here for a week while in town for the Ironman 70.3 event as well as just some general visiting of old friends. This place is great. The open layout makes it feel plenty big. The bed is extremely comfortable, the best we've encountered so far. You have easy access to the highways if you need. You can also easily walk to "SoCo" and check out all the amazing restaurants that are there now. The food at South Congress Cafe is great, just an FYI. Downtown and the hike and bike trail are within reach by foot as well. Fully stocked with anything you might need. The coffee maker was perfect for our early morning race day.

Highly recommended and we'll look for it on our next visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Bloomington IN
5

Perfect Getaway Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This airy & spacious Travis Heights guesthouse is a well provisioned, comfortable home away from home that is filled with natural light. Owners Amy & Todd are delightful, informative, and easy to work with. We stayed 5 days for ACL2012, and can't wait to return. We especially enjoyed the private back patio for morning coffee, or a glass of wine in the evening. This is our 5th home away in Austin, and by far the friendliest, most comfortable, and most convenient. Thanks!
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

Austin Guesthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We just loved it! It's beautifully designed and right in the coolest neighborhood. We would walk around at night just to look at the beautiful architechture.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Annapolis, MD, USA
5

Perfect For We Two!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The apartment was squeaky clean, comfortable, private, spacious, secure and well-supplied - I loved the excellent whole coffee beans! The family was warm and inviting and made us feel right at home even though we were only there for a short stay. It was interesting seeing the renovation photo book and hearing the story about how it was converted from an old decrepit garage into a modern garage apt. It is *exactly* centrally located and convenient to everything in Austin south, north, east or west, with very easy access to all the major roadways (and easy biking distance to the Town Lake / Zilker Park area). We were a little worried about the location being so close to I-35 (noise, traffic) but it was quiet and serene up there in our little apartment on the hill. We left to stay with old friends in Austin or we would've stayed longer at Riverside Gem! Also, Amy and Todd were great to deal with, friendly and accommodating and we learned a few things from them (we are fairly new VRBO owners).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Appleton WI
5

Carrol

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I recently spent 5 nights at this rental and it was perfect! The "studio house" offered a quiet, restful, central place to stay and so much nicer than being in a hotel. With the kitchen, I could refrigerate snacks and drinks, enjoy my ritual of hot tea in the mornings and use the microwave to reheat my fabulous "leftovers"! . The hike and bike trail is across the street and I chose that route for getting downtown to "Dominican Joes" one morning for coffee on South Congress. It was delightful! This little home away from home was SPOTLESS, the bed was extremely comfortable with quality linens, and the bathroom provided fluffy, quality towels. Thought and care was used to decorate this place and I felt "pampered"! Todd and Amy were very accomodating and I hope to return again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Panama City, FL
5

Perfect stay for my business conference!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I had a three day meeting at the convention center and this cozy garage apt was just perfect to unwind when I got home. Quiet, secure, and it had all the comforts of home. My hosts had fresh coffee beans, real cream, along with bottled water and a well equipped kitchen. They did a beautiful job on the rebuilding of thIs studio. I will stay there again!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
Los Angeles
5

Great for Short or Long Stay - Very Comfortable and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Todd and Amy's lovely guesthouse was just what we needed in Austin. Close to everything, quiet and they are perfect hosts. Everything was new and clean and presented with the country charm that you would expect from Texas. The accommodations were very private and, as a light sleeper, very quiet. I do like the location of Travis Heights, as it is close to downtown, South Congress and the I-35 to get to other towns and places. It is the perfect getaway for work or pleasure while in Austin. Thanks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Studio Gem Perfect for Twosome, Just South of Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p234711vb
(512) 739-2427
Austin Austin area
5

riverside gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our stay was fantastic! The house was perfect, the amenities were thoughtful and plentiful. We liked the location, so close to everything and yet very private. Loved the coffee, cream and water available right away along with the few "necessities" that were in the bath! All in all a great location and accommodation. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2