Asheville apartment rental - View from patio, greatroom and bedroom
View from patio, greatroom and bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Asheville Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment with large greatroom, located in forested private estate on mountain side, with outstanding views of famous Cold Mountain and the Blue Ridge. The 1200 square foot apartment is located on the ground floor of the main house, with a private entrance and covered patio. There are on site hiking trails offering spectacular views. The estate is located within hundreds of uninhabited acreage on Holland Mountain. We are at 3300 feet elevation, with a gated mile long private drive through mountain laurel and rhododendron. Close to Asheville (approximately 20 minutes to downtown, or the Biltmore Estate), and only 45 minutes from the Cherokee Casino.

Keywords: sleep 6

With military and AT&T, Ken & Janie have moved 20 times in the USA and overseas. Having lived in Asheville many years ago, this was the area in which they wanted to end those relocations. Children and grandchildren live on their estate along with the deer, bear, wild turkeys and other wildlife.

Kenyon and Janie Adair, 825 Adair Ridge, Canton, NC 28716 purchased this apartment in 2002

No place we have lived is more beautiful than this mountain, which offers the best of the wilds of western North Carolina, yet is so close to Asheville.

We are located on a 62 acre private estate, located in hundreds of uninhabited forested acres with many old logging trails and open vistas. We are on the side of a mountain, looking out on the Blue Ridge Mountains, and the famous Cold Mountain of book and movie fame. This retreat is just a short distance from Asheville (20 minute drive to downtown), and all that resort city has to offer.

14 Reviews of Property 265964 in Asheville, North Carolina

Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Thank You !

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
As owners of Adair Ridge, we are grateful and humbled by the kindness of the wonderful people who have visited our home . We had no idea that this business opportunity would be an amazing segway to meeting such lovely people! To say we appreciate the reviews we have been given would be the understatement of a lifetime! Upon retirement, we spent a year searching for a "chunk of heaven" in the Asheville area. We found it and felt it would be unfair to keep it to ourselves. Nothing gives us greater pleasure than to share the beauty of Holland Mountain with people who also get "high" (no pun intended) by being nestled in the midst of Mother Nature!
I want to personally thank the delightful and talented artists who spent a month ontop of Adair Ridge with us ....they truly became part of our extended family.
The review you have given us has touched us deeply! And all of the previous reviews have also given us the confirmation that we are:
* in the right place
* at the right time
* doing the right thing
And it sure FEELS GOOD ! Thanks to all of you.....and please come back !
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Venice
5

JTB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We spent a memorable month at Adair Ridge. First and foremost, Ken and Janie are wonderful people. They are so gracious and good-hearted that we loved them instantly. They were perfect hosts, respecting our privacy, yet there when we needed anything. The views from the porch and the majority of the apartment are stunningly beautiful. The apartment is very thoughtfully furnished. We loved the drive so much that we named every section and curve. Just a note, you may want to think twice if you plan on riding your motorcycle, as we ended up being happy with our decision to take the truck instead. Janie gave us rides on the gator to Grassy Top that we will never forget and still keep us laughing. The view from the top will clear the worries of the world instantly. This is a great place to relax and get away from everyday life. You could easily just stay and never leave for your entire visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Orlando, FL
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I can't tell you how wonderful Adair Ridge is! The pictures don't do it justice. It is absolutely breathtaking. The hosts are as gracious as they can be and the living quarters are beatiful. Everything to make you feel at home from a coffee maker to blender is provided. An extra bonus is being able to take the gator to the top of the mountain for even more excitement and views. We were worried about privacy staying in someone's home, however the hosts are there when you need them and never intrusive. We will be back year after year to stay in this beautiful home with such wonderful people!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Raleigh, NC
5

Absolutely Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
From the time we arrived until the time we left, we felt the magic and peace of the mountains surrounding the Adair home. Janie and Ken have a gorgeous house and the apartment is nothing less than perfect. Everything we needed was there. We brought our own food and never left. The hiking trails on the property are fantastic and full of stunning views. The drinking water is sweet. The hardwood trees dappled with sunlight provide welcome shade on warmer days and the view from the apartment was of mountains that stretch on forever. We loved just sitting in the rockers and looking out over Cold Mountain. Janie and Ken are there if you need them, but you still have your privacy. They are warm, kind, and welcoming - very special people. Little things meant a lot to us, like fresh flowers and a bowl of fruit on the table. I cannot imagine ever staying anywhere else when we come to Asheville.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. Ken and I get so much pleasure when we know you had a pleasant vacation. I loved that your husband enjoyed taking you to the very top of the mountain in our ATV ! Please return whenever you can . We absolutely loved having you here. Janie
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Raleigh NC
5

Make your reservation today! We stayed there in August and will definitely return.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
When you first arrive you will enjoy the ride up the mountain. The driveway is well maintained, and the house is situated in a beautiful location.
We were extremely pleased with the open floor plan, amenities and cleanliness of the entire apartment. The kitchen is spacious, and we did not lack anything we needed.
The owners are so hospitable and accommodating. They are easy to talk with which led to some very interesting conversations. Your privacy is respected, and they are available to their guests.
The trails are well maintained and can be a great source of enjoyment. From your back porch to the top of the mtn the views are great!
We will plan to visit Adair Ridge In the future ; )
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Morrisville, NC
5

Beautiful Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
In looking for a nice, quiet place in the mountains to celebrate my birthday, I found Adair Ridge. The apartment was absolutely perfect. It was very welcoming and relaxing. Ken and Janie were wonderful hosts and more than accomodating. The apartment was very clean and well-maintained even down to having throws in the living room to wrap up in while watching tv. The drive to Asheville was only about 15-20 minutes away on 19 south which was a straight shot with no turns if you didn't want to get back on 40. There were also quite a few fast food restaraunts on 19 south however we ate in Asheville during our stay. I did cook breakfast in the apartment each morning to cut down on food expenses. The kitchen is beautiful and fully equipped with the basic kitchen essentials. The drive up to Adair Ridge can be a little intimidating but it is indeed worth the effort. I do recommend that once you leave for the day, make sure you get everything you need while you are out because once you come back, you will likely be in for the evening. The view is absolutely breathtaking from the apartment. Upon checkout, Janie actually drove us to the top of the mountain but due to the fog, we were unable to see the view that we wanted but the drive alone, was fun and exciting in the rain with our cowboy hats on!! I would recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a quiet, beautiful weekend getaway. It is definitely a birthday I will never forget.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Piedmont, SC
5

Beautiful View and Hiking Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We really enjoyed our stay with Ken and Janie. The view from the living room and one of the bedrooms was unbelievable. We hiked up the mountain. Although it was a hard walk, the path was very well cleared. The view from the top was absolutely the best and well worth it. The rooms were larger than some of the rental houses we have stayed at before, and Ken and Janie went out of their way to welcome us and provide all the extras. We look forward to going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Naples, FL
5

Beautiful Scenery & A Wonderful Family

Beautiful Scenery & A Wonderful Family
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I'm writing a long overdue review on The Adair Ridge Estate. We are a young family looking for an fun vacation, yet peaceful as well - that is exactly what we received! Ken and Janie were such AMAZING hosts! My little girls also enjoyed playing with their grandchildren as well!! The entire experience was beyond what we had imagined!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Morton, Il
5

lovely lovely

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My sister and 9 month old son stayed for 2 nights at Adair Ridge and it exceeded our expectations. Ken and Janie are such a wonderful couple and so welcoming into their home. The apartment was quite clean and well stocked; something I've come to appreciate after staying at many vacation rentals before. This is a great place to stay if you want to get away from the craziness of the city. It's a little bit of a drive to and from Asheville so we found it was best to go out for the day and stay out, rather than plan to come back and forth. The property is so wonderful though that we didn't mind coming back and staying in for the evenings that we were there! I plan to return with my husband and son.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Adair Ridge, Private Mountain Estate, Fantastic Views amd trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265964vbi
(828) 648-3567 (North Carolina, USA)
Asheville Asheville Area
Charlotte, NC
5

Wonderful Weekend Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We came up to Adair Ridge with our young family. The owners were amazing hosts, making us feel right at home. Their home is beautiful, the apartment was well-stocked and had plenty of sleeping options for us. We loved exploring the land and appreciated all of the little things the owners did to make us feel so welcome. It took us about 20 minutes to get into Asheville to the Nature Center. The driveway up is indeed steep but we made it!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4