Sheffield house rental - Moon light in the Berkshires
Moon light in the Berkshires
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sheffield House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + 2Convertible beds, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

This rambling farmhouse has a balanced mix of meticulous restoration with an eccentric flair. Undermountain Farm is a home carefully designed with warmth and spirit. It also has a unique collection of fascinating antiques and collectibles.

Enjoy cooking in the state-of-the-art kitchen with your only dilemma being where to eat. You might choose the solarium, surrounded by exotic plants and the sun streaming through the glass; or the patio where you might hear the roar of the waterfall which tumbles down the mountain behind the house after a rainfall, or you could try the formal dining room which still has the original Dutch oven from the 18th century. The veranda is a good choice where you can watch the highland cattle in the meadows. Or you may choose the informal dining area and eat in the luminous kitchen delicately accented with orchids. The hand-crafted cabinetry in the kitchen was all made from one maple tree.

This farmhouse has many rooms to enjoy. If you like a large space, then the former stables might suit you. This room, with its high vaulted ceilings and original beams boasts a magnificent stone fireplace, and huge windows that offer a pastoral view of the surrounding meadows. If you prefer a cosy room, then the den is ideal. The antique wood paneling, the big comfy leather chairs and the soothing, ambient feeling will make you want to curl up with a good book in front of the wood stove and forget about the outside world.

You might choose the formal living room or the informal living area adjoining the kitchen for a friendly gathering place. This home has six fireplaces and two wood stoves to keep you warm, and there’s also a fire cauldron and grill on the patio.

If you’re staying with friends, you might have to draw straws for the huge master bedroom, where the rising sun illuminates the artfully plastered walls creating a deep orange, radiant light in the morning. The added bonus in the master bathroom with the shower and its floor of river stones and the jacuzzi where you can gaze over the meadows.

Those who drew the shorter straws will be happy in the other three bedrooms which have lovely outlooks over the Berkshire Hills and offer a quiet respite for a restful sleep; including the soothing sounds of a seasonal babbling brook.

Upstairs two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. Master bedroom with a dressing room, shower and jacuzzi from where you can watch the cows! Six fireplaces and two wood stoves. Fire cauldron and grill on the patio.

Four bedrooms with queen beds, several other bedding options, two fold out sofas, futons and an air mattress.

Hiking and cross country skiing right from the back door. Nature Conservancy land abuts the house, with the Appalachian trail up at the top of the ridge next to Bear rock falls behind the house !

Keywords: House, Midden,plaster.unique,pastoral,stunning ,bucolic ,calming,unbelievable pictures do not show the full effect.

More Details
Hide Details

English man rebuilding old houses.

Saving American history for the future!

Robin (AKA Basil) or Sally (Sometimes called Sybil!) purchased this house in 1999

I bought this property so as to save and restore this American beauty that had served her builders for over 150 years as their family home .

Untouched beauty surrounds this old house, experience life as a settler in the New world, living in the present !

21 Reviews of Property 265301 in Sheffield, Massachusetts

Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
average rating of 4.9 based on 21 reviews
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
5

Wonderful family winter getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We just came back from a super relaxing and cozy stay at Undermountain Farmhouse. What a beautiful property. The wood burning stove and open fires were just what we needed. Kids had room to play and house was nicely decorated but kid friendly. We hope to go back next year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
5

Spacious farmhouse... perfect for a weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My friends and I stayed at the farmhouse last weekend to celebrate a few of our birthdays. The house was beautiful online, but we were all pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The house is located in a beautiful setting where cattle graze the fields across the street. The house is extremely large, each room with it's own personality. The kitchen is nicely equip and large enough that all of my friend's and I were able to contribute to the cooking experience without getting in each others way. There were multiple wood stoves and fireplaces which enhanced the beauty of the house. The floors were heated and the master bath was exceptional. I would highly recommend this house for a weekend getaway, even though we all wished we could have stayed longer. Absolutely perfect for larger groups. We all are looking forward to our next stay at the farmhouse!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
5

An idyllic country retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I stayed at Undermountain Farm for my 40th birthday and it was perfect. The house was cozy and very welcoming. The kitchen is well-outfitted with equipment. There was plenty of kindling and fire wood for the 4 wood stoves and three fireplaces. I would recommend this house to any group of friends or family looking for a weekend getaway.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
5

Christmas in The Berkshires ~ Three Generations...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our family of 11, consisting of 6 adults and 5 children, truly enjoyed our stay in this lovely restored farmhouse. The floor plan was conducive to both family gatherings as well as quiet time. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of extra bedding and towels available. The heated master bath floor and kitchen prep areas are a definite plus.

We enjoyed a hike to the far end of the property and the beautiful waterfall. The children were amazed by the Highland cattle. The home is convenient to skiing, hiking, shopping and many historical sites as well. Locals were warm and friendly.

Brett was a definite asset in assisting us with settling in as well as interesting conversation about local folklore. Many thanks!

The home was perfect in every way for our family. We had had a fabulous time and look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very muck and we look forward to seeing you again soon .All the best Robin and the girls!
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
5

Berkshire Country Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a fabulous time at this amazing Sheffield, Mass. Home. Our group of 9 -7 adults and 2 children had an amazing Thanksgiving vacation. The kitchen is fabulous- the perfect kitchen for cooking a feast. We had dinner in the beautiful dining room with the fire burning in the fireplace. The beds, sheets are incredibly comfortable. We loved the walks right around the house as well as the hikes in the area. We would recommend this home to anyone looking for a beautiful getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
Boulder, CO (Berkshire native)
5

lovely Berkshire-homestyle wedding site

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
With beds/couches to accommodate our 4 siblings and their partners, plus 4 close friends, we had the pleasure of the master suite as retreat for our wedding on Robin's place in early October. The large and level grassy area between the orchard and the shed provided a beautiful terrace for our big tent (seating for 130 at long farm-style tables plus small stage and full dance space), and the ample rolling grounds nestled among the majestic cradle of colorful foliage enabled both the rambling diversity of scene for those of all crowd-proximity preference, and an embracing perimeter to cultivate the homespun closeness we craved for the celebration. A few discretely place porta-loo and a golf-cart to transport the elderly unable to stride across sloped lawn were among the additional amenities necessary to host a fabulous celebration at this site. Heartily recommended.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Many Bedrooms

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Well I was disappointed and surprised to find this less than five star review from this party as all of my others are so good. These retired school teachers did not have any negative comments when I spent time with them on a couple occasion to make sure that everything was in order .My assistant does live in the barns so as to facilitate any question or resolve any situations that may arise sometimes and provide on site security .
I would also point out that we were in the process of painting the house and completing some carpentry repairs that were required to keep this 200 year old lady in good shape. Had they bought any of their points to my attention at the time they were staying in my house we would have dealt with them promptly as you can see if you read in all of the reviews. I guess should have bought an apple !
Thanks Robin .
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
3

Many bedrooms, pleasing spaces, needed cleaning!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The owner welcomed us and gave us an orientation to his property.
This rambling farm house has been lovingly restored with constant pleasing spaces. Many! beautiful and surprising collations adorn all spaces and demonstrate that this house is the owner's personal dwelling. (He moves to an apartment across the driveway when renting.) While that was a little uncomfortable, the property needed a much better cleaning than greeted our arrival.
We are six women, owners of rental property ourselves, the cleanliness was below our expectations and experience with vrbo.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
NYC, NY
5

Perfect place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This gorgeous country house has so much personality. In contrast to most rentals, which tend to be so sterile, this one is rustic, warm and clean and is filled with interesting architectural elements, quirky objects and art from the owner's travels. It has a great kitchen, is perfectly cozy for a couple, yet spacious enough for a large group. It is in a quiet rural location, with fabulous views and privacy, but close to the excellent restaurants and cultural events in nearby towns. The owner is also extremely accessible and responsive. I loved this place, as did the rest of my group.
business
Antique Farmhouse Totally Restored & Crafted
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265301vb
(413) 229-2243
Sheffield Berkshires
Brooklyn
5

Delightful, comfortable and fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My extended family of 10 adults/grown children were more than comfortable in this rambling and charming, eclectic farmhouse with all of the conveniences (and then some!) We especially enjoyed sitting on the flower filled front porch looking at the cows. The kitchen was amazing and we held impromptu yoga classes in the peaceful high-ceilinged converted stables/spare living room. The owner is helpful and a pleasure to deal with. HIghly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway