Michiana Shores cabin rental - The living room
The living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Michiana Shores Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1Baths (Sleeps 6)

This lovely cabin in a private setting is spacious yet has a warm rustic feeling. Built in the 1940s, it has a stone fireplace, maple hardwood floors, pine walls, a cathedral ceiling in the living room with a cozy sleeping loft on the mezzanine, plus two bedrooms on the main level with queen beds. There is a separate dining room that seats 6 and a breakfast room off of the kitchen. The wraparound porch has chairs and a large round table for dining or just sipping coffee.It is surrounded by a very large open lawn with mature trees and looks out at a riding stables. You can sit on the large wraparound porch or walk over to the stables and take a trail ride or riding lesson in the large indoor arena. Pony rides are also available for children. The beach is a short walk, or drive for 1 minute, park in our private spot, and walk around the corner to the beach.

The decor has been thoughtfully created by a Chicago designer and builder to be unique yet comfortable.

This home has a new 95% efficiency furnace and central air, newer appliances and is very well maintained. Pets are welcome. Email for details.

The surroundings : This home sits on a large lot and is surrounded by trees. You can see the riding stables across from the private drive. Guests can take trail rides, children can have pony rides, or just visit and bring them carrots. They are very people friendly. The beach is a short walk from the cabin, and we provide private pkg around the corner from the stairs to the water if you choose to drive for the two minutes it takes to get there.

Restaurants and shopping: There is a very nice grocery store down highway 12, which takes all of 10 minutes to get to by car. If you drive another 5 minutes, you will arrive at Light House Mall, a very large discount mall with national retailers. You can also shop and dine in New Buffalo, Michigan, which is 10 minutes in the other direction on highway 12. There are boutiques and Chicago quality restaurants in town and further up along 12, or you can head into the quaint restored town of Three Oaks to see theater, art galleries, shop, or dine.

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 265219 in Michiana Shores, Indiana

Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
5

Cozy Long Weekend G!etaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I (along with our two dogs) stayed in November just to get away for a long weekend. It was very nice and relaxing! The fireplace was amazing since it was chilly out. The cabin was very clean and stocked with everything you need to feel comfortable in your own home. The front porch was nice and the bed were comfortable. It was great to have a full kitchen where we could cook our own meals. The private beach to walk the dogs was a nice touch - it would also be a beautiful beach to be on in the on-season! Claudia was quick and responding to questions and e-mails; she was great to work with.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
5

A wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great location and a very clean and comfortable cabin with everything that you may need. It was tastefully decorated and really felt like home. We were near many exciting attractions yet still able to enjoy a lazy mornings on the porch overlooking a stable. Our bulldog loved the pristine beach and meeting the horses. We will definitely come back and recommend this cabin to our friends!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
4

Cozy cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We just wanted to thank the owner, Claudia, for providing a great rental property. We were surprised that the cabin was as nice as it was. It was immaculately clean with lots of space for the four of us seniors. The beds were very comfortable with great pillows (which is always a surprise). Everything was handy with a well supplied kitchen and bathroom (great shower). We loved the porch area and enjoyed watching the horses across the way. The private beach area was fantastic. Shopping, the casino, restaurants, literally all we wanted was nearby.

My only suggestion would be that directions on how to operate the TV should be left in the booklet.

Thanks again - we will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
5

Cozy it is!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is a really cute place! Very spacious cabin that still have a cozy feel. Wonderful fireplace and lots of space to cook, eat, and relax for the weekend. The property was nicely maintained and it was great to look out at the horses. Very quick and scenic walk to the beach. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back in the summer!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
Columbus OH
5

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This place was just as the pictures showed it, and just as it's described. There were plenty of towels, lots of room for us to lounge about, and you can tell that the place is well-maintained. There are some nearby neighbors, so you don't feel like you're stranded in the middle of nowhere, but there's plenty of trees to maintain all the privacy you could want. The owner was excellent with communication- both with time it took to write back and she was kind. Our group loved that everything was within 15 minutes of the cabin- we had managed to go to the Blue Chip Casino, Lakefront Salon, McGinnis Pub, the outlet mall, and there was a performance of The Rocky Horror Show just a couple blocks away from the cabin! The only negative was the one mirror for all of us girls to share- it was a little hectic in the mornings. But the group and I all agreed that this was a great deal for such a wonderful place and we'd definitely love to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
5

MORE THAN PROMISED

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This is a lovely comfortable well appointed and beautiful home. Full of light and surrounded by trees. Away from it all, but close enough to shops and amenities, and a fabulous antique mall, to fulfill all your vacation wishes. Lake Michigan is a short walk or ride away. A big private stretch of beach for relaxing or walking your dog. The photos do not do this property justice. We had a lovely time and would gladly return for a longer stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
Illinois
5

Perfect, Peaceful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
What a lovely place to vacation! The owners were wonderful to work with - they even sent a nice packet full of helpful information about local grocery stores, restaurants, and cabin details :) The directions were perfect. The cabin was cozy, clean, and comfortable. Laundry on site was a blessing when returning from our multiple daily trips to the beach! Other local beaches were crowded, but "our" beach was only shared with a few other friendly families. My husband and I found it easy to relax and our kids LOVED the loft space and daily visits to feed the horses at the nearby stable. Staff at the stable provided the kids with a memorable and fun pony ride. Our stay was peaceful and absolutely perfect. We would highly recommend it to everyone!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
4

Nice Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We enjoyed our stay at this cabin. It is clean and quiet. Plenty of room inside and on the rap around pourch. The garden needs some attention. It is not close to the beach but you have a parking spot near the beach. Beautiful Area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
Midwest, US
5

Quiet retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a great working vacation at the cabin. There are lots of places to sit with a book or a laptop and we were glad to have reliable wireless. There was also plenty to do when we were ready for a break: watching the horses at the stable, walking on the beach, outlet shopping, and eating at the delicious Stop 50 pizza restaurant nearby. It was a very cozy and comfortable place to stay.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Cozy Cabin on the grounds of a riding stables
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265219
+1 773 572-1146
Michiana Shores Indiana
Danvers, IL
5

Toasty and warm.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This cabin is truly "cozy". It was a rainy, windy weekend so we made good use of the fireplace. The attention to detail is obvious in this cabin. From the artwork to the nicely refinished original floors, you can appreciate the designer touches. We shopped at the Lighthouse Mall and found some good sales. We couldn't walk on the beach due to the weather but thoroughly enjoyed the drive along the lake. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend. We'll definitely come again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3