Austin house rental - 'The B Hive'
'The B Hive'
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Sweet 2 Bedroom - 2 Bathroom Bungalow Only 1m from UT. Amazing Front Porch!

Stay in Hyde Park in central Austin for a true Austin experience.

Flash Sale! Only a few more spots left for the sale. Come and get em!

The Old Girl needs to be repainted. So I’m having a FLASH SALE through the end of April to help fund this project.

Contact Lianna to get special rate.

Pick one of two deals:

~ 15% off your entire stay for stays longer than 3 nights

OR

~ Stay 2 nights at the normal rate – Get the 3rd night FREE

*Must stay during the months of February, March, and April. 2 continuous night minimum stay on both offers. Taxes and Cleaning are still extra.*

'Welcome to The B Hive. A lovely renovated 1927 bungalow in the heart of Hyde Park - just North of Downtown.

This open concept home has 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Sleeps up to 7 people - a day bed in the back bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. The B Hive is eclectically furnished with some mid-century modern pieces plus new pieces and original art work.

Well stocked modern kitchen! Includes a kitchen island, bar stools, little kitchen table, well stocked pantry, dishwasher, ice maker and filtered water. Herb garden in front yard. Brand new gas grill. Everything you need to make a great meal!

Two showers - one is brand new with glass tiles and a rain shower head. Oversized 1920's claw foot tub.

Lovely sitting porch! Have a cocktail and watch the neighborhood go by.

**If you see an ad on Craigslist it is a scam! Do not contact through CL! I have no CL ads.*

Want a true Austin experience? Come to The B Hive: We are located in one of the oldest neighborhoods in Austin. Hyde Park is a diversely aged community. With 50 year residents, young families, artists, and college students - and most of them walk, jog or bike by the fabulous front porch. With the Elisabet Ney museum across the street and 100+ year old homes you can get a great feeling for what our city is all about.

Well stocked modern kitchen! : With a kitchen island, bar stools, little kitchen table, ice maker, filtered water and well stocked pantry. All the pots and pans you could want. We also have many small appliances - hand mixer, toaster, coffee grinder, coffee maker, french press (can you tell we like coffee?) We also provide locally roasted - You won't be lacking for anything.

Baths: Two bathrooms each with shower - one is brand new with glass tiles and a rain shower head. Oversized 1920's claw foot tub in front bath. Organic cotton plush towels, some amenities, vintage styling.

Outdoor Space: Back yard is fully fenced for kids and dogs. Great back yard patio with table, grassy area and gas grill.

Front Porch: Fabulous front porch with a ceiling fan for the hot months and lap blankets for the cold ones. Go back in time to the early 1900's and sit on the porch with a cold or warm drink or snack. Enjoy the old charm of our neighborhood. Waste some time watching everyone go by!

Close to UT : 15 minute walk to the stadium or just jump on the bus! Three miles from downtown. Two blocks from bus stop - One block from Shipe Park, Fresh Plus Grocery, Asti Trattoria, Quack's Bakery, Julio's Mexican Café and Hyde Park Bar and Grill - Just to name a few. Across the street from the historic Elizabet Ney Museum

More Details
Hide Details

We are the 5 Monkeys! As the moniker suggests we are a family of 5. ~Dad, Eric, an avid bike rider and artist. The original works of art around the house are his creations. And are for sale. He is a third generation Austinite. ~Mom, Lianna Sr., creative master of the domestic arts (or so her sister says!) Born in Houston, she has lived in Austin for 27 years. ~Lianna Jr, 17 a HS Senior, is a writer. Loves learning Japanese. ~Madison Dudley, 11 is in 6th grade. Is a great artist in his own right. ~Oliver Angus, 9 is in 4th grade. Wants to be a piano playing rock star. ~We also have an Irish Setter named Rufous, a Great Dane named Izzy and a Russian tortoise named Zippy. As a family we love to camp, travel, bike (of course), watch movies, see live music, being with our family, being with our “village” and just being together.

Lianna Mills purchased this house in 2008

We have lived in Hyde Park for 15 years. What a great little neighborhood! When we wanted to host folks in Austin we decided to buy this house as a short term vacation rental. The bungalow was built in 1927 and we have big plans for it. It has obviously been renovated but more can be done! Simple things like the dining room chandelier actually hanging over the dining table to completely changing the kitchen configuration. Eventually the garage will be turned into a detached sleeping porch, with the idea of having parties/wedding receptions out there or simply renting it out along with the house. So come back and see the evolution of this charming house. The name? Well, Eric and I came up with the name based on how lively the corner of Avenue H and 44th St. is. Why not “Bee” instead of “B”? Twenty years ago when Eric and I got engaged we started calling each other “B”. It has just stuck. This house is a labor of love from both of us so it just seemed apropos. No one but us knows what “B” stands for. It’s just too silly to say out loud.

The B Hive has a welcoming, safe feel to it. The previous owners, our fabulous guests, and our family have left a vibe that cannot be described. This wonderful house is, also, in an amazing location. On two dead ends you can sit on the porch and watch the neighborhood go by. Which they do! On bike, skate board, walking, running, pushing strollers, talking, laughing,..... If someone rings a bike bell wave!

27 Reviews of Property 265165 in Austin, Texas

The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 27 reviews
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
Texarkana, TX
4

Super Roomy - Great Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location near UT campus. Walked to DKR-Memorial stadium for football game. House well maintained in older neighborhood; fenced yard great for our dogs. Well provisioned with grinder for great coffee. Lots of restaurants within walking distance as well as grocery. We will be coming back.
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
5

Exceptional Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family recently stayed in this home while in Austin for my daughter's graduation from UT. There was 6 adults and we had plenty of room. The home is very comfortable, very clean and the amenities are great. We enjoyed riding the bicycles, sitting on the porch, and walking to restaurants. The owner is super easy to work with and very welcoming. We look forward to staying here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
United States
5

Comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We recently stayed at the B Hive while my husband attended a glass fusing class. The house is well equipped and homey comfortable. We had guests from Houston for the weekend and everyone enjoyed their own space. The house is in an awesome neighborhood with many bungalows that have been renovated. We were able to walk to resturants, a small grocery store and a wonderful bakery to buy birthday treats.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
Friendswood, TX
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Great house in a very convenient neighborhood! We love staying here when we come to Austin because it is so roomy, comfortable and nicely stocked. You can walk to the heart of Hyde Park and visit great restaurants, cheese shop, grocery store, convenience store and more. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
4

BHive RnR

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I cannot say enough about this neighborhood! Walking distance to a bakery with scrumptious cherry danish, fabulous restaurants for dinner and late night gelato all in a bustling yet quiet neighborhood. The neighborhood pool is very well maintained and well enjoyed by the kids. The house has old world charm with modern day amenities and was stocked full of everything we could possibly need... the Pinot was very appreciated!!! My favorite part was simply sitting on the front porch. The location of the house offered easy access to the rest of Austin as well. Within 30 minutes from the house we were in kayaks on the river heading toward Congress St. bridge! Thank you very much for sharing your house and we hope to come back.
Owner's Response: Thank for staying at The B Hive! Please do come back anytime.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
Tyler
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The B Hive was exactly as described; even better. It was perfect for our stay. The home was very well maintained and equipped with everthing we would ever need. The owner was very accessible and so gracious. The neighborhood is wonderful with alot of fun things to see and do as well as great restaurants all within walking or biking distance. We would definitely recommend this property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
upstate New York
5

The B Hive is the Best!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband and I plus my son and daughter-in-law just loved renting this super comfortable, well-appointed and clean house in a great and convenient neighborhood in Austin. We rented it the week before my granddaughter's graduation from UT's law school. It was amazingly close to everything. The printed VRBO description fits the property perfectly in every way. The open single-floor plan and the marvelously appointed kitchen were wonderful as were the two spacious bedrooms each with their own bathrooms. The two comfy couches. coffee table plus reading chair with foot stool, reading lamps and dining table gave us plenty of room to all spread out. Somehow we never got around to turning on the very large flat screen TV . Too busy! Invited four of our granddaughter's friends for dinner one night and all 9 of us sat comfortably around the dining room table. My son and I both love cooking and he loved using the gas grill on the back patio one night and I used the oven for the dinner party. Everything you need to cook with and to serve in is there. Amazing!!! All appliances were up to date and worked well. AND......we had a chance to meet the owners on our last day...... and that was a treat! They both take great pride in their rental property and they should. They care about their renters and want their guests to have a great experience. And we did!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for all!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: What a fabulous family! Thank you so much for staying with us. Please come back again and again.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
Durham NC
5

A highly recommended house with unmatched character and charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The four of us immediately fell in love with the house upon arrival. The character and charm of the bungalow, friendliness of the neighbors, and the rich and unique culture of the surrounding community just made it all the better.

As well, the owners were just a phone call away and were eager to drop helpful hints and suggestions on Austin (and their personal) favorite spots to visit and dine. From top to bottom, the house far exceeded our expectations - but was exactly what we needed!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: What a fabulous foursome! I hope y'all come and stay with us again and again. You left a great happy vibe in our house. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
Stephenviile,TX
5

Awesome location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Loved this place! Had an awesome surprise 50th birthday weekend for my mom! Nice neighborhood, close to everything, everything you need for cooking at the house and nice beds! Fun little surprises we weren't expecting too! Going back asap!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad your mom was surprised! I was hoping she would take the orchid. It was her present from me. Please visit us soon!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
The B Hive - Full Austin Experience - Flash Sale!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265165
+1 5127362807
Austin Austin area
5

Easter week at the BHive was perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The BHive was a perfect Austin base for our family of 4. The neighborhood was fun to explore - it was great to have a bakery, grocery, restaurants, and a basketball court all in easy walking distance. The house was set up with everything we could need including baskets for Easter, coffee, bikes and a basketball. We give the BHive 5 stars.
Owner's Response: What an incredible family! I hope y'all come back again and again!
Helpful votes: 0/1