Fairhope house rental - Winter Sunset
Winter Sunset
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fairhope House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

20 feet from the water, this cozy, quiet waterfront getaway on Mobile Bay in Fairhope, Alabama is a perfect place for writing, painting, or just hanging around on the wharf catching Blue Crabs. The town of Fairhope is a quaint bay-front village that began in the 19th century as an artists colony, and it still retains much of this feel, couched in a Deep-South warmth.

The center of town has many quaint shops that add to this charm and evoke a feeling of stepping back in time. The house itself invites you to sit and rock, watch the pelicans, herons, and gulls fly overhead, and boil some of those crabs you catch on the pier.

For those who can tear themselves away from the boiling of seafood and the clink of ice in the glass, the Gulf of Mexico is but a short drive away. Have a good time, and remember: This is the home of 'Forrest Gump', 'Cheeseburgers in Paradise' (found at Pirate's Cove), 'Margaritaville', and in nearby Mobile, the original Mardi Gras!

GREAT WAYS TO ENJOY THE HOUSE

Brush your teeth on the deck by the light of the full moon;

Sleep out on the pier at least once if you can;

Turn off the ac/heat and open all of the windows when there is a breeze so that you can hear the sound of the water washing up on the rocks;

Count the number of pelicans that pass over the house in the afternoon;

Don’t miss a sunset;

Read more; watch TV less;

Serve drinks or dinner on the pier;

Look for porpoises chasing shrimp up and down the bay. When they are active you can see them 100-200 ft. off the end of the long piers;

Meet the neighbors; they are very nice;

Use the deck shower as often as you can;

Act out one of Shakespeare’s plays (there is a full set on the bookshelf);

As the kitchen is well equipped, learn how to make Creole Seafood Gumbo or West Indies Salad with the crabs that you catch (e-mail me for a recipe if you like).

Keywords: Bayfront Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

I: From Mobile/School at McGill and Spring Hill/Then to D.C./Background in International Relations/Wine Consultant/Love Fairhope, New Orleans, New York, and Hawaii/Love to Cook.

My Wife: From France/International Marketer/Family of Winemakers and Engineers/Love Fairhope, The Pyrenees Mountains, New Orleans, and Chicago/Love to Bake.

Fairhope is a diamond in the rough! An artists' colony that doubles as a retirement community; a fun town that can be quiet; a village that is both civilized and laid back is hard to find indeed!

It is not only the proximity of our house to the beautiful body of water that is Mobile Bay that drew us to it, but also the pace and gentile nature of the town of Fairhope itself that makes this a genuinely special place in this country.

This is the closest house on the Eastern Shore to the water; only twenty feet! This makes the panoramic views fantastic, and your neighbors houses are built so far back that you don't even know they are there. Water views from every room are a great perk, and bay breezes through the windows are a treat! In addition, we own the lot next door, and our lots are among the deepest on this part of the bay, so there is a lot of room for children to play or to let your dogs run around.

Have we mentioned that we have the most well-equipped kitchen you will ever find in a vacation house?

Just read the reviews to see what we mean!

56 Reviews of Property 170332 in Fairhope, Alabama

'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
average rating of 4.946429 based on 56 reviews
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
5

'a Nouste, a great get away

'a Nouste, a great get away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
'a Nouste was a wonderful winter get away for my wife and me. It was absolutely everything the owner said it was and more. The house was clean, well kept, well organized and the neighborhood was quiet. Plus the views of the bay are indescribably beautiful.
There are attractions for people of any age only a few minutes from your drive way. If your looking for a big night out, Gulf Shores isn't all that far away. There you can find big name entertainment, plus you'll be able to find a number of upscale restaurants. But having said that, what we enjoyed most was staying around our quiet little corner of the world, kicking back, cooking and dining in at 'a Nouste.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
St. Louis, MO suburb
4

Christmas Runaways

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had 3 generations in our family and there was something appealing to everyone. Although it's a bit of a drive to pretty much anywhere to eat, the access was easy and always scenic. We especially enjoyed the mall in Foley which we came across by accident - you should mention it on your site. The "tween" and teen in our group loved it (and so did this senior). The house was everything it promised. It was clean, roomy, comfy and well stocked with games and kitchen supplies. The boys loved catching their first crabs and being able to cook and eat them. My only suggestions would be that you update the TV listings in your book as they do not match the TV at all, and put a curtain in the bathroom window or just a couple of hooks to cover it with a towel so those going to the deck bathroom cannot see in. The sunsets from the deck were amazing. It was a little too cool at night to leave the windows open, but we still enjoyed watching the birds. It was a great place for us all to relax and unwind and we all had a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
5

Thanksgiving Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband, my brother and I stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday at this lovely
cottage. Also along for the trip were our 2 Black Labs Muffin and Ziva. We all
enjoyed the views from the front porch. The dogs watched intently the water fowl
wishing they could chase them. Of course they did not. The cottage was very clean
and comfortable. We ate most of our meals with family in Spanish Fort but the
kitchen was well stocked when we did cook. Very pleasant experience.
Our TV had to be rebooted and Sabin was very helpful with this process.
Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
Birmingham, Alabama
5

A Hidden Gem on Mobile Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
'a Nouste' Bay Cottage was a wonderful place to stay while attending a conference in Point Clear. It was inviting, clean, well furnished, and had a view of the bay that could not have been topped. So many little extras that you wouldn't expect to find in a vacation rental. Will definitely return with my family for vacation this year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
Birmingham, AL
5

Property Review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I selected the property due to its proximity to Foley and the point of departure for the fishing guide that we were using. I would describe the place as a combination between simple elegance and rustic comfortable. It is very clean, in excellent repair, comfortably furnished, well-stocked with cooking and grilling needs, and the ambiance is relaxing and pleasant. The view from the wrap around porch and deck is absolutely stunning at sunrise and sunset. I would highly recommend the property for parties of 4, or less. I am planning on returning soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
Atlanta, GA
5

All we had hoped for---and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
If you are looking for a delightful place to exhale from a busy life, you'll find a little piece of heaven with a visit to 'A Nouste' in Fairhope. Perfectly located right on the bay, the views rival anything I have seen and we do a lot of traveling. My family and I took a long weekend in October to celebrate a birthday, and our stay at the home was all we had hoped for --and more. We loved that our sweet dog could join us and enjoy the sunshine and seagulls while chilling on the deck, and that the owner was so wonderful about pets-- which can be rare. Whether enjoying coffee in the breakfast area or settling down on a rocking chair on the deck, you'll be surrounded by beautiful views of the water for as far as you can see. In addition to a lovely house (that has everything you could need at hand), the owner attends to every detail to ensure that your stay exceeds expectations. Working with Sabin was a true pleasure. He loves to share his family's home and watch people create new memories of their own. We have already booked our next trip(s)! We highly recommended 'A Nouste' for your next getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
Birmingham
5

Convenient location for great birding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Extended days of bird watching ended with peaceful sunsets on the lovely porch. Counted 26 species from the rocking chair! Near Weeks Bay, Ft. Morgan, Dauphin Island and the little known but productive Daphne walking trail. Good location for birders following Spring and Fall Migration along the Alabama Coastal Bird Trail.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
West Monroe LA
5

Quite a place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A Nouste was exactly as described. Enjoyed a long weeken with close friends. All the amenities were pleasure able and in great shape. Relaxed, fished, shopped and enjoyed some great meals prepared right at the cottage! Looking forward to returning some time in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
Land O Lakes, FL
5

' a Nouste ' Labor Day 2013

' a Nouste ' Labor Day 2013
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our niece was getting married on Labor Day weekend. We decided to turn the wedding event into a vacation as well. The house on the bay was the perfect location. The home is in great shape, and very well maintained. All the furnishings were in place. All we had to do was a little grocery shopping and we were set. The evenings on the deck were fabulous, providing a great sunset in the evenings. We also did some fishing from the dock on a couple of occasions. Fairhope offers some great sightseeing, and you can visit a number of local antique stores. We also visited the Eastern Shore Art Center, where we purchased two paintings created by local artist. The Blue Marlin restaurant provides nice comfort food at reasonable prices. The location is great for day trips; we went to New Orleans on one day, and Biloxi on another. In sum, we had a great stay, and would recommend this location to anyone, especially a family, interested in a nice comfortable location with the beach atmosphere and also the comfort of being in your own home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'A Nouste' (Ah-Noost) Bay Cottage Twenty Feet from the Water
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p170332vb
(203) 297-0238 (Connecticut, USA)
Fairhope Alabama Gulf Coast
SF Bay Area
5

Great stay over the bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
A Nouste is a cozy, well equipped Bay cottage right on the water. Great views, tranquil and lovely setting. Convenient location at Mullet Pt. not far from Downtown Fairhope, Fish River, Magnolia Springs. Easy drive to Gulf Shores. Owners are super helpful and provided great recommendations for dining, shopping. Wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1