Waimea house rental - Beach Front "Hale Lokahi"
Beach Front "Hale Lokahi"
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Waimea House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

SAND, SUN, OCEAN and FUN at the BEACH.

Welcome to 'Hale Lokahi', where the only thing between the lanai and the ocean is the long sandy beach that seems to go for miles. The covered oceanfront lanai runs the full width of the house, so you have a front row seat from which to view sizzling sunsets over the ocean towards the island of Niihau. There are very few actual beachfront houses on the Westside, as most have a road between the house and the ocean. BUT NOT HERE!

You can walk to anything and everything from this location. The Waimea River is just short walk away offering fishing and kayaking opportunities. In less than 5 minutes, you can walk to either of the large grocery stores in Waimea, several restaurants and shops, or take in a movie at the Historic Waimea Theater. Walk in the footsteps of Captain Cook, where he came ashore in 1778 as the first Westerner to come to Hawaii. This is old Hawaii and far from the tourist crowds. Quiet and peaceful with the dry sunny climate that guarantees you the best weather for your vacation.

This lovely “beach cottage” belongs to one of the older families of Kauai. Until recently, it was used exclusively by their large family as a place to get together and enjoy the beach. Newly renovated, they have opened up their home to share with a few lucky vacationers. This may be just the place you have been looking for.

This one story cottage sits on a large oceanfront lot and offers 3 bedrooms, two of which are Oceanside, and all 3 have a/c. There are three full baths, so no one has to wait to get ready to enjoy the day. Life here is meant to be lazy and enjoyed. Take a long walk on the beach, sit in the shade of the covered lanai, or just enjoy a good book waiting for one of those fabulous Westside sunsets. Because we face westward, this is the only part of the island that has a sunset view over the ocean, and what a view this is. This house is spacious enough for 3 couples, a large family, or a couple celebrating their wedding with a wonderful honeymoon. There is a large kitchen, fully equipped to make a gourmet meal at home served at your own private ocean-side table. All the furniture and bedding is new along with an updated kitchen and baths. It’s not likely that you will have a rainy day here on the Westside, but if you want to catch one of those morning football games or watch a movie, you have a new 40'' flat screen LCD television complete with 'High Definition' Cable service! We also have a blu-Ray/DVD player, stereo system with CD and ipod dock, and of course, wireless Internet so you can stay stay connected.

So what are you waiting for? If you have the time, we have the perfect place for your vacation.

** This property is an approved vacation rental Licensed by the County of Kauai. #TVNC-1126 **

State of Hawaii Business Registration # W 40463224-01

TO SEE WHAT OUR GUESTS ARE SAYING, PLEASE CHECK OUT THE TRAVELER REVIEW SECTION BELOW THE PICTURES....

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

22 Reviews of Property 264905 in Waimea, Hawaii

True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
5

Beautiful Home! View is breathtaking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved our stay here! the view from the house everyday was such a treat! The sunset's were amazing! The house was fully stocked with everything we needed! Wish we would of gone to the house before we went to Costco! Chad was fantastic to work with! Very helpful and professional! Highly recommend this property! Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us Chad!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
St. Marys, Georgia
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This was absolutely perfect!! Everything about the house and the week were better than we had hoped for. I have been to Hawaii 13 times since the mid 1970's and this was the best yet. We loved the quite side of the Island. Walking to the two grocery stores, the coffee shop, the Shave Ice almost every day and being treated like locals was probably the best part of the day. We only went on two "tours", the Blue Dolphin Napli Coast trip and the Canyon downhill bike ride. Both were well worth the money and highly enjoyable. The rest of teh time we just took one day at a time. You owe it to yourself to have a "Puka Dog", and the walking tour at the Kauai Coffee Plantation was informative and fun. We now "order" our coffee!!! My only hesitation about offering this review is that I don't want the house to book up to the point that we can't come back!!! You won't find a better place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Los Angeles, California, USA
5

Wonderful Vacation at Hale Lokahi!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We all THOROUGHLY enjoyed our stay at Hale Lokahi !!!!! Thank you to Chad and management for making the experience very easy to book and very easy to enjoy!

I think the pix on the website are very thorough in describing the place - when you walk in from the garage, the beach view is EXCEPTIONAL! - everyone gasped - and I felt so happy that what I'd chosen for the family received that response. This was to be our picture window for a whole week! What the site doesn't describe are the full pantries and additional amenities (unexpected snorkel gear, bug spray, sun screen, e.g.). We used from the larder and replenished - seems like that's what the guests do. It was much appreciated! It was truly our own house, comfortable and accommodating.

My husband and I (in the master bedroom) sometimes had trouble sleeping because the waves were so POUNDING. That was perhaps the only drawback, getting a good night's sleep, but what could we expect, right ON the beach? Several other people who'd written in the house journal loved the ocean waves that lulled them to sleep. May depend on the time of year for the noise level? (we were there in late June 2013) Also, we've learned that rooster crowing is something you just can't get away from on the island, no matter where you are. Good thing we could relax and nap, if needed.

We all appreciated the clean, well-kept house, maps and books about Kauai and welcome basket. Clear instructions and directions, able to reach a manager if needed, very well organized!

Our adventures included Birds in Paradise motorized hang gliding above Kauai; Kipu Ranch ATV adventure (off road vehicles you drive yourself in the back country, leading to the site where they filmed Indiana Jones and waterfalls, includes lunch, VERY fun!), spectacular Waimea Canyon, snorkeling, of course sightseeing, JoJo's Shave Ice, Ishihara Market, and one day when we all just stayed home the whole day and played games and ate snacks, enjoying the lanai!

Staying at this house was a huge part of our fabulous week. We'd love to return and do business with you any time! We highly recommend this house!

Note about the beachfront: this is not a beach you can swim in, you have to drive to access snorkel beaches. There is muddy runoff from a nearby river so the water isn't always blue blue blue, but you can walk to a local pier and back and you're surrounded by blue water everywhere else, right? Also, the neighborhood is VERY low key, laid back, rustic, dusty. RELAX!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
5

Welcome to 'Hale Lokahi'

Welcome to 'Hale Lokahi'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was a wonderful home away from home. This was not our first stay on Kauai, but it was our first stay in Waimea. We loved it! The home was welcoming and well stocked. Most everything was provided. All of the furniture is comfy. The lanai is fabulous! We ate all of our meals out there. The views are fantastic. The yard is big enough for the kids to play. It was nice that they had somewhere to play that wasn't right next to the water. It is somewhat private. Though people do drive by on the beach side to fish or whatnot. It was nice to have the river as well as the ocean right there. The house is also stocked with some water & sand toys as well as some fishing gear. My family felt so at home they did not want to leave. The kids asked if anyone would notice if we just stayed there.

The locals were very friendly. Some of the local kids played with my kids daily. I love how local kids address you as Auntie. The staff at Ishihari Market was great. We walked over daily to get groceries and or goodies. The deli in the back is phenomenal! Don't be afraid to try it. They have the best tako salad, poi mochi & poke among many other yummy delights. Groceries are fairly priced there. Some of the best shave ice is also in walking distance. Jojo's shave ice on Kaumualii Highway. We walked all over town and everything you need is there.

The weather in Waimea was great too. A few times we drove to the east side to visit with friends. A few times it was cooler and raining over there. But nice and sunny in Waimea. It was a fantastic experience to stay in a beachfront home. We felt so at home there. The town is small and friendly. There aren't many tourists around so you can get a real sense of what life is like there. I would highly recommend it. We had a great time.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Portland OR
5

Excellent 1st time experience in Kauai!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned from a week long stay at this rental. We had never been to Kauai before and relied on VRBO reviews to guide us in where to stay - we were truly happy with this rental and being able to be on the ocean was truly the highlight of our trip. The other reviews are accurate and I would HIGHLY recommend this vacation home to others, particularly families with children. We traveled with my parents (both retired) and our two year old son. The rental was plenty large enough for all of us to have room to spend time together, and to have quiet time alone. We enjoyed nightly meals and breakfast every day on the lanai - it was such a treat to fall asleep to the sound of the waves and walk out to the beach to see the stars at night. We've stayed at several other VRBOs in the past, and this was more well stocked than most - we found lots of condiments, sand toys, sun screen, etc, all of which we appreciated given the high cost of items on the Island. For us, Waimea was a perfect location. We wanted to be away from the crowds (we went during high season) and stay someplace that would allow us to experience small town Kauai - this fit the bill. We also wanted to be close to hiking, and were able to do several dayhikes in nearby Waimea Canyon. Finally, we wanted to be guaranteed sun as we were coming from the northwest in the winter - we had sun every day in Waimea, even when it was raining on the rest of the Island. While the beach in front of the condo was not safe for swimming, our son enjoyed playing in the sand and we could watch whales and boats in the distance - not bad! We went to Salt Pond Beach Park, which is the closest swimmable beach for children, and it was only 10 minutes away. Aside from Salt Pond, you are close to Polihale, Hanapepe (a great art town) and Port Allen (where Napali cruises leave from).
This house truly felt like a home away from home - just what you want when traveling with family! We hope to return on our next visit to Kauai. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Wells, Maine
5

A Fabulous Experience In So Many Ways!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family and I stayed at Hale Lokahi for 2 weeks this past August. What an amazing experience! We were looking for an off-resort-non-touristy place to stay that was still in a good location. Hale Lokahi met our criteria perfectly and exceeded our expectations.

First, let me say that the property manager, Chad, was extremely pleasant, professional, and quick to respond to all of our inquiries. Renting with him was simple and stress-free! It was a pleasure working with him and we would do it again in a heart beat.

The house itself is the best-stocked rental we’ve ever stayed in. We didn’t have to find too much on our own. For those items we did need to purchase (i.e. – groceries), Ishihara was right around the corner and had friendly staff and unique local foods. We HIGHLY recommend getting the lau lau on Fridays. Other delicious food options that were down the street are Island Taco and The Shrimp Station. Fine dining was within a reasonable driving distance. We particularly enjoyed Merriman’s and The Beach House both in Koloa.

Beach-wise, there were many options. Of course Hale Lokahi is situated right on the beach. We spent lots of time out on the lanai watching the sun sets over dinner. The most beautiful beach we found was Polihale. The best snorkeling beach for us was Tunnels.

As for activities our favorite tour was with the Napali Riders who are conveniently located 2 minutes down the street. They run a zodiac tour of the north shore.

Finally, since we were more or less across the way from the entrance to Waimea Canyon we were easily able to do a few drives and hikes. The views were amazing! However, if we had to choose a favorite hike it would be the Kalalau trail starting on the northeast side of the island. It had beautiful views and the waterfall was well worth the effort to get there.

Overall, we had a fantastic time and can’t wait to do it again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Excellent Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I took a chance booking a place to stay via the internet and not a travel agent. Well - GREAT results !! This vacation home was exactly what we were looking for and then some. 6 adults - plenty of room, MANY evenings on the lanai just relaxing together. We toured the majority of the island easily and then came "home" each evening to just de-stress from hectic lives. There's so much we didn't have time to actually do, but some of the things we did: Waimea Canyon, Salt Pond Beach, Pouipu Beach, Spouting Horn, Kauai Coffee Plantation, Outfitters Zipline Adventure, Shopping at Kapaa, Lydegate beach (where we had a picnic) and so much more. I'll be looking for other properties on other islands for future vacations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Austin
5

HIKERS HEAVEN IN BEACHFRONT HOME!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
One of our best vacation rentals ever!!! This is a perfectly located beachfront home in the town that’s closest to the state park and Waimea Canyon, which has many remarably beautiful long and short hikes. Plus you’ll see stunning sunsets and you’ll have gorgeous ocean views from nearly every room. There's a large covered lanai with a full size dining table that's perfect for meals or you can eat in the dining room inside the house. The house is fully equipped and very well maintained with every convenience you’d want, and it’s an easy one mile walk on the beach to the best restaurant in Waimea or a two to three block walk to several other restaurants.

Chad, the property manager, is extremely helpful and full of useful suggestions for experiences and local resources that will ensure you have a very special visit. We strongly suggest making a 5:30 to 6:00 pm reservation at the Fish House in Poipu to watch the sunset in this very special setting; will require making the reservation several weeks in advance.

We have rented over 20 vacation homes, and this is one we definitely plan to return to, partly because the house is so special and partly because Kauai is uniquely beautiful among the Hawaiian islands.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
san jose ca
5

have stayed here twice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This house is just about perfect. It is the only one right on the beach in this area. To be able to sit on the patio and watch the sunsets, and then walk the beach practically alone is a great experience. The house has every thing you need, and very intuitively placed. We have stayed here for a week on two occasions now and it is a wonderful place to have as a base and then explore the island. The property manager was the BEST...so nice and pleasant to work with. The kitchen is part of the big room so easy to cook and still be involved. You can see by how few open days there are, that this is a very popular house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
True Beach-Front House on Kauai's Westside, in Historic Waimea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264905vb
(585) 314-6050 (New York, USA)
Waimea Kauai
Moscow, ID
5

7 days warm/sunny days in Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Sorry it has taken so long to post this review. I think I was in denial about being back in Idaho.

The stay in Waimea was great. We did spend some time on the road but, without fail, we would return to "our house" to find warm weather and a beautiful sunset. The location on the water was a treat and we enjoyed being in a town of locals better than our past resort experiences. The guy at Ishahira market even asked me if I was on my way to work after my 3rd morning of stopping in for masubu and coffee. We sat out on the beach every night and it was almost our private beach (except for the locals driving down the beach to the park).

Chad was great with quick responses to emails and a great attitude. Had one issue with the city water supply and the local support person was quick to find out what was going on and kept us informed.

Thanks Chad. We hope to have the opportunity to stay at this property again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/8