St. Augustine house rental - Upper Porch With A Great View And Breeze
Upper Porch With A Great View And Breeze
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

St. Augustine House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

Within easy walking distance to the center of town, restaurants, parks, the museums, historic sites, commercial center and night life including period bars and ghost tours. This home is set back off the street as it has been for almost 150 years. This offers a private perch allowing you to watch the world go by from the 2nd floor balcony. Located in the quite side of town, with a beautifully planted garden and covered by a 250+ year old Live Oak tree, you can hear the birds, carriages and the bells from the many churches near by.

Located 1 house away from the house built for Thomas Jefferson's great-granddaughter Maria Jefferson Epes Shine who quite possibly rode carriages that set out from the Carriage House. Just 5 minutes walk from beautiful Flagler College (formerly the Henry Flagler Ponce de Leon Hotel) and built in the in the Spanish Renaissance Revival style it has been described by US News and World Report as one of the Southeast regions best comprehensive liberal arts colleges.

Many a horse and buggy backed up to the old carriage house and still do, as in recent years the house has hosted its share of weddings with carriage taking recently married brides and grooms on tours of the city, on to the reception or off for the honeymoon. Constructed in the latter half of the 1800's, the house was converted into a full residence and private quarters in the 1920's with removal of stable and double doors. The downstairs rooms originally held carriages and tack (now bedrooms and foyer), while the upstairs was built to house the groomsman.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

We (Barry & Brigid) have traveled extensively in our sailboat and more conventionally enjoyed many work and leisure trips to various parts of the world including UK, many parts of Europe, Egypt and India. Barry is an internationally recognized Microbiologist who specializes in food safety and hospital infection control. Originally from Chicago, Brigid is a Reading Therapist who works with Dyslexic children helping to bring them the joy of the written word. We both enjoy taking part in various types of restoration projects like the carriage house.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Within easy walking distance to the center of town, restaurants, parks, the museums, historic sites, commercial center and night life. This home is set back off the street as it has been for almost 150 years. This offers a private perch allowing you to watch the world go by from the 2nd floor balcony. Located in the quite side of town, with a beautifully planted garden and covered by a 200+ year old Live Oak tree, you can hear the birds, carriages and the bells from the many churches near by. Located 1 house away from the house built for Thomas Jefferson's great-granddaughter Maria Jefferson Epes Shine who quite possibly rode carriages that set out from the Carriage House. Just 5 minutes walk from beautiful Flagler College (formerly the Henry Flagler Ponce de Leon Hotel) and built in the in the Spanish Renaissance Revival style it has been described by US News and World Report as one of the Southeast regions best comprehensive liberal arts colleges.

56 Reviews of Property 265712 in St. Augustine, Florida

Beautiful Florida Carriage House
average rating of 4.964286 based on 56 reviews
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Charlotte, North Carolina
5

Halloween Week in St. Augustine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We stayed at the Carriage House for a week leading into Halloween. We had an amazing time. It was like a home away from home. Very clean and organized so you are not searching for things that you would need. It is decorated in such a warm way that it feels like you are staying with family. I have three young children and the house worked out great for us. We loved having the kitchen so that we didn't have to eat all of our meals out and the washer and dryer was a huge plus (I have two boys). We really enjoyed the second floor balcony. We sat out there many times (day and night) and watched the world go by. The horse and carriage pass right by the house (that was really incredible). We enjoyed walking to all of the local attractions...we only needed the car to go to go on a day trip to the Space Center and we went to the beach for the day (a short drive over the Bridge of Lions). We'd rather walk to the attraction and drive to the beach. That worked for us because you can park right on the beach and you can make your car the home base for all of your beach equipment. I usually don't like beaches that you can drive on because I then we have to worry about the kids and cars. The traffic on this beach was very light and far enough back from the water that you don't really notice. We spent Halloween there and the children loved being dressed like pirates walking down the old streets of St. Augustine. We hope to have another chance to stay in the future. I think that St. Augustine has adventures for every age group.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks,
We enjoyed having you choose the Carriage House for your visit to
St Augustine. Please think of us on your next trip to our area.
Helpful votes: 14/14
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

the gathering place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We have done well renting from homeaway from New Hampshire to florida. I look at the pictures and read the reviews. the carriage house was such a welcoming, clean and beautifully decorated house. Brigid was very accomadating and had all the comforts of home available to us. we were in town for a family wedding, and were able to walk into town, including to the church. You really don't need a car, besides the parking is hard, unless you want to go to the beach. St. Augustine is so beautiful that you don't want to miss it all by driving by it. We saw so many historic old buildings, and enjoyed visiting the oldest wooden school house with my 2 daughters, the teachers. Took lots of great pics. We ate at O c Whites, Harry's and A1 on the corner by the water. Loved eating outside and food was great. Went across the Bridge of Lions to the Lighthouse, it's about $10.00 per person to go up, but there was a lot to see on the grounds also. Our friends were staying at a nearby hotel, and we would gather at the house, had so much fun. We definitely made the right choice in renting the house instead of a hotel, we only had breakfast and snacks and drinks, and ate out most of our meals. Thank you Brigid for making our stay so enjoyable. I would recommend this house for families, or three couple would fit nicely.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Convenient and comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The Carriage House is in a terrific location in a very walkable city full of good restaurants and interesting attractions. The Whetstone chocolate tour and the Distillery tour, both just a few blocks away, were fascinating. The house is well and tastefully supplied and there is a pleasant patio to the side. The stairs might be a little steep for someone who has trouble walking. The owners responded quickly to all questions. The neighborhood is full of well-behaved college students who travel by skateboard. Jacksonville and Daytona are an easy drive away. We would happily come back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
DeLand,FL , USA
5

Carriage House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We recently stayed at the Carriage House and found it to be very comfortable and the location was wonderful. Quiet street, nice balcony, comfy furniture. Bathrooms and kitchen are small but worked for us. We had six adults stay in the three bedrooms, and slept well!
The whole place was very clean, as well.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

This home embodies all the charm, beauty and history St. Augustine has to offer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We could not have been more pleased with our choice for a rental home in the beautiful historic city of St. Augustine. There's plenty of off-street parking which was great because once we arrived, we barely used our car all week. Within a 15- minute walk we were right in the heart of downtown, which hosts so much inspiring architecture, amazing eateries and fantastic artisan shops. The home itself is well-maintained and so inviting. Each of the 3 bedrooms feels like its own retreat and 3 different patio/porch areas offer plenty of options from morning coffee right through to evening cocktails. There is an ample supply of both kitchen and bath linens and the washer/dryer was great to have after a long day at the beach. The owners were very quick to respond to any questions we had prior to arrival and were very pleasant to communicate with. I would definitely recommend this home for a stay in St. Augustine.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

Great time in St. Augustine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Charming, cozy, quaint, lovely....just a few adjectives to describe the house. Location was great, short walk to downtown St. Augustine. Very much enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Michigan
5

Carriage House Saint Augustine, Florida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was very clean and looked just like the photos that we looked at. The owner was so pleasant and very helpful. She answered all of our questions. Very quite and roomy. I would deffinately recomend this house to anyone visiting the aera. Carriage House is a close walk to downtown historic district.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

An Old Town Gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
It is with mixed feelings that I write this review as I do not want to let of go of my secret hide away in my favorite city! I was enchanted with the Carriage House from the moment we turned into the driveway and saw the twinkling lights across the veranda welcoming us to this special place. There was not a nook or cranny that I did not adore! The rooms were beautifully decorated to give it the sense of history and character it deserves. The Carriage House is the back drop of many precious memories of my week in St. Augustine.

To say that the property is clean and well maintained is an understatement. The location is perfect if you plan to spend time enjoying historical St. Augustine. Everything is within easy walking distance. The property is beautifully landscaped and set far off the street - very private. There are is a private deck off the master bedroom that is surrounded by gardens, a covered front patio and beautiful second floor veranda to spend time outdoors enjoying the beautiful weather or to watch the rain come down. I cannot wait to be sipping my coffee on the veranda again next year. Thank you Brigid and Barry for sharing this special place with us.

Dennis & Darci
Minneapolis, MN
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
Boonton, NJ
5

St. Augustine carriage house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The home is charming, comfortable and accessible to the historic area. We wee there for my daughter 's wedding and we loved it! The O'Donnells
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Florida Carriage House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p265712vb
(386) 546-3955 (Florida, USA)
St. Augustine St. Augustine Area
5

The Carriage House, St Augustine, Florida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our family stayed at The Carriage House recently for a week. The house was perfectly charming, well equipped and within easy walking distance of St Augustine with all of its great restaurants, art galleries and shopping.
We loved the veranda and relaxed there sipping tea or drinking wine and watching the world go by.
We were close enough to everything ( about ten minutes) but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Brigid ( the owner) was more than helpful when we had questions prior to our stay.
She recommended a few great places to eat as well as an eco boat tour where we saw dolphins and pelicans. This was the highlight of our week.
The week was wonderful and we can't wait to revisit The Carriage House.
Alan and Nancy Croft
Helpful votes: 4/4