Banner Elk cottage rental - Roomy private cottage with GREAT VIEWS
Roomy private cottage with GREAT VIEWS
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Banner Elk Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom with loft, 1.5 bath, sleeps 2-4

This cottage is located just outside Banner Elk midway between the ski slopes of Sugar and Beech Mtn. It is located on a 43 acre farm that is part of a conservation easement. This easement limits development and not only preserves the incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mountain, it also preserves the pastoral charm and tranquility of its surroundings. Every room has a view of the mountains, as well as the barns and pond in the foreground. There are 20 acres of farmland below you, including 5 acres of rhododendrun thicketed walking trails to explore. The wooded hill above you also has walking paths that take you to the top of the northern edge of Beech Mountain. (No Smoking, No Pets, No Parties, NO Children under 9)

I have loved this area ever since I attended the Outward Bound School at Table Rock. Ginny and I have always enjoyed hiking this area and find our time here very relaxing. My Uncle Clifford purchased this property when he was sent to the old Banner Elk hospital after dental school. His wife, Peggy, an avid naturalist, was the inspiration that established this farm as a conservation easement. With all the development in the area, we wanted the farmland to remind people of what this area used to be. We hope you appreciate our vision, and capture the feeling.

Marjy Ersbak, Property Mgr. purchased this cottage in 2009

When Dan Plyler built this home, we thought he had achieved the perfect cottage. It complemented the conservation easement surrounding this cottage, and we wanted to have an income to preserve the feeling of the area and protect it from becoming densely developed. The house focuses the attention on the incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mountain. It is also easy to access by road and still provides a sense of privacy and solitude.

29 Reviews of Property 264174 in Banner Elk, North Carolina

Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
average rating of 4.8965516 based on 29 reviews
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Great and Fantastic Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Beautiful property close to beautiful Banner Elk. The home has everything you would ever need! Hot tub, hiking, heated floors, huge shower, fireplace!! PERFECT for a small group!
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Monroe
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful time at the cabin.. It is Beautiful and just as described.. It is great for a Anniversary getaway or for a long family vacation.. The cabin has plenty of room, games, Books etc.. I would recommend this cabin to everyone!!
We came for our Anniversary, we come to Banner Elk every year and I will most def. make this my new Anniversary spot..
I had a death in the family while we were here, and I think the comforts of home as well as the solitude comforted me in that terrible time..
Thank you again for a wonderful stay..
Lori
Owner's Response: We are very sorry for your loss, Lori. And we look forward to your return.
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Relaxing. Convenient. Beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This place is definitely a "let's book again" stay. The cottage was clean and there were obvious, recent upgrades in the baths and kitchen. The cottage and hot tub were spotless and the surrounding patio with grill, and fire pit were beautifully landscaped. I loved drinking my morning coffee sitting in front of the living room window, looking at the mountains. The cottage is about ten (10) minutes away from restaurants, service stations, and not far from local grocery store chains. But, you're far away from traffic and city lights to enjoy peace and quiet. Grandfather Mountain hiking is a must for a first timer, but don't forget about Linville Falls. It's about a thirty minute drive and offers some beautiful scenery along the way.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

2nd visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I spent a week at Tranquility Cottage in July. This was our second visit in 4 months. We spent the last 5 days of March at the cottage and enjoyed it so much we came back again. The online photos do not do the cottage justice. We have been coming to Banner Elk for the last 11 years but just recently discovered this rental. I almost hate to let anyone else know about it. I don't want it to get too booked up.
Marjy is so helpful and wonderful to work with. We are hoping to close on some property in Banner Elk in the very near future. When we do and start building our own place we will continue to stay here or at the Potato House. You can not go wrong!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Over exceeded our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place was absolutely stunning. The pictures did it no justice! The view was amazing and the hot tub was extremely relaxing. My husband and I went for our 10 year anniversary and were extremely happy with the Tranquility Cottage!
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Summerville, SC
5

Winter Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Tranquility is right. This place is beautiful inside and out and has a wonderful view of Sugar Mountain off in the distance. It snowed on us during the majority of our stay so having a warm fireplace and Jacuzzi was perfect for us. The inside of the home is beautifully decorated and has everything one would need to eat in or cook out. The master bedroom has a wonderful king size mattress and my wife and I slept like babies. The bathrooms are modern and accented with wood and granite counters. The outside was covered with snow but we could tell the outdoor fire pit with rotisserie cooker would be perfect for outdoor cooking in the warmer months. My wife and I enjoyed this place so much that we will definitely come back. If you like tapas type restaurants, try Zuzda’s in Banner Elk.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Aaron, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We LOVE return renters!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Orlando
5

Feels like coming home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I came up to escape the summer heat after hearing my parents talk about Banner Elk every summer. This cottage exceeded all of our expectations- every window with a view and 3 choices of where to sit outside. The view from the living room is magnificent! We talk about returning all the time and keep our weather app on Banner Elk so we can check in!! We enjoyed the college, exploring, the restaurants and the weekly town entertainment. Mostly we just loved sitting outside in the evenings when the horses came up to eat...Dreaming of coming back...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
United States
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Everything was as advertised plus much more. Deer grazing in the front and back yards. Impeccable craftsmanship especially bathrooms. I was actually hesitant to review because I would like to keep it under the radar. Property manager helpful at all times before and after visit. Certainly didn't need anything during visit because so well taken care of and instructions were provided.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Rockville
5

A fun filled break in Banner Elk

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This was our first time to North Carolina and staying in Banner Elk, specially in Tranquility made it lots of fun and much more.

We arrived an hour early and spent the time looking around the house before the doors opened. We were very happy with our decision to rent Tranquility because of the breadth taking views it had to offer, when we got into the house we were pleasantly surprised, the upkeep of the house matched the views outside and even more. The house is very nicely done and very well equipped with careful thought given to what one might need to make them feel home away from home. Things like floor warmer, bathroom heater are a few little things that made our stay even more comfortable. We enjoyed staying there with my Husband and 14 months old son, it was my Birthday and Tranquility made it even more special. Kitchen is very well equipped and we missed absolutely nothing when we cooked a few times while we were there. Bed was big and comfortable enough to fit in our son along with us!

The location is very convenient with good restaurants and grocery store a few minutes drive away. Out of the eating places we went to, we loved Banner Elk Cafe and Frog and The Monkey most. Zucchini Bread at Banner Elk Cafe was yummy! Visit to Grandfather Mountain Park is a must, which is about 20 minutes drive from the place.

We are surely coming back - I believe this place can be the home to a wonderful vacation no matter what time of year it is. And I do agree to one the comments above, the pictures on the website do not do a justice to the beautiful and comfortable this place is.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Cottage with incredible views of Grandfather and Sugar Mtn
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p264174
609 672-4375
Banner Elk High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
St Augustine, FL
5

Second time as great as the first

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This is our second year in a row staying at Tranquility and it was as comfortable, convenient and relaxing as last time. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: David, we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you and yours in the New Year!