A Major Let Down
First, a distorted promise by " UNCLE DAN" to pick us up at the airport and down hill after that. It was advertised as small but should have read "tiny" or "miniscule". The room is an attachment to the owners house. It is shack like and badly in need of paint. The area surrounding one of the entry ways was messy in the extreme. The smelly uncovered garbage pails were a short distance from one of the doors. We were told there were bikes available before completing the rental agreement but not told that the property was on a cliff and one of the bikes had no gear changer and bicycling was out of the question.
The décor of the room was pathetic though the bed was comfortable. There was no real toaster available. There were several pots and pans but no stove. Some of the frying pans were coated with mold and stored in a moldy cupboard space. The louvered glass panelling beside the bed was dirty.
No fresh towels or linens were offered unless we asked for them.
We had preferred not to stay at Waikiki but were desperate and left "Unhappy Days" a wk. early for a lovely condo a block from the beach in west Waikiki for only slightly more money. We did not ask for a week's refund but would accept it if it was forthcoming.
One relieving feature was Ellie - a sweet lady.
This property could be what it is advertised if the problems listed above were addressed. eg. for one, at least curtain off the garbage area.
And by the way we live very ordinary lives and in very ordinary circumstance. We did not expect luxury.
Owner's Response: Well- i think constructive criticism is good, and i will definitely do something about those garbage cans. Sorry about the leuvers. We must've missed that. We would like to defend ourselves with the rest that was said. On the day our Guests were to arrive, and we had not heard from them, i decided to call, only to find out they were not coming for another week. Strange, i thot, they would not call to tell us that. When they arrived a week later, i did not charge them the monthly rate, but only for 3 weeks, which we did not have to do. But i felt bad they missed a week. Most rentals require payment in full before check in, and no show means you forfeit your payment. We only require a deposit, with balance due upon check in. And once checked in, no refunds for early check outs.
As our ad says, our place is small and we are up on a hill, as stated in the first page. To comment that we did not say this is simply untrue. We have a new toaster oven, so we do/did have a toaster, and we have a butane stove that works just fine. Yes, our place is simple, the decor, and as stated it is attached to our home/garage and it is as seen in the pictures. We are told by other guests our pics are very accurate.
Yes, I did tell them if they need a ride we could pick them up at the airport at 11:30 pm, but being in Hawaii for a week, to rent a car is best. When they suddenly informed me they were not coming for a week- i was no longer available to pick them up. Another couple, last year, from Russia, Ivan and Elena, could not afford a car at christmas time, so we did pick them up. Most do rent cars.
They asked if we had bikes. I told them my kids do, and they would be happy to let them use them. No charge of course, and not part of any contract. Sorry the bikes were not up to their standard. Towels and sheets? of course ellie makes sure those are supplied when asked for, and her standard is high for cleanliness. But will check those pots and pans better next time.
and then? one day they were gone- a week before they're scheduled check out- no word. no word of thanks. nothing. Well, as it is written " you can please some of the people all the time, and all of the people some of the time, but you cannot please all the people, all the time"- i think Abraham Lincoln said that- But rather than going on defending ourselves further, for the benefit of future Guests, i will let our other 30 plus reviews thru out the years speak for us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?