Seal Cove cottage rental - Seal Ledges with lawn for croquet or field games
Seal Ledges with lawn for croquet or field games
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Seal Cove Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom (1 King- 1 twin bedroom), 1 full bath, sleeps 4

Located on Mount Desert Island, minutes away from Acadia National Park, Seal Ledges has the perfect combination of the old and the new. Built in the early 1900s, it retains the charm of a typical Maine cottage, with wood paneling throughout, four working fireplaces, large screened porch and deck with water views. Updated in 2004, it offers wireless Internet, a modern kitchen, DVD and VCR, digital cable, and unlimited domestic phone service.

The property comprises 4 acres of open field (for croquet and soccer), woods (for gathering wildflowers), gardens (for cutting your own bouquets), rocky beach (for tide-pooling), float (for brisk ocean swimming and kayaking) and dock (for watching eagles and osprey, or enjoying sunset cocktails).

Seal Ledges accommodates 4 guests, in one king and one twin bedroom.

We are now accepting reservations for summer 2014.

We supply all linens, firewood, paper and soap products, books, puzzles and games. You simply bring your own food, clothes, bikes and kayaks. Sunsets included, no extra charge!

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 263991 in Seal Cove, Maine

Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Germany
5

A gracious home in a lovely setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Seal Ledges is a tasteful and beautiful home situated in a private and calm corner of Acadia, offering you everything you need for a memorable, restful and convenient stay. Stunning gardens, a screened porch, fireplaces, a well-equipped kitchen, it was a hard place to leave. Highly recommended!
Helpful votes: 5/9
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
AZ
5

Perfect vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I spent a week at Seal Cove Ledges in July. We both agreed it was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The cottage was perfect in every way, and we are already planning to return in a couple of years and hopefully be able to spend 2 weeks there.
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Magical Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this cottage. My husband and I stayed here with our 3 & 5 yr old girls. The cottage was wonderfully clean and organized. The pictures do not do it justice. Comfortable beds and couches and wonderful outdoor space. Awesome collection of cd's, books, games, dvd's and cable to entertain on rainy days (luckily only one for us). Our girls spent mornings/afternoons in the meadow picking wildflowers and exploring the forest and watching the changing tides at the beach. It is quiet with limited neighbors, yet 10 minutes to Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor ice cream.
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Quiet, peaceful and beautifully appointed.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We recently spent a week at Seal Ledges Cottage and wish it had been a month.
The cottage was just perfect for jet lag recovery and just relaxing. Whilst we spent some time exploring Mount Desert Island and the wonderful activities it offers (whale watching, hiking, photography etc. etc.) Seal Ledges was also perfect for reading and baking scones to eat in front of the open fire!
Internet access was much appreciated for keeping in touch with home and numerous thoughtful touches in the cottage made our stay perfect.
It was also lovely to meet the owner who had been delightful to communicate with prior to booking and since.
We loved the recommendations for activities and dining and particularly enjoyed the Burning Tree restaurant - delicious.
The photos and website do not do the property justice, it was better than expected.
The only clarification I would add is that the property itself is not waterfront, it does have access to the shore and the float and whilst the water is visible, it does not directly front the water.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/19
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lake Luzerne, New york
5

First Class Accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This home is truly a gem. Everything you read in the listing description is true and then some! We have rented cottages around the coast of Maine a number of times and this one is at the top of our list. The 'quietside' or western half of Acadia is simply beautiful and quiet, but with easy access to everything else offered in Acadia. We loved canoeing down the road at Seal Pond (saw eagles, loons and great blue herons) and at Eagle Lake where we heard the pergrine falcons chirping in their nests! Ship Harbor Trail, Wonderland Trail and Seawall are just down the road, too. I'm not a mountain hiker so these easy to meander trails were wonderful. We ate at several area restaurants and splurged at RED SKY in Southwest Harbor one everning. It was wonderful. We took the Islander Cruise out of Bass Harbor -- the real deal and very informative.

The host/owner of the property was a delight, supportive and very accessible. We plan to return next year!

Nan and John
Lake Luzerne, N.Y.
Helpful votes: 7/16
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Boston
5

Classic Gracious New England Charm with Comforts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Classic, graciously designed Maine cottage on the 'quietside' of Mt. Desert Island. No sounds but the call of loons and owls. The cottage is perfectly restored and beautifully maintained to preserve the classic charm with thoughtful additions of modern conveniences (dishwasher, modern shower, gas BBQ, full size washer/dryer, updated electric and internet). It is spotlessly clean and in perfect condition.

Gracious touches include a flower cutting garden, a planter with fresh basil and rosemary for the cooks, generous supplies of firewood, paper towels, trash bags, coffee filters, dishwasher detergent, and all the other necessities. It feels like a much-loved, cherished family vacation cottage that has been nurtured for generations.

The large, gently sloping lawn is ideal for games (thoughtfully provided) and the floating dock allows unobstructed water views for sunset as well as a place to launch a canoe or kayak. The screened in portion of the porch, with a working fireplace, is perfect for long, leisurely evenings enjoying the fresh sea breezes. The furniture is cozy and comfortable.

The bathroom has a modern shower, and also a cast iron vintage claw foot bathtub next to the working fireplace in the bathroom. The hostess had provided candle holders and a portable CD player, as well as an excellent selection of board games, books and playing cards.

Our family is fortunate to have traveled widely, and this is quite simply our favorite place in the U.S. This is true Maine at its best - perfect, simple, real. Vacationland, with the perfect, gracious hostess. Martha Stewart could take notes.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/13
business
Charming Maine cottage for 4 with water view and beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263991
617-571-6038
Seal Cove Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Denver, CO
5

Fabulous Maine retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
All I can say is WOW! Truely a slice of heaven. If the quiet side of MDI is what you're looking for this is the spot! off the beaten track but not far fom any amenities. recharged our spirits!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/11