Roatan house rental - Spooky Channel Villa view from the private dock
Spooky Channel Villa view from the private dock
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Roatan House Rental Photos and Description
Beach House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 4)

Imagine yourself swinging in a hammock while the magenta sun sets over the ocean of your own private beach home. Spooky Channel Villa is a modern home in a secluded location at Sandy Bay located within the Sandy Bay Marine Reserve. Swimming, snorkeling and world class diving is waiting for your enjoyment along the crystal clear coral reef right off our private dock.

Spooky Channel Villa is just minutes away from tropical beach bars, shopping, dive centers, grocery stores, and restaurants serving wonderful Caribbean cuisine.

We are easily accessible by direct air flights from Houston, Atlanta, Miami, Toronto and Milan. Transportation is arranged for you from the airport to your Villa for a nominal fee.

The friendly people of Roatan Island help make your vacation one to remember.

7 Reviews of Property 263720 in Roatan, Bay Islands Honduras

Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Louisiana
5

HAL (Louisiana)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2007
My wife and I stayed here a few years ago and had a blast. The house was perfect for those who want to relax and are not into the "bling". The lush palms and hibiscus were fantastic. Snorkling at your doorstep! Open air dining and dive trips are only a walk down the beach.
We were only a very short drive, less than 10 minutes, from the Blue Parrot Bar
& Grill. I understand the owner of the time has moved on but if it remains. It should be a great place to knock down a couple of Salva Vidas or Por Royals. They had a good Lobster/Filet dinner for $14 and shoe swere not required.
I can definately reccomend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Hal, for your kind review of our Spooky Channel Villa. We work very hard to maintain and improve the house and gardens. We hope you'll visit us again soon!

Jay and Dana Litman, Owners
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Minneapolis,MN
5

Could not have been better!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a beautiful house! The home has everything you could need...comfort, a completely furnished kitchen, two extremely comfortable beds, a porch on the ocean with a grill and table for eating, two hammocks, and the amazing outdoors shower!!! Kathy, who lives next door, is very helpful and friendly, and has lived on the island for many years.
The snorkeling just steps from the house was fantastic and something I will always remember.
We hope to return again someday. Thanks for making this lovely home avilable to us.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Austin, TX USA
2

Pictures are Misleading

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Let me preface this by saying we have travelled extensively (19 countries) and do not expect American standards when we travel. We are not complainers, and have never left a vacation early.

I travelled with my two children in search of a relaxed, beach vacation. Upon arrival, I noticed that the house was very hot. Air conditioning is in the two bedrooms only. This would not be so bad, if you could open the windows, but with the screens on three windows broken, we were forced to either be roasted, or be infested with bugs.

The beach and area are totally infested with sand fleas. The morning after arrival, I counted 112 bites on my daughter and we had been diligent about keeping bug spray on. The bugs are just unavoidable.

The final issue, was that the beach is completely un-swimable. This is the part that I feel mislead about. The water is full of turtle grass and vegetation. We tried to tough it out and swim anyways. We were in the water for about five minutes before getting stung by a jellyfish.

We ended up leaving after three days, and going home, something we have never done before. Upon coming home, I tried to contact the owners, as the apartment is taken care of by caregivers. I was not expecting my money back, or anything like that, I just wanted to ask them to tell people ahead of time that the ocean was not able to be swam in, by the house. They never emailed me back. They have been unreachable.
Owner's Response: This review is unfair. We have been out of internet and phone service and unable to respond earlier. We also felt it prudent and fair to discuss the matter with our manager who said the following. The little girl got a lot of sand fly bites on her back. Mom and the boy were not affected. She reacted with more of a macular rash around the bites and said they did not bother her much. I offered to take her to the clinic, gave her Benadryl spray, cactus juice, Skin So Soft. I returned her refundable security deposit, the money for the 2 weeks WiFi and offered to take her to the airport. I think she is scared for her little girl. I can understand that. I told her there is a good pediatrician at AKR clinic, her worry lifted a little. I know she was not happy the kids could not swim right off the beach because of the turtle grass. I really do not think she liked it here. Our manager was never informed about the jellyfish sting, always a risk in oceans, and would have provided first aid. Our Guest Brochure at the house has a section discussing first aid for them, also. We are honest about the turtle grass in the water in front of our home and never state you can swim there. We say to swim in the 5 to 6 foot deep water at the end of the dock where turtle grass is not a problem. Sand fleas are subject to the weather and unavoidable but we have the beach raked once weekly to help control them. All of our rooms including the veranda have fully functioning, efficient ceiling fans in addition to the 2 bedroom air conditioners. This is clearly stated in our ad. Our house has 20 windows with screens. Can 3 broken screens be that much of a problem? In the 7 years we have owned and rented, we have never had complaints of guests roasting. We have been trying to get them repaired but only the company that sold them can do that. They have not responded to our frequent emails and phone calls but we will persevere. We are proud of the efforts of our manager to assist this guest to no avail. We are sorry her vacation was not what she expected but we know you can not please everyone. We spend a great deal of time, effort and money maintaining and improving our home. We are proud of our accomplishments. We spend 1 month there every year so we know our house, the climate and conditions of the beautiful island of Roatan. We proudly stand behind our ad, pictures and our wonderful on site manager. We are certainly not unreachable.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Lugoff, SC
5

Spooky Channel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just in from 2 weeks at Spooky Channel. Perfect location. Close to everything but still somewhat secluded. Very nice accomodations. Owners and property manager very helpful with everything. Take lots of bug spray. Take cash, if you use a credit card they charge you like 16% at alot of places. Dive - Coconuts. Dine - Lighthouse (be patient they are very slow.) Rent the kayak from Cathy and paddle away. Call Stephen for a fishing or snorkeling trip. Have fun, relax and keep that bug spray on!
Owner's Response: We're pleased your two weeks were enjoyable, Louise. We are very fortunate to have an excellent manager, Cathy, and the fishing/snorkeling skills of our good friend, Stephen. We hope you'll visit us again. Jay and Dana Litman, Owners
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
Minnesota
5

LoveToTravel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Great place - I highly recommend it. We have stayed here 4 different times now. Gorgeous home right on the beach, ocean only a few steps away, palm trees waving in the ocean breezes, wonderful covered lanai/deck, great swimming and snorkeling right off the dock, and there's even an outdoor shower with hot water. Good location - easy to get anywhere on the island... if you can get yourself to leave the deck. Want to get out and explore, but no car? No problem - its easy to catch an inexpensive taxi at the end of the driveway. We looked but haven't found a better place on Roatan! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
DesMoines, IA 50312
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
This is an excellent place to stay and is beautiful. Very clean, grounds beautiful and it is wonderful to hear the ocean sounds as you go to sleep at night. A must see and experience and it is a great get away. A bucket list experience!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Paradise Found at Spooky Channel Villa, Roatan, Honduras
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263720
+ (305) 600-2010
Roatan Bay Islands Honduras
san salvador, el salvador
4

Great for family getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2007
My family (wife and two daughters) stayed here for a week and we enjoyed ourselves immensely! The house is spacious and well equipped, clean and well maintained. This is truely like borrowing some friends house for a getaway, not a five star hotel experience hotel but more than good enough, after all it is someones vacation home. The on site staff are friendly and helpful, best of all they leave you alone to have fun. Spooky channel is literally at your dorrstep and we all had fun snorkeling off the dock day after day. The house is close enough to local restaurants to be convienient but isolated enough so you can kick back and relax without having to see anyone if you so desire. We will return soon.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Anthony, for your kind review of our Spooky Channel Villa and you're exactly correct - our intention is for it to feel like a friend's house. We're glad we could help make your family vacation memorable and we look forward to a return visit.

Jay and Dana Litman, Owners
Helpful votes: 6/7