Catalina Island house rental - 357 Sumner Ave.
357 Sumner Ave.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Catalina Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

Beautiful Brand New Construction home on Catalina Island! Perfect family getaway within walking distance to all Avalon has to offer! Whether going to the beach, going to one of Avalon's great eateries, shopping, golfing, boating, snorkeling/diving, parasailing, or just sightseeing, this is the vacation home for you!

A beautiful Mediterranean style home, with a warm and modern beach style interior. The master bedroom is large with a king size bed (goose down bedding), cable TV/VCR, cozy (and romantic) gas fireplace, and a deck off the back. The second upstairs is great for kids or additional guests. With a trundle bed (bunk-style with a twin on top, full below, and a pull-out full-all with goose down bedding.) This room also has a TV/VCR. The shared bath has dual lavatories, beautiful porcelain tile shower with a jacuzzi tub. The washer and dryer are also located on this floor.

The lower floor has a beautiful and easy to use full kitchen with granite countertops. The living area has a large TV complete with DVD/VCR/STEREO/CD and a leather queen sofa sleeper. Let's not forget a fireplace for the cool winter night or just to warm up in the evening after a day at the beach! The bedroom on this floor has a queen size bed (again, all down), TV/VCR, and a private full bath with tub and shower. The rear deck has a built in gas barbecue, patio set, and outside shower. Everything you need for your Catalina Island vacation!

There are so many things going on on Catalina Island!

There is a marathon in March, an Art Festival in September, Jazz Festival in October, and so much more! Give us a call!

More Details
Hide Details

10 Reviews of Property 263604 in Catalina Island, California

Catalina Island Dream Home
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Well Appointed Modern Home in Great Avalon Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Avalon is full of charming beach bungalows, but many are quite old and small. These two attached 3BR/2BA homes are well designed and offer modern conveniences and spacious (by Avalon standards) public living areas in a central location with easy access to both the waterfront and the golf course/botanical garden.

The owner Amy is very friendly and helpful in providing tips to make your stay on Catalina as enjoyable as possible. She knows most of the owners of local businesses so she can help you choose the just the right restaurant, activities and shops to suit your tastes and needs.

We had a fantastic stay over Labor Day weekend with a large family spread out in three different homes within a couple blocks of each other. Upgrades have been made to furniture in the house and updates/repairs are planned. We didn't cook much but the large kitchen appeared generally well stocked. While there was a lot of dirt on the deck off the upstairs bedroom during our visit due to construction of a new home next door we could see it would be a nice place to sit when the construction ends. Since there was a heat wave during our stay, we had to open all the windows and run fans at night (and it was still hot) but that seems common for most homes without A/C in usually temperate Avalon.

Overall, this home is a great place to stay, especially if you are looking for an extremely friendly host and modern, comfortable accommodations in the flat, historic area of Avalon within walking distance to everything.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

A Sweet Little Duplex!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Rented the front unit for the wife's 50th birthday, so just the two of us in this three bedroom unit. As other reviewers have noted, quite comfy and well appointed. The nice surprise was the location far enough away from the noise on Crescent, yet a 3 minute walk if you want to get into the heart of it all. Amy is a real gem, and took very good care of us.

Suggest you bring a beach chair, and take a 15 minute stroll to the Descanso Beach Club and, of course the Zip Line. Easily grab dinner on the way back to the ranch...

For the comparable price of a hotel room, you get twice the value at this lovely little cottage. It was a palace for the two of us!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Palm Springs, California
4

Cute house in a good location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented this house for my husband's 40th birthday and had a total of 4 couples staying there.
It was the first time to Catalina for many of us and we ended up having a very nice weekend.
If you are staying in Avalon, this place is very centrally located and it takes 5-15 minutes to get anywhere you may want to go.
We walked up to the botanical garden and Wrigley Memorial and it only took about 15 minutes. Well worth the walk and good for some exercise.
Some points of interest to consider regarding this house:
1) The owner is very nice and communicative
2) The rental price seems very fair
3) The kitchen is adequately stocked for cooking and the grocery store is one block away
4) The caretaker is easy to reach and will deliver food/groceries and can coordinate golf cart rentals
5) There are 2 units on the property. The back unit (which we rented) seems to be a bit quieter. The houses are packed on top of each other in the neighborhood and you can hear your neighbor cough. Just a heads up on that. At night, it was pretty quiet. The front unit is right on the street and probably gets more of the street noise.
6) We had 8 adults. I highly recommend that 6 be the max number of adults. The hide-a-bed should not be used by adults. Kids, maybe. The couple in our group that had the hide-a-bed went home a day early because they could not hack it another night.
7) The house is very new compared to many of the surrounding homes. There are some maintenance items that should probably be attended to (for example several light bulbs being burned out, the upstairs toilet running if you don't move the handle just right, shower door handle missing). They are small items but seem to be pretty easy fixes to make a more complete environment.
8) Be aware there is no internet in the house but it is available at many locations nearby

Overall, it was a very positive rental experience and I would go back. 6 people max unless there are kids or contortionists in your party. The owner is great and helped make the experience a nice one with her ease of communication and recommendations. I was a little sketchy on having to send a check ahead of time (as opposed to using Paypal) but, in the end, there was nothing to worry about.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Just what I was looking for - Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Fantastic house, I grew up at the beach and the last thing I wanted was an old beach rental. Clean, modern and comfortable - more then enough room for my wife & myself, our three young adult children and two of their guest. A short walk to the beach front shops & restaurants, Casino and Decanto beach - even the grocery store, no need for a cart to get around. Street has a bit of traffic, but with the house being new construction you don't even hear it with unless you have the sliding doors open (we rented the front unit). Look forward to renting from Amy again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Perfect! Perfect! Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This place was great. Very clean, nicely decorated. I would highly recommend this place and the owner Amy is as nice as can be. Our weekend was fabulous!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
San Juan Capistrano, CA
5

Clean, Quiet and Comfortable.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We recently had a group together to celebrate a bachelorette weekend! This home easily accommodated 8 of us. Comfortable living area...Well equipped kitchen...Comfortable beds...Nice Bathrooms. It's centrally located to downtown treks and for hikes up to the Botanical Garden. Short walk to the golf course for breakfast! Thank you Amy! You made our weekend a tremendous success! :-)
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Santee, CA
5

Rented this unit for New Years weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Rented this unit for New Years weekend with my book club. Had a great time. The house is very clean and nice and well configured for a weekend get together. Living areas were quite comfortable. We took the back unit and were well satisfied with it. Location is super nice as its a short, easy walk into town and no hills along the way. Catalina was awesome as always. Went zip lining and had a ball! Restaurants on the island were very good. Ride over was smooth and pleasant and took about an hour. Thanks Amy, we had a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
orange county
5

Our Island escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I have been coming to the island since I was about 7 years old and never get tired of visiting and "relaxing" on this beautiful slice of paradise. I have stayed in many places but have now stayed 2 years in a row in this perfect home. The owners are without a doubt the best I have dealt with. Amy has been able to handle just about every request and always delivers above a beyond to make our stay memorable. Even though a bit up the flats the location allows to get away from the boardwalk noise and relax with friends and family before heading out for dinner (The lobster Trap a must). Being a golfer and nature hiker this location is perfect for both of these activities. This last summer we had invited another family to stay with us and they also were blown away by the home and its comfort and price. Amy and Randy thank you so much for opening up your home to us. One of these trips we hope we can invited enough people to use both your condos.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Huntington Beach, Ca.
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
My husband and I stayed at this house with our four grandchildren and we all loved it. It had everything we needed to make our week with the kids perfect..patio, washer & dryer, BBQ, TV's, private and close to town. We've been coming to Catalina at least once a yr for almost 30 yrs and we've done everything from camping to renting rooms and small beach houses. The first time we rented this house I knew I was spoiled and would never go back to a small older house again. We'll be there again this yr but with six grandchildren (ages five to ten).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Catalina Island Dream Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p263604
+1 949 200-9867
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Solana Beach, CA
2

Not too bad...

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
"We stayed here for 2 nights, 3 days and we a bit disappointed with our rental but absolutely LOVED the island. The location was farther from town than described and was quite tough on our small children. The coffee machine was broken and never got fixed. Heater barely worked also. The town itself was great! Kids played at the beach, loved the old theater and were amazed to be able to see the Garibaldi orange fish right in the water! The island is just such an amazing place to go and we loved all the places we ate! Found the best coffee/wine bar and were able to relax and watch the kids play out on the beach! Would not stay at the rental again, but definitely will go back to Catalina...kids thought it was one of our best vacations!!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: The home is only seven years old and the nicest you can get on the '"flats". We were unaware of the coffee maker being broken until after the tenants left. We have a care taker that would have replaced it immediately! Brand new furniture with pillow top mattresses. Most homes on the island do not even have heat let alone two fireplaces.
Helpful votes: 20/22